(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Beautiful Newton the garden city of Massachusetts"

H 



if 
m 



mm 



w, 



V:; 



m 

1 



;■.•- 



:•: K*a 



■ 

ii 



i 






1 



m 



SBBflHa 




NEWTON FREE LIBRARY 



3 1323 



635 4978 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 

Federally funded with LSTA funds through the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners 



http://archive.org/details/beautifulnewtongOObrim 



BEAUTIFUL NEWTON 



The Garden City of Massachusetts 




NEWTON GRAPHIC PUBLISHING COMPANY 

NEWTON, Jt j* j* jt MASSACHUSETTS 



A FOREWORD. 




OTWITHSTANDING the 

claims of several municipali- 
ties to the term "The Garden 
City of the Commonwealth", 
this volume of "Beautiful Newton" will 
convince the most skeptical that this 
city has no rival for that honor. 

The home of many successful busi- 
ness men of Boston whose wealth has 
been lavished on beautiful estates and 
artistic residences, set in an environment 
of fine streets, shaded with handsome 
trees, Newton is indeed, a most charm- 
ing city. 

I have felt for some time that some 
permanent record should be made of 
these features of our city of which we 
are all so proud, and of the forces 
which have so materially aided in ob- 
taining this desirable result, and this 
volume of "Beautiful Newton" is the 
outcome. 



The book includes a brief historical 
sketch of the city up to the time it be- 
gan its modern development, a more 
extended reference to the important 
changes which have taken place during 
the last quarter of a century, and bio- 
graphical sketches of prominent citizens 
who have done so much for the benefit 
of the community. 

It is also interesting to note that 
"Beautiful Newton" commemorates the 
two hundred and twenty-fifth anniver- 
sary of the incorporation of the town of 
Newton, the fortieth year of its exis- 
tence as a chy, and incidentally is 
issued in the fortieth year of the exis- 
tence of the Newton Graphic, the edi- 
tor of which is responsible for its 
publication. 

John C. Brimblecom. 



Newton, the Garden City 



HISTORICAL SKETCH * 



IT is said by the historian that the set- 
tlement of Newtown — Cam- 
bridge — began in 1631. Its rec- 
ords commenced in 1632; proprietors' 
records, 1635. Cambridge or Newtown 
embraced a very large territory, which 
was subsequently enlarged by addi- 
tional grants. In 1635 the General 
Court granted to Newtown land em- 
bracing the territory of what has since 
become Brookline, Brighton and New- 
ton. The territory south of the Charles 
River, covering what is now Brighton 
and Newton, was first called "the south 
side of Charles River," or the "South 
Side"; sometimes Nonantum, the In- 
dian name. About 1654 it began to be 
called "Cambridge Village" and later 
"New Cambridge," and, by authority of 
the General Court, after 1691, "New- 
town," thus taking after a lapse of 
years the name of the old town of 
which this territory once formed a 
rather small part. 

For the first ten years, only seven 
families had settled on this territory; 
and of these seven, two were Jacksons 
(the first settler in 1639 was John 
Jackson ) , two were Hydes, one Fuller, 
a Park and a Prentice. AH these, with 
one exception, came direct from Eng- 
land. After these followed Parkers, 
Hammonds, Wards, Kendricks, Trow- 
bridges, Bacons, Stones and others, 
whose descendants are represented here 
to-day. 

During the first twenty-five years 

*Based on address of lion. James F. ('. Hyde at two 
hundredth anniversary of incorporation of city, IHHH. 



from the time the first settler found a 
home south of the river, in what is now 
called Newton, twenty families had 
come in and located. In 1664 there 
were twelve young men of the second 
generation. 

From the first settlement to the date 
of incorporation, a period of forty-nine 
years, fifty families had settled on this 
territory. Dr. Smith says: "The num- 
ber of freemen within the limits of the 
town in 1688 was about sixty- five." 
Authorities differ as to the exact area 
of this part of Newtown. "In 1798," 
according to Homer, "it was reckoned 
to embrace 12,940 acres, including 
ponds." Another writer says that "in 
1831 the town contained 14,513 acres." 

In 1838 eighteen hundred acres of 
this were set off to Roxbury, and are 
now a part of Boston. In 1847 six 
hundred and forty acres were set off 
to the now city of Waltham, being that 
part of Waltham south of the river, 
and a few years ago a small portion 
near Chestnut Hill Reservoir was set to 
Boston, leaving 11,410 acres as the 
present area of Newton. 

During the last of the year 1654 or 
first of 1655, they took the first step 
toward gaining their independence, at 
which time they began to hold religious 
meetings for public worship in Cam- 
bridge Village, in the territory now 
Newton. They asked to be released 
from paying rates to the church at 
Cambridge, on the ground that they 
were to establish the ordinances of 
Christ among themselves, and distinct 



from the old town. The selectmen of 
Cambridge strongly opposed this di- 
vision, and declared that there was no 
sufficient reason for such separation. 

This was the beginning of a struggle 
for independence that lasted thirty- 
three or four j^ears, and ended by the 
complete separation from the mother 
town. Let us follow this contest step 
by step until its consummation. 

In 1656 the people of Cambridge 
Village, having been denied their re- 
quest the year before, appealed to the 
"Great and General Court to be re- 



the year before this petition was pre- 
sented (1660) had built the first meet- 
ing-house, which fact no doubt had its 
influence; and so in 1661 the Court 
granted them "freedom from all church 
rates for the support of the ministry in 
Cambridge and for all lands and estates 
which were more than four miles from 
Cambridge meeting-house — the meas- 
ure to be in the usual paths that may 
be ordinarily passed — so long as the 
south side of the river shall maintain 
an able ministry." 

The year following the granting of 




OLD NONANTUM HOUSE AND SQUARE, 1870 



leased from paying rates for the sup- 
port of the ministry at Cambridge 
Church." 

Of course the old town remonstrated, 
and the village people were given leave 
to withdraw, silenced for the time. 
They were not the men, however, to 
submit to what they believed to be an 
injustice, but quietly bided their time. 
Five years after they presented another 
petition to the General Court, asking 
for the same thing. 

They had been holding meetings for 
public worship for four or five years in 
a large room in a private house, and 



this request the line was so run and the 
bounds so settled between Cambridge 
and Cambridge Village as to settle the 
matter of ministerial support, and also 
to establish substantially what after- 
wards became the line between Brigh- 
ton and Newton. These people had 
gained this point, and started a move- 
ment that was only to end with their 
entire emancipation from Cambridge. 
The first meeting-house was built in 
1660 or '61, and located on Centre 
Street, opposite the Colby estate; and 
in July, 1664, when there were but 
twenty-two land-owners in the village, 



the first church was organized, and the 
Rev. John Eliot, Jr., son of the apostle 
to the Indians, ordained as its pastor. 
And this consummated the ecclesiasti- 
cal, though not the civil, separation of 
Cambridge Village from Cambridge. 

The congregation of this church was 
composed of about thirty families, with 
about eighty members in the church, 
forty of each sex. 

Our sturdy ancestors were not yet 
satisfied; and so, in 1672, they again 
petitioned the General Court to set 



proportion of the charges of the 
deputies." 

This action of the Court they refused 
to accept and act under, by which they 
would merely have become a precinct, 
though this was quite a step in advance ; 
for previous to this time the residents of 
the village had been permitted to hold 
few official positions. 

At the session of the General Court 
commencing May 8, 1678, a lengthy 
petition was drawn up and signed by 
fifty-two freemen, setting forth many 




CITY HALL, WEST NEWTON 



them off and make them a town by 
themselves. In answer to this request, 
the Court in 1673 declared "that the 
Court doth judge meet to grant to the 
inhabitants of said village annually to 
elect one constable, and three selectmen, 
dwelling among themselves, to order 
the prudential affairs of the inhabitants 
there according to law; only continuing 
a part of Cambridge in paying County 
and Country rates, as also Town rates, 
so far as refers to the grammar school, 
bridge over the Charles River, and their 



facts and humbly praying that they 
might be granted their freedom from 
Cambridge, and that they might receive 
a name, thus becoming a separate town. 
Cambridge remonstrated by their se- 
lectmen in quite severe terms. 

Notwithstanding, the General Court 
granted to Cambridge Village the right 
to choose selectmen and a constable and 
to manage the "municipal affairs of the 
village," substantially the same privi- 
leges that had before been granted in 
1673, but which the village had never 



accepted. Dr. Smith saj^s: "This was 
an important but not full concession on 
the part of the Court; but the people 
had to wait nearly ten years more be- 
fore they fully attained the object of 
their desire. The attitude of the set- 
tlers in Cambridge Village was one of 
persistent determination ; and as if fore- 
shadowing in those early days the spirit 
of the Revolution which occurred a 
century later, they stood firm in their 
resistance of everything which in their 
judgment savored of oppression." 
Jackson says, "The first entry upon 



their respective towns, referring to dif- 
ferences that have arisen as to charges 
for bridges, schools, the laying of rates, 
and some other things of a public na- 
ture, "that for the end above said the 
village shall pay to the town of Cam- 
bridge the sum of £5 in merchantable 
corn, at or before the first day of May 
next ensuing the date above, in full 
satisfaction of all dues and demands by 
the said town from the said village, on 
the account above said, from the begin- 
ning of the world to the 11th of Janu- 
ary, 1688, by the present style of reck- 




CHARLES RIVER, 
RIVERSIDE, AUBURNDALE 



the new town book of Cambridge Vil- 
lage records the doings of the first town 
meeting, held June 27, 1679, by virtue 
of an order of the General Court," at 
which meeting three selectmen and one 
constable were chosen, thus doing what 
they were authorized to do in 1673. 
There is no record of another town 
meeting until Jan. 30, 1681. 

It appears by articles of agreement 
made as late as Sept 17, 1688, between 
the selectmen of Cambridge and the 
selectmen of the village, in behalf of 



oning." This brings us near the time 
when Cambridge Village was incor- 
porated,, as claimed by historians who 
have written later than Jackson. 

We find in the records of the village 
that in 1686 "a committee was chosen 
to treat with Cambridge about our 
freedom from their town." It is un- 
doubtedly true that Cambridge Village 
in a large degree became independent 
of the mother town in the year 1679, 
when, Jackson says, the town was in- 



corporated ; for they did from that time 
control the prudential affairs of the 
village; but it is equally true that they 
were taxed together for several years 
after, for state and county and for 
some other purposes. It is certain that 
they were not allowed to send a deputy 
to the General Court until 1688, when 
the separation was fully consummated. 
The records of Cambridge — the old 
town — show that constables were 
elected for the village after 1679, every 
year until 1688, but none for the vil- 
lage after the latter date. Paige's re- 



some of them, be and appear before his 
Excellency in Council, on Wednesday, 
being the 11th of this inst. to show cause 
why Cambridge Village may not be 
declared a place distinct by itself, and 
not longer a part of said town as hath 
been formerly petitioned for and now 
desired: and thereof to make due re- 
turn. Dated at Boston the 6th day of 
January in the third year of his Majes- 
ty's reign A. D. 1687 By order &c J. 
West, D. sec'y." 

"What was the result of this process 
does not appear of record; for the rec- 




OLD KENRICK HOMESTEAD, 
WAVERLEY AVENUE, NEWTON 



cent History of Cambridge seems to 
entirely clear all doubts as to the true 
date of the incorporation of Newton. 

He was fortunate enough to find two 
documents which probably Mr. Jack- 
son never saw. "One is an order of 
notice preserved in the Massachusetts 
archives," of which the following is a 
copy : 

"To the constables of the town of 
Cambridge, or either of them; you are 
hereby required to give notice to the in- 
habitants of said town that they or 



ords of the council, during the adminis- 
tration of Andros, were carried away. 
Fortunately, however, a certified copy 
of the order, which is equivalent to an 
act of incorporation, is on file in the 
office of the clerk of the Judicial Courts 
in Middlesex County." 

At a council held in Boston Jan. 11, 
1687, present his Excellency Sir Ed- 
mund Andros and seven councillors, an 
order was issued a part of which we 
give: "Upon the reading this day in 
the Council the petition of the inhabi- 



tants of Cambridge Village, being sixty 
families or upwards, that they may be 
a place distinct by themselves and freed 
from the town of Cambridge, to which 
at the first settlement they were an- 
nexed, they being in every respect ca- 
pable thereof," it was "ordered that the 
said village from henceforth be and is 
hereby declared a distinct village and 
place of itself, wholly freed and sepa- 
rated from the town of Cambridge, and 
from all future rates, payments, or du- 
ties to them whatsoever." The order 
further provided how Cambridge bridge 



December, 1691, and was declared to be 
a distinct village and place of itself, or, 
in other words, was incorjwrated as a 
separate and distinct town by the order 
passed Jan. 11, 1687-8, old style, or 
Jan. 11, 1688, according to the present 
style of reckoning." 

It seems very strange that such an 
error should occur and be perpetuated 
for nearly two centuries, the town even 
adopting it and putting it upon its 
seal, where it remained for six years. 

After Cambridge Village was set off 
or incorporated, it was sometimes called 




OLD JACKSON 
WASHINGTON ST 



HOMESTEAD, 
REET, NEWTON 



should be supported. 

This order was signed John West, 
deputv secretary. 

Then followed, "This is a true copy 
taken out of the original, 4th day of De- 
cember, 1688: as attests: Laur. Ham- 
mond, Clerk." Dr. Paige adds: "There 
remains no reasonable doubt that the 
village was released from ecclesiastical 
dependence on Cambridge, and obliga- 
tion to share in the expenses of religious 
worship 1661, became a precinct in 
1673, received the name of Newtown in 



New Cambridge, until 1691, when, in 
answer to a petition to the General 
Court, it was called Newtown, and the 
name was variously spelled, New- 
Town, Newtown, Newtowne and 
Newton in the records until 1766, 
when Judge Fuller became town 
clerk and spelled it in the town rec- 
ords "Newton"; and Newton it has 
been ever since. We have devoted 
much time and space to establish- 
ing the facts concerning the incorpora- 
tion of Newton, because Mr. Jackson 
in his history published in 1854 gives 




JAMES F. C. HYDE, 
MAYOR OF NEWTON, 1874-1875 



the date as 1679, which has since been 
shown to be incorrect both by Dr. Paige 
and Dr. Smith. After a careful exami- 
nation of the facts we are fully satis- 
fied that they have fixed upon the true 
date. 

At this time ten of the first settlers 
had passed away. 

Sixty families were dwelling within 
the limits of the town. We give a few 
brief items relating to the people living 
on these broad acres from 1039 onward. 

In 1643 six acres of land were con- 
veyed on payment of £5. 

In 164.5 "there were in all of Cam- 
bridge 135 ratable persons, 90 houses, 
208 cows, 131 oxen, 229 young cattle, 
20 horses, 37 sheep, 62 swine and 58 
goats." 

"In 16-17 the town bargained with 
Waban, the Indian chief and first con- 
vert to Christianity, to keep six score 
head of drv cattle on the south side of 
Charles River." 

"1656, persons appointed by the Se- 
lectmen to execute order of General 



Court for the improvement of all fami- 
lies within the town in spinning and 
manufacturing clothes." 

In 1650 wild land sold for one dollar 
and a quarter per acre. 

1676, town meeting called to consider 
the matter of fortifying the town 
against Indians. 

In 1691 first couple married in New- 
ton after it was incorporated. 

1693, town paid 20s. for killing three 
wolves. 

The two following years paid a 
bounty for killing wolves. 

1699, voted to build a schoolhouse 14 
by 16 feet. 

1700, hired a schoolmaster at five 
shillings per day. 

1707, paid twelve pence per dozen 
for heads of blackbirds. Voted to 
choose two persons to see that hogs 
were yoked and ringed according to 
law. 

1711, voted to have collections taken 
up Thanksgiving Days for the poor. 

1717, vote passed to prevent the de- 
struction of deer. Same in 1741. 




ALDEN SPEARE, 
MANOR OF NEWTON, 1876-1877 



1796, voted to have a stove to warm 
the meeting-house. The same year 
voted that the deacons have liberty to 
sit out of the deacons' seat. 

1800, voted to disannul the ancient 
mode of seating parishioners in the 
meeting-house. 

In 1646 Rev. John Eliot first at- 
tempted to Christianize the Indians at 
Nonanetum, or Nonantum, where a 
company of them were located on land 
that had been bought by the General 



sale at the market through the year. In 
winter the Indians sold brooms, staves, 
baskets made from the neighboring 
woods and swamps, and turkeys raised 
by themselves; in the spring, cranber- 
ries, strawberries and fish from Charles 
River; in the summer, whortleberries, 
grapes and fish. Several of them 
worked with the English in the vicinity 
in hay time and harvest." 

The author of "Nonantum and Na- 
tick" says: "Here at Nonantuni Hill 




RESIDENCE OF ARTHUR F. LUKE, 
PRINCE STREET, WEST NEWTON 



Court of the white owners and set apart 
for the use of the Indians. This tract 
of high land was considerably improved 
by them by the building of wigwams, 
walls and ditches about the same, and 
the planting later of fruit trees. 

By advice of Mr. Eliot, tools and im- 
plements were supplied, as well as 
money to enable them to develop and 
improve their village. Homer says: 

"The women of Nonantum soon 
learned to spin and to collect articles for 



was begun the first civilized and Chris- 
tian settlement of Indians in the Eng- 
lish North American colonies. This 
was the seat of the first Protestant mis- 
sion to the heathen, and here Mr. Eliot 
preached the first Protestant sermon in 
a pagan tongue." 

This was preached in the large wig- 
wam of Waanton, or Waban, where a 
considerable number of Indians were 
assembled to hear this first sermon, 
which occupied over an hour in its de- 



10 




ROYAL M. PULSIFER, 
MAYOR OF NEWTON, 1880-1881 



livery. The text was from Ezekiel 
xxxvii. 9, 10. 

This Waban — whose name signi- 
fied "wind" or "spirit" — was the ehief 
man of this Indian village, and was 
called a "merchant." He seems to have 
been the man of business. "Perhaps 
he went to Boston sometimes to sell 
venison and other game which he had 
either taken himself or bought from 
other Indians." He was the first con- 
vert to Christianity, and lived a consist- 
ent life, dying in 1674, aged seventy 
years. 

Newton thus enjoys the rare honor of 
having within its borders the spot made 
sacred by the labors of the apostle 
Eliot, whose saintly life and heroic ser- 
vice in the cause of the Master resulted 
in the civilization and Christianization 
of many of these sons of the forest. 
These Nonantum Indians seem to have 
been pretty bright and keen heathen, 
judging from some of the questions 
they put to the white men, a few of 
which are here given. One woman in- 



quired "whether she prayed when she 
only joined with her husband in his 
prayer to God Almighty." Another in- 
quired "whether her husband's prayer 
signified anything if he continued to be 
angry with her and to beat her." An- 
other asked "how the English came to 
differ so much from the Indians in their 
knowledge of God and Jesus Christ, 
since they had all at first but one 
Father"; another, "how it came to pass 
that sea water was salt and river water 
fresh." 

The people of Newton from the very 
first took great interest in military af- 
fairs. The men of Newton took a 
prominent part in all the Indian wars. 
They were in King Philip's and subse- 
quent wars with the Indians, as well as 
in the old French and Indian War. 
Some lives were lost in this service, 
among them Colonel Ephraim Wil- 
liams, the founder of Williams College. 
He was shot in the memorable battle 
fought with the French and Indians 
near Lake George, in September, 1755. 

Of the part taken in the War of the 




WILLIAM P. ELLISON, 
MAYOR OF NEWTON, 1882-1883 



II 



Revolution by the inhabitants of this 
town, it has been well said that "almost 
to a man they made the most heroic and 
vigorous efforts to sustain the common 
cause of the country from the first hour 
to the last, through all the trying events 
which preceded and accompanied the 
Avar." 

Our fathers were jealous of their 
rights; and, while they were willing to 
stand by the government, they were not 
the men to submit to any injustice. 



of the Superior Court being fixed and 
paid by the Crown instead of by the 
Great and General Court. They were 
jealous of their rights, even though re- 
motely assailed. It is probable that not 
a person in the colonies at this time seri- 
ously entertained the thought of taking 
up arms against the mother country, 
but relied upon constitutional methods 
only for the redress of their grievances. 
Later, during the same year, a large 
committee was chosen "to confer with 




RESIDENCE OF SMITH P. BURTON, JR., 
CENTRE STREET, NEWTON 



From time to time they met in town 
meeting to consider important ques- 
tions relating to the condition of the 
country. In December, 1772, a town 
meeting was held and a committee ap- 
pointed to consider and report what it 
may be proper for the town to do relat- 
ing to the present unhappy situation of 
the country. 

In 1773 they instructed their repre- 
sentative, Judge Fuller, to use his in- 
fluence against the salaries of the judges 



the inhabitants of the town as to the 
expediency of leaving off buying, sell- 
ing or using any India tea." 

On Dec. 16, 1773, there was a famous 
tea-party in Boston, such as never was 
seen before nor has been since. Newton 
was represented on that occasion by 
two or more of its citizens. One in par- 
ticular, who drove a load of wood to 
market, stayed very late that day, and 
was not very anxious the next morning 
to explain the cause of his detention; 



12 



but, as tea was found in his shoes, it is 
not difficult to understand what he had 
been doing. 

The following year, 1774, the town 
adopted a series of resolutions, declar- 
ing they would not voluntarily and 
tamely submit to the levying of any tax 
for the purpose of raising a revenue 
where imposed without their consent or 
that of their representatives; and that 
any and all persons who advised or as- 
sisted in such acts were inimical to this 
country, and thereby incurred their j ust 
resentment, and in such light they re- 
garded all merchants, traders, and 



cial Assembly at Concord, and the next 
year to a meeting of the same at Cam- 
bridge. Early in the year 1775 the town 
voted to raise men to exercise two field- 
pieces that had been given, and also to 
raise a company of minute-men, and 
thus be prepared for any emergency. 

This action furnishes the explanation 
of the fact that Newton had so many 
men engaged in the battles of Lexing- 
ton and Concord. 

On the 19th of April, 1775, a day 
ever memorable in the history of our 
country, when the first battles of inde- 
pendence were fought at Lexington 




NEWTONVILLE SQUARE, 1895 



others who should import or sell any 
India tea until the duty so justly com- 
plained of should be taken off. They 
further pledged themselves that they 
would not purchase or use any such tea 
while the duty remained upon it. 

A committee was appointed to confer 
with like committees of sister towns as 
occasion required. During the same 
year the town voted that the selectmen 
use their best discretion in providing 
firearms for the poor of the town, where 
they were unable to provide for them- 
selves. In October of the same year 
the town sent delegates to the Provin- 



and Concord, Newton had three organ- 
ized companies of minute-men, all of 
whom were present and took part in 
the battles of that historic day, during 
which they marched about thirty miles. 
The two hundred and eighteen men 
composing these three companies were 
not all that Newton sent to the battle- 
fields that day; for many went who had 
passed the military age and so were ex- 
empt from duty, but who felt as did 
Noah Wiswall, the oldest man who 
went from Newton, and whose son com- 
manded one of the companies, and who 
had other sons and sons-in-law in the 



13 



fight. Pie could not be induced to re- 
main at home, because, as he said, "he 
wanted to see what the boys were do- 
ing," and, when shot through the hand, 
coolly bound it up with a handkerchief, 
and brought home the gun of a British 
soldier who fell in the battle. 

Colonel Joseph Ward, a master of 
one of the public schools, — a Newton 
man, — took a very active part. On the 
19th of April he left Boston for New- 
ton, took horse and gun, rode to Con- 
cord, to animate and assist his country- 
men. He also greatly distinguished 



versary of a day made memorable in 
the annals of our country by the heroic 
struggle on Bunker's Hill, where New- 
ton was well represented, and two weeks 
before the Declaration of Indepen- 
dence, our forefathers in this busy 
season of the year left their fields and 
quiet homes, and gathered in town meet- 
ing to discuss and pass upon a matter 
of vital importance to them, their pos- 
terity and the world. At this town 
meeting, where Captain John Wood- 
ward was moderator, the second article 
in the warrant was: "That in case the 




It 1 iffi . n. .. „ -Tf ^1 si 

i ..... ^ 



II 



BRAY S BLOCK, NEWTON CENTRE 



himself at the battle of Bunker's Hill, 
where he served as aid-de-camp to Gen- 
eral Artemas Ward. 

Soon after these earlier battles two 
companies were raised in Newton. In 
March following, these companies with 
others took possession of Dorchester 
Heights, which proved a short service, 
as on the seventeenth of that month 
the British evacuated Boston, much to 
the joy of the good people of that town. 

Soon after, one of these companies 
joined in an expedition to Canada. On 
the 17th of June, 1776, the first anni- 



honorable Continental Congress should, 
for the safety of the American colo- 
nies, declare them independent of the 
kingdom of Great Britain, whether the 
inhabitants of this town will solemnly 
engage with their lives and fortunes to 
support them in the measure." After 
debate, the question was put, and the 
vote passed unanimously. 

These bold and memorable words 
meant the sacrifice of comfort, fortune, 
home, friends and life, if need be, for 
the right to govern themselves and en- 
joy the privileges of freemen. In win- 



14 



ter's snows and summer's heats the men 
of Newton, old and young, able and dis- 
abled, were found filling the ranks of 
the little American army. They formed 
a part of nearly every expedition, and 
were found on nearly every field, from 
the opening battles of Lexington and 
Concord to the final surrender of Corn- 
wallis at Yorktown. 

Newton, then a little country town 
with only about 1,400 inhabitants, en- 
tered upon the War of the Revolution 
with great vigor and spirit. Contribut- 
ing liberally both men and means, as 



of men who signed the Declaration of 
independence, — Roger Sherman, — a 
name embalmed in the hearts of his 
countrymen as well as on the pages of 
history. 

Of the part Newton took in the War 
of 1812 little is known, but it is no doubt 
true that the sons of such worthy sires 
were not found wanting when the coun- 
try was in need. 

Let us briefly consider Newton in the 
war of the Great Rebellion. From the 
opening gun fired on Sumpter April 
12, 1861, until the close of the rebellion 




HYDE GRAMMAR SCHOOL, 
NEWTON HIGHLANDS 



she always has done and always will do 
when her country calls, no town in 
Massachusetts can show a more honor- 
able record. It is said by the historian 
that nearly every man in Newton served 
in the army some time during the war. 
The history of the world scarcely 
affords a parallel to all our fathers did 
and suffered during the long struggle 
they endured in the sacred cause of lib- 
erty. Let us not forget that Newton 
enjoys the honor of having been the 
birthplace of one of the immortal band 



Newton has nobly performed her part. 

She furnished at least thirty-six com- 
missioned officers, two generals, and 
1,129 soldiers who formed a part of 
thirty regiments. 

These men gave themselves to their 
country in the hour of her need, and 
went forth in her defence. 

Where duty called, they were found, 
— whether amid the malaria of south- 
ern swamps, on the march, leading a 
forlorn hope against the enemy, or in 
vile prison pens,— - the mention of whose 



15 



names brings a thrill of horror to all 
hearts. 

They fell by the way on the long and 
tedious marches, they died of homesick- 
ness or wounds in the hospitals, they 
went down before the rush of the enemy 
and were killed or reported missing, 
and never again heard from. They en- 
dured privations and hardships such as 
we cannot comprehend; and they did it 
all without murmur or complaint for 
the love and respect they had for the 
heroes of '76, and their regard for the 
liberty and good name of their country, 



who cheerfully gave his life at Gettys- 
burg. 

Our ancestors early recognized the 
importance of education, and all 
through the two centuries that have 
passed since its incorporation Newton 
has made the most liberal appropria- 
tions for its public schools, thus stand- 
ing in the front ranks among the many 
cities and towns of the Commonwealth. 

In addition to all this it has within its 
borders a Theological Seminary of 
world-wide reputation, a seminary for 
young ladies, and an English and class- 




FARLOW PARK, NEWTON 



for their homes and firesides, and the 
still more tender regard for the dear 
ones in those homes whose prayers and 
good wishes never ceased to follow 
them amid all their sufferings. 

They loved their homes and firesides 
as we do ours, but loved their country 
more. 

The spirit that actuated them was 
well illustrated by one who said, "If 
my country needs my services, I am 
willing for her sake to make the sac- 
rifice." This was Charles Ward, a 
worthy son of one of the first settlers, 



ical school, as well as others of lesser 
note. 

Early in the history of Massachusetts 
slavery was introduced, and it is not 
surprising that some slaves should have 
been found in Newton. The records 
show that at least thirty-six were men- 
tioned in the inventories of deceased 
persons, and there were probably 
others. Slavery is supposed to have re- 
ceived its death blow in Massachusetts 
about 1783. 

Newton, of course, in its early days 
was a purely agricultural town, and its 



16 



farmers were prosperous and well-to- 
do for those times, and built for them- 
selves here and there over its broad area 
homes that were comparatively com- 
fortable, but which would hardly com- 
pare with many of the palatial 
residences which we see to-day. 

But as early as 1688, the very year of 
the incorporation of Newton, a mill was 
built at Upper Falls, where there was a 
considerable waterfall on Quinobequin 
or, later, Charles River. 

Still later other mills were located 



of the town sought to-create a general 
interest in regard to it." Later a con- 
stitution was adopted and the society 
received the name of the "Newton 
Friendly Society." This was probably 
the first local organization of its kind 
in New England, with one exception. 
This society afterwards established a 
library of several hundred volumes ; and 
it also originated the Institution for 
Savings in the town of Newton, now 
the well-known and prosperous New- 
ton Savings Bank. The whole move- 




VIEW ON PARK STREET, NEWTON 



along the river, some for the manufac- 
ture of lumber, cloths, nails, cotton 
goods, paper and other articles, all of 
which helped to extend the industries 
of this growing town. 

Fifty years ago, two of these manu- 
facturing villages - - Upper Falls and 
Lower Falls - - exerted a controlling in- 
fluence in town affairs. 

The intelligent citizens of Newton 
early took a deep interest in the cause 
of temperance, and as early as Dec. 15, 
1826, "a meeting was held which took 
active measures on the subject, and by 
a circular addressed to the inhabitants 



ment was conducted by the best and 
most influential men of the town. 

"In imitation of the churchyards of 
England, the first cemetery was around 
the first church." Later burial-grounds 
were located at West Newton, one near 
Upper Falls and one at the Lower 
Falls. Of these resting places of the 
fathers, many interesting facts could 
be given, would space permit. 

The growing town demanded addi- 
tional provisions for the burial of its 
dead, and in 185.5 the Newton Ceme- 
tery Corporation was organized, which 
has resulted in establishing one of the 



17 



most beautiful rural cemeteries to be 
found in New England. 

An attempt began about 1830 and 
continued until about 1848-49 to divide 
this fair domain. 

Some of us can well remember the 
strong feeling that was aroused by the 
agitation of the subject, so strong as to 
alienate friends and lead to bitter words. 
Fortunately, no division was effected; 
and we have remained a united, pros- 
perous and happy people to this day. 



fire-engine was purchased in 1867, an- 
other in 1871, and a third in 1873. This 
was followed b}^ the introduction of the 
electric fire-alarm. 

Fire apparatus of the most modern 
construction, with all necessary equip- 
ment, has made our Fire Department 
noted for its efficiency. 

Newton, as a town and city, has al- 
ways provided generously for its poor. 
In 1824, John Kenrick, a generous cit- 
izen, created a fund "to aid the needy 




RESIDENCE OF EDWIN S. WEBSTER, 
HAMMOND STREET, CHESTNUT HILL 



As early as 1813, this town had a 
Fire Department, to which many of 
the prominent citizens belonged. 

In 1842, the engines in use being too 
small, the town voted twenty-four hun- 
dred dollars for the purchase of four 
engines, provided each of the villages 
where the engines were to be located 
would add two hundred dollars more. 
A year later, a similar appropriation 
was made for another village. A steam 



industrious poor of the town, especially 
such widows and orphans as had not 
fallen under the immediate care of the 
Overseers of the Poor." 

This fund has been faithfully admin- 
istered from that time to this, and has 
proved a source of comfort to many. 

Before Newton became a city it had 
taken action looking to the introduction 
of pure water, and the town was author- 
ized to take water from Charles River. 



18 



This act was accepted in 1872. Subse- 
quent acts enlarged the powers of the 
city, and it was decided to put in a sys- 
tem of waterworks. These were com- 
pleted in 1876, at large expense; and 
Newton has enjoyed from that time 
the luxury of pure water in abundance. 
The system is supplied with ground 
water obtained from driven wells lo- 
cated near the Charles River in Need- 
ham, from which it is pumped directly 



of about two million gallons. The cost 
to date is over two million dollars. 

The introduction of a water supply 
and the continued growth of the city 
soon demanded an adequate system of 
sewerage. This project was delayed 
for some years until the completion 
of the Charles River Metropolitan 
sewer provided a suitable outlet, and 
work was begun on the local sewers in 
1891. Up to date over ninety miles of 




RESIDENCE OF HENRY B. DAY, 
CHESTNUT STREET, WEST NEWTON 



into the mains. A covered reservoir on 
top of Waban Hill, one of the most 
sightly spots in the city, provides the 
necessary storage, and the water is not 
exposed to the light until it reaches the 
consumer. 

The system embraces over one hun- 
dred and thirty-six miles of water 
mains, with seven thousand services, 
and has an average daily consumption 



sewers have been constructed at a cost 
of a million and a half of dollars, and 
nearly the entire city is served. 

Among the many advantages enjoyed 
by Newton are the railroads within its 
limits. As early as May, 1834, the Bos- 
ton & Worcester Railroad was opened 
to Newton, nearly a year before it was 
completed to Worcester. 

This was the first passenger railroad 



19 



in this part of the country. The trains 
were few, and the accommodations 
every way limited. 

A speed of ten to twelve miles an 
hour then, instead of forty-five to fifty 
now. This road was laid out through 
Angier's Corner, — now Newton, — 
Hull's Crossing, — now Newtonville, — 
and Squash End, — now West Newton. 

These villages were very small, and 
the only ones on that side of the town 
except Lower Falls, to which a branch 
railroad was built some years later. 
Auburndale came into existence after 



all passing to and from Boston, there 
was no easy communication from one 
side of the city of Newton to the other, 
and the idea was conceived of building 
a railroad connecting the two railroads 
together, forming the Newton Circuit 
from Newton Highlands to Riverside. 
The road was opened May 15, 1886, 
thus connecting by rail nearly all the 
villages of Newton, and forming a belt 
line such as is found in few other towns 
or cities on the continent. Along this 
connecting link Eliot, Waban and 
Woodland stations are located. 







CANOES ON THE CHARLES RIVER 



the main line was built. In the year 
1852 the Charles River Branch Rail- 
road was opened from Brookline to 
Newton Upper Falls, having stations 
at Chestnut Hill, Newton Centre, Oak 
Hill, — now Newton Highlands. This 
road under another name was extended 
to Woonsocket, 11. I. 

The construction and running of 
these roads gave an impetus to build- 
ing, and several of the stations have be- 
come centres of large and flourishing 
villages. Though the two railroads 
already in existence well accommodated 



The good people of the town were 
not unmindful of the advantages of 
public parks, and among the latest acts 
of the town before it became a city was 
to appoint a committee to take into con- 
sideration the subject of parks and 
playgrounds for the town. This action 
led to the establishing of Farlow Park. 

The town having outgrown its old 
form of government and having a pop- 
ulation sufficient to entitle it to become 
a city, a town meeting was held April 
7, 1873, and by a large vote it was de- 
cided, after a lengthy debate, to petition 



20 



the General Court, then in session, for 
a city charter, which was granted. In 
Octoher following, the voters accepted 
"An Act to establish the City of New- 
ton." Under this new form of gov- 
ernment we have enjoyed increased 
prosperity. Let us in imagination go 
back to 1639, when all this territory 
was a primeval forest; when over these 
hills and along these valleys roamed 
the wolf and the deer; when the river 
and lakes swarmed with fish, and on 
their unvexed surface the wild fowl 
rested securely; when the smoke still 
ascended from the wigwam of the In- 



was one of severe toil and hardship. 
The land must be subdued amid many 
dangers and brought under cultivation 
to supply the wants of the growing 
families of the first settlers and those 
that were added to their number from 
time to time. 

It is not easy for those reared amid 
the comforts and luxuries of life to 
realize what our ancestors endured in 
their efforts to lay broad and deep the 
foundations for future towns and cities. 

Amid hopes and fears life went on, 
and in 1688 the growth and progress 
had been such as to justify the incor- 




BIGELOW GRAMMAR SCHOOL, NEWTON 



dian on Nonantum Hill, and the sons 
of the forest as well as the pale-faced 
settler found their way from point to 
point along blazed paths, which were 
later to become bridle-ways and still 
later town-ways and highways, and fi- 
nally, as we see them to-day, magnifi- 
cent and well-kept avenues, lined on 
either side with beautiful trees, some of 
which have sheltered the red hunter of 
the forest, while along these streets are 
reared the homes of a prosperous and 
happy people. 

The years went slowly by, and life 
with our ancestors on these broad acres 



poration of a town whose fame was to 
go sounding down through the cen- 
turies. 

Our fathers builded better than they 
knew. Over two hundred years have 
passed since the legal incorporation of 
Newton, then a small town Math a very 
sparse population, now a city of more 
than thirty-three thousand inhabitants. 
Then with a single church, and that a 
very poor and inexpensive one: now 
twenty-six or more churches, some of 
them costing between one and two hun- 
dred thousand dollars. Then here and 
there a lane or townwav: now more 



21 



than one hundred and ninety-eight 
miles of well-kept streets. Then no 
schoolhouse on this territory : now those 
of magnificent proportions, with schools 
of all grades, with a large and excel- 
lent corps of teachers, besides private 
academies and higher institutions of 
learning. Then only here and there a 
farm with its low farmhouse: now 
beautiful villages, costly business 
blocks, palatial residences, well-kept 
villas and cosey cottages, all showing 
enterprise, culture and taste. How 
great the change from the scattered 
town in the wilderness to the rich and 
flourishing city of to-da} T ! 

Standing on the heights at the begin- 
ning of the twentieth century, and look- 



ing back over the long roll of years 
since Newton began its existence in the 
"forest primeval," we cannot fail to 
realize the remarkable progress of the 
two centuries that have passed. Our 
hearts swell with emotion as we call to 
mind the grand characters and heroic 
deeds of the noble band of men and 
women who here laid broad and deep 
the foundations upon which we are 
building, and who helped to secure for 
us the rich blessings of civil and re- 
ligious liberty. 

As we contemplate the past and ap- 
preciate the present, may it stimulate 
us all to higher aspirations and greater 
usefulness, that we may prove worthy 
sons of such noble sires! 




NEWTON BANK BUILDING 



22 



TWENTY-FIVE YEARS OF PROGRESS 



WHILE the natural features of 
"Beautiful Newton" have ex- 
isted since time began, and 
while modest developments were con- 
stantly being made by our forefathers, 
it is only within the past quarter of a 
century that the community has really 
blossomed into the "Garden City of 
Massachusetts." 

It is true, that previous to this era, 
the railroad had been laid out and oper- 
ated, not only on the north side of the 
citjr, which is on the main line of the 
Boston & Albany system, but there was 
also steam railroad service to the south 
side villages of Chestnut Hill, Newton 
Centre, Newton Highlands and New- 
ton Upper Falls. It is also true that 
the "Circuit" branch of this railroad 
system had been opened in the early 
eighties, and has been a strong factor 
in developing a public spirit, which 
embraces the whole city, and has done 
a great deal to prevent the growth of 
provincialism among the different parts 
of Newton. It is also true that our 
splendid water system was conceived 
and constructed for some years prior to 
the beginning of the last quarter cen- 
tury, but, in spite of all these important 
civic enterprises and with a full knowl- 
edge of all these circumstances, the fact 
cannot be denied, that the past twenty- 
five years has witnessed the greatest 
development in all directions in the en- 
tire history of Newton. 

Possibly, the improvement and en- 
largement of our methods of education 
will be considered by some as the great- 
est step taken in the period under 
consideration. Dr. Spaulding's article 



tells the story of this important part 
of our civic life, altho it does not in the 
least indicate, the almost complete re- 
construction of our school buildings and 
the amount of capital the city has in- 
vested in this manner. 

Others will claim that the saving of 
human life, as well as the time involved 
in the old method, by the abolition of 
the former dangerous grade crossings 
of the public highways and the steam 
railroad, is of equal, if not greater, 
value to the community than that of 
education. 

There are some who will point to the 
network of sewers which have been 
built and put into use during this pe- 
riod, as the greatest improvement pos- 
sible for any community, and others 
will call attention to the growth of 
street railways, their operation by elec- 
tricity instead of by horses, the installa- 
tion of improved gas and electric street 
lighting, the great work of building 
boulevards and dustless streets, the ac- 
quisition of large areas for public park 
purposes, the beginnings of a play- 
ground system, and many other marks 
of modern progress, which are evident 
to all who care to observe, and all unite 
to prove the statement made at the be- 
ginning of this article, that the past 
twenty-five years has been the greatest 
era in the history of the city. 

During this period the population of 
Newton has increased from 19,759 in 
1885 to 39,806 in 1910; the real estate 
valuations have increased from $24,- 
132,630 in 1888 to $55,669,650 in 1913, 
and personal property from $9,14(5,012 
to $20,806,390, the total valuations in 



1888 being $33,278,642 and $82,476,040 
in 1913. 

These figures only give the grossly 
material side of the wonderful growth 
of this beautiful city, and give no in- 
dication of the many fine residences, 
the well-built streets and the handsome 
trees which have been made possible by 
this great prosperity of our citizens. 

One of the most prominent changes 
to be noted in recent years is the great 
improvement in the construction and 
convenience of the many school build- 
ings throughout the city. With its 



buildings all over the city, at an expense 
approximating a million and a half of 
dollars. The old wooden high school 
was entirely rebuilt in brick in 1897, at 
a cost of over $200,000, and a Techni- 
cal High School was erected in 1910 at 
a cost of over $350,000. 

The school property is valued today 
by the Assessors, land and buildings, 
at $1,892,000. 

Newton was one of the first cities of 
the Commonwealth to take the drastic 
action necessary to abolish grade cross- 
ings of the streets and steam railroads, 




ECHO BRIDGE 



widely scattered population and many 
village centres, Newton cannot con- 
centrate its school children, and is com- 
pelled to erect and maintain more 
school buildings for its people than 
other communities of equal, if not 
greater population than ours. 

In addition to the necessity for more 
school buildings, there is also the na- 
tural feeling that every portion of the 
city is entitled to equal service in this 
respect, and this has resulted in the 
erection during the past twenty years 
of modern, substantial and commodious 



and today there are but two public 
streets and two private ways which 
cross the railroad tracks at grade. The 
tremendous task of abolishing the dan- 
gerous grade crossings has all been ac- 
complished during the past twenty 
years and is one of the most important 
achievements of the quarter century. 

Action looking towards the abolition 
of the grade crossings on the main line 
of the Boston & Albany railroad, de- 
manded by every consideration of 
safety and convenience, was commenced 
in 1889, when a state commission rec- 



24 



ommended a partial depression and 
partial elevation of the railroad tracks. 
A city commission composed of Messrs. 
Albert F. Noyes, City Engineer, 
Charles A. Allen and George S. Rice, 
recommended in 1893, that the tracks 
be elevated as far as Auburndale, but 
the popular outcry against the erection 
of such a barrier through the city, was 
so strong that it was abandoned. Some 
consideration was also given a sugges- 
tion that the tracks be moved bodily 
some distance to the north, but it was 
not pressed very hard. 



$800,000 for Washington street. In 
addition, $100,000 was expended for 
continuing the widening of Washing- 
ton street, through Nonantum square, 
and of Park and Tremont streets to 
the Boston line, and was followed by 
a grant of a street railway location 
from Nonantum square to that point, 
thus allowing better street railway con- 
nection with Boston. The importance 
of this great work cannot be under- 
estimated, and it stands as a monument 
to those men whose thought and action 
have given the city untold benefits in 




NEWTON HIGH SCHOOL, NEWTONVILLE 

In 1895, Mayor Bothfeld, who had matters of safety and public con- 
given the matter a great deal of atten- venience. 

tion during his service in the Board of With the completion of the work on 

Aldermen, recommended a partial ele- the main line, immediate steps were 

vation of the streets and partial depres- taken to abolish the grade crossings on 

sion of the railroad tracks, the work to the south side of the city. This matter 

be done in connection with the widening was not so expensive, but the railroad 

of Washington street for about two corporation, which, under the law, pays 

miles. This plan, with some minor de- sixty-five per cent of the cost, had grade 

tails, was finally accepted by the city, crossing problems in other communities 

the state, and the railroad company, and it was not until 1901 that the neces- 

and work was begun that year and com- sary agreements were signed, 
pleted in 1898 at a cost of $2,250,000 The work on the south side called 

for the grade crossing work, and about for the abolition of eight crossings of 



25 




J. WESLEY KIMBALL 

mayor of newton, 1884-1885-1886-1887-1888 

public streets and private ways, and 
the building of eight overhead bridges. 
This work was completed in 1909 at a 
total cost of $847,709.44. 

The only remaining grade crossings 
now in the city limits are at Oak street 
and Mechanic street at Newton Upper 
Falls, and Concord street and Pine 
Grove avenue at Newton Lower Falls. 

The growth of the street railway sys- 
tem has been one of the factors which 
has done more than any other improve- 
ment to unite the people of the various 
villages of Newton, into one com- 
munity, and this growth has come 
largely within the past twenty-five 
years. There was a horse railway be- 
tween West Newton and Waltham as 
early as 1866, and another line was 
started in 1880 between Nonantum 
square and Cambridge, but it was not 
until 1887 that the Newton Street Rail- 
way Company was organized. This 
company took over the old West New- 
ton- Waltham line and extended it to 
Nonantum square, installed the over- 



head trolley S}^stem of electric power in 
1889 and double tracked its location on 
Washington street in 1896. 

The Newton & Boston Street Rail- 
way Company built a line from New- 
tonville square to Newton Centre in 
1891, extended it to Newton Highlands 
in 1892 and to Newton Upper Falls 
and Needham in 1897- 

The Wellesley k Boston Street Rail- 
way Company built a line from West 
Newton to Wellesley in 1893 and in 
1896 joined with the Newton Street 
Railway Company in double tracking 
Washington street to Nonantum 
square. 

The Newtonville & Watertown 
Street Railway Company laid a track 
between those places in 1893, and sub- 
sequently was merged with the New- 
ton & Boston Street Railway Company. 

In 1895 the Commonwealth Avenue 
Street Railway Company laid its 
tracks in the recently constructed boul- 
evard of that name and furnished trans- 
portation to Norumbega Park, which 
was built in 1898. 

The Boston & Worcester Street Rail- 
way Company obtained a location in 
Boylston street in 1901 under condi- 
tions requiring the widening of the 
street to ninety feet at its own expense, 
and large contributions towards land 
damages, and the installation and main- 
tenance of a system of street lighting. 

The advantages of consolidation of 
these various companies was soon real- 
ized, and in 1894, the Wellesley and 
Boston and the Commonwealth avenue 
companies were merged with the New- 
ton Street Railway Company. In 1907 
the name of the Newton Street Railway 
Company was changed to the Middle- 
sex and Boston Street Railway Com- 
pany, and later it absorbed the Newton 
& Boston Company. The Middlesex 
and Boston Company also took over the 
properties of the South Middlesex 



26 




HENRY E. COBB 
MAYOR OF NEWTON, 1896, 1897, 1898 

Street Railway Co., the Waltham 
Street Railway Co., the Westboro and 
Hopkinton and the Natick and Cochi- 
tnate Street Railway companies, and 
now operates 132 miles of track in 
nineteen cities and towns. 

The Boston Elevated Street Railway 
Company has about eight-tenths of a 
mile of double track at Newton enter- 
ing Nonantum square from Brighton 
and from Watertown, giving ample 
transportation service to Boston in both 
directions. In addition, this company 
takes over the cars of the Middlesex 
and Boston Company at the Boston 
end of Commonwealth avenue, and of 
the Boston & Worcester Company at 
the Chestnut Hill end of Boylston 
street. 

The sewer system of the city has been 
entirely constructed during the past 
twenty-five years. While the matter 
was agitated and discussed for some 
years before, the problem of disposing 
of the sewage matter was too great for 



the city to solve alone, and no action 
was taken until the state established 
the Metropolitan sewer district and in- 
cluded Newton in the Metropolitan 
South District system, with its main 
outlet into tide water at Moon Island, 
in Boston harbor. 

With this matter settled, rapid steps 
were taken by the city government to 
construct a system of lateral sewers to 
enter the Metropolitan main sewer in 
the Charles River valley. The separate 
system, so-called, was adopted, nothing 
but sewage matter being allowed in the 
sewer pipes, the street drainage being 
cared for in another manner. About 
120 miles of sewers have been con- 
structed to date, at a cost of about 
$2,100,000. 

Sewer assessments are levied upon 
estates abutting upon or using these 
sewers at the rate of 15 cents per foot 
of frontage, and five and one-half mills 
per square foot for the area within 180 
feet of the sewer, or for the area which 




EDWARD L. PICKARD 
MAYOR OF NEWTON, 1901 



27 



can be drained into the sewer, if less 
than that distance. It was expected 
when these figures were established that 
the sewer assessments would about 
equal one-half the cost of the sewer 
work. Changes in the hours of labor 
and increases in wages and the price of 
materials, however, have cut down the 
proportion paid by assessments to 
about thirty per cent of the total cost. 
As the result of the work and report 



and from Boston to the south and west. 

The widening of Washington street 
in consequence of the depression of the 
railroad and the abolition of grade 
crossings has already been mentioned. 

A third improvement in the highways 
of the city, altho perhaps, one which 
will be of greater importance to the fu- 
ture than to the present, was the widen- 
ing in 1901 of Boylston street, due to 
the location of the tracks of the Boston 




RESIDENCE OF CLEMENT S. HOUGHTON, 
OLD SUFFOLK ROAD, CHESTNUT HILL 



of a Boulevard Commission appointed 
in 1892, Commonwealth avenue, five 
miles in length, and 120 feet wide, with 
two roadways and a central reservation 
for street railway tracks was com- 
menced in 1895 and completed two 
years later at a total cost of approxi- 
mately a half million dollars. This great 
avenue has been a great advertisement 
to the city, for through it passes to a 
great extent, all the automobile traffic to 



and Worcester Street Railway Com- 
pany. 

When that beautiful part of the city 
known as Oak Hill comes into its own 
and is developed, as it should be devel- 
oped, Boylston street will become one 
of the most important thoroughfares in 
the municipality. 

While Newton is, in fact, one great 
park, the city has not neglected to pro- 
vide for the future in the way of parks 



2S 



and recreation grounds. 271 acres are 
set aside by the city for these purposes, 
and the Metropolitan park district in- 
cludes 119 acres additional. 

The playground movement is heartily 
endorsed in the community, and the 
Newton Centre Playground was estab- 
lished many years ago. In more recent 
years, large playgrounds have been 
established at West Newton and New- 
ton Highlands, and smaller ones at 
Newton Upper Falls, Newton Lower 
Falls, Waban, Nonantum and New- 
tonville. 

The moral and religious side of life 
has not been neglected, and there has 
been a very large and vigorous growth 
in both the Catholic and Protestant 
demoninations. 



The Catholic churches at Newton 
Centre and at Newton Upper Falls 
have erected large and handsome 
churches, and the Catholic Church at 
Newton, has enlarged its church edifice 
and erected and maintains a large paro- 
chial school on its premises. 

Nine Protestant churches were or- 
ganized during this period, six of them 
erecting church buildings, and six of the 
older churches have erected new and 
handsome religious homes. 

From this somewhat inadequate 
summary of the accomplishments of 
the past quarter century, it will be seen 
that Newton has not only provided for 
its present needs and convenience, but 
has planned wisely and well for the 
future well being of posterity. 




RESIDENCE OF CHARLES E. GIBSON, 
BIGELOW ROAD, WEST NEWTON 



2 9 



CITY GOVERNMENT OF NEWTON 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Joel M. H olden 

2, Royal M. Pulsifer 

3, Lucius G. Pratt 

4, J. Willard Rice 

5, Otis Pettee 

6, James F. Edmands 



Aldermen. 
Ward 1, Francis G. Barnes 

2, William W. Keith 

3, Lucius G. Pratt 
" 4, J. Willard Rice 

5, Otis Pettee 

6, James F. Edmands 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Francis G. Barnes 

2, William W. Keith 

3, Vernon E. Carpenter. 

4, J. Willard Rice 

5, Frederick A. Collins 

6, James F. Edmands 

7, Gorham D. Oilman 



1874. 
Mayor, Hon. James F. C. Hyde. 

Common Council 
Ward 1, Gorham D. Oilman, Francis G. Barnes 

2, William W. Keith, David S. Simpson 

3, George E. Allen, Vernon E. Carpenter 

4, Benjamin Bourne, William W. Jackson 

5, Moses G Crane, James Nickelson 

6, John Ward, Z. Erastus Coffin 

1875. 
Mayor, Hon. James F. C. Hyde. 

Common Council 
Ward 1, Gorham D. Oilman, Alonzo S. Weed 

2, William J. Towne, Ezra S. Farnsworth 

3, George E. Allen, Vernon E. Carpenter 

4, William W. Jackson, Benjamin Bourne 

5, Moses G. Crane, George Pettee 

6, John Ward, Z. Erastus Coffin. 

1876. 
Mayor, Hon. Aeden Speare. 

Common Council 
Ward 1, J. Sturgis Potter, George F. Meacham 

2, William J. Towne, David S. Simpson 

3, George E. Allen, Charles D. Elliott 

4, William I. Goodrich, Rufus Moulton 

5, Eugene Fanning, Ira A. Bowen 

6, Joseph M. White, Dwight Chester 



7, Alonzo S. Weed, Albert A. Pope 



1877 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Francis G. Barnes 

2, William W. Keith 

" 3, Elijah W. Wood 

4, William B. Fowle 

5, Otis Pettee 

6, James F. Edmands 

7, George S. Bullens 



Mayor, Hon. Alden Speare. 

Common Council 

Ward 1, David W. Farquhar, George E. Pike 

2, J. Wesley Kimball, George Eastman 

3, George E. Allen, Caleb F. Eddy 

4, William I. Goodrich, Rufus Moulton 

5, George D. Eldredge, Horace Bacon 

6, Dwight Chester, Joseph M. White* 

7, John Q. Henry, Albert A. Pope 

Died May 31. John Ward chosen to fill vacancy. 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Francis G. Barnes 
2, William W. Keith 
" 3, Elijah W. Wood 

4, William I. Goodrich 

5, Otis Pettee 

6, James F. Edmands 

7, George S. Bullens 



1878. 
Mayor, Hon. William B. Fowle. 

Common Council 
Ward 1, George E. Pike, C. Bowditch Coffin 
" 2, J. Wesley Kimball, Joseph W. Stover 

3, George E. Allen, Joseph B. Whitmore 

4, Rufus Moulton, Nathan Mosman 
5 George D. Eldredge, Horace Bacon 
6, Dwight Chester, John Ward 



7, John Q. Henry, William P. Ellison 



3° 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Francis G. Barnes 

2, William W. Keith 

3, Edward R. Seccomb 

4, Charles C. Burr 

5, George D. Eldredge 

6, James F. Edmands* 

7, George S. Bullens 



1879 
Mayor, Hon. William B. Fowle. 

• 

Common Council 
Ward 1, C. Bowclitch Coffin, Edward Sawyer 
" 2, J. Wesley Kimball, Joseph W. Stover 

3, David W. Child, William Dix 
" 4, Nathan Mosman, Benjamin Bourne 
5, George E. Wales, Allison O. Swett 
" 6, Charles C. Barton, Edward B. Bowen 
" 7, John Q. Henry, William P. Ellison 



Aldermen. 
Ward 1, David W. Farquhar 

2, J. Wesley Kimball 

3, Edward R. Seccomb 

4, Charles C. Burr 

5, James R. Deane 

6, D wight Chester 

7, William P. Ellison 



*Resigned July 2. Dwight Chester elected to vacancy. 

1880. 

Mayor, Hon. Royal M. Pulsifer. 

Common Council 
Ward 1, Edward W. Cate, Levi B. Gay 

2, Austin R. Mitchell, George L. Whitney 

3, William Dix, Henry A. Inman 
" 4, Nathan Mosman, William C. Strong 

5, Allison O. Swett, George E. Wales 

6, Edward B. Bowen, Charles C. Barton 

7, John Q. Henry, Edwin W. Gay 



1881. 
Mayor, Hon. Royal M. Pulsifer. 



Aldermen. 
Ward 1, David W. Farquhar 

2, J. Wesley Kimball 

3, George E. Allen 

4, Charles C. Burr 

5, James R. Deane 

6, Dwight Chester 

7, William P. Ellison 

*Resigned January 



Common Council 

Ward 1, Edward W. Cate, Levi B. Gay 

2, Austin R. Mitchell, George L. Whitney 

3, William Dix, Henry A. Inman 

4, Nathan Mosman,* Alfred Pillsbury, Jr. 

5, Frank Clement, Alson A. Smith 

6, Edward B. Bowen, William B. Young 

7, John Q. Henry, Edwin W. Gay 
26. David T. Bunker elected to vacancy. 

1882. 



Mayor, Hon. William P. Ellison. 



Aldermen. 
Ward 1, Edward W. Cate 

2, J. Wesley Kimball 

3, George E. Allen 

4, Charles C. Burr 

5, James R. Deane 

6, Edward B. Bowen* 

7, John Q. Henry 



Common Council 

Ward 1, Ira S. Franklin, Willard G. Brackett 

2, Austin R. Mitchell, Prescott C. Bridgham 

3, Fred W. Freeman, William Dix 

4, David T. Bunker, Alfred Pillsbury, Jr. 

5, Alson A. Smith, Melvin W. Gould 

6, William B. Young, Edward H. Mason 

7, Edwin W. Gay, Jesse F. Frisbie 

*Died October 15. 

1883. 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1 , Edward W. Cate* 

2, J. Wesley Kimball 

3, Elijah W. Wood 

4, David T. Bunker 

5, James R. Deane 

6, Dwight Chester 

7, John Q. Henry 
*Resigned January 1. Henry 



Mayor, Hon. William P. Ellison. 

Common Council 



Ward 



1, 
2, 
3, 
4, 



E. 



Ira S. Franklin, Willard G. Brackett 
Austin R. Mitchell, Prescott C. Bridgham 
Fred W. Freeman, James H. Nickerson 
Luther E. Leland,f Henry A. Thorndike 

5, William Pierce, Eben Thompson 

6, William B. Young, Edward H. Mason 

7, Edwin W. Gay, Samuel L. Powers 

Cobb elected to vacancy. 

tResigned September 4. Willliam P. Holden elected to vacancy. 



3i 



1884. 
Mayor, Hon. J. Wesley Kimball. 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Henry E. Cobb 

2, Benjamin S. Grant 

3, John W. Carter 

4, Noah W. Farley 

5, George Pettee 

6, Dwight Chester 

7, John Q. Henry 



Common Council 
Ward 1, Willard G. Brackett, James Eggleston 

2, Prescott C. Bridgham, Albert F. Upton 

3, James H. Nickerson, George D. Dix 

4, George M. Fiske, Winthrop B. Atherton 

5, Eben Thompson, John F. Heckman 

6, Edward H. Mason, Frank Edmands 

7, Samuel L. Powers, James W. French 



1885. 
Mayor, Hon. J. Wesley Kimball. 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Enos C. Soule 

2, Benjamin S. Grant 

3, James H. Nickerson 

4, Noah W. Farley 

5, George Pettee 

6, Edward H. Mason 

7, John Q. Henry 



Common Council 

Ward 1, Herbert F. Bent, Frank A. Dearborn 

2, Albert F. Upton, Henry F. Ross 

3, George D. Dix, Andrew J. Fiske 

4, George M. Fiske, Winthrop B. Atherton 

5, John F. Heckman, Edward M. Billings 

6, Charles W. Ross, Frank Edmands 

7, Samuel L. Powers, James W. French 

1886. 



Mayor, Hon. J. Wesley Kimball. 



Aldermen. 

Ward ], Frank A. Dearborn 

2, Benjamin S. Grant 

3, James H. Nickerson 

4, George M. Fiske 

5, George Pettee 

6, Edward H. Mason 
7 Samuel L. Powers 



Common Council 

Ward 1, Lewis E. Coffin, J. Edward Hollis 

2, George F. Churchill, Ellis W. Redpath 

3, George D. Dix, Andrew J. Fiske 

4, Winthrop B. Atherton, Frederick Johnson 

5, Edward M. Billings, Edmund G. Pond 

6, Frank Edmands, Charles W. Ross 

7, James W. French, J. Charles Kennedy 

1887. 



Mayor, Hon. J. Wesley Kimball. 

Aldermen. Common Council 

Ward 1, J. Edward Hollis Ward 1, Lewis E. Coffin, Herbert H. Powell 



2, Benjamin S. Grant 

3, James H. Nickerson 

4, Frederick Johnson 

5, George Pettee 

6, John Ward 

7, Seth K. Harwood 



2, George F. Churchill, Ellis W. Redpath 

3, George D. Dix, Andrew J. Fiske 

4, Theodore W. Gore, Everett E. Moody 

5, Edward M. Billings, Edmund G. Pond 

6, Heman M. Burr, Henry H. Read 

7, J. Charles Kennedy, Warren P. Tyler 



1888. 



Mayor, Hon. J. Wesley Kimball. 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Edwin O. Childs 

2, N. Henry Chadwick 

3, James H. Nickerson 

4, Frederick Johnson 

5, George Pettee 

6, John Ward 

7, Warren P. Tyler* 
Resijred September 10. James W. 



Common Council 
Ward 1, Herbert H. Powell, Albert W. Rice 

2, John A. Fenno, Edmund T. Wiswall 

3, Lawrence Bond, Henry H. Hunt 

4, Theodore W. Gore,f Everett E. Moody 
" 5, Frank J. Hale, Ebenezer H. Greenwood 
" 6, Heman M. Burr, Henry LI. Read 

" 7, J. Charles Kennedy, Ephraim S. Hamblen 

French elected to vacancy. 

t Resigned July 23. Frederick J. Ranlett elected to vacancy. 

32 



1889. 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Edwin O. Childs 

2, N. Henry Chadwick 

3, Adams K. Tolman 

4, Frederick Johnson 

5, George Pettee 

6, William F. Harbach 

7, J. Charles Kennedy* 



Mayor, Hon. Heman M. Burr. 

Common Council. 

Ward 1, Albert W. Rice,, Reuben Forknall 

2, John A. Fenno, Edmund T. Wiswall 

3, Lawrence Bond, Arthur F. Luke 

4, Everett E. Moody, Frederick J. Randlett 

5, Frank J. Hale,f Elliott J. Hyde 

6, Albert H. Roffe, George F. Richardson 

7, Ephraim S. Hamblen,:}: Louis A. Hall 



*Resigned July 8. Ephraim S. Hamblen elected to vacancy. fResigned. Edward L. Collins elected to vacancy 

IResigned September 3. William C. Bates elected to vacancy. 

1890. 



Mayor, Hon. Heman M. Burr. 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Lewis E. Coffin 

2, John A. Fenno 

3, Lawrence Bond 

4, Frederick Johnson 

5, George Pettee 

" 6, William F. Harbach 

7, Ephraim S. Hamblen 

Mayor, 
Aldermen. 
Ward 1, Lewis E. Coffin 

2, John A. Fenno 

3, Arthur F. Luke 

4, Frederic M. Crehore 

5, Elliott J. Hyde 

" 6, William F. Harbach 
7, Samuel A. D. Sheppard 



Mayor, 

Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Lewis E. Coffin 

2, George F. Churchill 

3, Edward B. Wilson 

4, Charles H. Sprague 

5, Elliott J. Hyde 

6, William F. Harbach 

7, Samuel A. D. Sheppard 



Ward 



Common Council. 

1, Reuben Forknall, Ed. J. FI. Estabrooks 

2, George F. Churchill, George A. Mead 

3, Arthur F. Luke, Francis M. Dutch 

4, P'rederic M. Crehore, Francis E. Porter 

5, Elliott J. Hyde, Edward L. Collins 

6, Albert H. Roffe, George F. Richardson 

7, Louis A. Hall, William C. Bates 



1891. 



Hon. Hermon E. Hibbard. 

Common Council. 
Ward 1, Reuben Forknall, William F. Grace 

2, George F. Churchill, George A. Mead 

3, Francis M. Dutch, Edward S. Merchant 

4, Allen Jordan, Charles H. Sprague 

5, Edward L. Collins, Erastus Moulton 

6, Albert H. Roffe, George F. Richardson 



7, Henry E. Bothfeld, George M. Weed 



1892. 



Hon. Hermon E. Hibbard. 

Common Council. 



Ward 






1, Reuben Forknall, George S. Downs 

2, Louis E. G. Green, William F. Lunt 

3, Robert Bennett, George P. Staples 

4, Allen Jordan, Charles W. Knapp 

5, Erastus Moulton, Chauncey B. McGee 

6, Albert H. Roffe, Henry D. Degen 

7, Henry E. Bothfeld, George M. Weed 



1893. 



Aldermen. 

Ward 1, Darius R. Emerson 

2, Edward M. Rurnery 

" 3, Henry H. Hunt 

4, Albert Plummcr 

5, Eben Thompson 
" 6, Albert H. Roffe 

7, Henry E. Bothfeld 



Mayor, Hon. John A. Fenno. 

Common Council. 

Ward \, John E. Briston, Wellington Howes 

2, Louis E. G. Green, Edward P. Hatch 

3, Robert Bennett, George P. Staples 

4, Charles W. Knapp, Allen Jordan 

5, Lyman A. Ross, Frederic W. Turner 
" 6, Henry I). Degen, Joseph W. Parker 

7, George M. Weed, Henry Tolman 



33 



1894. 
Mayor, Hon. John A. Fenno. 



Aldermen. 
Ward 1. John A. Hamilton 

2, Edward M. Rumery 

3, Henry H. Hunt 

4, Albert Plummer 

5, Eben Thompson 
" 6, Albert H. Roffe 

7, Henry E. Bothfeld 



Aldermen. 
Ward 1, John A. Hamilton 

2, Louis E. G. Green 

3, George P. Bullard 
" 4, Albert Plummer 

5, Thomas White 

6, Henry D. Degen 

7, Henry Tolman 



Aldermen 
Ward 1, Henry W. Downs 

2, Louis E. G. Green 

3, James T. Allen 

4, Albert F. Noyes* 

5, Thomas White 

6, Henry D. Degen 

7, Henry Tolman 



Common Council. 
Ward 1, John E. Briston, Mitchell Wing 

2, Louis E. G. Green, Albert A. Savage 

3, George P. Bullard. Charles E. Hatfield 

4, Charles W. Knapp, Frank A. Childs 

5, Lyman A. Ross, Charles Dickens 

6, Henry D. Degen, Joseph W. Parker 

7, George M. Weed, Henry Tolman 

1895. 



Mayor, Hon. Henry E. Bothfeld. 

Common Council. 
Ward 1, John E. Briston, Mitchell Wing 

2, Geo. M. Cranitch, Christopher E. Roberts 

3, Charles E. Hatfield, F. W. Sprague, 2nd 

4, Frank A. Childs, Colon S. Ober 

5, Lewis P. Everett, Freedom Hutchinson 
" 6, Joseph W. Parker, Frederic H. Butts 

7, Kirk W. Hobart Arthur C. Mudge 

1896. 

Mayor, Hon. Henry E. Cobb. 

Common Council. 

Ward 1, Alvin R. Bailey, D. Waldo Stearns 

2, Geo. M. Cranitch, Christopher E. Roberts 

3, Geo. D. Davis, Francis W. Sprague, 2nd 

4, Colon S. Ober, George S. Perry 

5, Lewis P. Everett, Freedom Hutchinson 

6, Joseph W. Parker, Henrv Bailv 

7, Kirk W. Hobart, Mitchell Wing 

* Died October 12, 1896. 




MAYOR AND COMMON COUNCIL, 1897. 
34 



1897. 
Mayor, Hon. Henry E. Cobb. 



Aldermen 
Ward 1, Henry W. Downs 

2, Christopher E. Roberts 
" 3, James T. Allen 

4, William A. Knowlton 

5, Thomas White 

6, Henry Baily 

7, Kirk W. Hobart 



Common Council. 
Ward 1, George W. Billings, J. Sturgis Potter 
" 2, Frank L. Nagle, Edward D. Van Tassel 
" 3, George D. Davis, Henry L. Whittlesey 

4, Willis F. Hadlock, J. Frank Lyman 

5, Walter Chesley, Edgar W. Warren 

6, James A. Lowell, Alfred E. Alvord 

7, William F. Dana, John M. Niles 



1898. 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Jesse C. Ivv 

2, Frank L. Nagle 

3, Henry L. Whittlesey 
" 4, William A. Knowlton 

5, Thomas White 

6, Henry Bailv 

7, William F. Dana 



(Revised charter. 
Mayor, Hon. Henry E 

Aldermen. 

At large, 1 year. 
J. Sturgis Potter* 
Edw. D. Van Tassel 
Henry H. Hunt 
J. Frank Lyman 
John E. Heymer 
Alfred E. Alvord 
John M. Niles 



Cobb. 



By ward. 

Ward 1, John E. Briston 

2, John F. Lothrop 

3, Benjamin F. Shattuck 
" 4, Willis F. Hadlock 

5, Walter Chesley 

6, Tames A. Lowell 

7, Kirk W. Hobart 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, William B. Weldon 

2, John F. Lothrop 

3, John W. Weeks 

4, J. Frank Lyman 

5, Edgar W. Warren 

6, James A. Lowell 

7, John M. Niles 



Died April 17. Reuben Forknall elected to vacancy. 

1899. 

Mayor, Hon. Edward B. Wilson. 

Aldermen. 

By ward. 
( ) liver M. Fisher 
John M. Stickney 
Marcus Morton 
Quincy Pond 
Walter Chesley 
Alfred S. Norris 
Alonzo R. Weed 



* Died November 22. 



Walter B. Trowbridge elected to vacancy. 

1900. 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Oliver M. Fisher 

2, John M. Stickney 

3, George Hutchinson 
" 4, Quincy Pond 

5, Walter Chesley 

6, Henry Baily 

" 7, William F. Dana 



Mayor, Hon. Edward B. Wilson. 
Aldermen. 

By ward. 

John E. Briston 
Walter H. Pulsifer 
Thomas B. Fitzpatrick 
Charles A. Brown 
Charles H. Wardwell 
Alfred S. Norris 
Alonzo R. Weed 
1901. 
Mayor, Hon. Edward L. Pickard. 
Aldermen. 

By ward. 

Fred A. Hubbard 
John F. Lothrop 
John W. Weeks ' 
(". Frank Lyman 
Charles 1 1 . Wardwell 
Endicott P. Saltonstall 
Alonzo K. Weed 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, William B. Weldon 

" 2, Walter H. Pulsifer 

3, Fred M. Lowe 

" 4, Charles A. Brown 

" 5, George II. Mellen 

6, Alfred S. Norris 

7, Waller I',. Trowbridge 
Charles S. Ensign elected to vacancy caused by resignation of William P. Dana, Ward 



35 




At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Fred A. Hubbard 

2, John F. Lothrop 

3, Henry B. Day 

4, Peter C. Baker 

5, Walter Chesley 

6, Endicott P. Saltonstall 

7, Charles S. Ensign 

* Died August 24. 



MAYOR AND ALDERMAN, 1901. 
1902. 

Mayor, Hon. John W. Weeks. 
Aldermen. 

By ward. 

D. Fletcher Barber 
Albert P. Carter 
George Hutchinson 
Quincy Pond 
Frederic W. Webster 
John M. Kimball* 
Alonzo R. Weed 

Edward B. Bowen elected to vacancy. 

1903. 



At large, 2 years. 
Ward 1, D. Fletcher Barber 

2, Albert P. Carter 

3, George H. Ellis 

4, Charles A. Brown 

5, George H. Mellen 

6, Edward B. Bowen 

7, Frank A. Day 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Charles E. Riley 

2, Charles S. Dennison 

3, Benjamin S. Palmer 

4, Peter C. Baker 

5, Thomas W. White 

6, Endicott P. Saltonstall 

7, Charles S. Ensign 



Mayor, Hon. John W. Weeks. 
Aldermen. 

By ward. 

William P. Sweeney 
Charles S. Dennison 
Henry H. Hunt 
Frederick Johnson 
Frederic W. Webster 
Alfred S. Norris 
Alonzo R. Weed 

1904. 

Mayor, Hon. Alonzo R. Weed. 
Aldermen. 

By ward. 

William P. Sweeney 
Charles D. Cabot 
Henry H. Hunt 
Frederick Johnson 
Frederic W. Webster 
Elias B: Bishop 
Thomas Weston, Jr. 

36 



1905. 



At large, 2 years. 
Ward 1, Frederick W. Stone 

2, Charles D. Cabot 

3, George H. Ellis 

4, Frank H. Underwood 

5, Edward P. Bosson 

6, Elias B. Bishop 

7, Frank A. Day 



Mayor, Hon. Alonzo R. Weed. 
Aldermen. 

By ward. 

William J. Doherty 
Albert P. Carter 
Henry H. Hunt 
Charles A. Brown 
Frederic W. Webster 
Edward B. Bowen 



Thomas Weston, Jr. 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Stephen W. Holmes 

2, Albert P. Carter 

3, Benjamin S. Palmer 

4, Howard P. Converse 

5, Thomas W. White 

6, Edward B. Bowen 

7, Charles A. Clarke 



1906. 

Mayor, Hon. Edgar W. Warren. 
Aldermen. 

By ward. 

William J. Doherty 
Edward K. Hall 
Henry H. Hunt 
Adam E. M. Beck 
Frederic W. Webster 
Allston Burr 
Thomas Weston, Jr. 




MAYOR AND ALDERMEN, 1903. 



37 



■b.*! 


" : .. 




'JPw ij 




^Bl r> cj^^K 


m ~f§ : 




kit . .'^ *■■ - 


Y /•tat 


^7^B 


\ • ■«" .1 1MB 


%>pB 


■ IBB ■Br ' ^^■■■■■1 






^^^B^^-^Mf .» ^H 




■ Hii» •**^P^H ™™»~ "^H ^B ■'- w 


■b-% ■•*"-■ - '-JaB 1 




— • <«^B ■ _A, ~ j9 




1 a ML*.!! H : '"' "a Ml " 1 


■m -* J9 *" jflBi 


|^L 


- > B HB? JOB 






HmV '~ * ' ''SB '""'y>JB l 


■E v ' jfr 


Ion 










Hi^B mi 


Y^^H 


& / :::V jj* ^ 4«^| 






HLbbk ~ r^s^HH 




IB bP 1 ^mrB ' » By v ""HEJ> * 'V 


Kj*» J I 




■ 


E B a / 




^sbbBb 


P^^ 


JCf : '^. -■: 








1 ' > v9I^^^^^B 



MAYOR AND ALDERMEN, 1907. 



1907. 

Mayor, Hon. Edgar W. Warren. 
Aldermen. 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Frederick W. Stone 

2, Charles D. Cabot 

3, Frank S. Webster 

4, Frank H. Underwood 

5, Edward P. Bosson 

6, Matt B. Jones 

7, Thomas Weston Jr. 



By ward. 
William |. Doherty 
Edward K. Hall 
James R. Condrin 
Thomas J. Lyons 
Lewis H. Bacon 
Allston Bun- 
Frank A. Day 



1908. 

Mayor, Hon. George Hutchinson. 
Aldermen. 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Stephen W. Holmes 

2, Charles W. Leonard 

3, Benjamin S. Palmer 

4, Franklin T. Miller 

5, Thomas W. White 

6, Allston Burr 

7, Charles A. Clarke 



By ward. 
William J. Doherty 
Charles F. Avery 
Robert W. Williamson 
Howard P. Converse 
Lewis H. Bacon 
Burton Payne Gray 
Frank A. Day 



38 



1909. 

Mayor, Hon. George Hutchinson. 

Aldermen. 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Frederick W. Stone 

2, Charles F. Avery 

3, Robert W. Williamson 

4, Frank H. Underwood 

5, Frank R. Moore 

6, Matt B. Jones 

7, Thomas Weston, Jr.* 



By ward. 
William J. Doherty 
Charles D. Cabot 
Frank S. Webster 
Thomas J. Lyons 
Lewis H. Bacon 
Burton Payne Gray 
Frank A. Dav 



Office vacated by removal from Ward, January 10, 1910. Walter H. Barker elected to office December 9, 1909. 



1910. 

Mayor, Hon. Charles E. Hatfield. 

Aldermen. 



. At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Arthur W. Blakemore 

2, Charles W. Leonard 

3, Edward F. Woods 

4, Franklin T. Miller 

5, Thomas J. Sullivan 

6, Burton Payne Gray 

7, Loren D. Towle 



By ward. 




William J 


Doherty 


Willard S. 


Higgins 


George M. 


Cox 


Thomas J. 


Lyons 


Joseph H. 


Chadbourne 


Allston Burr 


Nathan H< 


jard 




MAYOR AND ALDERMEN, 1910. 



39 



1911. 



Mayor, Hon. Charles E. Hatfield. 
Aldermen. 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Grosvenor Calkins 

2, Willard S. Higgins 

3, Robert W. Williamson 

4, Bernard Early 

5, Frank R. Moore 

6, Albert F. Bemis 

7, Walter H. Barker 



By ward. 
John W. Murphy 
Charles F. Avery 
George M. Cox 
Frederick W. Jones 
Joseph H. Chadbourne 
Matt B. Jones 
Nathan Heard 







At large, 2 years. 


Ward 


i, 


Arthur W. Blakemore 


U 


2, 


Edward P. Hatch 


a 


3, 


A. Stuart Pratt 


a 


4, 


Franklin T. Miller* 


i i 


5, 


Thomas J. Sullivan 


a 


6, 


Charles B. Gordon 


a, 


7, 


Joseph B. Jamieson 


* Resig 


ned 


February 3, 1913. Guy M 



1912. 

Mayor, Hon. Charles E. Hatfield. 

Aldermen. 

By ward. 

John W. Murphy 
Harry D. Cabot 
George M. Cox 
Frederick W. Jones 
Joseph H. Chadbourne 
Burton Payne Gray 
Nathan Heard 




MAYOR AND ALDERMEN, 1912. 
40 





At large, 2 years. 


ard 1, 


Reuben Forknall 


" 2, 


Harry D. Cabot 


" 3, 


John S. Alley 


" 4, 


Bernard Early 


" 5, 


Frank L. Richardson 


" 6, 


Albert F. Bemis 


"■ 7, 


Walter H. Barker 



1913. 

Mayor, Hon. Charles E. Hatfield. 

Aldermen. 

By ward. 
John W. Murphy 
Fred M. Blanchard 
George M. Cox 
Frederick W. Jones 
Joseph W. Bartlett 
Abbott B. Rice 
Henry W. Jarvis 



1914. 
Mayor, Hon. Edwin O. Childs. 



At large, 2 years. 

Ward 1, Arthur W. Blakemore 

2, Fred M. Blanchard 

3, A. Stuart Pratt 

4, Guy M. Winslow 

5, Frederick W. Cobb 

6, Abbott B. Rice 

7, Joseph B. Jamieson 



Aldermen. 

By ward. 
John W. Murphy 
George F. Malcolm 
George M. Cox 
William S. Wagner 
Joseph W. Bartlett 
Robert M. Clark 
Henry W. Jarvis 



4i 



THE NEWTON PUBLIC SCHOOLS 

By FRANK E. SPAULDING, Superintendent of Schools 



Prominent in every part of Newton 
stand the public schools. While a few 
of the smaller buildings, of wood, date 
from a past generation, centrally lo- 
cated in every ward is one or more 
handsome and substantial brick build- 
ings in which four-fifths of all the pu- 
pils find accommodation. Most of 
these brick buildings have been erected 
within a dozen years, and are thorough- 
ly modern in all provisions for heat, 
light, ventilation and sanitation; nearly 
all the older buildings, even the wooden 
ones, have been recently modernized, as 
far as practicable, so that the Newton 
school plant may fairly be said to rep- 
resent the best current architectural 
and educational ideas. No other city 
and only one town in the state has in- 
vested in its school plant as much per 
pupil as has the city of Newton. 

But the transformation of the school 
plant, radical and complete as this has 
been, has been more than equalled by 
the transformation of function which 
the schools have undergone in the last 
ten years. Ten years ago the aim of the 
schools was to teach a certain pre- 
scribed and limited range of subjects 
to pupils who were compelled or who 
desired to be taught these particular 
subjects; today, the aim of the schools 
is to educate according to individual 
capacity and need every child whom the 
law requires to attend school and every 
youth who wishes to do so. This change 
in aim has vitally affected the whole or- 
ganization, content, method and spirit 
of instruction; instead of trying to fit 

42 



every child to a hard and fast organiza- 
tion, curriculum and method of instruc- 
tion, formulated before the child was 
ever born, which was characteristic of 
the older aim, the present aim is to 
adapt school organization, subject- 
matter and method of instruction to the 
needs of each pupil, as these are discov- 
ered by constant study. 

One of the most striking, and at the 
same time reliable, evidences of the in- 
creased efficiency of the schools under 
this new aim is to be seen in the extra- 
ordinary, disproportionate increase in 
enrolment of pupils over fourteen years 
of age. Whatever the schools offer, the 
law has long compelled attendance of 
pupils from seven to fourteen years of 
age, but after the fourteenth birthday 
is passed, the law leaves children free 
to continue in school or to withdraw. 
Within the last eight years, the num- 
ber of pupils over fourteen — that is, 
voluntary attendants — has increased 
more than twice as rapidly as has the 
number between seven and fourteen, 
compulsory attendants. Pupils and 
their parents, who are, on the whole, 
the best judges of the service that the 
schools are rendering, are giving this 
unmistakable endorsement of the re- 
cent redirection of effort in the Newton 
schools. 

The changes that have been made un- 
der the present effort to educate every 
boy and girl of the city are perhaps 
most apparent in the increased variety 
and range of subjects taught, especial- 
ly in the high schools; but no less sig- 



nificant, though less noticeable, changes 
have been made in methods of instruc- 
tion and in class and school organiza- 
tion throughout the system. What is 
best for this particular boy or girl, for 
this particular group of children, at this 
time ? is the ever guiding question whose 
answer results in constant change of 
methods and things that were formerly 
regarded as fixed — almost sacredly 
fixed. 

There is room here for only the brief- 



games, work in the gardens, frequent 
excursions through the fields, are some 
of the means used most successfully in 
training the youngest children to ob- 
serve carefully, to think and to express 
themselves clearly, to control both their 
bodies and their minds — which is edu- 
cation. 

Kindergartens are located in all parts 
of the city; there are thirteen of them 
altogether, one within easy walking dis- 
tance of the home of nearly every child. 




MASON SCHOOL, NEWTON CENTRE 



est description of the different depart- 
ments under which the work of the 
school system is carried on. 

There is no more interesting depart- 
ment than the kindergarten, through 
which children are introduced to their 
school career through the grades and 
the high schools. Books find almost no 
place in the kindergarten; varied exer- 
cises in which the child expresses his 
thought with pencil or crayon, with 
blocks and other materials, songs and 



Children are received in the kindergar- 
ten at four years of age, though many 
do not enter until they are four and 
one-half or five; here they remain until 
they are read}^ for the first grade, that 
is, until they are five and one-half or 
six. 

From the kindergarten, children go 
to the grades, where they remain, on the 
average, eight years. In the grades, the 
principal subjects of instruction are to- 
day, as they have been for many years, 



43 



reading, spelling, arithmetic, penman- 
ship, composition, grammar, geography 
and history; several other subjects help 
to interest and to develop pupils' varied 
talents, especially drawing, singing, 
gymnastics, practical hygiene, manual 
training and sewing, nature study and 
gardening. Recently several of the 
grammar schools have added type-set- 
ting and printing to their program, 
which are proving wonderfully effec- 
tive in rousing the interest and enlist- 



ever such are needed to serve the inter- 
ests of pupils. In such special classes, 
pupils are often able to advance much 
more rapidly than the normal rate of a 
grade in a year. 

In the Old Claflin School at New- 
ton, occupying one whole floor, there is 
a class maintained for the care of chil- 
dren whose capacity and needs are such 
that they cannot be taught in regular 
classes with advantage to themselves or 
to other pupils. To this class go chil- 




RALPH WALDO EMERSON SCHOOL, NEWTON UPPER FALLS 



ing the efforts of many boys to whom 
other means of expression make little 
appeal. 

In all the larger grade buildings, as- 
sistant teachers make it possible to 
meet the special needs of individual 
children, either in groups or singly. Ac- 
cording to ability and need, pupils are 
thus helped to keep up with their class- 
mates, or to advance more rapidly as 
the case may be. Special, temporary 
classes are frequently formed, when- 



dren from six to fourteen years of age 
from all parts of the city. Most of these 
children can be taught comparatively 
little from books; they have to learn 
through the use of their hands. Thev 
are taught the use of carpenter's tools; 
they learn to weave and braid rugs, to 
cane chairs, to make baskets, to mend 
shoes, to sew and to perform simple 
household duties. Thus they are taught 
means of service within their limited 
capacity, which will render them capa- 



44 



ble of self-support, wholly or in large 
part. This class usually numbers about 
forty and is in charge of a teacher of 
much experience and especially trained 
to work with this type of children; she 
always has two or three assistants, de- 
pending upon the number of pupils. So 
much individual attention do these chil- 
dren require, that an average of no 
more than ten children per teacher has 
to be maintained. 



for a professional career? Shall they 
engage in commercial or in industrial 
pursuits ? Whatever they decide — 
and teachers and principals are always 
willing, and at least somewhat prepared 
from their intimate knowledge of pu- 
pils' interests and aptitude, to aid in 
answering these important questions — 
they find unsurpassed opportunities in 
the Newton high schools through which 
they may realize their ambitions. 




CHARLES C. BURR SCHOOL, AUBURNDALE 



When the age of early youth is 
reached, that is, at about fourteen, boys 
and girls, and their parents, must begin 
to think seriously of their future. How 
much longer can they remain in school ? 
How much longer will it be worth 
while to go to school? For what type of 
career are they best adapted? Shall 
they prepare through eight, or ten, or 
even twelve further years of study end- 
ing with college and university courses 



The time was — and that scarcely 
more than ten years ago — when the 
Newton High School was providing 
splendidly for those boys and girls who 
wished to prepare for college, but it was 
offering no courses specially suited to 
the needs of the still larger number of 
boys and girls whose interests and ca- 
pacities or whose conditions made it de- 
sirable or necessary that they become 
capable of rendering efficient service, of 



45 



earning a self-supporting wage, within 
a very few years. Today the opportu- 
nities offered those who wish to prepare 
for college are better than ever before; 
at the same time equally good, and 
widely varied, opportunities are offered 
those who must prepare more quickly 
for service. Open to this latter class of 
boys and girls are no less than a dozen 
distinct vocational courses. Chief 
among these courses for boys are the 
following: business, clerical, electrical, 
machine-shop, cabinet-making, pattern- 



rolment in all the college preparatory 
courses. A careful study of the matter 
shows that the enrolment in the college 
preparatory courses has suffered little, 
if any, diminution since the establish- 
ment of the vocational courses. The 
membership of the latter courses is 
made up almost entirely of boys and 
girls who would be getting no education 
at all beyond the grammar schools were 
it not for these vocational courses. 

The Newton high school department 
consists of three schools, an academic, 




PEIRCE SCHOOL, WEST NEWTON 



making, printing. For girls the princi- 
pal vocational courses are the clerical, 
household arts, dressmaking, design 
and applied arts. That these vocation- 
al courses are needed and appreciated 
is demonstrated beyond a doubt by the 
rapidly increasing numbers of pupils 
who are entering them; while only a 
single one of these courses, the clerical, 
has been established as long as five 
years, the total present enrolment in all 
of them, over nine hundred, exceeds by 
more than half a hundred the total en- 



a technical and a vocational; the first 
of these is the Newton High, the last 
two make up the Technical High. The 
most striking characteristic in the or- 
ganization of this department is that 
it is open to all youth of high school 
age; it receives pupils who have com- 
pleted the work of the grades, which 
most pupils do from thirteen to four- 
teen or fourteen and one-half years of 
age, but it also receives pupils of four- 
teen, or older, whenever it seems to be 
for the interest of the pupils, even 



4 6 



though they have not completed the 
grade work. 

The function of the Newton high 
school department is, not the mainte- 
nance of certain courses and standards 
for a selected group of youth who can 
profit by such courses and standards, 
but the adaptation of subject matter 
and method to the education of all boys 
and girls of high school age in the city. 

The present (December, 1913) num- 
ber of pupils and teachers in the three 
chief departments of the school system 
are as follows: 



Pupils Teachers Asst's Prin's 

Kindergarten, . . . 574 13 23 

Grades, 5021 143 16 8 

High, 1924 80 6 3 



7519 236 45 11 

In addition to the above there are 
fourteen teachers and supervisors of 
special subjects, manual training, sew- 
ing, music, drawing, and physical train- 
ing. 




HORACE MANN SCHOOL, NEWTONVILLE 



47 



THE NEWTON HOSPITAL 



By WILLIAM C. BRAT, President Board of Trustees 



In the fall of 1880 public sentiment 
was aroused to the need of a hospital in 
Newton, and prominent citizens were 
called together for conference. 

On January 4, 1881, an organization 
was completed and on January 11th 
the Newton Cottage Hospital received 
its charter. This name was retained 
until March 31, 1894 when it was 
changed to Newton Hospital, the pres- 
ent title. 

In 1884 the present location on 
Washington Street was purchased, and 
in 1886 the first buildings were erected 
and dedicated. As the work developed, 
new buildings were added to the group. 
The substantial contagious wards were 
built by the city of Newton, the Nathan 
P. Coburn and Thayer Wards by the 
Hospital Corporation, while the Geor- 
gia A. Leeson Memorial Ward, the 
Pratt Converse Nurses' Home, the 
Haskell-Emerson Operating Building, 
the Eldredge Memorial Ward, the 
Dennison Memorial Ward for Chil- 
dren, the Mellen Bray Surgical Ward, 
the Corridors, Ellison Hall, and 
Founders' Memorial, were all magnifi- 
cent gifts of individuals. The Harriett 
Gould Paine domestic building is a 
monument to the Newton Hospital Aid 
Association, which since 1885 has been 
one of the most helpful supporters of 
the Hospital work. 

The Training School for Nurses 
which was established in 1888 has kept 
pace with the growth of the Hospital, 
and today numbers over sixty pupils. 
The course of training includes three 



years of study, and practical work in 
the wards of the Hospital. The high 
standard which the School has attained, 
is attested by the fact that its gradu- 
ates have been called to fill positions of 
responsibility and trust not only in 
other hospitals, but in many of the so- 
cial activities for the welfare of man- 
kind. 

In 1906 the Hospital and the Dis- 
trict Nursing Association became more 
closely affiliated. A graduate of the 
Training School superintends the nurs- 
ing work under the general direction of 
the matron. Two pupil nurses act as 
assistants, and while helping the pa- 
tients in their homes in a most practical 
way, are themselves receiving the bene- 
fit of a broadened experience. 

During the present year, a new de- 
partment for "social service" has been 
created in conjunction with the New- 
ton Hospital Aid Association and So- 
cial Service League. 

The Newton Hospital occupies a 
prominent place not only because of its 
attainments, but because it was one of 
the first to perfect an organization un- 
der which service could be successfully 
rendered in the same wards by a Staff 
composed of members of the two 
schools of medicine. 

Probably no institution in the city 
has a wider circle of friends and sup- 
porters from every ward than has the 
Hospital. It was recognized at the be- 
ginning that an institution of this kind 
could not be self-supporting, and in 
1885 — even before the actual work had 



4 8 



begun, Hospital Sunday was inaugu- 
rated, and has been recognized by the 
churches ever since as a day for special 
offerings for the Hospital work. The 
money received in this way is applied 
directly to the charitable work. 

The following statistics for 1913 are 
an indication of the development of the 
Hospital from a very modest begin- 
ning : — 

Number of patients treated, 2050. 

Average daily number, 100.29. 

Largest number during 24 hours, 
130. 

Smallest number, 64. 

Total nurses on roll, 69. 

Patients visited bv District Nurses, 
836. 

Number of calls made, 5507. 

Hospital expenses, $86,219.40. 

Hospital earnings, $67,524.55. 

Contributed by churches, individuals, 
firms and corporations, $16,393.21. 

Amount of Endowment Fund, 
$133,881.40. 

Board of Trustees. W. C. Bray, 
President; F. A. Dav, Vice-President; 



George Hutchinson, Vice-President ; 
G. R. Pulsifer, Treasurer; A. R. 
Weed, Clerk; W. H. Allen, J. S. Al- 
ley, H. E. Bothfeld, A. C. Burnett, J. 
E. Clark, Bernard Early, W. T. Far- 
ley, F. S. Keith, M. D., C. E. Kelsey, 
G. E. May, M. D., F. E. Porter, M. 
D., A. S. Pratt, J. L. Richards, C. E. 
Rilev, C. I. Travelli, G. L. West, M. 
D., *H. A. Wilder, Mrs. H. P. Bel- 
lows, Mrs. Allston Burr, Mrs. G. D. 
Byfield, Mrs. J. R. Carter, Mrs. A. B. 
Cobb, Mrs. H. B. Day, Mrs. N. H. 
George, Mrs. W. H. Gould, Mrs. E. 
B. Haskell, Mrs. C. E. Hatfield, Mrs. 
J. T. Lodge, Mrs. H. O. Marcy, Jr., 
Mrs. E. H. Mason, Mrs. G. W. Morse, 
Miss C. A. Lovett, Mrs. E. P. Salton- 
stall. 

Ex-Officiis Members of the Board. 
Hon. Edwin O. Childs, Mayor of New- 
ton; Arthur W. Blakemore, President 
Board of Aldermen; Mrs. FI. H. Car- 
ter, President Hospital Aid Associa- 
tion. 

Matron and Superintendent of 
Nurses, Miss Marv M. Riddle. 




THE NEWTON HOSPITAL 

49 



CHURCHES IN NEWTON 



FIRST CHURCH, NEWTON CENTRE. 



Newton was originally a part of 
Cambridge, and called Cambridge Vil- 
lage. Religions services were instituted 
in 1654, and the first meeting house was 
built in 1660. In 1661, by an act of 
the General Court, the people were re- 
lieved from paying rates in Cambridge. 
The First Church was organized July 
20, 1664, with eighty members — forty 
men and forty women. Until 1780, 
when the First Baptist Church was 
formed, a period of one hundred and 
sixteen years, it was the only church in 
the town. 

The house of Rev. John Cotton was 



burned in 1720, and that of Rev. Jonas 
Merriam in 1770. The Church Records 
were thus twice destroyed and imper- 
fectly restored from memory. The first 
bell was the gift of Federal Street 
Church, Boston, in 1810. 

The Sunday School was organized in 
1816 in a little red schoolhouse on Ho- 
mer Street with twenty scholars. 

Fifty-seven members of the Church 
fought in the Revolutionary War, out of 
a total male membership (in 1776) of 
seventy-eight. Twenty from the con- 
gregation were volunteers in the Civil 
War. 




FIRST CHURCH, NEWTON CENTRE 
50 



Six meeting houses have been erected, 
in 1660, 1698, 1721, 1805, 1847 and 
1904. The first was built in the old 
cemetery on Centre Street. The sec- 
ond, nearly opposite, on land now in- 
cluded in the estate of Mr. Joseph L. 
Colby. The third, after long discus- 
sion, on the present site, selected by a 
Committee of the General Court, to 
whom the matter was referred for de- 
cision. The present building was de- 
signed by Shepley, Rutan and Coolidge, 
and erected by Horton and Hemen- 
way at a cost of $107,100. The furnish- 
ings, provided by the ladies of the par- 
ish, cost $5,000 additional, and the or- 
gan, installed in 1905, $10,000 more. 
The total value of the church property 
is about $150,000, and there is no debt. 

The church was incorporated in 1895. 

It is a remarkable fact that during 
the two hundred and flftv vears this 



church has been in existence it has had 
but ten pastors. Its first minister, Rev. 
John Eliot Jr., was a son of the Apostle 
Eliot, and died after but four years' 
service. The next four ministers all 
had long pastorates, Rev. Nehemiah 
Hobart, 38 years, Rev. John Cotton 
43 years, Rev. Jonas Merriam 22 years, 
and Rev. Jonathan Homer 57 years. 
Rev. James Rates was an associate 
pastor with Dr. Homer for eleven years. 
He was succeeded by Rev. William 
Bushnell, who served for four years, 
and was followed by the late lamented 
Rev. Dr. Daniel L. Furber, with a pas- 
torate of thirty-five years and as pastor 
emeritus for seventeen years more. Rev. 
Theodore J. Holmes was pastor for 
ten years, and the present minister, Rev. 
Edward M. No} r es, D.D., was installed 
in October, 1894. 



FIRST M. E. CHURCH, NEWTON UPPER FALLS. 



The First Methodist Episcopal 
Church of Newton is situated on Sum- 
mer street, between High and Chestnut 
streets, Newton Upper Falls, crowning 
the hill which rises from the Charles 
River at Echo Bridge. The structure 
represents the historic New England 
Meeting House, being substantially 
the same as when first built about 1825. 

On March 5, 1828 an act was passed 
in the Massachusetts House of Repre- 
sentatives and Senate incorporating 
"The Upper Falls Religious Society" 
and the "Proprietors of the Upper 
Falls Meeting House of Newton." In 
pursuance of a warrant issued March 
13 by Amos Allen, Justice of the Peace, 
a meeting of the latter corporate body 
was held at the Meeting House March 
20, 1828 "at 7 in the afternoon." At 
this meeting Otis Pettee was chosen 
first moderator and Rufus Ellis first 
clerk. The Elliot Manufacturing Com- 



pany and Rufus Ellis having erected 
the Meeting House at private expense 
to the former were given sixty-one 
shares and to the latter thirty-nine 
shares, when, on September 3, 1832, the 
stock was fixed at one hundred shares 
of $33.00 each. 

The first Methodist Class in Newton 
was formed in 1826 under the leader- 
ship of Rev. Joel Steele. It dissolved 
within a year. But in April, 1828, a 
class of seventeen members was formed, 
with Marshall S. Rice as leader, and 
out of this class grew the church. July 
1, 1832, the first Methodist sermon 
preached in Newton was delivered by 
Rev. Charles K. True, a student at 
Harvard University. On Nov. I lth of 
the same year Rev. Abraham D. Mer- 
rill was present to administer the sacra- 
ments of Baptism and the Lord's Sup- 
per, and to organize the church. When, 
in April, 1833, the use of the Meeting 



5* 



House passed to the Methodists, Rev. 
Charles K. True was appointed the 
first minister. In June of that year, 
the church was shifted from its place 
as part of the Needham Circuit, and 
was elevated to the rank of a station. 
Meanwhile Marshall S. Rice, with the 
full consent of his wife, had purchased 
all the stock from the Proprietors of 
the Upper Falls Meeting House of 
Newton, mortgaging his home to pro- 
vide the necessary funds. April 1, 
1835, he deeded the property to the 
trustees of the First Methodist Episco- 
pal Church of Newton. The church at 
this time was composed of the classes in 
Upper Falls, a class in Newton Lower 
Falls, another in Needham, and one in 
Brookline. The first regular official 
board meeting was held at the home of 
Rev. N. B. Spaulding May 27, 1835. 
By vote of the Board, the church as- 
sumed the debt incurred by Marshall S. 
Rice in the purchase of the church. To 
this earnest and consecrated layman the 
organization and early prosperity of the 



church largely was due. In addition to 
his service as class leader and financial 
sponsor for the new society, he was for 
more than 50 years the enthusiastic and 
greatly beloved superintendent of the 
Sunday School. His faithful work is 
commemorated in a memorial tablet 
placed upon the East wall of the church. 
Regular services have continued in the 
church down to the present time. 
Among its many efficient pastors ap- 
pears the name of Bishop Francis W. 
McConnell. 

The following are the Officiary of 
the church: — Resident Bishop, Rev. 
John W. Hamilton, D. D., L. L. D.; 
District Superintendent, Rev. Dillon 
Bronson, D. D., Westminster Hotel, 
Boston; Pastor, Rev. J. T. Carlyon; 
Trustees: Walter Chesley; President, 
H. E. Locke; Secretary-Treasurer, L. 
P. Everett, Charles R. Brown, C. A. 
Chadwick, J. W. McNeally, O. E. Nut- 
ter, Samson Shuker, and William 
Warren. 



CHURCH OF THE NEW JERUSALEM, NEWTONVILLE. 



This Society, which represents the 
"New Jerusalem Church", holding to 
the doctrines believed to have been re- 
vealed to the world through Emanuel 
Swedenborg, is perhaps, as a worship- 
ping body, the oldest church organiza- 
tion in Newtonville. Its first meetings 
were held in the home of Mr. Davis 
Howard, which was built in 1846, when 
Newtonville was known as "Hull's 
Crossing." In the following year Mr. 
Timothy H. Carter, who was a member 
of the New Church Society in Boston, 
having purchased a tract of some thirty 
acres in what is now the centre of New- 
tonville, built himself a home, and sev- 
eral other houses, which became the 



homes of other members of the same 
church. Sunday services, begun in 
1849 at the house of Mrs. Howard, were 
afterwards held for a time at Mr. Car- 
ter's, general^ conducted by a lay 
reader, but with occasional visits by a 
minister. 

In 1857, Mr. John Worcester, a son 
of the Rev. Thomas Worcester, D. D., 
the original pastor of the church in 
Boston, was called to minister to the 
little flock, but was not ordained until 
1861. Until 1869, after Mr. Worces- 
ter's call, the meetings were held, first 
in Mr. Carter's home, afterwards in a 
small hall on Bowers street, then in a 
small, unoccupied church on Washing- 



52 



ton street, and later in a room in Tre- 
mont Hall Building, then standing in 
Newtonville square. 

In 1869, a wooden chapel was erected 
on the present church lot on Highland 
Avenue. In 1886-7 the stone building 
now used for social and weekly meet- 
ings and classes, was built. In 1894, 
the present church was built, and con- 
secrated free from debt in 1898. The 
smaller frame building was removed to 
the back of the lot, and is used for Sun- 
day School and social purposes. 

The church, built of Brighton stone, 
is capable of seating rather more than 
four hundred persons. It is well 
equipped, having a line organ, and is 
lighted by electricity and gas. The ad- 
joining buildings contain Sunday 
School rooms, a social hall, a well-ap- 
pointed stage, a library, kitchen, coat 
and toilet rooms, etc. 

After a pastorate of forty-two years 
Mr. Worcester died in May, 1900." To 
his unusual ability and remarkable 



character the growth of this church is 
chiefly due. For many years he was 
the President of the Massachusetts 
Association of the New Church, also the 
head of the New Church Theological 
School at Cambridge, and for several 
years the President of the General Con- 
vention of the New Church in the 
United States and Canada. His 
writings fill an important place in our 
church literature. 

Rev. John Goddard, who had for 
thirty-five years been the pastor of the 
church in Cincinnati, and the "General 
Pastor" of the Ohio Association of the 
New Church, was invited to become Mr. 
Worcester's successor, beginning his 
work in Newtonville in February, 1901. 
In 1910, Rev. E. M. L. Gould of Mon- 
treal was called to become the assistant 
minister. Mr. Goddard and Mr. Gould 
also have for several years supplied the 
pulpit for the New Church Society on 
High street, Brookline. 




CHURCH OK THE NEW JERUSALEM, NEWTONVILLE 

53 



ST. PAUL'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH, NEWTON HIGHLANDS. 



The first meeting of persons inter- 
ested in the Protestant Episcopal form 
of worship in Newton Highlands was 
held at the residence of Mr. James 
Simpson on January 26, 1883, at which 
Mr. George D. Eldridge was chairman 
and Mr. John P. Tenney, clerk. Mr. 
James Simpson was subsequently 
chosen president, Mr. Alexander Tyler, 
vice-president, Mr. John P. Tenney, 
clerk, and Mr. Charles F. Johnson, 
treasurer. 

The first religious meeting was held 
in the block at the junction of Walnut 
and Lincoln Streets, on February 4, 
1883, at which 118 persons were pres- 
ent. Immediate steps were taken 
towards building a chapel, and the open- 
ing service was held July 19, 1883. 

The Parish of St. Paul was incor- 
porated April 14, 1884, with the follow- 
ing charter members: J. R. Deane, 
Charles C. Barton, John P. Tenney, 



James Simpson, Edward J. Payne, Al- 
exander Tyler, Charles F. Johnson, 
George W. Knight, A. O. Swett, J. W. 
Hill, John F. Heckman, T. P. Wig- 
gin, J. Edwards Harlow, A. E. Hodg- 
son, F. A. Skelton, F. L. Skinner, 
Charles R. White, E. J. Williams, 
John Brundett, Eben Thompson, Ed- 
win IT. Corey, James H. Hatch and 
George D. Eldridge. 

The rectory was purchased in 1888, 
and in 1902 it was moved to its present 
location on Columbus Street and 
chapel enlarged and a parish house 
erected. 

For the first four years, the church, 
was served by four ministers, Rev. 
George W. Shinn, rector of Grace 
Church at Newton, being the first, and 
Avas followed by Mr. Langdon L. 
Ward, Mr. Henry W. Winkley and 
Rev. Dean R. Babbitt. 

Rev. Carlton P. Mills, the first rec- 




st. paul's episcopal church, newton highlands 

54 




LINCOLN PARK BAPTIST CHURCH, WEST NEWTON 



tor, was installed November 28, 1886, 
and served for about three years. He 
was succeeded by Rev. Wm. Hall Wil- 
liams, whose service extended to six and 
a half years, Rev. Clifford G. Twom- 



bly serving for ten years, Rev. Charles 
E. Jackson for a few months, Rev. Al- 
bert N. Slayton for six years and the 
present rector, Rev. Louis A. Parsons, 
was installed February 22, 1914. 



LINCOLN PARK BAPTIST CHURCH, WEST NEWTON. 



The Lincoln Park Baptist Church 
of West Newton, formerly known as 
the First Baptist Church, was origi- 
nally located in Newtonville. It was 
organized with sixteen members in De- 
cember 1863, and was recognized by a 
Church Council the 7th of the following 
April. Rev. B. A. Edwards was called 
to the pastorate "at such salary as the 
church might be able to raise," which 
later appeared to be $600. During the 
two years of his service the organiza- 
tion grew in numbers and strength. 

The second pastor was Father 
Graves. Until this time the church 



had worshipped in a hall. A lot was 
secured near the railroad station and a 
new brick building was begun, but the 
financial panic of 1857 stopped the en- 
terprise. It was subsequently sold to 
the Unitarians, and was later trans- 
ferred to the Methodists, who now oc- 
cupy the building. The members were 
scattered and the work was practically 
abandoned. 

In June, 1866, Deacon Nathan C. 
Pike, David C. Sanger and a few others 
met at Mr. Sanger's home to consider a 
change of location. It was voted to 
change the location and also the name 



55 



to the First Baptist Church of West 
Newton, and to invite all Baptists in 
this section of the city to unite with 
them. Services were held in Village 
Hall. 

Rev. Ralph H. Bowles was called to 
the pastorate and remained two years. 
He was succeeded by Rev. R. A. James, 
who served the church one year. The 
church was then supplied by various 
persons for a time. 

In 1870 the enterprise had so grown 
that it was deemed wise to erect a house 
of worship, and the present building 
was dedicated in 1871. During this 
time Rev. W. H. Lisle was pastor and 
the church grew rapidly under his care. 

Rev. Theodore Holland was the next 
pastor, but death cut short his useful 
services in 1878. For nearly two years 
the church was under the care of Pro- 
fessor Heman Lincoln, of Newton The- 
ological Institution. 

Rev. Lester L. Potter was called 
from Everett the latter part of the year 
1879, and during the four years of his 



pastorate the church grew so rapidly 
that the building was enlarged by the 
erection of a chapel. 

In January, 1883 Rev. O. D. Kim- 
ball became pastor and remained with 
the church five years. 

Rev. D. W. Faunce, D.D., became 
pastor in July, 1889, and continued his 
services until January, 1894. The next 
pastor was Rev. Edwin P. Burtt who, 
after five years of pastoral work, was 
succeeded by Rev. Edwin F. Snell. Mr. 
Snell spent a little more than nine years 
with the church. 

The present pastor, Rev. Robert W. 
Van Kirk came from Jackson, Michi- 
gan, in April, 1909. 

The church was made a legal corpor- 
ation September 12, 1891. Some ten 
years ago an addition was made to the 
chapel, and a parsonage was purchased 
adjoining the church building. About 
the same time the name was changed 
from the First Baptist Church to the 
Lincoln Park Baptist Church. 



GRACE CHURCH, NEWTON. 



The parish of Grace Church was or- 
ganized September 27, 185.5. The first 
services which led up to parish organiza- 
tion were held in the home of Mr. Ste- 
phen Perry, just over the Watertown 
line on Galen Street. The Rev. T. F. 
Fales, of Waltham, and a young cler- 
gyman, Rev. W. S. Perry, afterward 
Bishop of Iowa, officiated at these ser- 
vices. Sometimes the one. sometimes 
the other. 

As the congregation began to out- 
grow the accommodations of Mr. Ste- 
phen Perry's parlor, they secured the 
old "Union Hall," where Cole's Block 
now stands, and began to hold services 
there on May 20, 1856. Then a lot was 
purchased at the corner of Washington 



and Hovey Streets and a church build- 
ing of wood, was erected. The rector, 
Rev. J. S. Copley Greene, built and 
gave to the parish a rectory, which is 
now the Pomroy Home. A portion of 
the old Grace Church "horse-sheds" is 
still standing in the rear of this former 
rectory and may have given rise to won- 
dering questions in the minds of new 
comers to Newton, who do not know its 
history. Mr. Greene was the first rec- 
tor of the parish and was possessed of 
considerable wealth. He gave liberally 
to the cause of the new church. It was 
his first and only parochial cure. 

When Mr. Greene resigned the rec- 
torship in 1864, the parish had devel- 
oped considerably in numbers and fi- 



56 



nancial abilhy, and Rev. Peter Henry 
Steenstra, a man of scholarly attain- 
ments was called, who served the parish 
until 1869, when he resigned to begin 
his long and successful career as a pro- 
fessor in the Episcopal Theological 
School, at Cambridge, Mass. 

During the rectorship of the Rev. 
Henry C. Mayer, who succeeded Dr. 
Steenstra, the wooden church was be- 
coming overcrowded, and in 1872 the 
movement for a new church was begun. 



and was succeeded by Rev. Joseph S. 
Jenekes, July 1, 1872. On September 
4 of that year the corner-stone of the 
present beautiful stone church was laid, 
and the building was occupied for the 
first service in December, 1873. It was 
at that time the finest church building 
that had been erected in the city of 
Newton, and still holds its own among 
the best and most beautiful of Newton's 
public buildings. The cost was a little 
less than $100,000. 




GRACE CHURCH, NEWTON 



Looking to this end, a lot of land was 
secured on the corner of Church and 
Eldredge Streets. The credit for this 
far-sighted selection was due to Mr. 
S. Welles Holmes, for many years a 
most ardent and energetic member of 
the Vestry, who realized that the old 
site was becoming more and more noisy 
as the business of the Boston and Al- 
bany R. R. increased, and that Newton 
u]) the hills. 



was 



crowing 



In the meantime Mr. Mayer resigned 



On January 1, 1875, began the long 
and fruitful rectorship of the Rev. 
George W. Shinn, D.D. The parish 
grew in numbers and the church was 
adorned with beautiful gifts and me- 
morial windows. The first chime of 
bells in the city was set up in the belfry 
of the beautiful stone spire. The chapel, 
parish house, library, and choir house 
were erected, and the large debt was 
paid. 

Through the initiative of Dr. Shinn, 



57 



aided by members of Grace Church, and 
other citizens of Newton, the movement 
was inaugurated which has resulted in 
our splendid Newton Hospital, justly 
the pride of the whole city. 

Five other Episcopal churches have 
grown up, each taking members from 
Grace Church, and j^et the old parish 
maintains its vigorous life. 

On the first of June, 1906, Dr. 
Shinn's long rectorship came to end, by 
reason of infirmity and advancing years, 
and he became Rector-Emeritus. One 
year later the Rev. Laurens MacLure, 
D.D., became rector, and has continued 
to the present. The parish has advanced 



slowly and steadily, and many improve- 
ments have been made in the fabric and 
fittings of the church. The member- 
ship is about 450, an advance of about 
125. At present writing a handsome 
stone rectory is being erected on the 
property of the parish fronting El- 
dredge Street. The new building will 
contain twelve rooms and all conven- 
iences, and when completed will have 
cost about $23,000. Grace Church will 
then possess one of the most complete 
and beautiful groups of ecclesiastical 
buildings to be found anywhere in New 
England. 



CHURCH OF THE MESSIAH, AUBURNDALE. 



From 1857 on occasional services of 
the Episcopal Church were held in West 
Newton and Auburndale, but attempts 
to organize a parish were not successful 
as Saint Mary's at the Lower Falls and 
Grace Church in Newton were appar- 
ently sufficiently near. But in August, 
1871, there was an earnest demand 
made in West Newton to organize a 
parish there. Ten men called for a 
warrant, and a notice was posted on the 
door of the Unitarian Meeting House 
(where some of the services had been 
held ) , and a parish was duly organized 
at the house of Jeremiah Allen in 
Washington Street near what is now 
Aspen Street. Early in 1872 the West 
Newton Village Flail was hired by the 
year for regular services, and the Rev. 
C. S. Lester became the first rector. In 
1877 the words "and Auburndale" were 
added to the name of the parish, thus in- 
cluding and recognizing the Auburn- 
dale members. 

The question of a site for a church 
building was much debated. In Sep- 
tember, 1877, services began to be held 
at Lasell Seminary with the Rev. Dr. 
G. W. Shinn officiating. In March, 



1880 the parish was so far advanced as 
to be able to buy the "Brown lot" in 
Auburn Street, and also to secure some 
very fine brown freestone from a 
church which was being demolished in 
Boston. Mr. Charles Edward Parker, 
a well-known architect and a devoted 
member of the Church, gave the plans 
for the new Chapel, and it was built 
without delay under the direction of the 
following committee: Messrs. Parker, 
Earle, Woodruff, Henderson, and Nye. 

In January, 1882 the Rev. Henry 
Aiken Metcalf became rector. Services- 
were held regularly, and the church 
continued to grow. Mr. Metcalf was 
a devoted Churchman, well educated. 
Difficulties arose, however, and Mr. 
Metcalf resigned in May 1891. 

This period was a trying one. Many 
members dropped away, but a goodly 
number remained, and the parish 
started anew, calling as rector the Rev 
John Matteson, who had been gradu- 
ated in June of 1891 from the Episco- 
pal Theological School at Cambridge. 

Mr. Matteson made friends at once. 
His first vestry consisted of the follow- 
ing men: Senior Warden, N. F. Nye; 



58 



Junior Warden, V. D. Baldwin; 
Treasurer, W. T. Farley; Clerk, John 
W. Bird; Vestrymen, Henry L. Jew- 
ett, W. M. Lawen, Chas. L. Markham, 
W. S. Hinman, and Henry R. Turner. 

Bishop Brooks confirmed twenty-one 
persons in Lent, 1892, and the parish 
continued to grow. 

On Sunday, March 12, 1892, the rec- 
tor announced that the vestry had ap- 
pointed a committee to take charge of 
the building of a new church. Addi- 



and well-appointed kitchen. A very 
spacious parish hall was arranged un- 
derneath the chapel. The consecration 
and the new arrangement of the build- 
ings were occasions of great rejoicing. 
The officers of the parish at this time 
were: Senior Warden, Manley U. Ad- 
ams; Junior Warden, W. T. Farley; 
Treasurer, Edgar Ward; Clerk, Wil- 
liam I. Goodrich; Vestiymen, T. D. 
Baldwin, M. E. Beardslev, S. C. Ben- 
nett, F. P. Gore, F. S. Hovt, Jarvis 




CHURCH OF THE MESSIAH. AUBURNDALE 



tional land had been bought two years 
before, and although the Chapel was 
dear to all, it was becoming too crowded 
for comfort. On October 3, 1892 the 
cornerstone of the new building was 
laid by Bishop Brooks and the Rev. Dr. 
Shinn. April 11), 1909 the church was 
consecrated by Bishop Eawrence. 

The chapel, which was some distance 
from the church on the next lot, was 
now placed at right angles to the church 
and connected with it by a choir room 



Lamson, G. W. McNear, and J. W. 
Wildman. 

The church as it now stands was de- 
signed by Ralph Adams Cram. A be- 
quest of ' $3000.00 in the will of IV. F. 
Nye was of great assistance, but it 
would be impossible to recount the many 
other gifts. Only the Recording Angel 
could know the love and sacrifice which 
were spent. 

Since the consecration of the church 
in 1909 there have been few radical 



59 



changes. The grounds have been beau- 
tified and Boston ivy has been trained 
to grow upon the walls. The new boul- 
evard passing by the church and parish 
house increases their opportunity to be 
of service. The parish counts its ad- 
herents not only in West Newton and 
Auburndale, but also in Weston and 
the surrounding country. 

During this period of more than 
forty years the parish has received 
many valuable gifts. The organ which 
had been presented to the chapel by 
Mrs. H. B. Darling of New York, was 
used for some time in the new church, 
but in 1903 a fine new organ built by 
Cole of Boston was installed, and the 
old organ was replaced in the chapel. 
Mrs. Henry Whitman, well known as 
an interior decorator, gave her services, 
selecting windows and deciding upon 
the interior arrangements and colors. 
The beautiful window over the altar is 
in memory of Mrs. Jewett and bears 
this inscription: "That your hearts may 
be comforted, being knit together in 
love". There are also windows given 
in memory of Lizzie W. Shinn, from 
her pupils at Lasell Seminary, of Seth 
Harwood, from the Masonic Order, of 
Mrs. Lincoln, and one window is a gift 
from the infant class of several years 
ago. Mr. Dutton gave the Communion 
vessels in 1882. 

A rectory was bought in December, 
1905, located at 58 Auburn Street, 
about equally convenient to Auburn- 
dale and West Newton. The house 



has recently been put in thorough re- 
pair. 

In May, 1914, the resignation of the 
Rev. Mr. Matteson to take effect the 
following October 1 , was accepted with 
reluctance, for in his twenty-three years 
of faithful and helpful ministry both he 
and his wife and his mother had made a 
host of friends. The Rev. Harry Beal, 
a graduate of the Cambridge School in 
1911, was called as rector and assumed 
charge in October, 1914. 

The following men compose the ves- 
try elected for 1915: Senior Warden, 
Manley U. Adams; Junior Warden, 
Wm. I. Goodrich; Treasurer, Edgar 
Ward; Clerk, Franklin S. Hoyt; Ves- 
trymen, T. D. Baldwin, M. E. 'Beards- 
lev, W. W. Heckman, Jarvis Lamson, 
James Patchett, and J. H. H. Turner. 

A number of organizations are con- 
nected with the parish. The men have 
the Lawrence Club, formed in January, 
1906. The Woman's Guild has charge 
of both parish and missionary work. 
There are flourishing branches of the 
Girls' Friendly Society and the Junior 
Auxiliary. An Altar Guild was or- 
ganized in 1914. The vested choir of 
men and boys consists of twenty-seven 
members and the choir-boys have a club 
of their own. The Church School has 
the loyal support of a staff of fourteen 
officers and teachers. It is intended 
that every individual shall have an in- 
terest in one or another of these organi- 
zations, and their meetings keep the 
parish house in use much of the time. 



ST. JOHN'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH, NEWTONVILLE. 



The date of the founding of St. 
St. John's Parish goes back to the year 
1897 when some twenty persons came 
together to hold a first service in Tem- 
ple Hall, Newtonville. Previous to 



a student at the Theological School, had 
seen the possibilities for an Episcopal 
Church in this neighborhood, and had 
discussed the matter with several per- 
sons interested. The outlook seemed 



that date the present rector, while still propitious, and deservedly so, for when 

6o 



in 1897, the first service was held, suffi- 
cient resources were at hand to warrant 
the calling of a minister. The Rever- 
end Abel Millard was selected, and he 
remained with the parish for two years. 
In 1899 Mr. Millard was succeeded by 
the present rector, when steps were at 
once taken to secure the land upon 
which the church now stands. The land 
was bought and paid for at a cost of 
$4000. 

Meanwhile services were being held 



pie type of suburban church. Gothic 
in architecture, and beautifully finished 
within and without, the building does 
much by the simple dignity of its lines 
to give inspiration to all who worship 
within its walls. The architect is Henry 
Vaughn, and the material used for 
building is Vermont granite, a gift of 
a member of the parish. In the base- 
ment are rooms for the choir and for 
the various guilds of the church, while 
upstairs is a study for the rector. The 



v 









st. john's episcopal church, newtonville 



in Temple Hall, and the need of a 
church building was as pressing as is 
now the need of a parish house. Efforts 
to secure such a building were rewarded 
after the lapse of two years, and on the 
25th of June, 1902, Bishop Lawrence 
laid the corner stone of St. John's Epis- 
copal Church. The building was com- 
pleted the following year, and on March 
22, 1903, occurred the formal opening. 
The Bishop has often referred to our 
church home as being an excellent, sim- 



chancel, unusually large for the size of 
the church, accommodates a choir of 
twenty-six. The church itself seats 
about two hundred and twenty, and 
cost, exclusive of the land, $17,000. A 
two-manual pipe organ completes what 
has been a thoroughly satisfactory build- 
ing. Situated on a corner lot in a grow- 
ing part of the town, the church has 
for itself in the community a 



gained 



commanding and 



and support. 



increasing 



infl 



uence 



6i 



CLINE MEMORIAL M. E. CHURCH, NEWTON HIGHLANDS. 



At a quarterly conference held early 
in the year 1890 at the Methodist 
Church in Newton Upper Falls, it was 
voted to inaugurate services at Newton 
Highlands. 

In March, Rev. George S. Butters, 
of the Newtonville Methodist Church, 
began to hold services in Stevens Hall 
on Sunday afternoons. On May 4 of 
the same year, Rev. C. E. Todd as- 
sumed the pastorate. On June 5 the 
church was organized with a charter 
membership of thirteen. The names of 
these are as follows: — 

E. H. McCann, Samuel Stevenson, 
George P. Stevens, Abby V. Stevens, 
Emma G. Stevens, Fanny E. Stevens, 
Mary K. Hyde, Nethe O. Robinson, 
Rachel Park, Arthur J. Littlehale, Lil- 
lian Littlehale, Lizzie M. Blood and 
Dora Stevenson. 

Rev. Frank Barton came to the 
church as pastor in April, 1891, but 



removed to Mexico in December. He 
was succeeded by Rev. James P. Chad- 
bourne. 

In October, 1892, Rev. C. A. Shatto 
was appointed. During his pastorate 
the beautiful church edifice was erected 
at the junction of Hartford St. and 
Erie Avenue, an unexcelled location. 

In 1901 a Congregational lady, Miss 
Rand, presented to the church to be 
used as a parsonage, the fine property 
at 59 Hartford Street. 

In 1908 the name of the church was 
changed to Cline Memorial, in recog- 
nition of the splendid gifts and interest 
of Mr. and Mrs. Nicholas J. Cline. 

In addition to those already 
tioned the following pastors 
served this church: Rev. Arthur 
Rev. George S. Painter, 



men- 
have 
Bon- 
Rev. 

Thomas L. Bishop, Rev. Charles H. 

Davis, Rev. John E. Charlton, Rev. 

G. M. Bailey, Rev. Arthur D. Strand 



ner. 




CLINE MEMORIAL M. E. CHURCH, NEWTON HIGHLANDS 



62 







UNION CHURCH, WABAN 



and Rev. William Henry Hodge. The 
present pastor is Rev. William Kelley. 

The church has a splendid property 
and a growing membership. It has a 
fine Epworth League and a thriv- 
ing Ladies' Aid Society. It holds 
a unique place in the community and 
its future is bright with promise. It is 
well known for its splendid Gospel ser- 
vices on Sunday evenings, and its con- 
gregational singing. 

The officers of the church are as fol- 
lows : — 

Trustees: Rev. Wm. J. Cozens, 
President; J. B. Haskell, H. L. Has- 
kell, C. A. Noble, T. J. Ailing-ham, 
Richard Whight, Chas. German, Mrs. 
Anna Cline, G. N. B. Sherman. 



Stewards: C. M. Haskell, Lewis 
Giles, Robert Hopkins, Mrs. G. N. B. 
Sherman, Miss Alma Ross, Mrs. J. B. 
Haskell, Mrs. Sarah Morgan, Miss 
Edith McCann, H. W. Haskell. 

Sunday School Superintendent: Rev. 
Wm. J. Cozens. 

Epworth League President: Miss 
Katherine Bacon. 

Ladies' Aid President: Mrs. Anna 
Cline. 

The church is in charge of the Bos- 
ton District of the New England Con- 
ference and is under the supervision of 
Rev. Dillon Bronson, District Superin- 
tendent, and Bishop John W. Ham- 
ilton. 



UNION CHURCH, WABAN. 

The first informal meeting on record Reverend George M. Adams, D.D., of 
was on December 2nd, 1904. The late Auburndale, is gratefully remembered 

63 



as the first minister in charge. He min- 
istered to the small group of worship- 
pers until January, 1906. 

The Union Church Societj^ was for- 
mally organized on November 15, 1905, 
and incorporated May 5, 1908. The 
services of worship and the Sunday 
School continued to be held in Wa- 
ban Hall until the fall of 1912. The 
Rev. Joseph B. Seabury followed Dr. 
Adams as the minister in charge, and 
rendered faithful and devoted service 
until June, 1910. 

In September of that year, the Rev. 
Andrew W. Archibald, D.D., came as 
acting pastor, and to his wise and ener- 
getic leadership is owed much of the 
growth and prosperity that followed. 

On January 11, 1911, the Union 
Church was organized with eighty-one 
charter members; this event marks a 
new epoch in the history of this move- 
ment. The inconvenience of the hall as 
a place of worship emphasized the im- 
portance of a church edifice, and under 
Dr. Archibald's resourceful guidance, 
a canvas of the community was under- 
taken with such encouragement that the 
plans for a new church soon took shape. 

It is gratefully recalled that the Con- 
gregational Churches of Newton con- 
tributed through the Congregational 
Church Union the generous amount of 
$3,500. The Old South Church of 
Boston likewise gave $3,500. On Sep- 
tember 11, 1911 ground was broken for 
the new church on the lot given by the 
late Wm. C. Strong, who took a deep 
interest in the church from the begin- 



ning. 



The corner stone was laid with ap- 
propriate exercises on November 19th, 
and the completed House of Worship 
was dedicated with an impressive ser- 
vice on September 17, 1912. 

The Building Committee were F. W. 
Webster, Chairman, under whose con- 



stant care and oversight the work was 
done; F. H. Putnam, who did not live 
to see the work completed; with L. W. 
Arnold, J. P. Russell and H. S. Kim- 
ball. 

The ladies of the Society assumed 
the expense of installing a $2000 pipe 
organ, which they have now paid for. 

The architect was James II. Ritchie. 
The value of the church, including land 
and furnishings is $25,500. It is heated 
by steam and lighted by electricity. The 
auditorium has a capacity of about two 
hundred sittings. There are conven- 
ient and attractive rooms for the ladies' 
work and for the social activities of the 
church. The vestry is converted by 
moveable screens into individual class- 
rooms for the Sunday School. 

The building has been planned and 
completed with such thoughtful ness and 
good taste that it lias resulted in a per- 
fectly appointed and beautiful little 
church. In the absence of Dr. Archi- 
bald during two winters, the church 
was fortunate in the preaching and 
pastoral care of the Rev. George A. 
Hall and the Rev. Henry Hyde. 

Soon after the dedication of the 
church, by the unanimous call of Church 
and Society, the Rev. Charles Herrick 
Cutler, D.D., for twenty-five years min- 
ister of the First Congregational 
Church of Bangor, Maine, came to the 
Union Church as its first pastor. Mr. 
Cutler began his work on November 
17, 1912, and was formally installed 

May 15, 1913. 

The Congregation and Sunday 
School are constantly growing; there is 
a fine spirit of unanimity and co-opera- 
tion; the outlook is full of promise, and 
there is every reason to believe that a 
vigorous and fruitful church is added 
to the sisterhood of Christian churches 
in Newton. 



64 




FIRST UNITARIAN CHURCH, CHESTNUT HILL 



FIRST UNITARIAN CHURCH, CHESTNUT HILL. 



The First Church in Chestnut Hill, 
was gathered in October, 1861. On 
Wednesday, October 2, some ten or 
twelve families, then residents at Chest- 
nut Hill, with several from Brookline, 
met to dedicate the little meeting-house 
which later came to be known as Chest- 
nut Hill Chapel. It had been given 
by Thomas Lee, Esq., of Brookline, 
and was built from the plans of Charles 
Follen, Esq., after the model of the 
meeting house of the First Parish in 
Hingham, Massachusetts. The Rev. 
Samuel Kirkland Lothrop, D.D., of the 
church in Brattle Square, Boston, of- 
fered the prayer of dedication at this 
service, the Rev. Frederic Henry 
Hedge, D.I)., of the First Parish, 
Brookline, preached the sermon, and 
the Rev. William Augustus Whitwell 
offered the closing prayer. Mr. Whit- 
well, who had been for some years min- 
ister of the First Congregational Par- 



ish (Unitarian) of Harvard, was in- 
vited to become "pastor and teacher" of 
the new society, and entered on his du- 
ties Sunday, October 6. He served 
most acceptably until his death, Febru- 
ary 10, 1865. 

For some time afterwards no services 
were held, but on Sunday, May 13, 
1866, the Chapel was opened again 
under the charge of the Rev. Artemas 
Bowers Muzzey, who, in 1865, had re- 
signed from the pastorate of the First 
Religious Society of Newburyport. Mr. 
Muzzey continued as minister for ten 
years, driving over from his home in 
Cambridge for the Sunday services and 
other pastoral duties, but in September, 
1876, he resigned. He was immedi- 
ately succeeded by the Rev. John Al- 
bert Buckingham, on October 8, 1876, 
but upon his resignation. June 26, 1881, 
the services in the Chapel were again 
discontinued. Some of the families 



*5 



which had made up the congregation 
had removed from Chestnut Hill, and 
the others thought it wise under all the 
circumstances to worship with the mem- 
bers of the First Parish, Brookline. In 
1895, however, the need of local services 
was again felt, and during the next two 
years an afternoon service, intended 
more especially for children, was held 
under the care, for a part of the time, of 
the Rev. Robert Sprague Loring, then 
a student in the Harvard Divinity 
School. 

In 1897 Sunday morning services 
were resumed in charge of the present 
minister, the Rev. Edward Hale, who 
preached in the Chapel for the first time 
October .3, 1897. A Sunday school was 
organized later, and a branch of the Na- 
tional Alliance of Unitarian and other 
liberal Christian women. With the 
growth of the community the needs of 
the congregation outgrew the accommo- 
dation provided by the Chapel and by 
such use of the adjoining schoolhouse as 
had been possible, and after much de- 
liberation it was decided in the fall of 
1909 to purchase land and erect a new 
meeting-house on Suffolk Road, near 
Hammond Street. Plans were drawn 
by Mr. J. Lovell Little, Jr., and the 
corner stone was laid on Sunday, April 
10, 1910, immediately after the morning 



service in the Chapel, by Mr. Charles 
H. Burrage, treasurer emeritus of the 
church and its oldest member. Services 
were held for the first time in the new 
building on Sunday, Christmas Day, 
1910, and it was dedicated on the after- 
noon of New Year's Day, 1911. The 
Rev. James DeNormandie, D.D., 
offered the prayer of dedication, and 
there were addresses by the Rev. Sam- 
uel A. Eliot, D. D., the Rev. William 
H. Lyon, D.D., and the Rev. Howard 
N. Brown, D.D. Mr. Sewall H. Fes- 
senden presented the report of the 
building committee, and Mr. Richard 
M. Saltonstall, as chairman of the 
standing committee, responded in an 
address in which he reviewed the history 
of the parish. Three of the original 
members of the church were present at 
this service, and all but one of the origi- 
nal families were represented, and the 
opening and closing organ voluntaries 
were played by Mr. Hiram G. Tucker, 
a son of one of these families. 

After the decision to purchase land 
and build, the society took steps for its 
incorporation, and was given its charter 
December 22, 1909. The society now 
includes some seventy-five families, 
numbering about two hundred and 
fifty persons. 



CHURCH OF THE SACRED HEART, NEWTON CENTRE. 



The Sacred Heart Church of New- 
ton Centre is a noble testimony to the 
faith and generosity of a small flock of 
genuine Catholics of the passing genera- 
tion, in response to the zeal of their first 
pastor in his task of erecting a house of 
God. 

Hitherto, the Catholics of this district 
had been attending divine worship in St. 
Mary's Church, Newton Upper Falls, 
or in the Church of Our Lady, New- 



ton, but near the close of 1890 the Most 
Reverend John J. Williams, late Arch- 
bishop of Boston, set apart Chestnut 
Hill, Newton Centre and the adjoining 
portions of Newton Highlands to form 
a new parish, consisting of about 1300 
souls. As resident pastor over this little 
flock, he appointed the late Rev. Denis 
J. Wholey, who had been serving as first 
assistant under Vicar General Byrne, 
rector of St. Joseph's Parish in the 



66 




CHURCH OF THE SACRED HEART, NEWTON CENTRE 



West End, Boston. The personality 
and executive power, which had dis- 
tinguished Father Wholey as a young 
priest, won him the love and loyalty of 
his people in the difficult undertaking 
of planning and paying for the impos- 
ing church which now is theirs. 

Some property had already been se- 
cured by Rev. Martin O'Brien, the re- 
cently deceased pastor of St. Mary's, 
and a partial payment made on the pur- 
chase. It was not long before the bal- 
ance was paid, and in August, 1891 
ground was broken for the building of 
the new church. A house on the prop- 
erty was used as a rectory and served 
also as a place of meeting for the differ- 
ent societies and committees. In it, too, 
were administered many of the sacred 
rites of the church— baptisms, mar- 
riages and confessions — while the holy 



sacrifice of the Mass and other public 
services took place in Association Hall, 
which had formerly been the Baptist 
Meeting House. 

In October, 1891, the corner stone of 
the House of God was laid, and on 
Christmas morning the lower church 
was ready for occupancy and opened 
for the worship of God. In October, 
1899 the beautiful church, completed 
and fully appointed, was dedicated with 
solemn ceremony and thanksgiving. 

In the spring of 1908 therparishi on- 
ers heard with regret of the appoint- 
ment of their beloved Father Wholey 
to the permanent rectorship of St. Jo- 
seph's Parish, Roxbury; yet they real- 
ized that it was a promotion which he 
well deserved and felt honored in hav- 
ing as his successor Rev. Daniel C. Rior- 
dan, who had been pastor of the Sacred 



67 



Heart Parish, Marlboro, for nearly 
eight years. It is doubtful if ever a 
pastor inspired in his flock a deeper and 
more fervent devotion and loyalty. Ac- 
cording to his official statement, con- 
siderably more than 2000 souls, with 
450 children attending Sunday School, 
constituted the parish at the time; the 
church was free from debt and the funds 
in bank to the credit of the parish quite 
considerable. For a long time, how- 
ever, the people had realized that the 
old rectory in no wajr afforded the com- 
fort and convenience which they wished 
their priests to enjoy. Accordingly, in 
1911, Father Riordan made arrange- 
ments for the building of a new rectory, 
and in the following spring it was com- 
pleted and paid for. This beautiful 
house is in harmony with the church, 
and satisfies every desire of the parish- 
ioners as a worthy abode for their 
priests. 

At present the parish is in excellent 
condition. The regular societies and 
sodalities, organized in her early days 
for the furthering of devotion, with 
meetings every week and frequent re- 
ception of the Sacraments, are all well 
attended and successfully maintained. 
There are the Men's Holy Name So- 
ciety, the Holy Family Sodality for 
married women, the Sodality for un- 
married women, the Boys' Holy Name 
Society, and the Children of Mary for 
the girls. At the very start a well con- 
ducted Sunday School was established, 
providing a thorough course of instruc- 
tion in Christian Doctrine and Bible 
History for pupils ranging from four 
to twenty years of age. Father Wholey 
was supervisor of the Sunday School 
until Rev. George McDermott came as 
his assistant and took charge of this 
part of the work. On his removal to 
his home diocese of Springfield, he was 
succeeded by Rev. Thomas Lee, who in 
spite of severe illness, heroically toiled 
on till death called him to eternal rest. 



Since 1905 Rev. James F. Haney has 
been serving as curate in this parish. 
Too much cannot be said of his work 
and influence among all the parishion- 
ers, but particularly among the young; 
never were the Junior Societies and the 
Sunday School in better order or more 
earnestly at work than under him. At 
present he is assisted in the advanced 
classes by sisters from the Saint Jo- 
seph's Academy of Brighton. 

Of many of her boj^s and girls the 
parish of the Sacred Heart may well be 
proud. Rev. Dr. Patrick Waters, af- 
ter completing his college and seminary 
courses with honors, was sent by His 
Eminence, Cardinal O'Connell, to do 
special work in the University of Wash- 
ington and is at present Professor of 
Philosophy at St. John's Seminaiy, 
Brighton. Rev. Bernard O'Kane, now 
curate in Chelsea, was the second grad- 
uate of the Sunday School to become a 
priest, while David Waters, brother of 
Dr. Patrick Waters, and Robert Barry, 
are students at St. John's Seminaiy, 
preparing for the priesthood. Other 
young men have gone into different pro- 
fessions and have proved themselves effi- 
cient lawyers, dentists and physicians. 
The building of the new Boston Col- 
lege within the boundaries of the parish 
has been no small incentive to learning, 
and an ever increasing number of 
youths are attending that and other col- 
leges and universities throughout the 
state. 

The same spirit is evident among the 
girls. Two graduates from the Sunday 
School have consecrated their lives to 
God, Mary MacLellan, taking the veil 
as Sister Mary Hubert of St. Joseph's 
Order, and Helen Horgan joining the 
Dominicans. 

Many others have done creditable 
work in colleges and other institutions 
of higher learning, and have become 
teachers in schools and academies in and 
around Boston 



68 




ST. MARY S EPISCOPAL CHURCH, NEWTON LOWER FALLS 



ST. MARY'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH, NEWTON LOWER FALLS. 



St. Mary's Episcopal Church, lo- 
cated on Concord Street, Newton 
Lower Falls, with its church yard bury- 
in"' ground adjacent, is not only the 
oldest Episcopal church in the city, but 
it is occupying the oldest church edifice 
in the entire community, the corner 
stone of the present structure having 
been laid in 1813, and the centennial of 
that event on Sept. 28-29, 1913 was a 
notable occasion. 

The church itself was formed in 1812 
with Solomon Curtis and Thomas Du- 
rant as wardens, Isaac Hagar, treas- 
urer, and Rev. Asa Eaton, rector of 
Christ Church, Boston, was in charge. 
The first settled rector was Rev. Alfred 
Baury, who served from 1822 to 1851 
and who numbered Gov. Alexander 



Hamilton Rice as one of his parishion- 
ers. The more recent rectors include 
Rev. H. Usher Monroe, 1892-1901; 
Rev. Thomas L. Cole, 1901-1909; and 
the present rector Rev. Francis Bing- 
ham White, being instituted in 1910. 

The church has memorial funds and 
endowments given by Rev. W. W. Sea- 
ver, Mr. Francis Blake and the Benja- 
min-Neale Memorial rectory. 

The present officers are C. IT. 
Spring, Edward Jennings, wardens; J. 
S. Jenkins, clerk; C. C. Spring, treas- 
urer; F. C. Leslie, W. C. Norcross, B. 
S. Blake, B. L. Young, W. H. White, 
N. B. K. Brooks, II. F. Leslie, W. F. 
Scale, and G. M. Ileathcote, vestry- 
men. 



6 9 




ST. BERNARD'S CHURCH, WEST NEWTON 



ST. BERNARD'S CHURCH. WEST NEWTON 



Rev. Bernard Flood, pastor of the 
Roman Catholic Church at Waltham 
gathered the Catholics of West New- 
ton to public worship in 186.5, the first 
meeting being held in a tent, with ser- 
vices later in the then Town Hall. Sub- 
sequently, Father Flood was enabled 
to purchase the land at the corner of 
Washington and Prospect streets, 
where he began the erection of the sec- 
ond Catholic church in Newton, the 
corner stone being laid November 12, 
1871, by the Very Reverend P. F. Lyn- 
don, Vicar-General of the Diocese of 



Boston. The church was completed in 
1874, and was dedicated early that year 
by Bishop Williams. The congregation 
grew so rapidly that in 1876 West 
Newton was made a parish and Rev. 
M. T. McManus appointed as its first 
pastor. Father McManus labored here 
until his transfer to Lawrence, in 1884, 
and was succeeded by Rev. Christopher 
McGrath, whose death took place on 
June 13, 1886. Rev. Laurence J. 
O'Toole was the third pastor, and under 
his direction the parish steadily grew 
in strength and importance. On June 



JO 



23, 1889 the church was destroyed by 
fire, but it was immediately rebuilt and 
dedicated by Archbishop John J. Wil- 
liams on April 27, 1890. This building 
is a handsome Gothic structure of brick 
with brown sandstone trimmings and 
has a seating capacity of 1000. Besides 
rebuilding the church Father O'Toole 



purchased the present rectory and land 
adjoining and later secured the prop- 
erty east of the church for school pur- 
poses. Father O'Toole died on April 
4, 1911 and was mourned by the entire 
community. The present pastor, Rev. 
John F. Keleher, was appointed in 
May, 1911. 



CHANNING CHURCH, NEWTON. 



The beginnings of Channing Church 
were had when the Unitarians of New- 
ton village held services of worship in 
Union Hall at Newton Corner, with 
Dr. Convers Francis, then Professor in 
Harvard Divinity School, as Minister. 
At a special meeting on September 2, 
1851, the Unitarian Society was organ- 
ized. For designation of the newly es- 
tablished church the name of Channing 
was chosen, for the reason that he was 
the recognized leader of the Unitarian 



movement and best represented the re- 
ligious faith and spirit of free thought 
for which its members stood. Hence 
the corporate name of The Channing 
Religious Society. The first Standing 
Committee consisted of Henry Bige- 
low, George C. Lord, Langdon Coffin, 
Oliver N. Shannon, Henry Claflin, 
Darwin E. Jewett, Frederick W. Ca- 
pen; Andrew Cole, Treasurer, and 
Charles T. Hubbard, Clerk. 




CHANNING CHURCH, NEWTON 



7' 



The first regular minister of the or- 
ganized church was Rev. Joseph C. 
Smith, who served from 1853 to 1857. 
The first meeting house was erected in 

1856 on Washington Street near the 
Corner. It was enlarged in 1867. In 

1857 Rev. Edward James Young, 
D.D., became the minister of the church 
and served until 1869. Rev. Eli Fay, 
D.D., was the minister from 1870 to 
1873. Rev. George W. Hosmer, 
D.D., who had just retired from the 
presidency of Antioch College in Ohio 
at the age of seventy years, was en- 
gaged as temporary supply for the pul- 
pit; which lengthened into a pastorate 
of six years. In 1879 he was succeeded 
by Rev. Francis B. Hornbrooke, D. D., 
whose pastorate extended over twenty- 
one years. 

The movement of the population to 
the east side of the railroad, the old 
meeting house beginning to need reno- 
vation, and the disturbance to the quiet- 
ude of worship occasioned by the in- 
creasing railroad traffic on Sunday, 
were circumstances that turned atten- 
tion to a new site and the erection of a 
better building. The old building was 
sold to the City of Newton and has been 
known in recent years as The Armory. 
April 7, 1881, on the one-hundred-and- 
first anniversary of the birth of 
William Ellery Channing, the cor- 
ner stone was laid of the present 
beautiful and commodious edifice on 
Park, Vernon, and Eldredge Streets. 
Mr. George T. Meachem, a member of 
the church, was the architect. Under 
the direction of a Committee consist- 
ing of George C. Lord, John S. Far- 



low, Warren P. Tyler, Henry B. 
Wells, David B. Flint, Henry Ciaflin, 
Channing Lily, and W. Russell Brack- 
ett, the building was completed and 
ready for occupancy the following year. 

September 15, 1901 a service was held 
in commemoration of the fiftieth anni- 
versary of the founding of Channing 
Church, at which time historic addresses 
were given by Rev. Edward James 
Young, D. D. the second minister of 
the church, Rev. Francis B. Horn- 
brooke, D. D., the last minister of the 
church, and Rev. Adelbert L. Hudson, 
the then newly beginning minister of 
the church. The proceedings and ad- 
dresses of this commemoration are pub- 
lished in volume form. The occasion 
marked the close of Dr. Hornbrooke's 
pastorate and the inauguration of his 
successor, Rev. Adelbert L. Hudson, 
who was the minister until 1910. On 
April 17, 1910 the present minister, 
Rev. Harry Lutz, was installed. 

Channing Church, though it bears a 
sectarian name that expresses a partic- 
ular manner of religious thought, 
stands for the prime object of all 
churches: the higher spiritual and cul- 
tural life; and it welcomes to its fellow- 
ship, without regard to particular per- 
sonal theological opinion, all who are 
actuated by such purpose and spirit. 
The many strong and public-spirited 
characters that have been associated 
with it and the able scholarly men that 
have been its ministers through the six 
decades of its career have made it a 
powerful factor in the life and develop- 
s ^ment of the city. 



CHURCH OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD, WABAN. 



The Church of the Good Shepherd 
was the first church in Waban, and is 
the youngest of the Episcopal churches 



in the City of Newton. The church 
building was erected by the Waban 
Church Corporation in 1896, and the 



72 



Rev. William Hall Williams, a presby- 
ter of the Diocese of Massachusetts, was 
called as the first minister. On Decem- 
ber 26, 1896, the Parish of the Church 
of the Good Shepherd was organized, 
"for the purpose of maintaining the 
public worship of Almighty God, ac- 
cording to the faith and discipline of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church in the 
United States of America." And fur- 
ther it was declared in the by-laws then 
adopted, "no person shall be eligible to 



and of the earnest desire to include all 
the families in Waban, the parish as 
then established was considered the best 
arrangement under the circumstances. 
It was looked upon as a Union Church. 
The first officers of the Church of the 
Good Shepherd were as follows: — 
Minister, the Rev. William Hall Wil- 
liams. Senior Warden, Charles E. 
Fish. Junior Warden, Robert W. 
Pratt. Clerk, Winslow A. Parsons. 
Treasurer, Alexander Davidson. Ves- 




CHURCH OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD, WABAN 



the office of rector, unless he is a quali- 
fied minister of the Protestant Episco- 
pal Church in good standing." The 
parish, however, did not enter into 
union with the Diocese as a regularly 
constituted Episcopal Church, although 
it was required that he who ministered 
to it should be a qualified minister of 
the Episcopal Church. This was an 
unusual position for an Episcopal min- 
ister, but on account of the different de- 
nominations represented in the parish, 



trymen, Charles H. Clark, Charles J 
Buffum, John E. Heymer, John H 
Robinson, William Saville. 

During eight years, the Rev. Mr 
Williams ministered to the families of 
Waban. After his resignation in 1904, 
the parish was without a minister for 
six months. During this time some 
families identified with the Church of 
the Good Shepherd withdrew, and with 
others established public worship in 
Waban Hall. In 1912 this society 



73 



built a church, and became allied with 
the Congregational Church, and is now 
known as a Congregational Union 
Church. 

In 1905, the present incumbent of 
the Church of the Good Shepherd, Rev. 
James Clement Sharp, began his min- 
istry as the successor of the Rev. Mr. 
Williams. In 1908, the Parish of the 
Church of the Good Shepherd be- 
came a regularly constituted Episcopal 
Church. The parish voted to give to 
the Waban Church Corporation, which 
held the church property, and to which 
the parish had been paying an annual 
rental of $300. for the use of the build- 
ing, the sum of one thousand dollars. 
This amount was raised by the minister 
by subscription. It was stipulated that 
the thousand dollars should be passed 
over by the corporation to the new 
Union Society for their building fund 
for a Union Church. The Waban 
Church Corporation accepted the mon- 
ey and surrendered the title and deed 
of the church property held by them to 
the Parish of the Church of the Good 



Shepherd. By an act of the legislature, 
the Waban Church Corporation was 
then dissolved. Meanwhile the Church 
of the Good Shepherd was reorganized, 
and a constitution and by-laws adopted 
in accordance with the doctrines, disci- 
pline and canons of the Protestant 
Episcopal Church. 

The parish was then received into 
union with the diocese of Massachusetts, 
as a regularly established Episcopal 
Church. Since 1908, the parish has 
sent its delegates to the annual diocesan 
conventions. 

The present officers of the Church of 
the Good Shepherd are as follows: — 

Rector, Rev. James Clement Sharp. 
Wardens, William H. Oakes, Edmund 
Winchester. Vestrymen, David A. 
Ambrose, Robert E. Hall, Lewis H. 
Bacon, Herbert R. Lane, Archie C. 
Burnett, Nelson H. Marvin, Lester B. 
Cardell, Herbert O. Stetson, Everett 
W. Conant, Lucius B. Folsom, Albert 
H. Willis. Treasurer, Herbert O. Stet- 
son. Clerk, David A. Ambrose. 



IMMANUEL BAPTIST CHURCH, NEWTON. 



Churches multiply in two ways, — 
like monads, b} r division, or like plants, 
from seed; "first the blade, then the 
ear," etc. This church originated in the 
latter way. 

More than half a century ago a little 
group of Baptists in Wards one and 
seven, having no nearer church of their 
own faith than Watertown and Newton 
Centre, felt that better church and Sun- 
day School facilities were needed, and 
on April 10, 1859, held their first meet- 
ing for public worship in Middlesex 
Hall. 

The first morning sermon was 
preached by Rev. W. L. Brown of 
Watertown, and the afternoon sermon 



by Rev. J. W. Horton, who was after- 
wards (in 1866) killed in New Orleans 
while trying to pacify a mob. 

On April 29th a Sunday School was 
organized with thirty members, which, 
during the year, increased to one hun- 
dred and twelve. J. W. Bailey was the 
first superintendent and George H. 
Quincy librarian. 

On June 7, 1860, it was voted to form 
a distinct church organization, to be 
known as the Newton Corner Baptist 
Church. The recognition services were 
held on the 12th of July, 1860, the ser- 
mon being preached by Prof. O. S. 
Stearns, D.D., of Newton Theological 
Institution. Services were held in 



74 




IMMANUEL BAPTIST CHURCH, NEWTON 



Union Hall, Cole's Block, until March 
29, 1864, when, at the corner of Wash- 
ington and Hovey Streets, a new church 
building was dedicated, the corner stone 
having been laid Oct. 1, 1803. 

We little realize the sacrifice made by 
these pioneers in the infancy of the 
church and Sunday School. Before 
the church was built they could only 
afford to hire the hall for Sundays, and 
as it was often used for secular purposes 
late Saturday night, the labor of put- 
ting the place in order for the worship 
of God sometimes extended into the 
small hours of Sunday morning. 



In the new church after four years of 
patient struggle, conditions were much 
improved, and accessions of new fami- 
lies of spiritual and social strength 
helped to put the church upon a 
stronger basis. 

The first pastor was Rev. Gilbert 
Bobbins, who served the church about 
a year and a half, and was succeeded by 
Bev. Jeremiah Chaplin, whose pasto- 
rate extended from April, 18(52, to Oc- 
tober, 1805, when Bev. John Tucker 
was pastor for about a year. The pul- 
pit was then supplied by Bev. Galusha 
Anderson, D.D., for three years. Jn 



75 



1873 Rev. Thomas S. Sampson was 
called to the pastorate, which he held 
for seven years, when he was succeeded 
by Rev. H. F. Titus. Up to this time 
235 had joined by letter, and 167 by 
baptism. 

It was during- the pastorate of Mr. 
Titus that the present church building 
was erected on Church Street, at a cost 
of about $70,000., H. H. Richardson 
being the architect. (This was the 
seventh and last church he designed, 
and the sixty-second of the structures 
he planned before he went to dwell in 
the house not made with hands.) 

The corner stone was laid May 1, 

1885, by Mrs. Caroline Sweetser, the 
oldest constituent member, and the se- 
nior deacon, Horatio K". Hyde, and 
wife. It was dedicated December 22, 

1886, Rev. A. J. Gordon preaching the 
sermon. 

During the more than a score of the 
succeeding years the church has had a 
steady growth. No pews have ever 
been sold or rented, but all seats are 
free, and attendants are given the best 



seats available without regard to their 
contributions, 

The debt of over $20,000, incurred 
in building the church, has been paid, 
and not only have running expenses 
been promptly met, but large sums have 
been contributed annually for mission- 
ary and benevolent objects. 

The pastors succeeding Rev. Mr. Ti- 
tus, who resigned in 1888, have been as 
follows,— Rev. J. W. McCullough, 
1889, Rev. George E, Merrill, D. D., 
1890 to 1898, Rev. Frank B. Matthews, 
1899 to 1909. Rev. Harrie R. Cham- 
berlin, the present pastor, was installed 
December, 1909. 

The present membership is about 353. 
The amount raised annually for all pur- 
poses is about $10,000. 

Connected with the church are the 
Young People's and Junior Christian 
Endeavor Societies, the Immanuel 
Women's Association, and in the Sun- 
day School the Young Men's League, 
Immanuel Associates, Harwood Class, 
Matthews and Philathea organized 
classes, all working to carry out the 
principles on which the church was 
founded. 



NEWTOX CENTRE M. E. CHURCH. 



Mr. C. C. Chatfield, a Local Preach- 
er, who had retired from an active busi- 
ness in New Haven, Conn., and settled 
in Newton Centre for a quiet home, 
first gathered a small company of 
Methodists for a prayer-meeting. The 
first Sunday service was held June 10, 
1875, and there were thirty-four per- 
sons present. The old fire-engine 
house, located where the rear of the 
church now stands, was the "place of 
prayer." Marshall S. Rice, "Father 
Rice" of blessed memory, had pre- 
viously held occasional class-meetings 
in his own house. But Mr. Chatfield 
gave the initial impulse for the organi- 



zation of the Methodist Society in this 
village, and under his leadership many 
souls were brought to spiritual life. 
After him Rev. Mr. McFarland, was, 
for a time the minister; he was then a 
student in the School of Theology, 
Boston University. 

Services, under the pastorate of Rev. 
George H. Perkins were held in 
White's Block, and were continued in 
that location to the close of his term in 
1880. A bequest of $1000 from Father 
Rice, and the gift of a lot of land on the 
corner of Centre Street and Langley 
Road by Alden Speare, made possible 
the enterprise of a church building, 



76 



which was undertaken by the Trustees 
in 1879. 

This first building was erected at a 
cost of $7,578 and was dedicated by 
Bishop Randolph S. Foster, July 7, 
1880. Through the generosity of Ed- 
win M. Fowle, Chairman of the Build- 
ing Committee, the church was made 
free of indebtedness, as he assumed all 
unpaid bills at the dedication. 

In the spring of 1888 a house and lot 
were purchased on Pelham Street. 
This house, renovated, became the par- 
sonage, and Rev. Dr. W. R. Clark was, 



temporarily in Bray Hall during the 
work of construction. Rev. George H. 
Spencer was pastor in this period, and 
rendered efficient service by his energy 
and good taste. The beautiful and well 
appointed sanctuary was completed and 
dedicated by Bishop Cyrus D. Foss, 
May 7, 1899 — the total cost of the 
church and its furnishings being $48,- 
068. The entire indebtedness was can- 
celled ere many months. 

The latest material enterprise of the 
Trustees was the building of a new par- 
sonage on Lake Avenue. From the 




NEWTON CENTRE M. E. CHURCH 



with his family, the first pastor to be 
its occupant. In 1896, at the close of 
Rev. (now Bishop) Edwin H. Hughes' 
pastorate, a movement was started to 
raise a Fund for a new church. Pledges 
amounting to $14,000 had been secured 
by the end of that year. The old church 
was torn down. Under a strong Build- 
ing Committee, Avery L. Rand, Chair- 
man, plans were adopted for a stone 
structure, and a contract was awarded 
to the builders, Pitman and Brown, of 
Salem, for $28,000. Services were held 



sale of the Pelham Street property in 
1908 a new home for the minister be- 
came a necessity. The site was bough! 
for $2,800, and an elegant house was 
completed in 1912, at a cost of $14,676. 
The indebtedness for this parsonage is 
now in the way of liquidation, so that 
within a reasonable time the church will 
have no material burdens that cannot 
be easily carried. 

Since the year 1875 the little com- 
pany of that time has grown to a mem- 
bership of nearly three hundred. 



77 



_ x ~ 




CHURCH OF OUR LADY, NEWTON 



CHURCH OF OUR LADY, NEWTON. 



The Catholics of this portion of the 
community first met for worship in the 
fall of 1872, in a hall at Newton Cor- 
ner, under the direction of Rev. M. M. 
Green, pastor of St. Patrick's Church 
at Watertown. Immediate steps were 
taken towards securing a church edi- 
fice, and land was purchased at the cor- 
ner of Washington and Adams street, 
where the corner stone of the present 
church was laid August 31, 1873. The 
first mass was offered on All Saints' 
Day, 1874. In August, 1878, Newton 
was set apart as a parish, with Father 
Green as its first pastor. On his death 
in 188.5 he was succeeded by Rev. Mi- 
chael Dolan, pastor of St. Mary's 
Church at Newton Upper Falls. 
Father Dolan first gave his attention to 
the building of suitable rectory, fol- 



lowed by the cancellation of the debt on 
the church, and each year of his incum- 
bency has witnessed some marked im- 
provement in the church property. Pos- 
sibly his greatest work was the estab- 
lishment of a parish school and convent. 
These buildings are adjacent to the 
church edifice on Adams street and are 
well equipped and modern in every par- 
ticular. Over one thousand children are 
taught in this school, by the Sisters of 
Charity, who occupy the convent. 

The church has recently been thor- 
oughly reconstructed, including a fa- 
cade of three Gothic porches, the inter- 
ior beautifully frescoed, and is now a 
fine type of the pure Gothic style with 
a seating capacity of 1600. 

Father Dolan is a permanent rector, 



78 



and under his able management the 
church established here has taken a fore- 
most place in the archdiocese of Boston. 



Father Dolan is assisted by Rev. James 
F. Kelly, and Rev. Aloysius S. Ma- 
lone. 



CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, NEWTON HIGHLANDS. 



As the result of a fellowship meeting 
of Congregational churches held in 
Newtonville, November 6, 1871, the 
first religious service of this faith held 
in Newton Highlands, took place in 
Farnham's Hall on Sunday, Novem- 
ber 12 of that year, and a society was 
formed January 30, 1872 with Mr. 
James F. C. Hyde as moderator. 
Twenty-four of the members of the 
Newton Centre church were dismissed 
for the purpose of forming the new so- 
ciety and articles of faith were adopted 
June 24 of the same year. An ecclesi- 
astical council was held July 9, 1872 



and the organization was confirmed 
with twenty-nine persons as members. 
Rev. Samuel H. Dana was ordained 
and installed as the first pastor on Oc- 
tober 9, 1872. A meeting house was 
erected this same year, but it was not 
completed and dedicated until January 
25, 1876. Rev. George G. Phipps suc- 
ceeded Mr. Dana as pastor on April 4, 
1878 and served until January 24, 1893. 
During his pastorate the societ} T was 
dissolved and the present Newton 
Highlands Congregational Church 
held its first meeting as an incorporated 




CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, NEWTON HIGHLANDS 

79 



body on December 31, 1890. Rev. 
Charles E. Havens succeeded Mr. 
Phipps on November 2, 1893 and 
served until ill health compelled his 
resignation January 2, 1901. The pres- 
ent pastor, Rev. George T. Smart, 



D.D., was installed on March 11, of 
that year. 

The present church edifice was dedi- 
cated in September, 1906, and is one of 
the best arranged and attractive 
churches in the city. 



TRINITY EPISCOPAL CHURCH, NEWTON CENTRE. 



Trinity Church, Newton Centre, was 
started by a group of people in the vil- 
lage, who found it inconvenient to go to 
Episcopal churches in other parts of 



rector of St. Paul's church, Newton 
Highlands, a mile away, and asked him 
to conduct afternoon services. This he 
did for several months, until he ac- 



Newton, or to Boston, and they decided cepted a call to Michigan. The people 

to organize a parish of their own. This then applied to the Episcopal Theologi- 

was in June, 1889, nearly twenty-six cal School, Cambridge, for some one to 

years ago. A meeting was held, half a hold services. Rev. Samuel G. Bab- 




TRINITY EPISCOPAL CHURCH, NEWTON CENTRE 

dozen families were represented, and cock, then a student in the school, now 

the project was launched. Suffragan Bishop of the Diocese, took 

Associates' Small Hall, on Pleasant charge for some months. Rev. Robert 

street, where the branch reading room A. Holland, then a deacon, and a stu- 

of the public library is now located, was dent, was in charge for a year following, 

secured for the services. The people He was succeeded in June, 1891, by the 

turned to Rev. Carlton P. Mills, then present rector, Rev. Edward Taylor 

8o 



Sullivan, then finishing his middle year 
as a theological student. 

Upon his graduation from the semi- 
nary in 1892, he removed to Newton 
Centre and became the first resident 
minister. In that year "Trinity Asso- 
ciation," as the organization was called, 
became Trinity Parish; a lot was 
bought on Pelham street, and the erec- 
tion of a church was begun. The church 
was opened for services on February 19, 
1893, the First Sunday in Lent. 

It was five years later, in February, 
1898, that half an acre of land was pur- 
chased on the corner of Centre and 
Homer streets, and the church building 
was removed to the new location. In 
1911 a parish house was built, costing 
$16,000; and in 1913 the project of a 
new church of stone was undertaken. 
It was at first intended to build only a 



portion of the new building ; but anony- 
mous gifts of nearly $20,000 and a loan 
of $25,000 for twenty years, without 
interest, enables the parish to proceed 
with the erection of a beautiful Gothic 
church, to cost $75,000. 

The building committee consists of 
Messrs. Louis H. Fitch, chairman; 
Robert Casson, John Evans, William 
H. Bundy and the Rector; with Mr. 
William G. Snow as special committee 
in charge of heating and ventilating. 
The parish officers are : Isaac F. North, 
senior warden; William H. Bundy, 
junior warden; Charles B. Moore, 
treasurer; Samuel B. Paul, parish 
clerk; Clarence H. Wilkins, assistant 
treasurer; vestrymen, Louis H. Fitch, 
Robert Casson, William G. Snow, Wil- 
liam B. Neal; Sunday School Superin- 
tendent, F. Winchester Denio. 



FIRST CHURCH OF CHRIST SCIENTIST, WEST NEWTON. 



The First Church of Christ, Scien- 
tist, Newton, is the newest of the New- 
ton Churches, having its opening ser- 
vice early in 1913. At present it is lo- 
cated in Players' Hall, West Newton, 
which has been redecorated and happily 
adapted to its new use. 

Adherents of Christian Science have 
been numerous in the Newtons from 
the earliest days of the movement. In 
the latter part of the year 1912 it was 
deemed advisable to form a church in 
Newton to serve this increasingly large 
local following. This was brought about 
and the new organization held its in- 
itial service February 2, 1913 in the 
newly renovated Players' Hall, for- 
merly a West Newton church edifice, 
a cut of which is shown above. Like 
other Christian Science churches, it 
is a branch of The Mother Church, 
The First Church of Christ, Scien- 
tist, Boston. As a branch of the par- 
ent organization, it is a self-govern- 



ing, democratic entity, making its 
own by-laws, electing its own officials, 
and controlling its own funds and 
property. All seats are free and all 
contributions are entirely voluntary. 





First Church of Christ Scientist, 
West Nkwton. 



8t 



The services of the church are conducted 
by a First and a Second Reader. The 
management of the church is in the 
hands of an Executive Board who, with 
the Readers, are elected by ballot annu- 
ally from the general membership. For 
1915 Mr. George H. Moore and Mrs. 
Minnie Lord Newhall are respectively 
First and Second Readers. 

Like other Christian Science 
churches, a free reading room is main- 
tained where the literature of the church 
can be read. A distribution room is 



also maintained for the collection and 
free distribution of current and other 
numbers of the church's publications. 
Many volunteers assist in the work, and 
helpful literature thus finds its way to 
all parts of the world. Especial atten- 
tion is given to reaching local hospitals, 
libraries, clubs, fire and police stations, 
and the like. Both the reading room 
and the distribution room are located in 
the Roberts Building, 297 Walnut 
Street, Newtonville, opposite the Ma- 
sonic Building. 



CENTENARY M. E. CHURCH, AUBURNDALE. 



The beginning of Centenary Church 
was in the autumn of 1860 and the first 
sermon was preached November 4 of 
that year. November 18 of the same 
year, Rev. George W. Mansfield, then 
at Newtonville, preached in what was 



known as the Riverside Academy and 
about eighty people were present. Dur- 
ing the formative period neighboring 
pastors preached for the little society 
and the little handful of people took 
A Sunday School was organ- 



courage 




Centenary M. E. Church, Auburndale. 

82 




First Baptist Church, Newton Centre. 



ized January 27, 1861. The church it- 
self was organized June 1, 1863 under 
the pastoral charge of Rev. J. Emory 
Round. The list of original members 
includes: John Deavall, Hannah Dea- 
vall, George L. Bourne, Priscilla 
Bourne, Anthon Holbrook, Charlotte 
I. Holbrook, M. Elizabeth Jackson. 
Ella Thompson, Dorca Maguire, Mary 
Cooke, Charles Ricker and William 
Hubbard. They were called "The 
Twelve Apostles." The corner stone 
of the present edifice was laid on Christ- 
mas Day, 1866 and Centenary Church 
was the name given the new church. 



The pastors who have served since the 
church was built are: Henry Lummis, 
E. D. Winslow, J. R. dishing, Daniel 
Steele, J. M. Avann, William McDon- 
ald, A. MacKeon, S. F. Jones, Charles 
Parkhurst, E. R. Watson, W. R. New- 
hall, W. E. Knox, T. W. Bishop, C. 
H. Talmage, W. T. Worth, F. C. Had- 
dock, C. E. Spaulding. The present 
pastor is Rev. George S. Butters, D. D. 
who has had two other pastorates in 
this city, one at Newtonville, and he 
was at Newton seven years before going 
to Auburndale. 



FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH, NEWTON CENTRE. 

The first Baptist Church in Newton its membership several who held that 

had its immediate origin in the Great believers only should be baptized. After 

Awakening which followed the work of the "Separate Church" as an organiza- 

George Whitefield in America. The tion ceased to exist, they continued to 

call to penitence and reformation led in hold services, first "from house to 

many communities to the organization house," and later in a school house. They 

of "Separate Churches", and about were occasionally visited by ministers 

1750 there appears to have been such From other places and thus maintained 

a church in Newton. This body had in worship until 1780. In that year a 

83 



gracious revival added to their number 
and suggested the need of a new and 
better organization. 

The earliest record of the reception 
by baptism of a resident of Newton into 
a Baptist Church is found in that of 
the First Baptist Church in Boston 
bearing the date Dec. 7, 1729. Just 
fifty years later the ingathering oc- 
curred that led to the organization of 
the First Baptist Church in Newton. 
On Wednesda}% July 5, 1780, a coun- 
cil met in the house of Mr. Noah Wis- 
wall. The visitors approved the steps 
alread}^ taken and advised the brethren 
in Newton "to imbody on this occa- 
sion." Rev. Noah Alden of Belling- 
ham preached the recognition sermon, 
his text being Acts 2 :47. Rev. Thomas 
Gair of Medfield offered prayer and 
read a "summary Confession of Faith 
to which thirty-nine persons assented in 
the presence of a numerous congrega- 
tion." The service concluded with an 
exhortation by Rev. Caleb Blood of 
Weston, who was at once called to the 
pastorate of the newly organized 
church. 

Mr. Blood remained with the church 
until 1788. A call was then given to 
Rev. Joseph Grafton, who immediately 
entered upon a pastorate of forty-eight 
years and six months, the longest and 
most remarkable in the history of the 
church. lie received 561 into the fel- 
lowship of the church, residents not only 
of Newton, but also of eleven other 
towns. As the number of Baptists in- 
creased in these .neighboring communi- 
ties, the church in Newton became to an 
unusual degree a Mother of Churches. 
"Father" Grafton, as he came affection- 
ately to be called, died in 1836, his fu- 
neral being the last service to be held 
in the original meeting house. The 
church has been blessed by a succession 
of noble and useful men in the pasto- 
rate. Space forbids more than naming 
them. Those subsequent to the be- 



loved leader for nearly half a century 
have been Rev. F. Augustus Willard 
(1835-1838), Rev. Henry Jones Rip- 
lev (1838-1840), Rev. Samuel Francis 
Smith (1842-1854), Rev. Oakman 
Sprague Stearns (1855-1868), Rev. 
William Newton Clarke (1869-1880), 
Rev. Edward Braislin (1881-1886), 
Rev. Lemuel Call Barnes (1887-1893), 
Rev. Richard Montague (1893-1895), 
Rev. Edgar Young Mullins (1896- 
1900), Rev. Everett Doughty Burr 
(1900-1906), Rev. Maurice Ambrose 
Levy (1907-1914). 

The present membership is 619. 

The first place of worship was Mr. 
Noah Wiswall's house. It is said that 
on fair Sundays the meetings were 
often held under the elms that shaded 
the dwelling. He also gave the land for 
the first meeting house on the shore of 
"Wiswall's Pond," which as a result of 
this gift and its being used for nearly a 
century as a baptistery, became "Bap- 
tist Pond," and so remained until in re- 
cent years it received the name "Crystal 
Lake." The meeting house, a plain 
structure, "bare and barnlike," was be- 
gun in 1781, and although used from 
that time, was not completed until 1795. 
The church endured rough seats and a 
pulpit of unplaned boards, rather than 
incur the burden of a debt. This old 
building still stands, as enlarged in 
1802, just south of the railroad bridge 
on Centre Street. The second meeting 
house was dedicated in 1836, and after 
a half century of service was sold in 
order to permit the erection of a more 
commodious and attractive structure. 
It is today known as the "Associates 
Block," and the chapel is in use as the 
Centre branch of the Newton Public 
Library. The present meeting house, 
dedicated in 1888, is a beautiful Ro- 
manesque structure and one of the ar- 
chitectural features of Newton. It con- 
tains elaborate windows in memory of 
Lizzie Spooner Butler, Gardner Colby 



84 



and Mary Low Colby, and Rev. Joseph 
Grafton. The chimes are dedicated to 
the memory of Rev. Samuel Francis 
Smith, the author of "My Country, 
'Tis of Thee." The church recently ob- 
served the twenty-fifth anniversary of 
the dedication of this noble house of 
worship. 

The church from the beginning has 
had the farther and larger vision. Its 
Bible School dates back to 1819. The 
founding in 1825 of the Newton Theo- 
logical Institution led to relations which 
have been of the happiest and mutually 



beneficial. The Woman's Baptist For- 
eign Missionary Society originated in 
this church in 1872, and the vision and 
zeal of its women had much to do with 
the organization, a few years later, of 
the Woman's American Baptist Home 
Mission Society. Ten members are now 
engaged in active missionary service. 
The church contributes about equal 
amounts to local expenses and benefi- 
cent or missionary objects, and through 
the personal service of many is making 
its contribution to the community, the 
denomination and the Kingdom. 



WEST NEWTON UNITARIAN CHURCH. 



The first meetings for worship by the 
Unitarians of Newton were held in the 
old brick hotel on Washington street, 
West Newton, in 1844. In 1847, the 
meetings which had been discontinued 
for some time were resumed in Village 



Hall on the corner of Washington and 
Waltham streets, and in 1848 the so- 
ciety was organized under the above 
title. Rev. William Orne White was 
the first pastor, resigning in 1850, and 
was followed bv Rev. William H. 




West Newton Unitarian Church. 



85 



Kiiapp, who served tAvo years, Rev. Mr. 
Bicknell, who resigned in six months, 
Rev. Charles E. Hodges, who served 
for a year (1854-1855) , Rev. Washing- 
ton Gilbert, who served for nearly three 
years, Rev. Joseph II . Allen, serving 
from 1858 to 1860, Rev. William H. 
Savary, 1861-1864, Rev. John C. 
Zachos, 1864-1866, Rev. Francis Tif- 
fany, who had two pastorates, the first 
from 1866 to 1871, and who was re- 
called in 1873 and resigned in 1883. 
Rev. Amory Battles succeeded Rev. 
Mr. Tiffany in 1871, resigning in 1873. 
Mention is made of these brief pasto- 
rates in order that due emphasis may be 



laid on the pastorate of Rev. Julian 
Clifford Jaynes, who was ordained as a 
minister and installed as pastor of this 
church on January 28, 1885, and is now 
the oldest clergyman in point of service 
in the city. 

The first church was built in 1860, 
on Washington street, West Newton. 
It was enlarged in 1868, the tower and 
Sunday School room were built in 1879, 
and a still further enlargement was 
made in 1887. In 1905-06 the society 
built its present handsome edifice at the 
corner of Washington and Highland 
streets, the corner stone being laid 
Sept. 17, 1905 and the dedication ser- 
vice held on October 14, 1906. 



ELIOT CHURCH, NEWTON. 



Eliot Church was the first church or- 
ganized in "Newton Corner." The 
coming of the railroad promoted the de- 
velopment of this community, making- 
church privileges necessary for the 
growing population. Hon. William 
Jackson was prominent in the move- 
ment as he was in nearly every enter- 
prise for the development of Newton in 
that generation. The parish was 
formed in 1844 and the church was or- 
ganized the next year, being received by 
a council of churches July 1, 1845. 
There were thirty-seven original mem- 
bers, coming mostly from the First 
Church in Newton Centre, and includ- 
ing such names as the Jacksons, Jew- 
etts, Trowbridges, Cobbs, Bacons, 
Spears, Fullers and others prominent 
in the community at that time. The 
last original member died in 1906. The 
first child baptized in the church is still 
a member, and there are a few remain- 
ing who, as children in the Sunday 
School, go back to those days of begin- 
nings. 

The church has had seven pastors. 



Two of these died in service, Rev. Ly- 
man Cutler in 1855, after a pastorate of 
only six months, having preached but 
four Sundays of that time, and Rev. 
William H. Davis, D.D., in 1905, after 
a pastorate of nine years. Two others 
of the pastors have died recently, Rev. 
William S. Leavitt in 1910, having been 
the first pastor of the church sixty-five 
years earlier, and Rev. Samuel M. Free- 
land in 1911. Two pastors are still 
living, Rev. Joshua W. Wellman, 
D.D., of Maiden, who is ninety-two 
years of age, and Rev. Walcott Calkins, 
D.D., of Newton, who is eighty-two. 
These two men held the longest pasto- 
rates, seventeen and sixteen }^ears re- 
spectively, totalling nearly one-half the 
church's history. These were also the 
most fruitful years. The membership 
increased in their ministries from 112 
to 638, and the material equipment from 
a small frame-building to the present 
stone structure. The present pastorate 
of Rev. H. Grant Person began Janu- 
ary 2, 1907. 

Three edifices have housed the or- 



86 



ganization. The original frame build- 
ing was too small in four years and was 
enlarged. That was removed and a 
second wooden building was erected on 
the same site in 1860. This was also 
enlarged to meet the growth under Dr. 
Wellman. This building burned Sun- 
day morning, January 16, 1887. While 
the building was in flames several prom- 
inent men got together and pledged 



the entire equipment, including china, 
silver and linen. 

Eliot Church has always had a strong 
missionary spirit. At the first meeting 
that was held in the school house on 
Washington Street to discuss the pos- 
sibility of a new church, an offering was 
taken for Foreign Missions. That 
spirit of putting benevolences first has 
survived. The church gives away, each 




Eliot Church, Newton. 



enough in addition to the insurance to 
assure a new building, and reported to 
the people gathered around the smould- 
ering ruins that there were $90,000 in 
hand. The present edifice was dedi- 
cated May 30, 1889, in Dr. Calkins' 
pastorate. It cost, above the land value, 
$178,967, and the Building Committee 
had a surplus of $.'3,000 to turn into 
the general treasury, after purchasing 



year, about twice what it spends on it- 
self, and in its entire history the re- 
ported gifts to benevolence have ex- 
ceeded the home expenses — including 
the building of three edifices — by more 
than a quarter of a million dollars. The 
total reported benevolence has been 
$1,040,000, and the total to home ex- 
penses $775,000 in round numbers. 
There is a graded Sunday School. It 



87 



lias been a distinction that there have 
been more males in the school for sev- 
eral years than females, both on the roll 
and in actual attendance. Every male 
class above the primary grade is taught 
by a man and at present there are 
among the officers and teachers twenty 
professional and business men. 

The ministry of music to the commu- 
nity has been an ideal of the church. 
The organ, with anti phonal organ and 
chimes, is quite complete. Informal re- 
citals have been given each week in re- 
cent years and formal evening recitals 
are given by noted organists each 
month through the winter. These are 
free to the public. A vested choir of 
forty voices furnishes music of a high 
character at each service. On the last 
Sunday afternoon of each month 



through the winter, a cantata or ora- 
torio is sung. Mr. Everett E. Truette 
has been organist and choir master for 
more than fifteen years. In April, 1913 
a concert was given in recognition of 
these fifteen years of service in which 
most of the former members of the 
choir participated, bringing together 
many of the church soloists of Greater 
Boston. 

The work of the church is well or- 
ganized under the Eliot Woman's As- 
sociation, formed in 1898 which unifies 
most of the work of the women and 
children and the Eliot Men's Associa- 
tion, organized in 1912, which, through 
its seven departments, heads up much 
of the work of the men and boys. 

The present membership of the 
church is about 720. 



CENTRAL CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, NEWTONVILLE. 



On Wednesday evening, December 
11, 1867, about fifteen residents of the 
village of Newtonville who were mem- 
bers of various Congregational 
churches, met by invitation at the resi- 
dence of Mr. Nathaniel D. Vose, for 
the purpose of social prayer and confer- 
ence. They then instituted a regular 
weekly prayer meeting which in three 
months had a regular attendance of 
from thirty to fifty persons, and which 
has been maintained ever since. 

In March, 1868, the Central Con- 
gregational Society was organized, and 
the chapel on the corner of Washington 
and Court streets (now Central Ave- 
nue) , purchased by members of the So- 
ciety. The house was opened for regu- 
lar Sabbath service on April 5th, 1868, 
the morning congregation numbering 
about seventy-five, and the evening 
about one hundred and thirty. Rev. 
H. J. Patrick of West Newton, con- 
ducted the first service in the Church 
and rendered invaluable assistance to 



the enterprise from its beginning by his 
cheering presence at the meetings and 
his constant aid and advice. 

On the 14th of June Rev. Joseph B. 
Clark of Yarmouth, Mass., preached 
both morning and evening. A unani- 
mous call was at once extended to him. 
He accepted, and on Sept. 8, 1868, the 
Central Congregational Church was or- 
ganized with a membership of thirty- 
six, and its first pastor installed. Mr. 
Clark finished his pastorate September 
5, 1872. 

Since that time the church has had 
the following pastors : — 

James R. Danforth, installed Jan. 2, 
1873; dismissed April 15, 1874. 

E. Frank Howe, installed Dec. 6, 
1876; dismissed Sept. 5, 1882. 

Frank W. Gunsaulus, installed 
June 12, 1883; dismissed May 14, 1885. 

Pleasant Hunter, Jr., installed Oct. 
1, 1886; dismissed Oct. 1, 1889. 

David H. Taylor, installed Feb. 27, 
1890; died Dec. 10, 1890. 



88 




Central Congregational Church, Newtonville. 

John M. Dutton, installed Jan. 11, building committee is taken the follow- 

1892; dismissed Feb. 14, 1899. ing summary of cost: — 

Ozora S. Davis, installed April 5, ^ , , , „ ,. 

1An „ -.. j c. , ~ inA . r lotal cost oi new meeting 

1900; dismissed Sept. 9, 1904. , to &„„ „_„ .„ 

t t oi i ■ ■ I n j at i a house, $78,957.49 

Jay 1. Stocking, installed Nov. 14, ^ . ' , in^^^^n 

Tcnr r • i ini\« rurniture, organ, etc...... 12,000.00 

1905; dismissed, 1914. T d 19 000 on 

Abraham J. Muste, installed Feb. 

" V 4.T ' i? ior^r -i-i i u Total expenditures, ....$102,957.49 

In the summer or 1875 the church J ' 

was enlarged by the addition of two During the pastorate of Rev. M. 

wings, giving in all 664 sittings ; the Stocking, a determined effort was made 

room in the second story was fitted up to pay off the debt on the church build- 

for social gatherings, and the whole ing, and the burning of the mortgage 

house refurnished and put in thorough note on Easter Sunday, 1913 was a 

repair. In 1888 this building was found notable occasion in the history of the 

to be inadequate to the growing needs of church. 

the church, and steps were taken On Jan. 27, 1899, the church voted 
toward selecting a proper site for a new unanimously to incorporate under the 
building. As a result, in 1889, a large name of the "Central Congregational 
lot on Walnut Street, with the dwelling Church of Newton," and received its 
house on it, was purchased at a cost of charter from the state Jan. 30. The 
$14,000. In 1893 it was decided to property was transferred from the so- 
erect a stone church on this lot. On ciety to the church Feb. 6. 
June 9, 1894, the corner stone was laid, The membership of the church at the 
and on May 28, 1895, the new building time of its organization was thirty-six 
was dedicated. From the report of the and now numbers over five hundred. 

8 9 



PERRIN MEMORIAL M. E. CHURCH. 
NEWTON LOWER FALLS. 



Newton Lower Falls methodism was 
born March 13, 1867 in the home of 
Noah Perrin, Grantville, now called 
Wellesley Hills. The meeting there as- 
sembled was an adjourned meeting of 
the Trustees of the Old Needham Cir- 
cuit. The members present were Noah 
Perrin, John Mansfield, C. W. Down- 
ing, C. W. Flagg, Mark Lee and Lewis 
N. Sumner, all members of the Newton 
Upper Falls M. E. Church. It was the 
desire of these men to have a place of 
worship nearer home with a pastor in 
charge. This subject was talked over 
and discussed and a vote taken to re- 
quest the bishop of the approaching 
conference to send a preacher in charge 
to the Lower Falls and Needham So- 
ciety. 

The bishop honored this request and 
sent the Rev. John W. Coolidge on 
April 2], 1867 and the first sermon was 
preached on that date by him in Wales 
Hall, Lower Falls, to about thirty per- 
sons. 

A Sabbath school was formed the fol- 
lowing Sunday of fifteen members and 
a Bible class soon afterwards of twenty- 
seven members. Noah Perrin was the 
first teacher of the Bible class. Nellie 
Foster, afterwards Mrs. Wheeler, was 
the first convert. By her donation of 
three volumes she started the Sunday 
School Library. She was also the first 
garnered fruit of this church into 
heaven. In the meantime they changed 
their place of worship, July 7, 1867, to 
Bovden Hall and remained there until 
January 18, 1868. 

The first Quarterly Conference was 
held in Boyden Hall" at 9 P. M., Sep- 
tember 7, 1867, presided over by Dr. 
L. R. Thayer, Presiding Elder. The 
first stewards, W. A. Hunter, John 
Crossland and Noah Perrin, were then 



appointed. Noah Perrin was appointed 
Class Leader. 

The first Board of Trustees was or- 
ganized April 29, 1869, as follows: — 
President, George T. Denton; Treasu- 
rer, Noah Perrin; Willard Hurd, 
Leonard Hurd, James Brierly, Charles 
Ford and Isaac Farwell, Jr. James 
Brierly was appointed Sunday School 
superintendent, in which capacity he 
rendered valuable service for a great 
many years. Two of our first Sunday 
School teachers were W. T. Perrin and 
Marshall L. Perrin, sons of Noah Per- 
rin, who rendered valuable service to 
our church in its early beginnings. 

The society again changed their place 
of worship from Boyden to Village 
Hall, formerly a school-house. The 
building was bought by Thomas Rice 
and remodeled with stores below and 
hall above. This building was hired 
first and soon bought by the Society for 
the sum of $3,350.00 This old hall" was 
the scene of many a spiritual refreshing 
and revival meeting. In the spring of 
1869, this society became completely 
separated from the Needham Circuit 
and was called the Methodist Society of 
Newton Lower Falls. 

As I have already stated we had some 
glorious times in the old hall and many 
were converted to Christ. It may be 
well to speak here of a few who did 
splendid service in the church. George 
T. Denton, very enthusiastic in his en- 
deavor to work for others and in turn- 
ing many from the error of their way 
to the Saviour. Charles Ford, always 
in his place of duty, and Charles Rich- 
ardson, a faithful Christian and a class 
leader for many years. He was loved 
by all. 

In 1872 the Board of Trustees con- 
sisted of the following members: Noah 



90 



Perrin, Charles Ford, George T. Den- 
ton, Leonard Hurd, Charles Richard- 
son and Marshal Perrin. The stewards 
were Noah Perrin, Charles Ford, 
George T. Denton, Leonard Hurd, 
Charles Richardson, Marshall Perrin 
and Peter C. Baker; and the class lead- 
ers were George T. Denton and 
Charles Richardson. All but two of 
these have passed on to their reward, 
and our memory of them is sweet; the 



Gill, no doubt, laid the foundation for 
this enterprise, and worked hard for it 
but it was still unaccomplished at the 
close of his service here. 

In the spring of 1886 he was followed 
by the Rev. J. B. Gould, but no head- 
way was made during his stay, but in 
the spring of 1888 the Rev. Arthur 
Page Sharp, a talented young preacher 
came, bringing with him his wife. They 
somehow won the hearts of all, and 




Perrin Memorial M. E. Church, Newton Lower Falls. 



only two survivors being Marshall Per- 
rin and Peter C. Baker. 

From this time on until the year 
1889 our services continued in the 
Methodist Hall with a change of min- 
isters every two or three years, all were 
good men and worked hard for the best 
interest of the society. The time came 
during the pastorate of Rev. Joshua 
Gill, when we decided that we had out- 
grown the hall, and that we ought to 
have a church to worship in. Brother 



were instrumental in converting many 
and receiving them into the church. It 
was he that revived the dying embers of 
the new church plans, and after much 
hard, earnest work, with the help of 
God and aid of his parish, succeeded in 
raising enough money to start the en- 
terprise. 

It was a difficult problem as to where 
we should locate and build. Some pre- 
ferred Wellesley, but the majority fav- 
ored Newton Lower Falls. A lot of 



91 



land was bought from Mr. Wallace on 
Washington street for $1,400.00 and a 
building committee was appointed: — 
Cyrus Washburn, Rev. A. P. Sharp, 
Peter C. Baker. In the spring of 1889 
ground was broken for the new church, 
and the work of building the church was 
awarded to Peter C. Baker. 

On February 18, 1890 the new 
church was dedicated and the sermon 
was delivered by Dr. William Nast 
Brodbeck. Dr. L. B. Bates presented 
the indebtedness and raised $1,200.00. 
The Rev. J. B. Gould read the dedica- 
tion service, owing to the absence of the 
presiding elder and the pastor. 

The total cost of the church was 
$11,000, and a debt of $4,000 was left. 
Later, Rev. A. P. Sharp, the pastor 
raised through Church Aid collections 
from twenty churches, $540.00. 

Dr. J. H. Twombly followed Rev. 
A. P. Sharp, and proved to be a truly 
great man, rendering the church good 
service. During the second year of his 
pastorate he died, January 1, 1893, and 
was succeeded by his son, Rev. W. L. 
D. Twombly, who remained during the 
rest of conference year. 

The next to take his place among us 
was Rev. R. H. Howard, who remained 
with us two years and accomplished 
good work. In the spring of 1895, the 
Rev. O. R. Miller became pastor, and 
through his personal efforts enough 
money was raised to pay off the remain- 
ing mortgage of $3,000.00 On June 
17, 1897 the mortgage was burned in 
the presence of a large congregation. 

The next five years were in the ser- 
vice of Rev. G. W. Mansfield, who did 
nobly for our church. In 1903 Rev. J. 
Edwin Lacount and his bride followed 
G. W. Mansfield and remained with us 
two years, both were very much liked, 
benefitting the church to a great extent. 
The next to fill the place was Rev. John 
R. dishing, who proved to be unusual- 
ly active in a great many phases. 



His family were of great assistance 
in musical lines and with their father 
made friends with all. Death claimed 
him before he had finished his first year, 
February, 1906, after a short illness of 
pneumonia. The remainder of the con- 
ference year was filled by supplies. 

Rev. Eugene H. Thrasher came the 
following April with wife and son. We 
found him a conscientious, active and 
willing worker and not only labored in 
every department of the church with 
great zest, but took a great interest in 
civic affairs, public schools, play- 
grounds, and organized a "Men's club," 
he remained with us six years which 
was the longest time any minister had 
stayed. 

Last but not least, in the year of 1912 
Rev. G. W. Jones and wife were sent 
to us. Surely both have proved to be 
efficient workers. The first year, 
through his own efforts, Rev. G. W. 
Jones raised several hundred dollars for 
the renovating of the church interior. 
Since then a beautiful pipe organ has 
been purchased. During these three 
years $2,850 have been expended on im- 
provements. He shows great enthus- 
siasm in the spiritual welfare of the 
church. The preaching services and the 
prayer meetings show a marked im- 
provement in attendance, and thus far 
thirty-six new members have united 
with the church. The young people are 
active, and the Ladies' Union Society 
is a great factor for our good. 

Legacies left by the following to the 
church: — Mrs. Leonard Hurd, $800; 
Mrs. Cyrus Washburn, $1,000; Mrs. 
Julia Sanderson, $2,000; Mrs. Sadie 
Lowell, in memory of her mother, Mrs. 
Matilda Flagg, $500. 

The present official board consists of 
the following members: — 

Stewards: Mr. P. C. Baker (District 
Steward) ; Mr. W. B. Saunders, Prof. 
M. L. Perrin, Mr. Edward Cooper 
(Treasurer) ; Rev. W. L. D. Twombly, 



92 



Mrs. Bertha R. Baker (Recording 
Steward) ; Mrs. Ida M. Brown, Mrs. 
Frances Clarke Westergren, M. D.; 
Mrs. May Hemeon, Mrs. M. S. Stew- 
art, Mrs. S. L. Saunders. 

Trustees :— Mr. P. C. Baker, Prof. 



M. L. Perrin, Mr. W. B. Saunders, 
Mr. Edward Cooper, Mr. W. H. Loud, 
Mr. Frank D. Baker, Mr. Thaddeus 
Hale, Mr. W. J. Stewart, Pastor, Rev. 
G. W. Jones. 



NORTH CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, NONANTUM. 



The North Congregational church, 
formerly known as the North Village 
Church, is situated on Chapel street in 
that section of Newton known as No- 
nantum. Nonantum, by the way, 
means place of rejoicing. It is an old 
Indian name, which in the early days 
was applied to the whole of what is now 
known as Newton. 

The church itself is the outgrowth of 
a Sunday School which was established 
and held its first session on June 2, 1861 



in the old Bemis Station, on the Water- 
town Branch of the Fitchburg Rail- 
road, just across the river from the site 
of the present church building. This 
school was founded, the work carried on 
and the whole project maintained by 
Samuel E. Lowry, who first gathered 
the children together, acted as leader, 
afterwards became pastor of the church, 
and labored there incessantly for twen- 
ty-three years, giving generously his 
whole-hearted service to the work 





North Congregational Church, Nonantum. 



93 



which had been that of his own creation. Lamb took up the work shortly after 
Lowry came to this country from Mr. Lowry's death and served for sev- 
Ireland, his home being near Belfast, eral years. He was succeeded by Dr. 
and located in Newton. His employ- Greene, and in 1900 Rev. Henry L. 
ment was that of clerk in a large dry Oxnard was called to the pastorate. Mr. 
goods store in Boston. He attended Oxnard served for more than ten years, 
Eliot church, and it was during one of and his successor was the late Dr. 
his Sunday afternoon rambles through Charles L. Merriam, who resigned after 
North Village that he conceived the two years of service to accept a call to 
idea of starting a Sunday School for the Auburn Street church in Patterson, 
the children of that place. Rallying New Jersey, a church of which he had 
around him were the Trowbridges, the been pastor twenty years before. Rev. 
Bacons, the Spears and the Bassetts. Robert L. Rea, the present pastor came 
In July, 1862, the school was trans- from Camden, N. Y., was formerly at 
ferred from Bemis to a little chapel Brockton, Mass., and has been at work 
which had been erected on the site of the since September 1st, 1914. 
present church edifice. Here the work During Mr. Oxnard's pastorate the 
continued and the school grew. church edifice was enlarged and a new 
During the year 1865 the chapel was organ installed. These changes have 
enlarged and on July 11, 1866 a church added greatly to the success of the work 
was organized. Twenty-three people there. The church today is well attend- 
united in forming the church, fifteen of ed, has a Sunday School of over two 
whom came from Eliot church. hundred young people, an Endeavor 
On February 21, 1867, Mr. Lowry Society, junior and senior, named for 
was ordained as pastor, he having stud- the first pastor of the church, and under 
ied and prepared for the ministry under the leadership of Pastor Rea is entering 
the direction of Rev. J. W. Wellman, on a most successful career, 
the pastor of Eliot church. On June Mr. Rea during his brief pastorate in 
9, 1872 the chapel was destroyed by fire this city has endeared many to him and 
and the church, as it is today, was built is slowly but surely warming up his 
and dedicated on October 16, 1873. parishioners to the fact that the church 
The stone used in its construction can be and will be the same power for 
was taken from a quarry off Beacon righteousness that it was in the earliest 
street, Newton Centre. The church, days of her history. Men, women and 
therefore is distinctly a Newton church, children, who are members of the par- 
Mr. Lowry served the church until ish, are working harmoniously and are 
his death, which occurred while he was striving to uphold their pastor's hands, 
on a visit to his old home in Ireland on The work which Mr. Lowry started 
February 20th, 1884. Rev. W. A. will abide. 



CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, AUBURNDALE. 

A little more than fifty years ago, tham. Near that fork of the road was 

in the district since known as Auburn- the cradle of this church, 
dale, four or five families used to live Gradually the village grew, but no 

on the winding way to Weston, or on church was nearer than West Newton, 

the lane that turned off towards Wal- Distance led to the movement for a new 

94 




Congregational Church, Auburndale. 



church, and the first written record of 
that movement contains these words: 

"Auburndale,. September 12, 1850. 
A number of the citizens of Auburndale 
assembled at the hall in this place to 
consider the expediency of establishing 
and maintaining public worship on the 
Sabbath. Fifteen persons were pres- 
ent." 

Active steps were promptly taken, 
and the new church was formally set up 
by a council on November 14, 1850, in 
the hall above mentioned. That hall 
was on the west side of Lexington 



street, about the middle of the block 
between Auburn Street and Common- 
wealth Avenue. Most of the thirty- 
four members of the new church had 
been attendants at the Second Congre- 
gational Church in West Newton. The 
name taken was the same as now: "The 
Evangelical Congregational Church of 
Auburndale." 

The Congregational Society of Au- 
burndale had been organized October 
17, 1850. In 1857 the pew-holders 
were organized as the "Auburndale 
Congregational Society." In June, 



95 



1873, the pew-renting system was abol- 
ished and "The Congregational Society 
of Auburndale" was established, hold- 
ing the usual relation to the religious 
body in cases of the double organization 
of church and society. That relation 
has continued to the present. 

The Sunday School was organized 
before the church, and has continued 
ever since as an efficient department of 
the church. 

Three different creeds have been 
adopted, at long intervals, by the 
church, each showing the religious 
thoughts and tendencies of the times, 
but each based on the truth expressed 
in the unchanged name of the church. 

Various societies for adults and 
3^oung people have been established, and 



the organic activities of the church in 
many ways have been effectively main- 
tained. The church has always been 
exceptionally strong; it has a record of 
unusual missionary activity, and has 
never suffered from dissension. The 
following ministers have served the 
church : — 

Rev. Edward W. Clark, installed 
July 1, 1857. Dismissed June 20, 1861. 

Rev. Augustus H. Carrier, installed 
February, 1864; dismissed May 9, 1867. 

Rev. Calvin Cutler, installed May 9, 
1867; dismissed May 29, 1895. 

Rev. Charles M. Southgate, installed 
November 13, 1895; dismissed June 16, 
1905. 

Rev. William C. Gordon, D.D., in- 
stalled January 15, 1908. 



NEWTON M. E. CHURCH. 



The Methodist Episcopal denomina- 
tion is represented at Newton Corner 
by a vigorous society, which worships 
in its attractive edifice at the corner of 
Centre and Wesley streets. The build- 
ing itself is of cream-colored brick, with 
terra-cotta trimmings, constructed in 
the shape of a Greek cross, surmounted 
by a central dome. Architectural^ it 
is a unique structure, both in its exte- 
rior and interior design. The corner- 
stone was laid May 14, 1896, during 
the pastorate of the Rev. Dr. Dillon 
Bronson, and the building was dedica- 
ted October 17, 1897, by Bishop R. S. 
Foster. 

The Newton Methodist Episcopal 
church was organized April 21, 1864, 
with a charter membership of twenty- 
one persons, most of whom had with- 
drawn from the church at Watertown, 
because they felt that a society was 
needed in the part of the town in which 
they lived. John Fisk, Martha A. Gay, 
Aaron F. Gay, Edwin W. Gay, E. M. 
Mosher, Olivia Mosher, Thurston 



Priest, Mary A. Priest, James Skinner, 
Mary A. Skinner, Henry Thrall, Mi- 
nerva Thrall, Frank M. Trowbridge, 
Abbie A. Trowbridge, Abram Thomas, 
and Arethusa Thomas came from the 
Watertown church; Hannah P. Mosh- 
er, Mehitable Cromach, Jedediah T. 
Paine, and Winnette Paine came from 
other churches; and Emily J. Thrall, 
Maria L. Thrall and Minerva J. 
Thrall united with the new society on 
probation. Of these charter members, 
the present oldest living member is Mrs. 
Olivia M. Mosher. One of the early 
members of the society, who is now un- 
able to attend any of its services, but 
whose interests lie very close to the 
church, is Mr. Henry J. Woods, whose 
account of the first twenty-five years of 
the history of the church appeared in 
the Newton Graphic, in the issue of No- 
vember 1, 1889. 

After the organization of the Society, 
the meetings were first held in Cole's 
Hall, which was the principal hall in the 
town before the present Eliot Block 



9 6 




NEWTON METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH 



was erected. The first meeting House 
of the society was dedicated September 
26, 1869, and was taken down just be- 
fore the erection of the present struc- 
ture. There were many difficulties in 
the way of the progress of the church in 
its early days. But these were very 
largely overcome in the days that fol- 
lowed. One reason for this progress is 
found in the fact that the church has 
numbered among its leaders, from the 
beginning, some very strong laymen. 
Another reason is that the church has 
been fortunate in the ministers who have 
been selected to guide its affairs. The 
following is the ministerial succession 
since the organization of the Society in 
1864: J. C. Cromack, W. G. W. Lewis, 
C. S. Rogers, S. F. Jones, A. A. 
Wright, Frederick Woods, William E. 
Huntington, Samuel Jackson, W. S. 
Studley, John 15. Gould, Joel M. Leon- 
ard, Fayette Nichols, A. McKeown, 
Dillon Bronson, C. E. Holmes, George 
R. Grose, George S. Butters, J. Edwin 
Lacount, and G. Charles Gray. The 
membership has grown steadily 



through the years, and during the pres- 
ent year has reached its highest mark, 
the enrollment now standing at two 
hundred and seventy-six. 

The Newton Methodist Episcopal 
Church is in the Boston District of the 
New England Conference, and comes 
under the guidance of the Resident Bis- 
hop of New England, Bishop John W. 
Hamilton, and the District Superin- 
tendent of the Boston District, the Rev. 
Dr. Dillon Bronson, a former minister, 
who, with the present minister, and the 
official laymen, constitute the church of- 
ficers. The church is well organized to 
minister to its constituenc} 7 and to its 
community. The President of the 
Trustees is Mr. J. Wesley Barber. The 
treasurer of the society is Mr. Alonzo 
R. Weed. The superintendent of the 
Sunday School is Mr. Frank O. Bar- 
ber. The principal services of the 
church are the public worship on Sun- 
day morning at 10.80, and on Sunday 
evening at 7.80, the Sunday School ses- 
sion on Sunday at 12.00, and the Social 



97 



and Prayer Meeting on Friday evening G. Charles Gray, came to the church in 
at 7.45. The present minister, the Rev. April, 1914. 



UNIVERSALIST CHURCH, NEWTONVILLE. 



The Newton Universalist Society 
was organized at Newtonville, April 
11, 1871. 

For several weeks prior to this date 
religious services had been held in pri- 
vate residences and in Music and Tre- 
mont Halls. 

The first pastor was Rev. John Cole- 
man Adams, D.D., now of Hartford, 
Conn. He was ordained and installed 
as pastor, Dec. 19, 1872, assuming 
charge, however, during the September 
preceding. 

It was during the pastorate of Dr. 
Adams that the church edifice was 
erected. 

The corner stone was laid October 
22, 1872, and the building was dedicated 



June 26, 1873. Some time later a com- 
modious parish house was added, mak- 
ing a very beautiful, well arranged, 
and well equipped plant for parish ac- 
tivities. 

On February 9, 1873, the Newton 
Universalist Church was organized, 
there being fifteen members. George 
W. Hall was chosen clerk and the dea- 
cons were Edward T. Trofitter and Eli- 
jah F. Tainter. Dr. Adams continued 
in the pastorate until July 4, 1880, hav- 
ing served the society for nearly eight 
years. 

For about a year after Dr. Adams' 
resignation Rev. Charles H. Leonard, 
D.D., of Tufts College, was acting pas- 
tor. Rev. C. Ellwood Nash, D.D., now 




UNIVERSALIST CHURCH, NEWTONVILLE. 



9 8 



of Los Angeles, Cal., was then re- 
quested to take charge and was installed 
June 22, 1881. Dr. Nash continued 
his work here until April, 1884, when 
he resigned to accept the pastorate of 
the Universalist Church at Akron, 
Ohio. 

In October of the same year, Rev. 
Rufus A. White, D.D., then a student 
at Tufts College, was ordained and in 
this, his first pastorate, remained until 
February 1, 1892, at that time accept- 
ing a call to the People's Liberal 
Church, Chicago, where he is still pas- 
tor. 

Immediately following the resigna- 
tion of Dr. White, a call was extended 
to Rev. Ira A. Priest, D.D., who as- 
sumed duties at once and remained un- 
til September, 1896. 

Then followed the pastorate of Rev. 
Charles S. Nickerson, from 1897 until 
April, 1899. 

In September of 1899 a call was ex- 
tended to Rev. S. G. Dunham, now of 
Fitchburg. Mr. Dunham's pastorate 



continued until September, 1902, when 
he resigned to accept an invitation to 
become pastor of the Universalist 
Church at Pasadena, Cal. 

From January, 1903, until January, 
1914, Rev. Albert Hammatt was the 
pastor. 

After being with the parish eleven 
years, Mr. Hammatt resigned to accept 
a call to Springfield, Mass. 

The present pastor, Rev. Rufus H. 
Dix, assumed charge September 13, 
1914. 

The society is showing a healthy 
growth. All the different auxiliary 
bodies are active and prosperous. The 
society is clear of debt and the outlook 
is promising. 

The trustees at the present time are : 
Moderator, W. H. Zoller; Treasurer, 
Lewis P. Everett; Clerk, C. Raymond 
Cabot; Collector, C. A. Wentworth; A. 
D. Cadv, W. L. Marvin, F. Banchor, 
W. E. Jerauld, J. B. Newell, C. D. 
Cabot, F. W. Wise, T. O. Bjornson. 



MARY IMMACULATE OF LOURDES' CHURCH, 
NEWTON UPPER FALLS. 



Newton Upper Falls has a primacy 
of parochial establishment over every 
other Catholic parish in the Garden 
City of Massachusetts. St. Mary's 
Church in it was dedicated in Novem- 
ber, 1867, an event anterior to any, sim- 
ilar fact or ceremony in the Catholic 
history of the city. That memorable 
occasion was illustrious by the then 
Bishop, but afterwards Archbishop 
Williams of Boston presiding over the 
dedicatory services and the Rev. James 
I leal y, soon to be bishop of Portland, 
preaching the sermon of the day. Many 
priests also assisted. 

Hut this old church has now been 



relegated into comparative insignifi- 
cance by the glory of the new one. Ar- 
chitecturally Mary Immaculate of 
Lourdes' Church, is a perfect specimen 
of Romanesque, rennaissance style, with 
a beautiful Campanile attached in which 
are lodged the three large bells used for 
the service of the Church. Interiorly 
it is a marvel of beauty, surpassing 
all other churches in the whole archdio- 
cese, if not, any parochial church in the 
country. It is a revelation of perfect 
harmony of color, form and design, co- 
ordinating this galaxy of divers parts to 
the overpowering sense of religious de- 
votion, expressive of the unity and har- 



99 



mony of the Catholic faith. A relig- 
ious art gallery it is, to boot, of marbles, 
woods, paintings, scenes scriptural 
and historic, and stained glass win- 
dows, — an edifice of which not only its 
own worshippers may be proud, but 
anybody and everybody who love art, 
the classics and the worship of God. 
An unquestioned glory it is to this cel- 
ebrated city. 

Another beautiful church, with brick 
foundation stands also, in Needham, a 
further testimonial to Rev. Father 
Danahy's zeal in behalf of his parish. 
The Cemetery, — a legacy from Rev. 
Father Dolan's administration, — has 
been beautified by him and made a 
charming repository for the dead. 

This clergyman came to New- 
ton in 1890. St. Mary's parish had out- 
grown the limitations of one pastor's 
care, so it was divided into three par- 
ishes towards the close of that year, 
after the demise of the pastor, the Rev. 
M. O'Brien. This gentleman had ruled 
wisely and well during his incumbency 
of five years and added measurably to 
the temporalities of the parish. His 
predecessor, Father Dolan, had been a 
reverend gentlemen, who held sway 
for some fifteen years; one who had 
undertaken many things; and, of all, 
had made complete success. St. John's 
Church in Wellesley Hills was built by 
this indefatigable laborer in the vine- 
yard of the Lord. St. Mary's Church, 
enlarged and renovated, rectory added 
to, 35 acres of land purchased for ceme- 
tery purposes, house and land bought as 
an appenage to the temporalities of the 
parish, constitute the main features of 
the Rev. Father Dolan's material work 
in the parish; blessed, too, as it had 
been by the vast amount of spiritual 
good, that an apostolic man alone can 
do, assisted, as he was, so ably, by the 
Rev. Father Begley. Father Begley 
was subsequently professor and treasu- 
rer of St. John's Seminary, Brighton, 



and afterwards died, pastor of the Fast 
Weymouth church. 

Rev. Father Dolan's great work 
branched out into herculean labors 
at Newton. Thither he was trans- 
ferred in 1885, on the death of Rev. 
Father Green, who had built the church 
there, called Our Lady, Help of Chris- 
tians. This he has splendidly improved, 
outside and in, gleaming in its interior 
with magnificent marble altars, con- 
forming its decorations in kinship to 
these masterpieces; and in its exterior 
enlarging it by additions and im- 
provements, until it is now a church 
reflecting truly a distinctive Gothic 
style. A large parochial school and 
rectory : both in brick as well as a beau- 
tiful convent of the same material, pro- 
claim his ceaseless activity and undying 
spirit of sacrifice. The evening of his 
holy life is now spent in preparing for 
his triumphant call into eternity. Since 
this was written he entered into his eter- 
nal rest July 26th, 1915. 

A gifted, versatile, pious gentleman 
is Rev. Father Kelly, upon whose shoul- 
ders, now lies the burden of responsibil- 
ity, as administrator, who with his 
Rev. colleague, Father Malone, rules 
the parish with the prudence and zeal of 
his saintly veteran. Before him the 
Rev. Father Jas. F. Gilfether, now 
pastor at West Lynn, was, for long, a 
valiant coadjutor to the venerable pas- 
tor of Newton. 

1878 saw this parish cut off as a sepa- 
rate one from Watertown, to which it 
had been, up to that time, a dependency, 
or mission, under the care of a Rev. 
Father McCarthy. 

West Newton became a parish in 
May, 1875. Its pastor, Father M. Mc- 
Manus, now of the large and beautiful 
parish of St. Mary's of Brookline, was 
transferred to South Lawrence to fill 
an emergenc3^ call. Needless to say, 
there as well as at West Newton and 



TOO 




MARY IMMACULATE OF LOURDF.s' CHURCH, NEWTON UPPER FALLS. 



Brookline, his work made him a man of 
distinction. He was succeeded by Rev. 
Christopher McGrath, who labored in 
this field but a short time. This gentle- 
man's brief career was snapped short 
by death, affording little opportunity 
to display his talents and zeal. The Rev. 
Father O'Toole came after him. The 
church, St. Bernard's, was burnt down 
and by his exhaustless labor quickly 
rebuilt it and made it more com- 
modious than ever. His most po- 
tent co-laborers were the Rev. Chas. 
Galligan, now pastor of St. Margaret's 
Church, Lowell, and Father Cronin, 
who established the great work of the 



Catholic Club, which has made itself 
felt under his able direction and ramify 
its influence throughout the young 
Catholic people of the city. 

The Rev. Father Keleher, in 1911, 
after the death of Father O'Toole, was 
sent by the Cardinal to replace him. I n 
his short pastorate he has recreated that 
church and made St. Bernard's, hence- 
forward, renowned for its beauty. He 
has shown great ability, auguring well 
for the social, spiritual and temporal 
glory of that parish. 

Now, then, to resume the narrative, 
when we debouched to the two parishes, 



IOI 



not immediately connected with old St. 
Mary's. 

Another cut-off from this in the nine- 
ties, 1890, was what is called the Sacred 
Heart parish, Newton Centre. The late 
Father Wholey was the founder of 
this parish. A. very beautiful church he 
erected, and made his influence so felt, 
that on his transfer to one of Bos- 
ton's large parishes, as a permanent rec- 
tor, a most unusual honor was paid him 
by the non-Catholic, social circles of 
Newton Centre. 

The elite of that part of the City gave 
a splendid tribute to his urbanity, his 
facetious spirit, his learning and his 
zeal by a reception and farewell parting 
at Bray Hall. Last December the 
Lord, being pleased with his work, 
called him to his reward. Bereaved of 
their gracious pastor by the promotion 
to Boston, the people of the parish were 
at their wit's ends by prayer and solici- 
tude, that he may be followed by a man 
of like calibre and distinction. The Rev. 
Father D. C. Riordan came and was re- 
ceived with the caid mille faltha, 
peculiar to the Irish and their descen- 
dants. His ability is enriched witli 
recognized learning. This appeared in 
concrete form in the unique and beauti- 
ful rectory with which he has adorned 
his grounds, after a distinctive style of 
Spanish architecture. 

A connecting link between him and 
the lamented Father Wholey is Rev. 
Father Haney. He is ubiquitous, in- 
tensely zealous and every where a living 
promoter of good. 

The third part of St. Mary's parish 
went to the Rev. Father Callanan, the 
same year. That embraces Wellesley 
and a small section of Newton, or all of 
Lower Falls. The title of the parish 
is Wellesley Hills ; and so is, improper- 
ly, called that of Newton Lower Falls. 

This gentleman built a charming 
parochial house, rejuvenated the church, 
at much expense, and surrounded his 



abode and church with every evidence 
of refined taste and horticultural skill. 

The Rev. Doctor Knappe, coming 
from old St. Stephen's pastorate of the 
North End, Boston, on Father Calla- 
nan's removal to the charge of the large 
and flourishing parish of St. Peter's, 
Cambridge, fell into the succession. 
Rare ability, canonical learning with 
distinguished capacity for business, 
combined with grace of manner, make 
his characteristics a most valuable asset 
for his parish as well as a notable ac- 
quisition to that beautiful town. Co- 
operating with him is a former member 
of the Boston legal profession, whose 
charm of priestly manner and luminous 
piety attract all hearts; and make vir- 
tue, not self, nor power, nor worldli- 
ness, the paramount effort of every 
member of the flock. 

Development of this historic tale has 
made us, unintentionally, overlook the 
efforts of some clergymen closely con- 
nected with the growth of Catholicity 
in this city. The Rev. Father Joseph 
Robichaud has the rectorship of the 
French population, that his Eminence, 
Cardinal O'Connell, has so recently 
made a parish. With such vigor and fi- 
delity has he prosecuted his work that, 
it is said, he has already accomplished 
"wonders." 

Father C. Reardon, at the Falls in 
his twelve years of labor in that parish, 
left an unforgetable reputation for pie- 
ty, sincere charity and consuming zeal. 
First Rockport and now East Wey- 
mouth is the seat of his parochial activi- 
ties. The Rev. Father Allchin, a 
potent factor in the household of Rev. 
Bishop Anderson, spent three active 
years laboring in the same parish. Fie, in 
turn, was followed by Rev. Father 
Denis Donovan, who, for more than 
double the same length of time, is "never 
weary of doing good" ; and, in every 
way, promoting Christ's doctrine and 
spirit under the pastor's methods of do- 



I02 



ing that good. Lately, he has been re- 
enforced by one, who though quiet in his 
ways, is deeply entrenched in all the 
virtues characteristic of the Catholic 
priesthood, working steadfastly for the 
betterment of the parish, the Rev. 
Father Eugene Maguire. 

In this parish, at Newton Highlands, 
a fine Industrial School was erected 
some twenty years ago, and as an insti- 
tution for poor boys, has achieved fame 
and done a power of good. 

At the extreme northeast part of the 
city, trenching on Commonwealth Ave- 
nue, Chestnut Hill, has arisen a superb 
edifice dedicated to learning and the 
fine arts. In style it is English Gothic. 
Its stately tower commands magnificent 
views of all the surrounding countiy. 
Beside it is looming up a supplementary 
building, one of many to follow in due 
process of time, and fill its enviable site 
with the palpable, exterior, evidences of 
fame and learning and the splendid in- 
fluences these temples of learning will 
exercise, broadcast, throughout New 
England. Under the distinguished 
and famous^ historic divines of the So- 
ciety of Jesus this large plant will flour- 
ish and bring greater renown to the gar- 
den city of Massachusetts. These rev- 
erend gentlemen are commonly known 
as "Jesuits" ; and this foundation an ex- 
tension of Boston College. 

On Manet Road, close by, the Sisters 
of St. Francis have established a com- 
munity embracing several ladies conse- 
crated to the Lord, working faithfully 
to advance youth of either sex educa- 
tionally in all that concerns right living 
and the refinements of life. 

This historic glance of Catholicity in 
Newton by no means gives a faithful, 
detailed, graphic record of our subject; 
but it has seized its salient points and 
brings before the non-Catholic as well 
as the Catholic, a more comprehensive 
view of the progress of this form of re- 



ligion among our citizens and compa- 
triots. 

Of the inception of Catholicity in 
these originally separated villages, now 
merged into such a beautiful city, no 
allusion has been made. The charity 
and freedom from bigotry of the cele- 
brated missionary, Eliot, sheltered with 
warmest, apostolic hospitality for 
two weeks a French priest in the 
bosom of his own family. 

Sporadic appearances of members of 
his faith graced the annals of these 
townships, down to the incoming of 
Reverend Father Strain, afterwards 
Monsignor, and the first of such title in 
the Archdiocese, who died in February, 
1893, pastor of the largest parish in 
Lynn. 

This was in 1846; which was the first 
divine service of that nature in Newton. 
That was held in Mr. Cahill's house, 
whose descendants, as did his progeni- 
tor, live in the Upper Falls. 

By the Rev. Father Flood of Wal- 
tham and by Rev. Father McCarthy of 
Watertown, religion was nourished, 
until the epoch mentioned herein at the 
beginning of this article, and brought 
down to date. 

Catholicity has added, in these later 
years, splendid testimonies of the activ- 
ity of its members' faith by the estab- 
lishment of such beautiful churches 
within the pale of the City of Newton. 
Before another decade it will radiate out 
into other arms of ministration and edu- 
cation, both from its own innate powers 
of growth and from the distinguished 
direction of the illustrious Cardinal of 
Boston, William H. O'Connell, under 
whose guidance and sanction the rev- 
erend clergy labor and the people 
lovingly co-operate to carry on to sta- 
bility and perfection the initiatives of 
these, self-sacrificing, reverend, gentle- 
men, who have only in view the good of 
their respective flocks, that of the state 
and of our beloved country. 



103 




NEWTONVILLE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 



NEWTONVILLE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 



The Methodist Episcopal Church at 
Newtonville was established in the early 
spring of 1860, when certain persons 
having a strong desire for a church of 
their own faith met at the home of Rev. 
G. W. Mansfield, and formally organ- 
ized the society, with Mr. Mansfield as 
the first pastor. 

For some time previous, the Metho- 
dists in this vicinity had held class 
meetings with the church at Watertown, 
but a craving for a church home of their 
own, near enough to enable them to 
train their children in their own doc- 
trines, led to the establishment of a 
church in Newtonville. 

The early records mention the follow- 
ing among those present: Dustin Lan- 
cey, Amasa Dexter, Marcus Heywood, 
Avery Ellis, Ezra Wing, George Den- 
ton, F. G. Smith, and George Maynard. 

The first list of church members num- 
bered nineteen. A Sunday School was 



formed numbering fifty-two, Mr. F. G. 
Smith, Superintendent. 

At first the church services were held 
in the Dexter Piano Rooms in the old 
Leavitt Block at the Walnut Street 
crossing. They rapidly outgrew these 
accommodations and moved across the 
square to Tremont Hall. 

In 1861 the society moved to the 
chapel on Washington Street, after- 
ward occupied by the Congregational- 
ists. On March 11th it was dedicated 
and a new organ costing $450 was pur- 
chased. 

The blessing of God was upon the 
church and the congregations grew so 
large that it was thought best to move 
into the Brick Church, the present home 
of the society. In 1863 they purchased 
the property for $6,000. 

The Brick Church was originally 
built by the Baptists, but the panic of 
1857 compelled them to leave it unfin- 



104 



ished. The Unitarians in 1860 pur- 
chased the unfinished structure and wor- 
shipped in the auditorium after com- 
pleting it; but they in turn, wished to 
dispose of it and, as the Methodists 
were looking for larger accommoda- 
tions than were afforded by the chapel, 
they came into possession of their pres- 
ent home. 

At that time a fence with gates ex- 
tended from the church to Walnut 
Street, enclosing the churchyard, in 
which were many evergreen trees. 

The entrance was on the side, and in 
order to pass from the auditorium to 
the vestry it was necessary to come out- 
side. 

The first improvement made in the 
new church was the finishing of the ves- 



try and class rooms for the prayer and 
class meetings. 

In 1868 the work of completing the 
tower was begun, and a bell purchased 
and hung therein. The tower added 
greatly to the finished appearance of 
the church, but in 1896 it was rebuilt 
and many improvements made. 

Extensive alterations the same year 
changed the church into its present ap- 
pearance. The interior was newly fres- 
coed, a gallery built in the rear, beauti- 
ful stained glass windows, in memory of 
those early workers in the service, were 
placed on the walls, and the steeple on 
the tower removed. 

The present minister, Rev. James W. 
Campbell, was installed in 1908. 



NEWTON CENTRE 

Unitarian services were first held at 
Newton Centre on November 11, 1877, 
and in April of the next year the parish 



UNITARIAN SOCIETY. 

was regularly organized. The society 
used Whites Hall as a place of meeting 
until 1880, at which time it was pros- 




UNITARIAN CHURCH, NEWTON CENTRE. 

'05 



perous enough to build a church of its 
own. This building has since been en- 
larged and greatly improved, making 
it suitable for the increased activities of 
the parish life. 

The first minister was the Rev. Ru- 
fus P. Stebbins, D.D. His successors 
were Rev. Messrs. Horace L. Wheeler, 
Alexander T. Bowser, Benjamin F. 
McDaniel, Morgan Millar, Charles W. 
Wendte, and Alfred H. Brown. In 
1909 the present minister, Rev. Alson 
H. Robinson, was called to occupy the 
pulpit which had become vacant. The 
past six years have witnessed a substan- 
tial growth in all of the activities and 
the general life of the church. The 
membership has been greatly increased ; 
and the services of worship much en- 
riched and beautified by the installa- 



tion of a new organ and the mainten- 
ance of music of a very high order. Per- 
haps the most notable contribution 
which this church can be said to have 
made to the life of the community dur- 
ing the past two years is the conduct of 
a series of Open Forum meetings in 
which a free platform has been pro- 
vided for the discussion of all sorts of 
public questions. That these meetings 
have filled an existing demand in the 
community is attested by the fact that 
they have been supported by the lead- 
ing men and women of all the churches. 
It is proposed gradually to extend and 
develop these meetings until they be- 
come free from any sectarian associa- 
tion, supported purely by public senti- 
ment and co-operation. 



CHURCH OF THE REDEEMER, CHESTNUT HILL. 



This parish was organized at a meet- 
ing of the St. Andrews Guild, Chestnut 
Hill Chapter, held on the evening of 
September 23rd, 1890. The Warrant 
and Return was read by Col. I. F. 
Kingsbury, Justice of the Peace. After 
organization had been perfected accord- 
ing to statute and Col. Kingsbury had 
been elected Moderator, the following 
officers were elected: 

Wardens, A. D. S. Bell, Robert H. 
Gardiner. 

Vestrymen, John Lowell Jr., Chas. 
O. Stearns, C. S. Miller. 

Treasurer, R. H. Gardiner. 

Clerk, John Lowell Jr. 

It was voted to authorize the pur- 
chase of land on Hammond Street for 
the erection of a Rectory and to ask 
the Rev. Henry S. Nash of the Cam- 
bridge Theological School to become 
Rector. In the spring of 1892 the first 
church building, the gift of Mrs. Au- 



gustus Lowell, was dedicated. In Feb- 
ruary, 1903, the Rev. Dr. Nash Avas 
succeeded as rector by Rev. David Clai- 
borne Garrett. In October, 1906, Mr. 
Garrett was succeeded by the Rev. 
Harry W. Perkins of Burlington, 
Iowa. Rev. Lucian W. Rogers of St. 
George's Church, Central Falls, Rhode 
Island, became rector in May, 1911 and 
is the present incumbent. In May, 1907, 
the Senior Warden conveyed to the 
parish a lot of land adjoining the par- 
ish property with the proviso that a 
fund of $2*0,000 be raised within 20 
years for the purpose of erecting a 
stone church edifice. In June, 1913, the 
parish voted to proceed with the erec- 
tion of a new stone church from plans 
by Henry Vaughan, Esq. The new 
church building was dedicated on Eas- 
ter morning, 1915, and five weeks sub- 
sequently was consecrated by the Bishop 
of Massachusetts. 



106 



The officers of the parish for the year 
1915 are as follows: 

Senior Warden, Wm. Blodget: Ju- 
nior Warden, Wm. H. Aspinwall, 



Treasurer, Wm. R. Cordingley; Clerk, 
Edwin Ford; Vestrymen, A. Winsor 
Weld, Charles H. Kip, Andrew Adie, 
Louis B. Harding, Henry W. Bliss, 



Lincoln F. Brigham. 



SECOND CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, WEST NEWTON. 



When the early settlers of New Town 
(or Cambridge, as it is now called,) pe- 
titioned for more land, the General 
Court gave them, among other tracts, 
nearly all of what is now Newton. After 
some years this large township was di- 
vided, the part in which the college 
stands was called Cambridge, and the 
name New Town was transferred to our 
present city. It remained "New Town" 
till a town clerk began to write the name 
as one word with a "w" omitted, and it 
has been Newton ever since. 

Needing a church nearer than Cam- 
bridge, those early settlers, numbering 
only forty-three freemen, established 



public worship in 1654, built a meeting 
house six years later, and organized 
the First Church of Christ in Newton 
in 1664 (now the First Congregational 
Church, in Newton Center). 

After one hundred and seventeen 
years, the residents in this part of the 
town, now called W est Newton, 
thought the First Church too distant; 
and so in 1764, though still belonging to 
the First Church and taxed for its sup- 
port, they bought of the inn-keeper 
eight rods of land, where this church 
now stands, for about $12.00, and built 
a very plain two-story meeting-house, 
thirty by forty feet in size, without bel- 




CHURCH OF llll'; REDEEMER, CHESTNUT HILL. 

107 




SECOND CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, WEST NEWTON. 



fry or porch, unpainted within and with- 
out, but with an abundance of windows 
in both stories, and furnished with a 
high pulpit and rude benches; and it 
stood with its side, in which was the 
main entrance, towards the street, on 
the ground between the present church 
and the City Hall. 

Here for fourteen years without or- 
ganizing a church, the people gathered 
for worship, the school teacher (who 
was usually a theological student ) being 
engaged to preach or read a sermon on 
Sunday, while they persistently and an- 
nually, but vainly, petitioned the stub- 
bornly-resisting mother church for a 



share of the town tax to support public 
worship, and finally appealed to the 
Legislature, which, in 1778, divided the 
town into an East and West parish by 
a line which ran from Watertown to a 
point a little west of Echo Bridge. 

The new parish, therefore, included 
Xonantum, most of Newtonville, West 
Newton, Auburndale, Lower Falls, 
Waban, and all that portion of Wal- 
tham south of the Charles River — 
nearly half of the township, but con- 
taining only one-third of the popula- 
tion. For there were but fourteen 
houses along this highway from New- 
tonville to Lower Falls ; only one house 



108 



was between Newtonville and West 
Newton; onl}^ four houses were in 
West Newton, where one writer affirms 
"there were but fifteen houses in a re- 
gion two miles square." A tavern stood 
near the corner of Elm Street, behind 
the elm tree that fourteen years before 
this church was organized the landlord 
brought home on his shoulder and set 
out to please his wife. South and east 
were the wooded hills and rocky pas- 
tures. North and west were the tilled 
farms reaching to the river, and up the 
road a little distance was the school- 
house. 

On October 21, 1781, the very day 
after Cornwallis surrendered, and be- 
fore the news could have reached Bos- 
ton, the people of this parish gathered 
one Thursday on this very plot of 
ground. One can picture them coming 
from several directions under the Oc- 
tober colors and sunshine, with tanned 
faces and hard hands, clad in homespun, 
riding on horseback, men with women 
behind them, the young people walking, 
the land sloping more rapidly than now 
to the babbling Cheesecake brook, the 
horses tied to the nearest trees, the 
wooded hills, the open fields, the crooked 
and ill-made road. Probably all came 
who could, for to organize a church in 
the new parish was an event of univer- 
sal interest. And when they had as- 
sembled in the now seventeen-years-old 
meeting house and listened to a sermon 
from the pastor of the church at Brook- 
line, thirteen men, including the pastor- 
elect, Mr. Greenough, who had preached 
for six months, stepped forward as their 
names were called. Some of them lived 
in what is now Waltham, and along the 
Charles River towards Nonantum, one 
near the Pine farm, one in Waban, one 
north of Auburndale and four on the 
Lower Falls road. Six of them had 
probably served somewhat in the war; 
two, and perhaps three of them were 
over seventy years old; four were about 



fifty; and five, thirty or under. And 
standing there they assented to no creed, 
but covenanted together to form a 
church of Christ, and devoting them- 
selves to the service of God, they 
agreed to walk in brotherly fellowship 
as a church, and signed their names to 
the covenant. 

Two weeks from the following Mon- 
day the young pastor (aged 25) was 
ordained and installed; a week later 
thirteen women were added; and so the 
church was formed with twenty-six 
members, all save two from the First 
Church, which for seventeen years had 
fought the existence of a second church, 
and for twenty years longer continued 
to dispute with it about the ministerial 
wood lot, but sent it as part of the com- 
munion furnishings a pewter dish and 
four pewter flagons. 

Its first pastor, and its pastor for 50 
years, was Rev. William Greenough, 
valedictorian of his class at Yale, and 
later a student at Harvard, from which 
he received the degree of M.A. — a tall 
and genial gentleman of some wealth 
and great good sense, who dressed in 
knee breeches and wore silver-buckled 
shoes and a cocked hat long after that 
costume was generally abandoned, but 
who was greatly beloved, and wielded 
a wide influence, both within his parish 
and beyond it. His hospitable home 
was behind the abundant lilac bushes 
and tall elms still seen on the west side 
of Washington Street, beyond Auburn 
Street, where was his farm. For many 
years his salary was about $266, paid in 
rye at four shillings, or corn at three 
shillings a bushel, or pork at three 
pence and two farthings, or beef at two 
pence and two farthings a pound, to- 
gether with fifteen cords of wood, and 
it never was very much more. Indeed, 
he is said to have given more to the 
church financially than it ever paid him. 

For thirty years he preached in the 
old building, with its glaring and shut- 



109 



terless windows, its bare walls, its un- 
carpeted floor and its unpainted seats; 
and it was unchanged, except that a 
stove was secured after eighteen years, 
and the rough benches gradually gave 
place to square pews with hinged seats 
on each side, which those who could 
afford to pay five pounds for a "pew 
spot" bought and built upon. And such 
"pew spots" were not all disposed of 
till 1804. 

Mr. Greenough died in 1831, at the 
age of seventy-five, four days after 
preaching his fiftieth anniversary ser- 
mon in Squire Davis' schoolhouse on 
Waltham Street, as the meeting-house 
was being repaired, and his body was 
buried in the old River Street cemetery. 
He was succeeded immediately by Rev. 
Lyman Gilbert, who for three years 
had been his colleague, and was sole 
pastor for twenty-five subsequent years. 
In a paper contributed by Dr. Gilbert 
for the one hundredth anniversary of 
this church, he describes the parish as 
he found it in 1831, when there were 
but sixtjr houses and four hundred and 
eighty people between Lower Falls and 
Watertown, and only forty families 
connected with the church, which had 
but fifty members. "In the community 
were counted twenty drunkards, and 
twenty more occupying a doubtful po- 
sition." There was a private English 
school and two one-story district schools 
of one room each. "I found no doctor, 
and the people w r ere healthy ; no lawyer, 
for the people were peaceable; no ex- 
minister, for all the ministers were 
needed in those days; no liberally edu- 
cated man, for his proper work was 
elsewhere. The people were farmers, 
mechanics and other laborers. Only 
one piano was in the place. The church 
was lighted by fifty windows. A bell 
for the first time had been put up to 
ring in the coming of the new pastor. 
My salary was $600, and raised by tax- 
ation. In the limits of the parish were 



two corporations, which have no souls, 
and could not 'sign off.' The two paid 
about one-third of my salary, but when 
the law was repealed three years after, 
having no souls to care for, they ceased 
paying." 

But they were "a united and loving 
people, working together to the extent 
of their ability, and beyond, to maintain 
the gospel at home, and contribute to 
the various benevolent objects pre- 
sented." While Dr. Gilbert was pas- 
tor, the new church was erected and 
nearly paid for by the sale of pews, and 
the railroad was finished to West 
Newton. 

Dr. Gilbert was succeeded by two 
young men, who had been classmates at 
Bowdoin College, first, Rev. Joseph P. 
Drummond, and second, Rev. George 
B. Little. Both were brilliant men; but 
both came to West Newton with incip- 
ient tuberculosis upon them; both died 
shortly after coming, the former in the 
first year of his service, at the age of 
thirty-three, the latter in the second year 
of his service, at the age of thirty-six. 
The council that dismissed Mr. Drum- 
mond installed Mr. Little. 

After three months, Rev. Henry 
Johnson Patrick was installed as fifth 
pastor of the church. He remained in 
that position for nearly thirty-four 
years, and was pastor-emeritus until 
the time of his death in 1909. His con- 
nection with the church thus lasted for 
nearly half a century. 

The council which dismissed Dr. Pat- 
rick installed his successor, Rev. Theo- 
dore P. Prudden, D.D., who for thir- 
teen }^ears was pastor of the church, 
and was succeeded in 1907 by Rev. John 
Edgar Park. 

For thirty-one years this was the only 
church of an}'- kind in this half of New- 
ton ; and for sixty-eight years it was the 
only church save St. Mary's Episcopal 
Church in Lower Falls, and that it has 
contributed of its members to form St. 



no 



Mary's church, in 1812; the church in 
Waltham, in 1820; the Unitarian 
Church in West Newton in 1848; the 
church in Auburndale, in 1850; the 
Methodist Church, at Newtonville, in 
1863, and at Auburndale, in 1864; the 
Baptist Church, West Newton, in 1 866 ; 
the Central Church, at Newtonville, 
which grew out of a prayer meeting ap- 
pointed and regularly attended by Dr. 
Patrick, in 1868; and finally to the 
Church of the Messiah at Auburndale, 
and St. John's Church, Newtonville, in 
1898. In territory which was once its 



it was furnished with more modern 
pews, and the next year its first small 
vestry was made in the basement. 

In 1848, when it was sixty-seven years 
old, the new church, of which the pres- 
ent auditorium is the remnant, with 
graceful spire and basement vestry was 
built, and the old church, some of the 
timbers of which are in the present city 
hall, became a town house. 

In 1885-1886 the church was again 
moved back, its graceful spire removed, 
and present transepts added and the 
commodious parish house built in front. 




HULL MANSION, FORMERLY ON WALNUT AND AUSTIN STREETS, NEWTONVILLE. 



sole parish, there are now at least 
twenty churches. 

Since that first building, reared one 
hundred and forty-six years ago, (in 
1764), it has had but one new meeting- 
house, but it has made frequent enlarge- 
ments and improvements. In 1812 the 
primitive structure was moved back, 
lengthened fourteen feet, and adorned 
with porches, a belfry, larger galleries 
and a richer pulpit. Nineteen years 
later (1831) it was turned around fac- 
ing the street, its galleries removed, and 



Again, in 1894, the auditorium was ex- 
tended from the pillars outward and 
fitted with new pews and furniture; in 
1898, the large assembly-room became 
our present complete chapel and Sun- 
day School room. 

In December, 1908, a meeting of the 
congregation was held upon the recom- 
mendation of the church committee, at 
which the question of rebuilding the 
church was mentioned. It was felt that 
for reasons both of economy and dig- 
nity the time had come to prepare for a 



in 



new church. The scheme was well re- 
ceived, and the congregation pledged 
itself by a rising vote to support the 
movement heartily. The sum of $37,. 500 
was raised at Easter, 1909, for this pur- 
pose. In 1913 a new site on the side of 
the hill above the railroad station was 
purchased, and a sum of $112,000 was 
in hand on Easter, 1913. The founda- 
tion stone of the new church was laid 
on the 150th anniversary of the laying 
of the foundation stone of the first 
building. 

In 1863 a parsonage costing $10,000, 
of which Miss Sarah Baxter gave half, 
was erected. 

The church has always been progres- 
sive. It was a pioneer in the custom 
of reading the Bible without comment 
as a part of worship, it having been 
voted at the first business meeting of the 
church "that a portion of Scripture be 
read in public on each part of the Lord's 
Da}^." It was a pioneer in church mu- 
sic, being among the first to adopt sing- 
ing by note, which many other churches 
opposed because their fathers had sung 
in another way, and before it was eight 
years old it voted fifty dollars for the 
improvement of psalm singing. It was 
a pioneer in having a choir, in using a 
bass viol and other new musical instru- 
ments and in adopting congregational 
singing, in which for vears it greatly 



excelled. It has progressively used as 
musical instruments, a pitch-pipe, a bass 
viol, a violin, a flute, a melodeon, a small 
reed organ, a pipe and reed organ, a 
small pipe organ, and the present organ, 
which was purchased of the First Con- 
gregational Church, Manchester, N. 
H., after twenty years of use, and was 
set up here in 1876. 

It was among the earliest to establish 
a Sunday School (in 1819) which met 
in a little schoolhouse on Waltham 
Street, opposite the Davis school. It 
is doubtful if any school in any church 
can show such a record of long and al- 
ways successful labor as that of Miss S. 
Maria Clarke, who, with the exception 
of one year, conducted the large pri- 
mary department for forty-six years. 

The church brought the village here; 
for the meeting-house was not placed 
where it is because the village was here, 
but the village grew where the church 
was. For all these years it has main- 
tained a sanctuary amid the tempta- 
tions and sorrows of life, and the ser- 
vices which have tended to make duty 
more clear and imperative, life more 
beautiful, trials more endurable, cour- 
age more strong, and mercy, patience, 
hope and faith more abundant. 



(The above historical sketch is founded upon the 
one hundred and twenty-fifth anniversary sermon, 
preached by Dr. Prudden.) 



1 12 



THE REBECCA POMROY NEWTON HOME 
FOR ORPHAN GIRLS 



The Pomroy Home for Orphan Girls 
was opened in November, 1872, the day 
after the destructive Boston fire. 

When the Boston Children's Aid So- 
ciety decided to give up its girls' home 
in Newton Centre, Miss Mary C. Shan- 
non, Miss Mary Shannon, and Mrs. 
Daniel Furber, benevolent, strong, 
generous women, felt it necessary and 
wise to start in Newton a charity of the 
same kind. They asked Mr. Nathaniel 
T. Allen of West Newton to act as 
their president, which he did till his 
death, a period of over thirty years; 
and these, together with Mrs. Rebecca 
Pomroy, as superintendent, started the 
Orphans Home, the first real charitable 
institution in Newton. 

Having voluntary promises of aid 
from ladies and gentlemen throughout 
Newton, a home was secured, at first 
on Church Street, and afterwards on 
Hovey Street, which residence they 
still occupy and own. 

The Orphans' Home has always shel- 
tered from four to twenty of Newton's 
destitute girls, between the ages of two 
and eighteen, and the strong influence 
of the first beautiful superintendent, 
'Auntie Pomroy", has never ceased to 
be felt. It has always been a real home, 
for its children are taught to aid in 
every department of household work, 
thus preparing them for future useful- 
ness in the world, as house maids or 
mother's homes, too, arc secured for 



them after they leave, where they can, if 
possible, be members of the family 
rather than mere servants. Then, too, 
the children enter the excellent public 
schools of the city, like other children of 
Newton, and so are not exclusively by 
themselves. Through the incessant and 
untiring efforts of the founders, the 
Pomroy Home has received the sym- 
pathy and attention of the whole com- 
munity. The clothing is mostly pro- 
vided by friends, also milk, vegetables, 
fruit and groceries, while recently many 
kind friends have improved the appear- 
ance of the house by painting, paper- 
ing, and having hard wood floors laid. 
Not the least among its benefits is the 
influence it has had in developing and 
sustaining the loving, bountiful charity 
which has enabled the Home to wel- 
come, provide, and care for the large 
number who sought its protection. The 
Home is now in the hands of an able 
Board of Directors as follows: Charles 

A. Haskell, President, Mr. Hiram E. 
Barker, Mr. Oliver M. Fisher, Treas- 
urer, Miss Lucy Allen, Mrs. Andrew 

B. Cobb, Mrs. George S. Harwood, 
Mrs. S. E. Howard, Miss Mabel L. Ri- 
ley, Mrs. H. M. Taylor, Mrs. Arthur 
Walworth, and Miss Anna Whiting, 
chosen from each denomination in New- 
ton, who eo-operate with the superin- 
tendent, Miss Hayes, a woman emi- 
nently well fitted for the position. 



113 



THE ASSOCIATED CHARITIES 
OF NEWTON 



The Associated Charities of Newton 
was privately organized at the house of 
Dr. Mary L. Bates of Newton Centre 
on the 15th of March, 1889, with the 
object of "aiding and elevating the 
poor and unfortunate among the inhab- 
itants of Newton." 

Dr. Bates was chosen president, 
Mrs. Richard Rowe, and Mrs. R. D. 
Morehouse, vice-presidents, Mrs. John 
W. Brigham secretary, and Mrs. Henry 
W. Downs treasurer. 

On the 9th of April a public meeting 
was held in Masonic Hall, then in Cen- 
tral Block, Newtonville, at which a 
large and representative audience was 
addressed by the Hon. Robert Treat 
Paine, Rev. Edward Everett Hale, 
and citizens of our own city prominent 
in public life, who urged support for 
the new organization. 

The pioneers visited the offices of the 
Boston Associated Charities, and made 
a careful study of its methods and its 
literature. 

Naturally, in the beginning, too much 
stress was laid upon immediate finan- 
cial relief, but the society had already 
enlisted a large corps of friendly visi- 
tors, and all cases were more or less 
thoroughly investigated. 

In October, 1890, Dr. Bates having 
resigned, a new organization was 
effected, and a constitution adopted. 
The Rev. R. A. White, then pastor of 
the Universalist Church in Newton- 
ville, was elected president. Among 
the men on the Board were Nathaniel 
T. Allen, Rev. J. C. Jaynes, Rev. F. 
B. Hornbrooke, Dr. D. E. Baker, Rev. 



Wm. A. Lamb and Seward W. Jones. 

Mr. White was a very ardent worker 
in philanthropic fields, and by October, 
1891, he had added to the regular work 
of the Associated Charities — the inves- 
tigating, registering and friendly vis- 
iting, a Labor Bureau, which tried to 
find employment for the handicapped; 
a Provident Branch, which received and 
distributed clothing, and kept in hand 
an Emergency Fund for immediate re- 
lief when necessary; a Penny Savings 
System for the promotion of habits of 
thrift; and engaged as paid secretary 
and agent, Mrs. Mary R. Martin, who 
has ever since been the working officer 
of the society. Very soon after effect- 
ing these changes Mr. White was called 
to a pastorate in Chicago, and the Rev. 
Wm. A. Lamb was chosen president, 
Mr. S. R. Urbino taking his place as 
treasurer. 

The presidents since then have been 
Rev. Dr. A. S. Twombley, Rev. LA. 
Priest, Herbert S. Chase, David E. 
Baker, M. D., and Charles S. Ensign. 

The treasurers have been Warren P. 
Tyler, Edward L. Pickard, Bruce R. 
Ware, and John F. Lothrop. 

Other men who have served as direc- 
tors are Albert Metcalf, Rev. D. L. 
Furbee, Gorham D. Oilman, Capt. S. 
E. Howard, Wm. Z. Ripley, Otis 
Pettee, Geo. F. Richardson, Rev. E. 
Y. Mullins, Rev. Wm. E. Hunting- 
ton, Rev. E. D. Burr, Rev. John 
H. Pillsbury, Rev. F. B. Matthews, 
Rev. J. T. Stocking, Rev. H. E. Ox- 
nard, and Rev. John Matteson. 



U4 



The women directors serving gener- 
ally as long as they lived, or until they 
removed from the city, have not 
changed so often, but among those who 
have left us are Miss Margaret C. 
Worcester, Mrs. Henry C. Hardon, 
Mrs. James C. Braman, Mrs. Luke 
Davis, Mrs. Kate Mead, Mrs. Horace 
Dutton, and Mrs. Allen Jordan. 

In 1893, a bequest of $500 from 
Charles E. Billings of Newton, made 
it necessary that the society be incor- 
porated, and a charter was secured with 
the assistance of Lawrence Bond, Esq. 
This has been the only bequest to the 



mate work, hard to report, but requir- 
ing limitless energy, patience, ingenu- 
ity, and perseverance, it could name 
family after family in this city or else- 
where, living comfortable lives now, 
whom it found suffering under great 
stress. 

In 1896 or 7 a committee appointed 
from the Board of Directors memorial- 
ized the City Government upon the sub- 
ject of the bequest of Mr. Joseph Stone 
of West Newton, which action resulted 
in the establishment of the present 
Stone Institute and Home for Aged 
People at Newton Upper Falls. The 






' 




BRIDGE, FARLOW PARK, NEWTON. 



society, with the exception of $3,000 
from Miss Mary Shannon, which has 
not yet been paid. During the twenty- 
five years of its existence, the society 
has through its side departments given 
clothing to the needy, much of it new; 
found work for about one in five of 
those applying for it, besides often be- 
ing of use to those seeking workers; 
and has taught generations of children 
that pennies accumulate into dollars. 

At one period, for a year or two, it 
maintained a Garden Department in 
Nonantum. As a result of its legiti- 



site was suggested to the trustees of 
the Stone Fund by this society. 

It has maintained correspondence 
with similar societies all over the United 
States, England, Canada, and Aus- 
tralia. Any one of these agencies, 
having a former resident of Newton 
stranded upon its hands, can call upon 
this society to investigate his antece- 
dents, and find out if there is any one in 
the city able and willing to help him. 

Of course, it is sometimes the duty of 
the society to expose an impostor, and 
it is partly owing to its work in this di- 



ii5 



rection that there are fewer fradulent 
beggars at our doors than there were 
twenty years ago. 

A much more difficult task is to con- 
vince the benevolently inclined that 
there are families in our city to whom 
material relief is not a help but an in- 
jury- 

It cannot be claimed that the Asso- 
ciated Charities has ever been as prom- 
inent as some organizations in Newton, 
although it has a body of very loyal 
supporters, but the co-operation with 
other agencies which should entitle it to 



presidents since they left our Board. 

The present organization is as fol- 
lows: — President, E. S. Ensign; Vice- 
Presidents, Mrs. J. P. Tolman, Charles 
Matlack; Treasurer, J. F. Lothrop; 
Secretary, Mrs. M. R. Martin; Audi- 
tor, Reuben Forknall. The other di- 
rectors are Mrs. G. G. Phipps, Miss E. 
Spear, Miss A. D. Hills, Kenelm 
Winslow, E. E. Wakefield, Jr., Rev. 
R. T. Loring, Miss H. F. Randall, Dr. 
D. E. Baker, Miss A. P. Wise, Rev. 
L. Mad Aire, Miss E. C. Williams, 




NONANTUM SQUARE, 1902. 



its name has never been what it ought 
to be. Nevertheless, it has ample evi- 
dence that it has had its part in the edu- 
cation of the community along modern 
lines of scientific charity, and it is espe- 
cially interesting to note the number of 
workers who have gone from it to 
broader fields. Among our past direc- 
tors there are several now prominent 
in philanthropic work-in the West, one 
college professor prominent in research 
work, and three who have been college 



C. S. Thomas, J. F. Capron, Dr. F. W. 
Putnam. 

The resignation of the Secretary 
making several changes necessary, 
efforts are being made to bring about a 
re-organization which shall make the 
society a true Associated Charities, 
more than ever worthy of the cordial 
and generous support of the commu- 
nity* 



*The Associated Charities has recently been merged 
with the Newton Welfare Bureau. 



116 



NEWTON FREE LIBRARY 

By MISS ELIZABETH P. THURSTON, Librarian. 



Newton's Public Library had its ori- 
gin in the Newton Book Club, an asso- 
ciation formed at Newton Corner in 
January, 1848, with twenty-six sub- 
scribers. A year later the members of 
the Book Club, "desirous of promoting 
the cause of Intelligence and Litera- 
ture," formed themselves into a corpor- 
ation under the title of the Newton Li- 
brary Association, and one hundred 
and seventeen volumes were given by 
the Book Club to the new organization. 
The Library was opened Wednesda}^ 
afternoon and Friday evening of every 
week. 

The public-spirited citizens of New- 
ton had for a long time wished to estab- 
lish a free library open to all, and in 
June, 1866, a subscription paper was 
circulated to bi^ the lot of land 20,550 
square feet upon which to build the 
present library building. The names 
of the subscribers were D. R. Emerson, 
J. C. Chaffin, Albert Brackett, Joel IT. 
Hills, Joseph N. Bacon, Fred Davis, 
George H. Jones, William O. Ed- 
mands, IT. D. Bassett, J. W. Wellman, 
I. T. Burr, F. Skinner, G. D. Gilman, 
Louisa S. Brown, A. B. Underwood, 
Aaron F. Gay, James French. 

Later J. Wiley Edmands contrib- 
uted $15,000 on condition that a like 
sum be raised by the citizens, for the 
erection of such a library building as 
should meet his approval. The subscrip- 
tion was raised, and in August, 1868, 
the corner stone of the building was 
laid. 

The Newton Free Library was or- 
ganized Sept. 29, 1869, with a board of 



eleven managers, but the amount which 
had been raised was insufficient to meet 
the cost of the building and other 
necessary expenses, and at this critical 
moment John C. Chafnn promised 
$5,000 provided the remainder of the 
required sum be contributed. The 
amount was secured and the building 
was dedicated June 17, 1870. The li- 
brary was opened with a collection of 
seven thousand volumes, obtained 
partly from purchase and partly from 
gifts. George W. Bacon was elected 
superintendent, and Hannah P. James 
and Cornelia W. Jackson librarians. In 
1871 the Newton Free Library was in- 
corporated by the Legislature of Mass- 
achusetts. 

The Newton Centre Librarv Asso- 

m) 

ciation in 1873 presented its collection 
of between fourteen and fifteen hun- 
dred books to the Newton Free Li- 
brary. In November, 1875, a tender of 
the library was made to the city of 
Newton. The gift was accepted, and 
the transfer was formalh^ made March 
16, 1876, the Newton "Free Library 
passing into the control of the city gov- 
ernment for the free use of the citi- 
zens forever. The government of 
the library was placed in the hands 
of seven trustees elected by the city 
council, and the city has annually 
made appropriations for the support 
of the library since that time. In 
1886 a special appropriation for an en- 
largement of the building was made, 
which gave the much needed room for 
the stacking of books and for the va- 
rious departments of library work. 



117 



These accommodations were made to 
suffice until 1912, when the city again 
appropriated an amount for enlarging, 
repairing and refurnishing the main li- 
brary building. The results were most 
satisfactory, and in April, 1913, the 
renovated library was formally opened 
to the public, although it had not been 
found necessary to close the library at 
all during the changes, the regular work 
of the library having been continued 
through the ten months that the work- 
men were making the additions and al- 
terations. The extension, two stories 
and a basement, at the rear of the for- 
mer building, covers a space fifty-six 
feet by forty-nine, and is equipped 
with steel stacks. This leaves the front 
part of the library for the magazine 
reading room, reference and circulation 
departments, giving readers opportu- 
nity to read, with free access to the 
books. The rooms are all well lighted 
and are very attractive in appearance. 
The children's room and an audience 
room are on the lower floor. 

On Dec. 4, 1913, two bronze tablets, 
containing over four hundred names of 



Newton men who served in the Revolu- 
tion, were dedicated. These memorial 
tablets are the gift of the Sarah Hull 
Chapter of the D. R. to the city, and 
are placed in a prominent position near 
the delivery desk in the centre of the 
library. 

The library has steadily grown in size 
and usefulness in the community. In 
1894 the West Newton Athenaeum, 
with its fifty-five hundred volumes, was 
given over into the hands of the New- 
ton Free Library. A reading room 
and branch library has since that time 
been maintained at West Newton. At 
the beginning of 1900 the Auburndale 
reading room was also put under the 
same management, and during the year 
the Newton Centre reading room fol- 
lowed the same course. In January, 
1901, the reading room at Newton Up- 
per Falls became a fourth branch. 
Since that time five more branches have 
been established, and opened at the fol- 
lowing dates: at Nonantum, Jan. 1, 
1907; at Newtonville, Jan. 1, 1907; at 
Newton Highlands, Jan. 4, 1908; at 
Thompsonville, Jan. 14, 1910; at Wa- 




NEWTON FREE LIBRARY, NEWTON. 
IlS 




NEWTON CEMETERY. 



ban, Jan. 1, 1912. The reading room 
at the main library is furnished with 
upwards of one hundred and fifty mag- 
azines and newspapers, the branches 
with a lesser number each. There were 
in 1914, about 87,000 volumes in the 
library. Each branch has a deposit of 
books from the main library, number- 
ing from .500 to 1600, a certain portion 
of which are exchanged at frequent in- 
tervals. 

The library has several funds which 
have been given or bequeathed by New- 
ton citizens, the incomes from which are 
used for the purchase of books: the Al- 
den Speare Fund, $1,000 given by the 
Hon. Alden Speare, especially in- 
tended for works upon manufactures 
and the mechanic arts; a Reference 
Fund of $5,000 for reference books, 
given by John S. Farlow; the Jewett 
Art Fund, $10,000, for art books, pho- 
tographs, etc.; the ChafTin Fund, 
$5,000, given by John C. ChafTin, for 
books of an instructive and elevating 
character; and the Read Fund for 
books of a general nature, given by 
Charles A. Read, which furnishes about 
$600 a year. 



The present management, 1914, is in 
the hands of five trustees appointed 
by the mayor and approved by the 
board of aldermen. Mr. Frank H. 
Howes is the president, Mr. William 
M. Bullivant the treasurer of the fund 
accounts, and the other members are 
Mr. Charles E. Kelsey, Mr. Thomas 
W. Proctor, and Flon. John C. Ken- 
nedy. Meetings are held monthty ex- 
cept during the summer. The trustees 
annually appoint a librarian and assist- 
ants. The librarian serves also as sec- 
retary to the board of trustees. 

The library is open eveiy day except 
Sundays and legal holidays from 8 a. 
m. till 9 p. m. Six of the branches are 
open seven hours a day; two open for 
five hours, and Thompsonville is open 
only two days in the week. The library 
and branches open Sunday from 2 to 
6 p. m. from Nov. 1 to May 1. Three 
of the branches have rooms in the public 
school buildings, the others have rented 
quarters in the different villages. An 
agency is maintained at Eower Falls. 

The library has for many years kept 
in close connection with the schools, fur- 
nishing the teachers with books and 



19 



pictures, lantern slides, etc. for help in 
their work. The library's collection of 
photographs and other pictures runs 
into the thousands, and is in general 
circulation and much used. These pic- 
tures comprise an excellent representa- 
tive selection of the paintings of the 
old masters, a good collection on sculp- 
ture, a beginning on architectural ma- 
terial, a large number of geographical 
and a smaller number of historical sub- 
jects. Recently several thousand lan- 
tern slides have been acquired and are 



being more and more used. A collec- 
tion of sheet music is also much in de- 
mand. 

The library has a very full card cata- 
logue; printed class catalogues are is- 
sued at intervals and bulletins ten times 
a year. An unlimited number of books 
may be drawn by each reader. 

The circulation of books to the homes 
of the readers is now about 285,000 an- 
nually, which means more than seven 
books per capita, a very good compari- 
son with other libraries of the state. 




GATEWAY, NEWTON CEMETERY, 



120 



GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC 



Charles Ward Post 62, Grand Army 
of the Republic, was organized in July 
1868 with General A. B. Underwood, 
William B. Fowle, Thomas P. Havi- 
land, J. dishing Edmands, Allston W. 
Whitney, Fred S. Benson, George S. 
Boyd, Hosea Hyde, Isaac F. Kings- 
bury and Albert Plummer as charter 
members. 

The Post was named for Charles 
Ward, a native of the town, and a mem- 
ber of one of its oldest families, and 
who gave up his life for his country on 
the battlefield at Gettysburg. 

Charles Ward Post has always been 
a leader in the work for which the 
Grand Army, was organized, to assist 
its needy comrades and those dependent 
upon them, to inculcate patriotism and 
loyalty, to honor and respect the flag of 
our country and to teach the young the 
true significance of Memorial Day. 
Since its organization, Charles Ward 
Post has expended sixteen thousand 
dollars in assisting the needy, and its 
relief fund, though still ample for pres- 
ent needs is considerably reduced as the 
veterans become unable to continue 



earning. 



Three fairs or carnivals have been 
held under the auspices of the Post to 
augment this fund and some $4000 has 
been raised in this manner. The Camp 
Fires of the Newton Post are famous 
for their interest, brilliancy, and wit, 
and are greatly enjoyed and largely 
attended by friends from far and near. 

The Post has entertained many no- 
table guests during the existence, in- 
cluding such well known men as Gen- 
eral William T. Sherman, General Nel- 



son A. Miles, General Russell A. Al- 
ger, General Simon Buckner, the noted 
Confederate officer, and General 
'Wheeler, the former Confederate and 
later a Union general during the Span- 
ish War. 

The Post has three auxiliary organ- 
izations, the J. Wiley Edmands Camp 
of Sons of Veterans, the Mrs. A. E. 
Cunningham Tent Daughters of Veter- 
ans and the Associate Members of the 
Post, the last numbering many of the 
prominent and patriotic men of the city. 

The observance of Memorial Day 
under the auspices of the Post, joined 
by the Spanish War Veterans of New- 
ton, the Clafliii Guard, the City Gov- 
ernment, associate members, and citi- 
zens, has ever been a most notable occa- 
sion in Newton. The soldiers' burial 
lot at the Newton cemetery was estab- 
lished and is maintained by the Post, 
and in this lot are buried many veterans 
who otherwise would have been left to 
sleep in nameless graves. 

The headquarters of the Post at the 
Masonic Building, Newtonville, are 
most attractive, consisting of a smok- 
ing-room, relic-room, and Post-room. 
More than 150 pictures and portraits 
adorn the walls, illustrating vividly the 
various battles of the war on land and 
sea. There are also photographs of 
noted generals and others. A collec- 
tion of Avar relics gathered from South- 
ern battlefields occupies the octagonal 
relic-room, leading to the Post-hall, and 
is of great interest. 

The membership of the Post has at 
times reached nearly 200, but is now 
about 100. It probably includes, how- 



I 21 



ever, nearly all the veterans of the war 
residing in Newton, as very few are 
willing longer to remain outside the 
ranks of the order. 

A few years more, however, — very 
few now, — and the Grand Army of the 
Republic will be only a name. No suc- 
cessors will fill the ranks. The Great 
Commander above is giving the order 
"Fall in, fall in," and this one and that 
one hears the voice, obeys the call, and 
the great column moves on until all 
shall be gone. 

Post Commanders 

1868, Wm. B. Fowle. 

1869, J. Cashing Edmands. 
Adin B. Underwood. 

1870, Charles P. Clark. 
Wm. W. Carruth. 

1871, Geo. F. Brackett. 

1872, Geo. F. Brackett. 
F. H. Graves. 

1873-4, Hosea Hyde. 

1875, W. C. Emerson. 
David A. Conant. 

1876, David A. Conant. 

1877, Thomas Pickthall. 

1878, Wm. W. Carruth. 



1879-80, 

1881-2, 

1883-4-5, 

1886, 

1886-7-8, 

1888, 

1899-90, 

1891-2, 

1893, 

1894, 

1895-6, 

1897-8, 

1899-1900, 

1901, 

1902, 

1903, 

1904, 

1905, 

1906, 

1907, 

1908, 

1909, 

1910, 

1911, 

1912, 

1913, 

1913, 

1914, 



Geo. P. Clark. 
Henry W. Downs. 
Wilfred A. Wetherbee. 
Wm. H. Park, Jr. 
A. T. Sylvester. 
Rodney M. Lucas. 
Samuel S. Whitney. 
Chas. W. Sweetland. 
J. Erastus Gott. 
Willard D. Tripp. 
Samuel S. Whitney. 
-Henry D. Degen. 
John Flood. 
George Hill. 
Colon S. Ober. 
George L. Keyes. 
C. C. Patten, 
Wm. T. Shepherd. 
Henry Haynie. 
W. W. Montgomery. 
Richard E. Ashenden. 
James E. Reid. 
Isaac F. Kingsbury. 
Albert Plummer. 
Charles Ogden. 
Joseph O. Perkins. 
Wm. H. Partridge. 
Geo. M. Fiske. 




NEWTONV1LLE SQUARE, 1902. 
122 



THE MASONIC FRATERNITY 



The Ancient Order of Free and 
Accepted Masons is represented in this 
city by two subordinate or "Blue" 
lodges, Dalhousie and Fraternity, by 
the Newton Royal Arch Chapter, by 
Cryptic Council, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters, by Gethsemane Commandery, 
Knights Templar, and by Palestine 
Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star, all 
of whom have a large, enthusiastic and 
constantly increasing membership. 

Free masonry appeals to the think- 
ing mind and attracts to itself men 
from every walk in life. It is an order 
whose creed is the "Fatherhood of God 
and the Brotherhood of Man", and is 
founded on liberalitv, brotherlv love 
and charity. It is not a rival of the 
church but it inculcates a religious mor- 
ality, a belief in a Supreme Being, and 
a reverence for his Holy Name. 

Dalhousie Lodge 

It is fitting that these attributes 
should have been realized more keenly 
during the strenuous period just be- 
fore the Civil War, and that the first 
meeting of Masons in this community 
was held on St. John's Day, June 25, 
1860, a dispensation granted on Au- 
gust 3rd of that year, and an organiza- 
tion effected on the 26th of the follow- 
ing September. The first officers were: 
Wor. Bro. William D. Coolidge, Wor- 
shipful Master, Albert A. Kendall, 
Senior Warden, and S. H. Munson, 
Junior Warden. In January, 1861, 
Wor. Bro. Coolidge, who had been 
elected Grand Master of Masons in 
Massachusetts, was succeeded by Peter 
C. Jones as Worshipful Master. 



The name of Dalhousie was taken in 
honor of the Earl of Dalhousie of Scot- 
land, who, in 1769, had granted letters 
of deputation to General Joseph War- 
ren, as Grand Master of Masons in 
Boston. The Dalhousie arms were 
also adopted by the lodge as a seal. 

The first meetings were held in the 
old Tremont Hall (which stood at the 
southwest corner of Washington and 
Walnut streets, Newtonville, until torn 
down in the abolition of grade crossings 
in this city. ) Succeeding meetings were 
held in the Swedenborgian Chapel, then 
located on Bowers Street, later remov- 
ing to the old church building at the 
corner of Washington Street and Cen- 
tral Avenue, which was the lodge room 
until 1874, when Claflin Block was 
erected and more commodious quarters 
secured in that building. The growth 
of the lodge, however, was so rapid that 
in 1895 the present beautiful Masonic 
Building was erected and Newton 
members of the fraternitv now reioice 
in the possession of one of the best ar- 
ranged and equipped buildings in the 
country. 

Dalhousie lodge, chartered in 1861, 
with a membership of 27, now boasts of 
a membership roll of over 700 members 
and a record of fraternity which is hard 
to equal. 

The following persons have served 
as Masters of the lodge: 

Albert A. Kendall 1860-1861 

George E. Bridges 1862-1863 

Cephas Brigham 1864-1865 

Luther E. Leland 1866-1867 

Marcus T. Heywood 1868-1869 

Horatio B. Hackett 1870-1871 



123 



t 

1 




MASONIC BUILDING 



William R. Wilson 
Stephen W. Trowbridge 
Charles N. Brackett 
James B. Fuller 
Wilfred A. Wetherbee 
Edwin W. Gay 
Henry H. Mather 
Albert L. Harwood, 
John W. Fisher 
Geo. P. Whitmore 
Robert Bennett 
George A. Gleason 
Winfield S. Slocum 
Frank R. Moore 
Wallace C. Boy den 
Clarence E. Hanscom 
John A. Fenno 
Mitchell Wing 
Edward S, Benedict 
Samuel F. Brewer 
Oliver M. Fisher 
Henry L. Fairbrother 
H. Stewart Bosson 
Harry N. Milliken 
Chas.'E. Hatfield 
Carlyle R. Hayes 



1872- 
1874- 
1876- 
1878- 
1880- 
1882- 
1884- 
1886- 
1888- 
1890 
1892 
1894 
1896 



1873 
1875 
1877 
1879 
1881 
1883 
1885 
1887 
1889 
1891 
1893 
1895 
1897 
1898 
1899 
1900 
1901 
1902 
1903 
1904 
1905 
1906 
1907 
1908 
1909 
1910 



Edward C. Wyatt 1911 

Arthur G. Hosmer 1912 

Fred M. Blanchard 1913 

Frederick S. Fairchild 1914 

Allen D. Cady 1915 

Fraternity Lodge 

Fraternity Lodge was instituted 
September 3, 1875, and had a precari- 
ous existence for nearly ten years, when 
its charter was surrendered, and not 
revived until 1911. Since that time it 
has had a rapid and substantial growth 
and has the most pleasant fraternal re- 
lations with the officers and members 
of Dalhousie lodge. 

The following persons have served as 
Masters of Fraternity lodge : 



Horatio B. Hackett 
William W. Keith 
William I. Goodrich 
Edward W. Gate 
Horatio B. Hackett 
William O. Hunt 
Edward E. Savory 
William S. Osborne 



1875-76-77 

1878 

1879-80-81 

1882-83-84 

1911-12 

1913 

1914 

1915 



124 



Newton Royal Arch Chapter 

Newton Chapter of Royal Arch Ma- 
sons was instituted in 1869 with Gen- 
eral Adin B. Underwood as its first 
High Priest, and has also had a splen- 
did record for consistent fraternal 
work in the higher branches of Ma- 
sonry. 

The following persons have served 
as High Priests of this Chapter: 
Adin B. Underwood 
Cephas Brigham 
George E. Bridges 
John M. Griswold 
James A. Greenwood 
James B. Fuller 
John S. Hayes 
William R. Wilson 
William H. Young 
David W. Farquhar 
Henry O. Martin 
Lewis E. Binney 
George G. Davidson 
William O. Hunt 



1869-1871 
1871-1872 
1872-1873 
1873-1874 
1874-1875 
1875-1876 
1876-1878 
1878-1880 
1880-1882 
1882-1883 
1883-1884 
1884-1886 
1886-1888 
1888-1890 



Henrv A. Thorndike 
Elliott J. Hyde 
Charles F. Mason 
Albert L. Harwood 
John Glover 
Charles F. Mason 
Edward P. Hatch 
Charles D. Burrage 
J. Franklin Rider 
Frank Farwell Morris 
Austin H. Decatur 
Albert M. Miller 
Wm. Lee Church 
Chas. E. Hatfield 
Horace A. Carter 
C. Arthur Boutelle 
Richard W. Vose 
William H. Bliss 
George A. Miller 
William H. Colgan 



1890- 
1892- 
1894- 
1896 
1898- 
1899- 
1900 
1901 
1903 
1904 
1905 
1906 
1907 
1908 
1909 
1910 
1911 
1912 
1913 
1914 



1892 
1894 
1896 
1898 
1899 
1900 
1901 
1903 
1904 
1905 
1906 
1907 
•1908 
-1909 
1910 
1911 
1912 
■1913 
-1914 
1915 



Gethsemane Commandery, K. T. 

Gethsemane Commandery, Knights 
Templar, has carried the name and 
fame of this city all over the length and 




NEWTON CORNER IX THE EARM SEVENTIES. IIAI.I. AND CENTRE STREETS. 



125 



breadth of the country. Instituted in 
1872, it now has a membership of over 
600 and the work of its escort at the 
Triennial meetings of the Knights 
Templar of the nation, has attracted 
the most favorable attention of the fra- 
ternity. One of its Eminent Com- 
manders has served as the Grand Com- 
mander of the Grand Commandery of 
Massachusetts and Rhode Island, and 
it numbers in its membership many of 
the prominent residents of the city. 

The following gentlemen have served 
as Eminent Commanders of Gethsem- 

ane Commandery: 
James M. Greenwood 
Robert L. Davis 
William W. Keith 
Henry C. Hayden 
Moses Clark, Jr. 
James B. Fuller 
Henry J. Preston 
Albert L. Harwood 
Lewis E. Binney 
George T. Coppins 
Rufus G. Brown 
George Breeden 
Frank K. Porter 
Clarence Tebbets 
Samuel Shaw 
Frank L. Nagle 
Edmund G. Pond 
William F. Jarvis 
J. Franklin Rider 
W. E. Peterson 
Asa C. Jewett 
W. L. Church 
Charles J. Shepard 
Austin H. Decatur 

Cryptic Council 

Cryptic Council Royal and Select 
Masters was granted a dispensation on 



December 22, 1873, and the first meet- 
ing was held for organization on Janu- 
ary 15, 1874, Henry O. Martin being 
the first Illustrious Master. 

Meetings were held until July 1, 
1886, when the Council voted to sur- 
render its charter, and it was not re- 
vived until January 13, 1913, since 
which time there has been a steady and 
gratifying growth and a present mem- 
bership of about 120. 

The following persons have served as 
the Thrice Illustrious Master of this 
Council : 

Henry O. Martin 1874-1875 

Henry C. Havden 1876-1877 

Robert L. Davis 1878-1879 

Charles R. Brown 1880-1881 

James B. Parker 1882 

James B. Fuller 1882-1883 

Moses Clark, Jr. 1884-1885 

James B. Fuller 1886 

James B. Fuller 1913 

John W. Fisher 1914 

Charles E. Fogg 1915 

Palestine Chapter 

Palestine Chapter, Order of the 
Pj astern Star, an organization composed 
of ladies whose male relatives are mem- 
bers of the Masonic fraternity, was or- 
ganized in 1908 and has a flourishing 
list of members. 

The Chapter has been served by the 
following Worthy Matrons: 

Mrs. Ettie L. Lowell 1908 

Mrs. Laura M. Wingate 1909 

Mrs. Etta Whitnev 1910 

Miss Myrta Kimball 1911 

Mrs. Dorothy Sprague 1912 

Miss Annie M. Gorse 1913 

Mrs. Marion I. Fogg 1914 
Miss Margaret L. Sandholzer 1915 



126 



THE I. O. O. F. 



Odd Fellowship, founded to carry 
out in the daily intercourse of its mem- 
bers the fundamental principles of the 
order, — friendship, love, and truth, — 
which induces the rich to help the poor, 
the well to nurse the sick, the learned to 
instruct the unlearned, and make all 
men seek to imitate the goodness of the 
Father of all men, and in so doing rec- 
ognize the Fatherhood of God and the 
Brotherhood of Man, is represented in 
this city by three lodges, Waban Lodge 
No. 156 at Newtonville, Home Lodge 
No. 162 at Newton Highlands, and 
Newton Lodge No. 92 at West New- 
ton, by one encampment, the Garden 
City Encampment No. 62 at Newton 
Highlands and by three Rebekah 
lodges, Highland Rebekah Lodge No. 
82 at Newton Highlands, Tennyson 
Rebekah Lodge No. 119 at West New- 
ton, and Sumner P. Lawrence Rebekah 
Lodge at Newtonville. 

The first lodge instituted in Newton 
was Elliot Lodge No. 58, which was 
formed at Newton Upper Falls on Jan- 
uary 30, 1845, and continued its exis- 
tence until May 30, 1851, when the 
charter was surrendered. When rein- 
stated, February 25, 1870, it was moved 
to its present location in Needham. 

About the time Elliot Lodge sur- 
rendered its charter, owing to the 
strong prejudice in the public mind 
against all secret societies, many lodges 
surrendered their charters, some of 
them being reinstated later. For fif- 
teen years no new charters were 
granted, but from 1866 the growth of 
the order has been rapid and perma- 
nent. 



The next lodge organized in Newton 
was Waban Lodge No. 156, which was 
instituted in the village of Newton, 
April 19, 1871, and later, removed to 
Newtonville, December 1, 1901. Home 
Lodge No. 162, was instituted at New- 
ton Upper Falls, April 3, 1873, and re- 
moved to Newton Highlands in Octo- 
ber, 1887. Newton Lodge No. 92, was 
instituted at West Newton, June 15, 
1887. 

A brief account of the most trying 
time Odd Fellowship has ever experi- 
enced will be of interest. When the 
Grand lodge met in Baltimore in 1861, 
war had been declared. Sumter had 
been fired on, the battle of Bull Run had 
been fought and brothers of the South 
had taken up arms against brothers of 
the North. When the roll was called, 
the seats of all the representatives 
from south of Mason and Dixon's line 
were vacant, and though previous to 
the session an attempt had been made 
to form a Grand Lodge of the Confed- 
erate states, it had been frustrated. The 
sessions of 1862 and 1863, held in Bal- 
timore, were repetitions of the session 
of 1861. War was still raging, and the 
representatives of the South were still 
absent. The session of 1864 was held in 
the city of Boston. It was felt that the 
war was drawing to an end. The South 
was growing weaker and less able to 
carry on the struggle. In 1865 the ses- 
sion was held in Baltimore, every state 
being represented except Florida and 
North Carolina. The brothers of the 
North showed their brotherly feeling 
toward the brothers of the South, many 
of whom had lost all that they possessed, 



127 



by remitting the tax of all the Southern 
jurisdictions to the Grand Lodge for 
the years 1861-1864. 

After the organization of the subor- 
dinate lodge, in response to a demand 
for a higher branch of the order, the 
encampment branch was organized. 
The first encampment in Newton was 
Newton Encampment No. 50, insti- 
tuted in the village of Newton, March 
29, 1875; in 1882 the members voted to 
surrender their charter, but it was sub- 
sequently moved to Waltham and the 
name changed to Waltham Encamp- 
ment. Garden City Encampment No. 
62, was instituted in Newton, May 16, 
1887, and being obliged in 1890 to pro- 
cure another hall, moved to Newton 
Highlands January 1, 1891. They 
were burned out February 5, 1903, and 
then moved to Newtonville, but in 1895 
returned to Newton Highlands. 

Early recognizing woman's worth in 
carrying out the principles of the order, 
and her endowment by nature with the 
tenderness and sympathy which espe- 
cially qualified her for nursing the sick, 



members of the order desired to estab- 
lish a degree for the wives of Odd Fel- 
lows, so that they might be cared for in 
sickness, as their husbands were. At 
first this met with great opposition, and 
it was not until 1851 that a degree for 
women was established, called the de- 
gree of Rebekah. It was an honorary 
degree, and in 1868 its members were 
allowed to establish lodges of their own. 
There are three Rebekah lodges in New- 
ton, — Highland Rebekah Lodge, No. 
82, instituted at Newton Highlands 
October 15, 1889, Tennyson Rebekah 
Lodge, No. 119, instituted at West 
Newton November 11, 1892 and Sum- 
ner P. Lawrence Rebekah Lodge in- 
stituted at Newtonville April 14, 1910. 
The Odd Fellows of Newton are do- 
ing a noble work, walking hand in hand 
with the Christian Church in visiting 
the sick, relieving the distressed, bury- 
ing the dead, and educating the orphan ; 
and either of the lodges in Newton will 
welcome to its membership any man of 
good health and good character, who de- 
sires to help his brother man. 




ELIOT BLOCK, NEWTON. 



128 




STONE INSTITUTE AND NEWTON HOME FOR AGED PEOPLE. 



STONE INSTITUTE AND NEWTON HOME FOR AGED PEOPLE 



One of the most interesting philan- 
thropies of the city is the Stone Insti- 
tute and Newton Home for Aged Peo- 
ple, located on extensive and attractive 
grounds on Elliot Street, Newton Up- 
per Falls. 

The Home was made possible 
through the will of the late Joseph L. 
Stone, who provided a fund for the pur- 
pose of establishing and maintaining a 
home for the support of aged and re- 
spectable men and women in indigent 
circumstances. The trustees of the 
fund were incorporated in 1894 and in 
1911 transferred the property to the 
Newton Home for Aged People, which 
had previously incorporated in 1898. 

The Home has filled a long felt want 
in the city from the start, and it was 
soon realized that better and larger 
quarters were needed. Under the lead- 
ership of a competent board of officers, 
funds were raised and plans drawn for 
a larger and better building, and a por- 



tion of that building has already been 
constructed at a cost of $42,000. At 
present the Home can care for 24 in- 
mates, but when the building is remod- 
elled there will be accommodations for 
at least 60 persons, and from the long 
waiting list of pathetic cases, there 
should be no delay in its construction. 
The officers and directors are Charles 
E. Riley, president; Joseph Byers, vice 
president; Albert P. Carter, secretary; 
Henry Baily, clerk; and Lewis H. Ba- 
con, James E. Clark, Mrs. Henry 
E. Cobb, Mrs. Morton E. Cobb, 
Calvert Crary, Hon. George H. 
Ellis, Frank Fanning, Mrs. John A. 
Gould, Oliver M. Fisher, Frank J. 
Hale, Mrs. George Hutchinson, Mrs. 
Ellen P. Kimball, Hon. Marcus Mor- 
ton, Francis Murdock, William Price, 
Miss Abby Spear, Edgar W. Warren, 
Henry C. Wiley and Edwin I. Wood- 
bury. Mrs. Anna E. Hale is the ma- 
tron. 



129 



LASELL SEMINARY FOR YOUNG WOMEN 



One of the noteworthy educational 
institutions of "Beautiful Newton" is 
Lasell Seminary (a private school for 
girls) founded by Professor Edward 
Lasell of Williams College, in 1851. "It 
is located in the village of Auburndale, 
West Newton, Mass., on the line of the 
Worcester Railroad, ten miles from 
Boston and within eight hours' ride of 
New York and Albany." Thus reads 
the first catalog of this well known 
school in 1852-53. The changes that the 
years have brought to our city are evi- 
dent when this paragraph is compared 
with the corresponding one in the latest 
catalog of 1915. "It is situated on the 
crest of a hill in the village of Auburn- 
dale, a part of the city of Newton, is 
ten miles from Boston on the Boston 
and Albany Railroad; express trains 
from New York (now five hours away) 
stop at Newtonville." 

Through all these years the school 
has been steadily at work. Its princi- 
pals during the first two decades were 
Dr. George W. Briggs, Dr. Josiah La- 
sell, and Rev. Charles W. dishing. 
The standards were high from the be- 
ginning, and the principals men of ster- 
ling worth. For thirty-four years Dr. 
Charles Cushman Bragdon of Evans- 
ton, 111. was principal. He proved him- 
self the man for the place, freeing the 
institution from debt, and adding to its 
numbers and reputation. When he 
turned it over to other hands in 1908, 
he had increased its registration three- 
fold or more, added a new wing and new 
buildings to the equipment, and intro- 
duced methods of education for young 



women that have since been adopted the 
country over. 

Lasell has always given the training 
for the home the first place in its plans 
for the education of a young woman. 
Its ambition has been to make a home 
school, homelike in its furnishings, 
homelike in its atmosphere, and as far 
as possible homelike in its discipline. 
Lasell believes in the ability of young 
womanhood, if properly directed and 
trained, to make ideal homes and to aid 
in the betterment of civic life. It is a 
firm believer in the education which 
combines the higher academic courses 
with those of scientific housekeeping, 
home-making, sanitation, sewing and 
dressmaking. These were introduced 
in 1878, and bitter indeed were the crit- 
icisms made of a school introducing 
these studies "not fit for a school to 
teach" and thus lowering the education- 
al standards. Among the instructors of 
these early days appear the names of the 
well-known home economics experts, 
Miss Parloa, Mrs. Daniell, Mrs. Lin- 
coln, Miss Barrows, and Miss Talbot. 

In 1908 Dr. G. M. Winslow, who had 
for ten years been at the head of the De- 
partment of Science, became principal. 
He has been in sympathy with Dr. 
Bragdon's methods in the essential 
points, but has, through improved 
equipment and increased attendance, 
extended and widened the influence of 
the school. Lasell has now in addition 
to the main building, (called Cushman 
Hall), Carter Hall, Clark Cottage, 
Caroline Carpenter Hall, Hawthorne 
House, Bancroft House and Gardner 



130 



Hall, the last four having been added 
under the new regime. The present 
registration is about two hundred stu- 
dents from many states in the Union, as 
well as from England, Mexico, and 
China. The present senior class of 
fifty-three is the largest in its history. 
The faculty, including the officers of ad- 
ministration, numbers forty-three. 

The school curriculum includes col- 
lege preparatory, home economics, 
music, and business courses which may 
when desired be made an integral part 
of the regular course leading to the La- 
sell diploma. Separate certificates are 
given in these courses. 

The campus, covering twenty acres, 



provides not only a fine setting for the 
buildings, but ample space for tennis 
courts and hockey games. Athletics are 
encouraged. A fine gymnasium makes 
possible proper exercise and indoor 
sports. The school has its own riding 
horses and a resident instructor in horse- 
manship. Under the gymnasium is the 
swimming pool. Ten minutes walk 
from the seminary the Charles River 
runs its winding course, offering de- 
lightful recreation in canoeing and skat- 
ing. 

It is specially adapted to the high 
school graduate who does not care for a 
college course, but desires two or three 
years of advance study in special lines. 




LASELL SEMINARY FOR YOUNG WOMEN 



131 



CLUBS IN NEWTON 



With a city composed of a number of 
distinct villages, it is only natural that 
the social life of the community should 
find expression in the formation of num- 



erous clubs, each social unit having one 
or more, and some having commodious 
club houses. 



THE NEWTON CLUB 



Frank A. Day, 
and Charles F. 



The present Newton Club was incor- 
porated in 1909 by James L. Richards, 
Stephen W. Holmes, Henry C. French, 
Edward P. Hatch, George B. H. Ma- 
comber, Lewis R. Speare, Oscar W. 
Walker, Albert P. Carter, Charles S. 
Dennison, William J. Follett, George 
P. Bullard. James Richard Carter, 
Charles E. Hatfield, 
Edwin T. Fearing 
Avery. 

On January first, 1916 the roster 
comprised 216 names, of which 25 were 
honorary members comprising the min- 
isters of the city and a number of army 
and navy officers resident in Newton. 
All memberships include the ladies of 
every member's family, admission to the 
club house on neighborhood nights and 
on open holidays being included, and 
also on occasions of lectures, concerts, 
dancing assemblies and special enter- 
tainments. The club house is open after 
8 A. M. daily. 



The officers of the club for the year 
1915-1916 are as follows: 

President — Charles E. Riley. 

Vice Presidents — Samuel L. Powers. 

John A. Fenno. 

Frank L. Nagle 

James L. Richards 

William J. Follett 

Jarvis Lamson 
Secretary — Horton S. Allen. 
Treasurer — William T. Halliday 

Executive Committee — 

William C. Bamburgh 
Edgar S. Barker 
C. Arthur Boutelle 
Albert P. Carter 
Harold O. Hunt 
Albert M. Lyon 
George F. Malcolm 
Fred E.Mann 
Henry J. Nichols 
Carl F. S chipper 
H. Belden Sly 



132 



When the Newton Club was first or- 
ganized in 1887, it remodeled the old 
residence on the northern corner of 
Walnut and Austin streets, Newton- 
ville, on the site now occupied by the 
brick block of stores. The present 
house of the club was erected in 1892, 
and is considered an excellent form of 
colonial architecture, striking in its mas- 
siveness and harmonious in its setting 
among the residences surrounding its 
position on the corner of Walnut street 
and Highland avenue, Newtonville. 



being represented in record pinfalls. On 
Thursday evenings and general holi- 
days the alleys are open to the ladies of 
members' families. 

On the main floor are the ladies' par- 
lors and dressing room with an adjoin- 
ing toilet; the great hall; the reading 
room, where a large variety of maga- 
zines and newspapers are regularly re- 
ceived and a small library is kept; the 
billiard and pool room, with five tables ; 
and the clerk's office. 

A private staircase to the second 




THE* NEWTON CLUB 



The building is of three stories and 
basement, the latter containing the 
bowling alleys, separated into two sets, 
one set of four alleys with a gallery for 
spectators, and another set of two alleys 
in an adjoining room. These alleys are 
maintained in first class condition and 
are of the regulation pattern, brilliantly 
lighted and well ventilated. Recent 
tournaments have brought into activity 
as many as eighteen teams of men and 
twelve teams of ladies, many members 



floor leads from the ladies' parlor, and 
a sumptuous staircase for general use 
from the great hall to the second floor 
lounge. On the second floor there is an- 
other tastefully decorated ladies' parlor; 
two large card rooms; a general loung- 
ing hall; two beautiful private dining 
rooms, colonial in architecture; and a 
large oak dining room, adjoining which 
is a grill room in old Flemish style. The 
kitchens and steward's quarters are on 
this floor. By way of the ladies' parlor, 



*33 



the road from the first floor leads to the 
staircase rising to the ball room on the 
third story, the floor being of a size that 
will hold nearly 100 dancing couples. 
When used for entertainments, the 
stage is extended in size, the seating ca- 
pacity being about 200. When the small 
stage is used, about 300 persons can be 
seated. 

Every Thursday evening the entire 
house is opened to members, their ladies 
and guests, the occasion being well 
known as Neighborhood night. Bowl- 
ing, cards, billiards and pool are en- 
joyed by all, and informal dancing in 
the ball room attracts many to that part 
of the house. Once each month, from 
October to May, there is a formal as- 
sembly with dance music by a sympho- 
ny orchestra ; the February assembly be- 
ing a masquerade dance. Saturday 
nights are Men's Club Nights for mem- 
bers and their male guests, a stag lunch- 
eon being served at 10 P. M., and a 
smoke talk being given once a month. 
Once each month, also, there is after- 



noon bridge for ladies only, and there is 
an occasional evening bridge as well. 
Tasteful souvenirs are provided on such 
occasions. 

A squash court building has been 
erected recently, the cost of it being con- 
tributed by general subscriptions among 
the members. It consists of two fully 
equipped regulation courts with lockers 
and dressing room and a visitor's gal- 
lery. Many new members have been ad- 
mitted as a result of this new addition 
to the activities of the club, it being an 
important factor in making the roster 
the largest in the club's history. 

There is a fine tennis court on High- 
land avenue and many members keep 
the court busy during the summer days. 

The present good financial condition 
of the club is a criterion of the excellent 
supervision of the officers and commit- 
tees, and the widespread good spirit 
among the many families which are ac- 
tive in the pleasures and sports of the 
club. 



NEWTON BOAT CLUB 



The Newton Boat Club is one of the 
oldest social organizations in the city, 
for the attractiveness of the Charles 
river was early recognized and an or- 
ganization of those who enjoyed boat- 
ing was soon affected. The club was 
first organized in the late seventies, and 
its first club house was on the western 
side of the river. In 1878 land was 
leased opposite Norumbega tower and 



a modest club house erected. In 1886 
the present location at Riverside was 
secured and a new house erected. The 
club was incorporated in 1897. 

The June concerts at this club house 
have long been one of the pleasant fea- 
tures of the summer season and in win- 
ter the club entertains its members and 
friends with dancing and bowling. 



134 



HUNNEWELL CLUB 



The Hunnewell Club, with its pres- 
ent commodious and convenient club- 
house at the junction of Eldredge and 
Church streets, in Newton, was the out- 
growth of a neighborhood club organ- 
ized in 1895 as the Hunnewell Hill 
Club, and with membership limited to 



urer, and Hon. Hermon E. Hibbard, 
Dr. Albert B. Jewell, and Messrs. Sam- 
uel Farquhar, Charles W. Hall, Fran- 
cis H. Nichols, Henry W. Kendal and 
Walter B. Trowbridge. 

In 1898, Messrs. F. E. and F. O. 
Stanley erected the present club house 




HUNNEWELL CLUB, NEWTON. 



residents of that locality. Its first club- 
house was the Bartlett mansion, now 
located on Breamore road, and its car- 
dinal principle of temperance attracted 
a constantly increasing membership. In 
1897 the club was incorporated under 
the name of "The Hunnewell Club of 
Newton." The first permanent board 
of officers included Mr. Edward W. 
Pope, president; Mr. George Agry Jr., 
vice-president; Mr. J. Edward Hills, 
secretary; Mr. John D. Barrows, treas- 



and in which the Club held its first 
formal reception on April 14 of that 
year. The great success of the Club 
has been largely due to the generosity 
and foresight of Messrs. Stanley in pro- 
viding such admirable quarters for the 
many social functions held under the 
auspices of the Club during the past 
few years. 

The Hunnewell Club is now one of 
the recognized social centres of the city 
and its membership includes many of 
the most prominent men in the city. 



i35 



BRAE BURN COUNTRY CLUB 



The Club was organized as a Golf 
Club in 1897 with about one hundred 
members, but the demand for a Coun- 
try Club, with all the features pertain- 
ing to the modern Country Club became 
so insistent that the membership grad- 
ually increased and a large club house 
was erected and the title of the club 
changed to the Brae Burn Country 
Club in 1905. 

The membership was increased to 
650 single and family memberships, in 
addition to which are many non-resident 
members and a few honorary members. 

The golf course of the club is consid- 
ered one of the best in the country and 
has been played on by all the notable 
players of this and other countries. In 
fact the club may be said to have an in- 
ternational reputation. Many of the 
National Tournaments and State 
Tournaments have been played on its 
grounds. 



The club maintains a large number 
of Tennis Courts which are in constant 
use during the tennis season and many 
state tournaments have been held on 
these courts. 

The club house has been many times 
enlarged since the incorporation to 
meet the demand for bedrooms and res- 
taurant service, and an important addi- 
tion will soon be under way which will 
give the club a room 40x30 which will 
be practically a screened piazza in the 
summer and a sun-parlor in the winter. 
This room will have a fine dancing floor. 

The winter carnivals on the pond are 
famous and occur every week during 
the winter months when there is ice. 
The illumination of the pond is a fea- 
ture to which the club gives special at- 
tention and the occasions are always 
greatly enjoyed and make a scene of 
great beauty. Skating instructors are 
provided for the convenience of mem- 
bers. 




A 



mi fc . _. I Hit 



BRAE BURN COUNTRY CLUB 
136 



THE NEIGHBORHOOD CLUB 



This club was organized in Decem- 
ber, 1890 by the residents of West 
Newton hill and has a membership of 
about one hundred. Its club house is 
on Berkeley street and furnishes a so- 
cial centre for its members. The club 
has always made a specialty of tennis 
and its tournaments in the early nineties 
attracted many tennis enthusiasts from 
all over the country. It was on the 
courts of this club that Dr. Pirn and 



H. S. Mahoney, the first Englishmen 
to come over for tennis were enter- 
tained. The club has several good bowl- 
ers in its membership and its alleys are 
in constant use. 

The chief object of the club however 
is to promote an intimate acquaintance 
and neighborly spirit among its mem- 
bers. Its ideals are simplicity and gen- 
uineness in social intercourse and its 
membership is highly prized. 



THE PLAYERS, INC. 



This organization is one of the best 
amateur dramatic clubs of the country 
and its name and fame are known be- 
yond the limits of the city. It was or- 
ganized on March 16, 1887 and its first 
performance of "Our Boys" was given 
that spring. The club has an active and 
an associate membership, the former 
including the actors and managers, and 
the latter persons who subscribe to the 
expense of the various productions. 



The club gives a series of entertain- 
ments each winter, usually selecting 
well known plays, and has always pro- 
duced them in a most artistic manner. 
Through the generosity of two of its 
members, Hon. Charles E. Hatfield 
and Mr. Harry L. Burrage, the club 
now has comfortable quarters in the 
old Unitarian Church building in West 
Newton. 



THE NORTH GATE CLUB 



This club is located on the north side 
of West Newton and has a commodious 
clubhouse on Waltham street, which 
was the result of the generosity of Mr. 
Henry B. Day and the late Capt. S. E. 
Howard. The club was organized in 



1901 and has a membership of about 
one hundred members. 

The club has taken a great interest in 
athletics and its bowling team won the 
city championship for several seasons. 



Other clubs which maintain club 
houses in this city are the Chestnut Hill 
Club on Middlesex Road, Chestnut 
Hill: the Newton Catholic Club on 
Washington street, West Newton; the 
Newton Centre Squash Tennis Club, 
on Chestnut terrace and Commonwealth 



avenue, Newton Centre; Woodland 
Golf Club, on Washington street, 
Woodland ; Commonwealth Country 
Club on Algonquin road, Chestnut 
Hill: Newton Golf Club on Centre 
street, Newton and the Albemarle Golf 
Club on Crafts street, Newtonville. 



i37 



I i 



The home of many successful 
business men of Boston whose wealth 
has been lavished on beautiful estates 
and artistic residences, set in an envi- 
ronment of fine streets, shaded with 
handsome trees." 

' biographical sketches of prom- 
inent citizens who have done so 
much for the benefit of the commu- 
nity. 1 ' 

— From "A Foreword" Page Two. 



Notable Men 

and 

Attractive Homes 




HON. JOHN WINGATE WEEKS 

Junior United States Senator from Massachusetts was born at Lancaster, N. H., April 
11, 1860. He was educated in the public schools of his native state and at the United 
States Naval Academy at Annapolis, Md., graduating in 1871. He was assigned to the 
ships Powhattan and Richmond, but resigned from the navy in 1883 to become Assistant 
Land Commissioner in the Florida Southern Railway. In 1888 he became a member of the 
firm of Hornblower & Weeks, bankers and brokers, of Boston. During his active career in 
business, Senator Weeks was president of the Massachusetts National Bank of Boston, 
president of the Newtonville Trust Co., vice president of the First National Bank of Bos- 
ton, and a director in numerous other enterprises, from all of which he retired on his elec- 
tion as United States Senator in 1913. Upon the organization of the Massachusetts Naval 
Brigade, Mr. Weeks was elected commander, later succeeding to the command of the first 
battalion and subsequently commanding the brigade for six years. During the Spanish war 
he commanded the second division of the auxiliary navy and also served as a member of 
the military advisory board appointed by Governor Wolcott. 

Mr. Weeks was elected a member of the Newton Board of Aldermen for 1899, 1900 
and 1901 and served as the fourteenth mayor of the city in 1902-1903. In the fall of 
1903 he was elected a member of the National House of Representatives where he served 
until his election as Senator. During his service in Congress he was House Chairman of 
the Committee on Post Office and Post roads, and a member of the National Monetary 
Commission. 

He is a member of the Boston Art Club, University Club of Boston, Brae Burn Coun- 
try Club, Chevey Chase Club, Chevey Chase, Md., Metropolitan, and the Army & Navy 
Clubs of Washington, D. C. 

Senator Weeks is married and has a son and a daughter. He resides on Valentine 
Street, West Newton. 



141 




HON. EDWIN OTIS CHILDS, JR. 



The nineteenth mayor of Newton has been a life long resident, having been born here 
August 10, 1876, the son of the late Edwin Otis Childs. He was educated in the Newton 
schools, graduating from the high school in 1895, from Harvard College in 1899 and from 
the Boston University Law School in 1901. 

Mr. Childs has been a director of the Newton Young Men's Christian Association 
since 1899, and has taken a deep interest in its work. He founded the Nonantum Boys 
Club, now the Nonantum Athletic Association, and has given many years of work in be- 
half of the youth of this city. He is a member of Eliot Church, and active in its work. 

Mr. Childs served as a member of the Board of Health of Newton from 1908 to 1914, 
when he was elected mayor. He is also a member of the Harvard Club of Boston, and the 
Middlesex Club. He married Miss Mildred E. Roy of Watertown, Mass., January 11, 
1908. 



142 




HON. GEORGE H. ELLIS 

Hon. George H. Ellis was born at Medfield, Mass., October 3, 1848. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of that town. In 1865 he entered the office of "The Christian 
Register", becoming publisher of that paper in 1867. In 1873 he started a small job 
printing plant, a foundation upon which was built the establishment of the Geo. H. Ellis 
Co., one of the largest printing houses in Boston, of which he is the treasurer. 

Mr. Ellis has made his home in Newton for many years, where his residence on Com- 
monwealth Avenue, West Newton, known as Wauwinet Farm, is with his outlying farms, 
the largest dairy farm in New England. 

Mr. Ellis served the City of Newton as an alderman in 1903-04-05-06 as a representa- 
tive to the General Court in 1910-11-12-13-14, and as state senator from the Newton (First 
Middlesex) District in 1915 and 1916. While a member of the legislature he held many 
important committee appointments, and was chairman of the special committee which 
settled the Lawrence strike. Mr. Ellis is a trustee of the Massachusetts Agricultural Col- 
lege, a trustee of Simmons College, a director of the Newton Home for Aged People, a trus- 
tee of the Home Savings Bank and a trustee of the Permanent Fund, Boston Young Men's 
Christian Union. I 

He is a member of the Boston City Club, the Boston Unitarian Club, the Unitarian 
Club of Newton, the Brae Burn Country Club, the Neighborhood Club, North Gate, 
Massachusetts Reform, Massachusetts Clubs, and the Republican Club of Massachusetts. 

Mr. Ellis has been twice married, first to Miss Sarah Dale in Boston, October 3, 
1869, who is survived by two children, Herbert D. Ellis and Martha E. (Mrs. George F. 
Parmenter of Waterville, Me.), and second to Miss Elizabeth Shaw at Newton on Dec. 
25, 1886. 



M3 




HON. CHARLES EDWIN HATFIELD 

Eighteenth mayor of Newton, was born at Medford, Mass., Sept. 30, 1864, the son 
of Charles and Ann L. Hatfield. He was educated in the public schools and at Dean 
Academy. 

Mr. Hatfield has had a long and distinguished political career, beginning with ser- 
vice in the Newton Common Council in 1894-95 as mayor of Newton for four years, 
1910-11-12-13, for many years a member and chairman of the Republican City Committee 
of Newton and for four years, 1910-11-12-13 as chairman of the Republican State Com- 
mittee. Mr. Hatfield is also a Past ( Master of Dalhousie lodge of Masons, a Past High 
Priest of Newton Royal Arch Chapter, and a member of Gethsemane Commandery, K. T., 
Newton lodge, I. O. O. F., the Knights of Pythias, Knights of Honor. 

He is also president of the North Gate Club, president of the Allen School Alumni 
Association, treasurer of the Newton Boat Club, and treasurer of The Players, Inc. 

Mr. Hatfield is a director in many business concerns and is president of the First Na- 
tional Bank of West Newton. 

He married Miss Martha Pelton of. Chicago, and they have one daughter, Margaret, 
the wife of Mr. Stuart Chase of Allston. 

Mr. Hatfield resides on Cherry Street, West Newton. 



144 




HON. SAMUEL LELAND POWERS 



A prominent member of the Boston bar, and an influential factor in the business and 
political activities of the state, was born in Cornish, N. H., October 26, 1848. He was edu- 
cated at Kimball Union Academy and Phillips Exeter Academy, and graduated from Dart- 
mouth College in 1874. He studied law in the Law School of the University of New York 
and was admitted to the bar of Worcester County in 1875. He began the practise of law 
in Boston in 1876, and became a resident of Newton in 1881. He was a member of the Com- 
mon Council of Newton in 1883-1884-1885 and of the board of aldermen in 1885 and also 
served for three years as a member of the school committee. In 1900 he was elected to the 
57th Congress from this district and was re-elected in the fall of 1902 to the 58th Con- 
gress, in which he was an influential member. At the close of his second term he retired 
from active political life to resume his law practise. 

Mr. Powers is a member and one of the founders of the Newton Club ; he is president 
of the Boston Art Club, and is a member of the Boston University Club, Exchange Club, 
the Atlantic Conference, and many other social organizations, lie is also president of the 
Middlesex Club. He married Eva C. Powers in 1878, and they have one son, I, eland Pow- 
ers, who is a member of the law firm of Powers & Hall. 



MS 




HON. SEWARD W. JONES 

President of the Newton Trust Co. and treasurer of Jones Bros. Co., granite producers, 
with quarries at Barre, Vermont, was born at Ebensburg, Penn., February 9, 1857, and edu- 
cated in the common and soldiers orphan schools of his native state. 

Mr. Jones has been prominent in state and city affairs, serving as a member of the 
Newton Board of Health for thirteen years from 1893, for four years as a member of the 
State Board of Insanity, as a member of the Governor's Council in 1907-08-09, and as a 
trustee of the Danvers State Hospital from 1910 to date. 

Mr. Jones has also been active in business circles, having been a trustee and president 
of the Newton Centre Savings Bank, and a director for twenty (20) years of the Newton 
Trust Company. 

He is a member of the Newton Club, Brae Burn Club, Massachusetts Republican 
Club, Massachusetts Club, Norfolk and Middlesex Clubs, and Vice President of the Traffic 
Club of New England. 

Mr. Jones is married and has a family of two daughters. He resides on Columbus 
Street, Newton Highlands. , ■ >., 



146 




HON. G. FREDERIC SIMPSON 

Director of the Simpson Bros. Corporation of Boston, was born at Sullivan, Maine, 
the son of Captain Amos B. and Amelia (McKay) Simpson. He was educated in the 
common schools, enlisted at an early age in the 26th Maine Regiment, and saw considerable 
service in the Civil War at the seige of Port Hudson and other battles. While his health 
failed he remained with his regiment until honorably discharged at Bangor, Maine, in 1863. 
After the war he engaged in the granite business, then went to sea for a time. In 1869 he 
organized the firm of Simpson Bros, and engaged with his brother, James, in the business of 
bituminous and concrete paving. In 1885 the firm of Simpson Bros. Co. of Chicago was 
formed with three members, J. B. Simpson in charge. In 1896 Mr. James Simpson died 
and the next year the Chicago business was sold and the Simpson Bros. Corporation of 
Boston formed with Mr. Simpson as President, and J. B. Simpson as Vice President. Since 
then Mr. Simpson has devoted all his time to the Boston firm. 

Mr. Simpson is a director in tbe Newton Trust Co., director Newton Co-operative 
Bank, Trustee in Boston Suburban Electric Co., Vice President and Trustee of the New- 
ton Savings Bank, and a member of the Brae Burn, Hunnewell, Katahdin Clubs of New- 
ton, Exchange Club of Boston, Charles Ward Post G. A. R. 

Mr. Simpson served as a member of the Governor's Council in 1913, but has held no 
other public office. 

He is married and resides on Franklin Street, Newton, Mass. 



M7 




CHARLES EDWARD RILEY 



Was born at Burnley, England, March 4, 1852, and educated at St. James School and 
Mechanics Institute. He is President of the C. E. Riley Company and the H & B Ameri- 
can Machine Company, and engaged in the business of Cotton Machinery and Manufac- 



turing. 



He is President of the Newton Club, a member of the Hunnewell, Algonquin, Eastern 
Yacht, Exchange, Brae Burn Country, Commonwealth, Newton Golf, Republican and 
Boston City Clubs, the National and American Cotton Manufacturers Associations, Wam- 
sutta and Quequechan Clubs, President of the Stone Institute and Newton Home for Aged 
People, Trustee of the Newton Y. M. C. A. and Newton Hospital, Warden of Grace Church 
and a Director in many New England and Southern Cotton Mills and a member of many 
charitable and philanthropic societies. Mr. Riley served as an Alderman-at-Large from 
Ward 1 for two years, 1904-1905. 

He married Miss Agnes A. Winslow of Philadelphia, and they have one daughter, 
Mabel Louise. Mr. Riley has one of the most attractive homes in the city, on the top of 
Mt. Ida. 



148 




LOUIS KROH LIGGETT 

President of the Boston Chamber of Commerce, was born at Detroit, Mich., April 
4, 1875, and educated in the public schools of his native city. 

He began his business life at the age of 14 years and at the age of 19 was the first mill 
broker in Detroit. He turned his attention to the drug business in 1895 and soon saw the 
possibilities of manufacturing and merchandising drug store goods on a co-operative plan, 
which in 1902 led to the organization of the United Drug Company, of which he is now 
the president and general manager. In 1906 he organized the National Cigar Stands Com- 
pany, in 1908 he formed the United Druggists Mutual Fire Insurance Company and in 
1909 he organized the Louis K. Liggett Company, of which he is the president. 

Mr. Liggett is a director in twenty concerns, including the American Trust Company 
of Boston, the National Rockland bank of Roxbury, and the New Netherland Bank of 
New York. He is a member of the Algonquin Club, Brae Burn Country Club, Wollaston 
Golf Club, Corinthian Yacht Club, Boston Yacht Club, Boston Athletic Association, Ex- 
change Club, the Commonwealth Country Club and the Dalhousie Lodge of Masons. 

He married Miss Musa Bence and they have a family of four children, Leigh Bence 
Liggett, Janice Liggett, Musa Loraine Liggett and Louis K. Liggett, Jr. 

Mr. Liggett resides in one of the handsomest places in the city, on Beacon and Ham- 
mond Streets, Chestnut Hill. 



T 49 




JOHN HOPEWELL 

A prominent manufacturer and merchant, was born at Greenfield, Mass., February 2, 
1845, the son of John and Catherine Hopewell. 

He was educated in the district school and business college and in 1868 became a 
salesman for L. C. Chase & Co., manufacturers of plushes, robes, Chase leather, etc., of 
Sanford, Me. In 1885 he bought out the Chases and became the senior partner of L. C. 
Chase & Company. 

Mr. Hopewell resided for many years in Cambridge, where he took a prominent part 
in its business and political affairs, serving as president of the Cambridge Board of Trade, 
as president of the Cambridge Club, and as a representative in the State legislature in 
1892. Mr. Hopewell was a delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1896, and 
was a delegate for four years to the National Board of Trade. He was a member of the 
Boston Chamber of Commerce ; one of the organizers and Vice Presidents of the Home 
Market Club of Boston • one of the Managers of the American Protective Tariff League ; 
a member of the Algonquin Club ; Boston Athletic Assoc, Boston Art Club ; Brae-Burn 
Country Club ; American Guernsey Cattle Club ; ex-president of the Cambridge Club and 
of the Hunnewell Club, and a member of the Hampden Lodge of Masons of Springfield. 

He was Director and for many years Treasurer of the Sanford Mills, Sanford, Maine ; 
ex-president and Director of the Reading Rubber Mfg. Co. ; Director of the Troy Blanket 
Mills, Troy, New Hampshire ; Director of the First National Bank of Boston. 

Mr. Hopewell married Miss Sarah W. Blake, and they have five children, Messrs. 
Charles F., Frank B., Henry C. Hopewell, and Mrs. Clarence C. Colby (Nellie H.) of 
Newton, and Mrs. C. M. Casselberry (Mabel G.) of Brookline. 

Mr. Hopewell resided at the corner of Waverley Avenue and Sargent Street, Newton. 



150 




JAMES LORIN RICHARDS 

Was born at East Longmeadow, Mass., January 8, 1858. He was educated in the 
public schools and began his business life at the age of sixteen. For some years, Mr. 
Richards was engaged in the wholesale tobacco business and was associated with the late 
Austin R. Mitchell of Newtonville. He was one of the organizers and a large owner in 
the Wellesley & Boston Street Railway Company, which is now a part of the Middlesex 
& Boston system, and subsequently became the president of the Newton Street Railway 
Company and of its successor, the Middlesex & Boston Street Railway Company. Mr. 
Richards has large interests in the following companies : Boston Consolidated Gas Com- 
pany, President and Director ; East Boston Gas Company, President and Director ; Citi- 
zens' Gas Light Company of Quincy, President and Director; Newton and Watertown 
Gas Light Company, President and Director ; New England Gas & Coke Company, Presi- 
dent and Trustee ; Massachusetts Gas Companies, Trustee ; Federal Coal & Coke Com- 
pany, President and Director; Boston Tow Boat Company, President and Director; J. B. 
B. Coal Company, Director ; Middlesex & Boston St. Ry. Co., President and Director ; 
Newtonville & Watertown St. Ry. Co., President and Director ; Norumbega Park Com- 
pany, Director ; Boston Suburban Electric Companies, Trustee ; Boston Elevated Rail- 
way Company, Executive Committee and Director ; New York, New Haven & Hartford 
R. R., Executive Committee and Director; Merchants National Bank, Director; Com- 
monwealth Trust Company, Director ; Newton Trust Company, Executive Committee and 
Director ; Massachusetts Bonding & Insurance Company, Chairman of Executive Commit- 
tee and Director; Rockland & Rockport Lime Co., Director; Boston Dwelling House Com- 
pany, Director; Newton Real Estate Association, Director; Newton Hospital, Director. 

He is also a member of the Union, Algonquin, Exchange, Commercial, Engineers, 
B. A. A., Boston City, Colony Club of Springfield, Newton, Brae-Burn Country, Alber- 
marle Golf, Woods Hole Coif, Seapuit, Osterville, Mass., Eastern Yacht, Beverly Yacht, 
and Newton Boat Clubs. He married Cora E. Towne and they have two children. 



•5i 




JOHN OUINCY ADAMS WHITTEMORE 



A prominent manufacturer of Boston, was born at St. Johnsbury, Vt., January 29 
1848, and educated at the Highland Military Academy of Worcester, Mass. 

He is a member of the Boston Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Chamber of Commerce, 
the Bostonian Society, N. E. Shoe and Leather Exchange, National Shoe and Leather 
Association, Brae Burn Country Club, Hunnewell Club, Old Colony Club and the Beverly 
Yacht Club. 

In business life Mr. Whittemore is a member of the Whittemore Bros. Corporation of 
Cambridge, manufacturers of shoe polishes. 

He is married and resides with his wife and one son on Washington Street, Hunnewell 
Hill, Newton. His three daughters are married and live in Brookline, Brockton and 
Cleveland, Ohio. 



152 




EDMUND WINCHESTER CONVERSE 



Senior member of the firm of Converse, Stanton & Co. dry goods commission agents of 
Boston and New York, was born in Boston, June 5, 1859, but has resided in Newton 
nearly all his life. He was the son of the late Edmund W. and Charlotte Converse and 
was educated in the Newton Grammar and High Schools. 

Mr. Converse has been a president and director in the Conanicut Mill of Fall River 
and a director in the Atlas Bank of Boston. At present he is a vice president and director 
in the Universal Winding Co. 

He is a member of the Union, Commercial and Algonquin Clubs, and the Chamber of 
Commerce of Boston, the Brookline Country Club, the Dedham Polo and Country Club and 
the Merchants Club of New York. 

He married Miss Julia A. Pearson and resides in the family homestead on Centre 
Street, Newton. 



153 




BENJAMIN SANBORN PALMER 



Was born in East Boston, Mass., October 21, 1856, and was the son of Benjamin F. 
and Abigail Palmer. He was educated in the schools of Boston, graduating from the Eng- 
lish High School in 1873, where he was awarded the Franklin medal for scholarship. Mr. 
Palmer immediately engaged in the tea importing business with the firm of Williams and 
Hall, and in 1884 entered the well-known house of Chase and Sanborn, where he was 
admitted as a partner in 1900. 

Mr. Palmer attended the Second Congregational Church of West Newton, and was a 
prominent member of the Brae Burn Country Club, the Neighborhood Club and of the 
Exchange and Algonquin Clubs of Boston. 

He married Miss Marion P. Crocker and they have one daughter, Miss Mary Bradford 
Palmer. 

Mr. Palmer built one of the first residences on West Newton Hill, where he resided 
until his death on December 26, 1912. 



154 




FRANK ASHLEY DAY 



One of the best known residents of Newton during the last generation, was born in 
this city January 17, 1852, and died at St. Augustine, Fla., January 14, 1914. 

After receiving his education in the public schools of Newton he entered the Boston 
banking house of R. L. Day & Co. Of this firm which had been founded by his father, he 
was the head for the last twenty-five years of his life. 

The progress of his business career was attended with an ever increasing interest in 
every charitable and philanthropic movement. He gave liberally of his time and means 
and few men have exerted a wider influence for good. 

The Newton Y. M. C. A. in large measure, owes its splendid plant to his initiative 
and support, and he was a life long benefactor of the Newton Hospital. He was a promi- 
nent member of the Eliot Church and of the various organizations of the Congregational 
denomination. , ,. 

He served the city of Newton as alderman from 1903 to 1909. 

Mr. Day was twice married, his first wife, Miss Emma Ranney, — being survived by one 
daughter, the widow of the late General Carlo Montanari of Rome, Italy, and his second 
wife, Miss Mary A. Ellison, having two children, Frank Ashley Day, Jr., and Ellison 
Goddard Day. 



iS5 




WILLIAM M. BULLIVANT 



Was bom at Newark, N. J., April 11, 1858. He was educated in the common schools 
and in business life, is president of the Northwestern Leather Company of Boston. Mr. 
Bullivant is a trustee of the Newton Free Library. He is married and has a family of five 
children. He resides on Mt. Vernon Street, West Newton. 



156 




ALLSTON BURR 



A member of the firm of Perry, Coffin and Burr, of Boston, was born in Newton, July 
3, 1866, and is the son of Isaac T. and Ann F. Burr. He graduated from the Newton 
High School in 1885 and from Harvard College in 1889. 

Mr. Burr served in the board of aldermen of Newton from 1906 to 1910. 

He married Miss Elizabeth J. Randolph of Philadelphia, June 11, 1898 and resides 
on Chestnut Hill Road, Chestnut Hill. 



i57 




JAMES PORTER RUSSELL 



A member of the law firm of Russell, Pugh & Kneeland, of Boston, was born at King- 
field, Maine, May 11, 1877. He was educated in the public schools of Farmington, Maine, 
graduated from Tufts College (A.B.) and from the Harvard Law School (L.L.B.) and 
was admitted to the Massachusetts Bar in September, 1901. 

Mr. Russell served as a member of the Board of Health of Cambridge and was in- 
strumental in the establishment of the Tuberculosis Hospital in that city. He was one of 
the organizers and for some years a director of the Massachusetts Real Estate Exchange, 
and is a Trustee of the Franklin Square House. 

He is a member of Middlesex, Massachusetts, and American Bar Associations, of the 
Boston City, Economic and Tufts Clubs, of the Hunnewell and Unitarian Clubs of New- 
ton, and Dalhousie Lodge of Masons. 

Mr. Russell married Miss Edith B. Pratt, of Turner, Maine, September 10, 1902, and 
lives at Shornecliffe Road, Farlow Hill, with his family of four children, Francis H., Por- 
tia, Robert P. and Elizabeth Russell. 



i58 




SAMUEL W. BRIDGES 



Was born at Brooklyn, New York, January 28th, 1874, and educated at the Polytech- 
nic Institute of that City. He is a partner of the firm of Ayres, Bridges & Company, Im- 
porters and Exports, President of the China American Trading Company, a Director of the 
Queensbury Mills, Worcester, Mass., and a Director of the Vannette Bobbinless Sewing 
Machine Co., Amsterdam, N. Y. 

Mr. Bridges is a member of the Boston Chamber of Commerce, the Boston Wool Trade 
Association, the Brae Burn Country Club, the Hunnewell Club, Newton Golf Club, and 
the Commonwealth Country Club. 

He is married and resides with his wife and family, a son, Samuel Willard, and two 
daughters, Helen Mabel and Dorothy Bridges, on Fairmount Avenue, Newton. 



159 




JARVIS LAMSON 



Senior member of the firm of Lamson and Hubbard, of Boston, was born in Hamilton, 
Mass., and received his education at Dummer Academy. 

He is a member of Dalhousie lodge of Masons, Newton Royal Arch Chapter, Geth- 
semane Commandery, Knights Templar, the Brae Burn Country Club, the Newton Club, 
the Boston Chamber of Commerce and the Boston City Club. Mr. Lamson is married 
and has a family of two daughters, Elsie M., and Barbara C. Lamson, and one son, Mr. 
Jarvis Lamson, Jr. He has an attractive home on Temple Street, West Newton, where he 
has resided since 1893. 



160 




CHARLES FRENCH AVERY 



Of the well known wool firm of Mauger & Avery of Boston, and one of the most 
prominent residents of Newtonville, was born in New York City, March 25, 1847, and 
educated in its public schools. 

Mr. Avery was a member of the school committee of the city for six years beginning 
with 1895, and was an alderman in 1908-09-10-11, being chairman of the Finance Com- 
mittee the last year of his service. He was also the second president of the Albermarle 
Golf Club and retired after sixteen years of service. Mr. Avery takes a deep interest in the 
affairs of the St. Johns Episcopal Church, of which he is Junior Warden. 

He is also a member of the Civic Club, Geographical Society, the Episcopalian Club, 
Newton Club, Boston Art Club, Boston Art Museum, Bostonian Society, Traffic Club of 
New England, Metropolitan Museum of Art of New York, Brae Burn Country Club, New- 
tonville Improvement Association, and Vice President Boston Wool Trade Association. 

He is a widower, with three surviving children, Elisha L. Avery of Newtonville, 
Mrs. Frederick H. Blake of Yonkers, N. Y., and Miss Florence Gladys Avery of Newton- 
ville. He resides on Crafts Street. 



161 




RESIDENCE OF JOHN Q. A. WHITTEMORE, WASHINGTON STREET, NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF J. PARKER B. FISKE, WOODLAND ROAD, AUBURNDALE 

162 




ALBERT FARWELL BEMIS 

President of the Bemis Bro. Bag Co., and a director of the Boott Cotton Mills of Lowell 
and the Angus Jute Co. of Calcutta, India, is a resident of Chestnut Hill, where he has an 
attractive home on Old Orchard road. He was born in Boston, November 11, 1870 and 
was educated in public and private schools of Newton, at the Cutler Academy and Colorado 
College of Colorado Springs, Col., and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 

Mr. Bemis entered the employ of the Bemis Bro. Bag Co. on leaving Technology in 
1893, was elected secretary of the Company in 1897 and its president in 1909. 

He is a life member of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Corporation, presi- 
dent of its Alumni Association in 1910, a member of the board of government of the Na- 
tional Association of Cotton Manufacturers, 1910-1915, a trustee of Colorado College, 
1912-1913, a director of the Boston Chamber of Commerce, and served from 1911 to 1914 
inclusive as an alderman of the city of Newton where he rendered excellent service as 
chairman of its Finance Committee. 

Mr. Bemis is also a member of the Alumni Association of Colorado College, American 
Cotton Manufacturer's Association, the Society of Arts, the Exchange, University, Engi- 
neers, Longwood Cricket, Brookline Country, Technology, Manchester Yacht, Cohasset 
Yacht, and the Cohasset Coif Clubs. 

He married Miss Faith Gregg and they have five children, Farwell Gregg, Faith, 
Alan Cogswell, Alice and Judson Bemis. 



163 




RESIDENCE OF FRED R. HAYWARD, CENTRE STREET, NEWTON HIGHLANDS 




RESIDENCE OF JAMES L. RICHARDS, KIRKSTALL ROAD, NEWTONVILLE 

164 




CHARLES PALEN HALL 



Vice president of the American Hide and Leather Company, was born in New York 
City, July 6, 1859, and received a high school education. 

Mr. Hall is a director in the American Hide and Leather Company and of the New 
England Shoe and Leather Association and recently resigned as a director of the Boston 
Elevated Railway Company to act as a Federal trustee of the Boston & Maine Railroad 
Company. He is also a director of the First National Bank, Boston. 

He is a member of the West Newton Unitarian Church, the Brae Burn Country and 
Neighborhood Club of Newton and the Algonquin and Exchange Clubs of Boston. 

He is married and resides with his wife and family of two children on Prince Street, 
West Newton. 



■65 




RESIDENCE OF GEORGE A. FROST, CHESTNUT STREET, WEST NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF LOUIS M. PRATT, SUFFOLK ROAD, CHESTNUT HILL 

166 




WILLIAM H. RICE 



Chairman of the School Committee and a member of one of the oldest families of New- 
ton, was born at Newton Centre, May 14, 1874, and educated in the Newton schools. 

Mr. Rice has been a member of the School Committee since 1908, is a past president of 
the Newton Centre Improvement Association, president of the Newton Welfare Bureau, 
treasurer of the Newton Centre Savings Bank and a member of the Newton Centre Squash 
Tennis Club and Brae Burn Country Club. He is also a member of the First Church in 
Newton. 

In business Mr. Rice is treasurer of the Rice, Sayward & Whitten Co., clothing manu- 
facturers. 

He is married and has a family of two children and resides on Centre Street, Newton 
Centre. 



,67 




RESIDENCE OF DAVID H. ANDREWS, LAKE AVENUE, NEWTON CENTRE 




RESIDENCE OF DONALD M. HILL, PINE RIDGE ROAD, WABAN 

168 




MITCHELL WING 



President and Treasurer of the Mitchell Wing Company, has been a resident of this 
city for twenty years and has an attractive home on Hunnewell Avenue. 

He was born in Nantucket, Mass., May 26, 1854 and was educated in the Moses 
Brown School at Providence, R. I. Mr. Wing taught school for two years, acted as clerk 
at the Lake Mohonk House, Lake Mohonk, N. Y., for two years and as bookkeeper in Bos- 
ton for ten years, when he established his present successful business of laundry supplies 
in 1879. 

He was elected a member of the Common Council of Newton for 1894-1895 and 
1896, serving as president in 1896. Mr. Wing was also a member of the School Committee, 
1912-1914, and for many years has been a trustee of the Read Fund and Eliot Memorial 
Fund. 

He is a regular attendant at Channing Church, and a member of Dalhousie lodge of 
Masons, of which he is a Past Master, of Newton Royal Arch Chapter, Gethsemane Com- 
mandery, K. T., the Hunnewell Club, the Boston Chamber of Commerce and the Boston 
City Club. 

Mr. Wing married Miss Abbie B. Freeman of Sandwich and they have two children, 
Alfred H. Wing and Miss Esther M. Wing. 



169 




RESIDENCE OF ALBERT M. LYON, WALNUT STREET, NEWTONVILLE. 




RESIDENCE OF SAMUEL W. BRIDGES, FAIRMONT AVENUE, NEWTON. 



170 





EDWARD P. BOSSON 



Of the firm of Bosson & Lane, manufacturing chemists, was born in Chelsea, Mass., 
August 30, 1864, and educated in the Chelsea schools. 

Mr. Bosson has resided in Newton since 1892, making his home on Hillside Road, 
Newton Highlands. He served for three years on the Republican City Committee, as an 
alderman in 1905-1906-1907-1908, and as president of the Men's League of the Newton 
Highlands Congregational Church from 1910 to 1912. 

Mr. Bosson is a member of the Drysalters Club, the Boston Chamber of Commerce, 
the Home Market Club, Massachusetts Republican Club, the Middlesex Club, Economic 
Club, Carter School Associates, The Players, American Forestry Association, New Hamp- 
shire Forestry Association, the Civic Club of Newton, and the Men's League. 

He married Miss Abbie L. Marshall in 1891 and they have two children, Ruth and 
Flora M. Bosson. 



171 




RESIDENCE OF HARRISON P. EDDY, GREY CLIFF ROAD, NEWTON CENTRE 




RESIDENCE OF AUSTIN H. DECATUR, OTIS STREET, WEST NEWTON 



172 




FRANKLIN T. MILLER 



Treasurer of the F. W. Dodge Co., was born at Auburndale, April 15, 1873. He was 
educated in the Newton schools and at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, from 
which he graduated in 1895. He served as an alderman of Newton from 1907 to 1912 
inclusive and rendered valuable service to the city as chairman of the Committee on Finance. 

Mr. Miller is a member of the Engineers' and Technology Clubs of New York. He is 
married and resides in the Miller homestead on Grove Street, Auburndale. 



173 




RESIDENCE OF EDWARD B. STRATTON, KENMORE STREET, NEWTON CENTRE 




RESIDENCE OF DR. HENRY D. LLOYD, GROVE HILL AVENUE, NEWTONVILLE 

174 




OLIVER M. FISHER 



President of the M. A. Packard Company of Boston and Brockton, manufacturers of 
men's fine shoes, was born in Henniker, N. H., November 2, 1855. He was educated in 
New Hampshire academies and in the Newton High School. Mr. Fisher served as a mem- 
ber of the board of aldermen of Newton in 1899, 1900 and 1901 and is a Republican in 
politics. He is a member of the Boston City Club, treasurer of the Twentieth Century 
Club of Boston, a member and past president of the Hunnewell Club of Newton, a past 
master of Dalhousie lodge of Masons, a member of Newton Royal Arch Chapter, Geth- 
semane Commandery, Knights Templar, Cryptic Council of Newton, Aleppo Temple, Bos- 
ton, and of all the Scottish Rite bodies. 

Mr. Fisher is married and with his wife and two daughters, the Misses Edith R. and 
Caroline W. Fisher, resides on Franklin Street, Newton. 



i75 




RESIDENCE OF FREEDOM HUTCHINSON, CENTRE STREET, NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF ALBERT F. BEMIS, OLD ORCHARD ROAD, CHESTNUT HILL 

176 




EDWARD FRANKLIN WOODS 



President of the Boston Board of Fire Underwriters and one of the leading insurance 
men of Boston, was born at Somerville, Mass., March 14, 1864 and educated in the public 
schools and Harvard College. 

He is a director of the Fourth-Atlantic National Bank, of the John Hancock Mutual 
Life Insurance Company, the First National Bank of West Newton, of the West Newton 
Co-operative bank, vice president of the Massachusetts Association Local Fire Insurance 
Agents, and a member of the insurance firm of Hinckley & Woods. 

Mr. Woods is secretary of the Brae Burn Country Club, and a member of the Neigh- 
borhood and Northgate Clubs of Newton, the Exchange, University and Harvard Clubs 
of Boston, and the Harvard Club of New York. 

Mr. Woods is married and resides with his family on Berkeley Street, West Newton. 



177 




RESIDENCE OF THOMAS P. CURTIS, LAKE AVENUE, NEWTON HIGHLANDS. 




RESIDENCE OF HERBERT E. FALES, HIGHLAND STREET, WEST NEWTON. 

178 




EDWARD KIMBALL HALL 



Vice President and Director of the New England Telephone & Telegraph Company 
and one of the leading attorneys of Boston, was born at Granville, Illinois, July 9, 1870. 
He was educated in the Hinsdale (N. H.) High School, St. Johnsbury Academy, and at 
Dartmouth College. 

Mr. Hall has always taken a deep interest in local affairs and he served as an alder- 
man in Newton in 1906 and 1907. He is a member of the American Bar Association, Bos- 
ton Bar Association, American Economic Association, first vice president and director of 
the Boston Chamber of Commerce, member of the Board of Governors of the Boston City 
Club and a member of the Exchange, Traffic, and Engineers' Clubs of Boston, Newton 
Club, Brae Burn Country Club and the Campfire Club of America. 

Mr. Hall has always been particularly interested in athletics and served for three 
years as secretary and since 1911 as chairman of the Intercollegiate Foot Ball Rules Com- 
mittee. He also was president of the Dartmouth Athletic Council, retiring in 1910 after 
twelve years' service. 

He married Miss Sally Maynard Drew, July 1, 1902 and they have three children in 
their home on Grove Hill, Newtonville, Dorothy, Richard D., and Edward K. Hall, Jr. 



i79 







RESIDENCE OF SUMNER ROBINSON, BURNHAM ROAD, WEST NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF FRANCIS E. STANLEY, CENTRE STREET, NEWTON. 

I 80 




THOMAS WILLIAM PROCTOR 



A counsellor at law and member of the firm of Nason and Proctor of Boston, was born 
at Hollis, N. H., November 20, 1858. He was educated in the schools of his native town, 
the Lawrence Academy at Groton, Mass., and graduated from Dartmouth College with the 
class of 1879, and later from the Boston University Law School. 

Mr. Proctor was law clerk to the District Attorney of Suffolk County in 1884, served 
as Assistant District Attorney for that county from 1886 to 1891, and as Assistant City 
Solicitor of Boston from 1891 to 1894. He is a trustee of the Newton Free Library, and a 
member of the Chestnut Hill Club, the Beacon Society, University and Curtis Clubs of 
Boston, and of the Brookline Country Club. 

Mr. Proctor married Miss Anne Louise White, March 20, 1895 and resides with his 
family of three children, Thomas White Proctor, Robert Proctor, and Mary Proctor, on 
Hammond Street, Chestnut Hill. 



181 




RESIDENCE OF JOHN B. HUNTER, KIRKSTALL ROAD, NEWTONVILLE. 




RESIDENCE OF HAROLD D. COREY, FARLOW ROAD, NEWTON. 

182 







ALFRED H. BRODKICK 



President of the Chadwick-Boston Lead Company, has been a resident of Newton 
Highlands for many years, with a comfortable home on Bowdoin Street. He was born in 
Randolph, Mass., December 8, 1859, and educated in the Boston shcools. Mr. Brodrick 
entered the offices of the Boston Lead Company in 1874 at the age of fifteen. In 1879 he 
became connected with the Chadwick Lead Works and became general manager when the 
two companies consolidated in 1901. In 1905 he was elected president of the company. 

He is a member of the Brae Burn Country Club, is married and has a family of wife 
and two children. 



183 




RESIDENCE OF FREDERICK M. CREHORE, SUFFOLK ROAD, CHESTNUT HILL. 




RESIDENCE OF THOMAS F. BAXTER, BRISTOL ROAD, WEST NEWTON. 

184 




JAMES BROWN 



The President and General Manager of the Hotel and Railroad News Company of 
Boston, was born in Lasswade, Scotland, in 1852. He was educated in Greenock Academy, 
and finished his studies at Glasgow University. Mr. Brown is a member of the Boston 
Athletic Association, Boston Press Club, and Boston City Club, as well as a prominent 
member of the Scots Charitable Society. He is a staunch Republican, although he has 
never held any political office. 

Mr. Brown takes keen pleasure in the aesthetic and artistic side of life, and many 
choice examples of local and foreign artists adorn the walls of his beautiful home on Com- 
monwealth Avenue and Hobart Road, Newton Centre, Massachusetts. 



i85 




RESIDENCE OF ROBERT CASSON, GREY CLIFF ROAD, NEWTON CENTRE. 




RESIDENCE OF GEORGE W. EDDY, BIGELOW ROAD, WEST NEWTON. 

186 




FRANK JUDSON HALE 

General Manager and Director of the Saco and Lowell Shops, and one of the success- 
ful business men residing in the city, was born at Newton Upper Falls, Mass., August 14, 
1862, and was educated in the Newton schools. 

Besides his interests in the Saco-Lowell Shops, Mr. Hale is connected as a director 
with the Colonial Securities Co., Davis Mills of Fall River, Dratton Mills of Spartans- 
burg, S. C, Dunean Mills, Greenville, S. C, Gainesville (Ga.) Cotton Mills, Harmony 
Mills, Cohoes, N. Y., Hoosac Cotton Mills, Adams, Mass., Indian Head Mills of Ala- 
bama, International Cotton Mills Corporation, J. Spencer Turner Co., New York, Lin- 
coln Manufacturing Co.. Fall River, Monarch Cotton Mills, Union, S. C, Quissett Mill, 
New Bedford, and the Textile Securities Company, and is secretary and a director in the 
Eastern Machinery Co. In local affairs he is a director of the Newton Trust Co., the 
Newton Co-operative Bank, and the Newton Home for Aged People, and a trustee of the 
Newton .Savings Bank. 

Mr. Hale served in the Common Council of Newton in 1888 and 1889, resigning in 
June of that year to accept an election to the school committee, where lie served until De- 
cember 31, 1898. 

He is a member of the Algonquin, Engineers, Home Market and Exchange Clubs of 
Boston, the Boston Chamber of Commerce, the Traffic Club of New England, The brook- 
line Country Club, the Point Shirley Club, the Prout's Neck Country Club, the Republican 
Club of Massachusetts, and the Brae Burn Country Club. 

Mr. Hale is married and resides on Walnut Street, with his wife and family of one 
daughter, Miss Marjorie Male and one son, Roger Drake Hale. 



187 




RESIDENCE OF CHARLES E. RILEY, BELLEVUE STREET, NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF WILLIAM M. NOBLE, BRACEBRIDGE ROAD, NEWTON CENTRE. 

188 




DANIEL COLLAMORE HEATH 

Publisher of school books, founder and first president of the firm of D. C. Heath & 
Co., was born at Salem, Maine, October 26, 1843, and died at his home in Newtonville, 
January 29, 1908. Mr. Heath fitted for college at the Nichols Latin School, Lewiston, 
Me., was graduated from Amherst College in 1868 and received his degree of M.A. in 
1871. In his young manhood he was a teacher and a student of theology. 

Mr. Heath was a member of Central Church, of the Newton Club, one of the founders 
of the Twentieth Century Club, a member of the Boston Athenaeum, a trustee of the Peo- 
ples' Palace, a member of the Boston City Club, the School-Masters Club, the University 
Club, the Congregational Club, the Massachusetts Club, and of the Aldine Club of New 
York. He was president of the Amherst Alumni Association, of the Pine Tree State Club 
of Boston, the Katahdin Club of Newton, and of the Newton Education Association. 

Mr. Heath married Mrs. Nelly Lloyd Knox of Colorado Springs, Col., January 6. 
1881, and they have had four sons, Stanley 1). Heath, deceased, Arnold C. Heath, Daniel 
Collamorc Heath, and Warren N. Heath. 



189 




RESIDENCE OF FRANK HOPEWELL, WAVERLEY AVENUE, NEWTON. 




.'..._ :. _ 



RESIDENCE OF FRANK B. HOPEWELL, PARK STREET, NEWTON. 



19O 




CHARLES SUMNER DENNISON 



Was born in Newton, June 20, 1858, and was the son of Eliphalet and Lydia (Beals) 
Dennison. His early education was received from private tutors and the public schools of 
Newton, Allen's English & Classical School of West Newton, the Highland Military Acad- 
emy of Worcester, and at the school of Mechanical Arts of the Massachusetts Institute 
of Technology. He then entered the machine shop of his father's plant, the forerunner of 
the present Dennison Manufacturing Company, and later went to New York as a salesman. 
He was appointed purchasing agent for the company in 1892, treasurer in 1896, and presi- 
dent in 1909, and served until his death on August 22, 1912. 

Mr. Dennison was a life long resident of Newtonville and closely identified with all of 
its varied interests. He was a member of the Board of Aldermen for three years, 1903-04-05. 
He took a deep interest in the Newton Club, and served as its president for several years. 
He was a trustee of the Newton Hospital and presented that institution with the Dennison 
Children's Ward. 

He married Miss Mary Rosabel French of Jamaica Plain in 1883, and they have a 
family of two daughters. 



191 




RESIDENCE OF CHARLES E. LORD, CLAREMONT STREET, NEWTON. 





RESIDENCE OF HON. JOHN W. WEEKS, VALENTINE STREET, WEST NEWTON 

192 




HON. HENRY EDDY COBB 



The eleventh mayor of Newton was born in Hartford, Conn., June 21, 1839 and died 
in Newton, February 2, 1908. He was educated in the Newton grammar and high schools 
and for many years was engaged in business in Boston as a banker, and as a member of the 
firm of Brewster, Cobb and Estabrook. 

Mr. Cobb served as an alderman of this city in 1883-1884, and was elected mayor for 
the years 1896-1897 and 1898, during which time many large improvements were completed. 

He was a prominent member of the Newton Club, of which he was at one time presi- 
dent, and be was also a member of the Algonquin, Exchange, Country, Oakleigh and Brae 
Burn Country Clubs, and at the time of his death was president of the Newton Home for 
Aged People, chairman of the Executive Committee of Wellesley College trustees, a trus- 
tee of the New England Conservatory of Music and of Bates College, and a member of the 
Pilgrim Society and the City Club of New York. 

Mr. Cobb married Miss Hattie M. Cooley and they have had one son and three daugh- 
ters, one of whom died in childhood. The family have made their home for many years in a 
handsome estate on Mt. Ida. 



T 93 



.* » 




RESIDENCE OF ALFRED H. BRODRICK, BOWDOIN STREET, NEWTON FIIGHLANDS 




RESIDENCE OF HERBERT A. WILDER, FAIRMONT AVENUE, NEWTON 

194 




WARREN FENNO GREGORY 



Treasurer and General Manager of the Lothrop, Lee & Shepard Company, book pub- 
lishers, Boston, was born in Winchendon, Mass., July 12, 1863. He fitted for college at 
Gushing Academy, Ashburnham, Mass., in the class of 1883 and graduated from Dart- 
mouth College in 1888, and in 1896 was given the degree of A.M. Mr. Gregory entered 
the publishing business in 1897, having been previously engaged as an educator and editor 
of books. He married Miss Annie Laurie of West Newton in 1898 and they have one 
child, Hope, born in 1908. 

Mr. Gregory is president of the Hunnewell Club of Newton, a member of the Dart- 
mouth Club of Boston, and a director of the Boston North End Mission. He lives on 
Walnut Street, Newtonville. 



195 




RESIDENCE OF FREDERICK C. PERRY, WALNUT STREET, NEWTONVILLE 




RESIDENCE OF JOHN HOPEWELL, WAVERLEY AVENUE, NEWTON 



196 




GEORGE PARTRIDGE BULLARD 

President and Treasurer of the Eastern Expanded Metal Company of Boston, and a 
resident of Temple Street, West Newton. He was born in West Medway, Mass., June 25, 
1857, and was educated in the public schools of that town and of Franklin. For ten years 
Mr. Bullard was a partner in the firm of Bacon & Co. of Boston, engaged in the iron and 
steel business, withdrawing in 1886 to form the firm of G. P. Bullard & Co. Besides his 
interests in the Eastern Expanded Metal Co., Mr. Bullard is president of the U. S. Elec- 
tric Signal Co. and the American Electrical Tool Co., both of which have their manufac- 
turing plants in West Newton, president of the West Newton Savings Bank and a director 
in First National Bank of West Newton. Mr. and Mrs. Bullard are prominent socially in 
the city, Mr. Bullard being a member of the Brae Burn Country Club, the Newton Club, the 
Exchange Club of Boston, and of Dalhousie Lodge of Masons. He attends the West New- 
ton Unitarian Church. 

Mr. Bullard served in the common council of Newton in 1894 and in the hoard of 
aldermen in 1895. Fie was also a representative in the General Court in 1901-02 and 03. 

He married Miss Nina F. Jenks of Franklin, Mass., and they have two daughters, Mrs. 
Charles E. Lauriat, Jr. of Cambridge, and Miss Clara M. Bullard. 



197 




RESIDENCE OF G. FREDERICK SIMPSON, FRANKLIN STREET, NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF H. W. CROOKER, HIGHLAND STREET, WEST NEWTON 

198 




FREDERIC MORTON CREHORE 



Paper manufacturer, under the firm name of C. F. Crehore & Son, the business having 
been established by his grandfather, Lemuel Crehore in 1825, was born at the Crehore 
homestead, Newton Lower Falls, July 16, 1858. He was educated at the Allen School, 
West Newton, by private tutors and at Harvard University, graduating in the class of 1881. 

Mr. Crehore has rendered considerable public service to his native city, as a member of 
the Water Board from 1890 to 1894 as a member of the Common Council in 1890 and as 
an alderman in 1891. He also served as a member of the School Committee from 1897 to 
1900, inclusive, and again in 1902 and 1903. 

He is a member of the Harvard and Exchange Clubs of Boston, Longwood Cricket 
Club, Brookline Country Club, the Newton Boat Club, and of the Loyal Legion. 

Mr. Crehore married on June 1, 1897, Miss Frances Isabelle Carter, the daughter of 
Hon. Henry A. P. Carter and Sybil Augusta (Judd) Carter of Honolulu, and they have 
one daughter, Sybil, born April 6, 1900. 

Mr. Crehore resides on Suffolk Road, Chestnut Hill. 



199 




RESIDENCE OF W. HERMON ALLEN, KIRKSTALL ROAD, NEWTONVILLE 




RESIDENCE OF JACOB A. KARNHEIM, HAMPSHIRE STREET, WEST NEWTON 

200 




HARVEY STUART CHASE 

One of the most noted experts on municipal accounting and finance and head of the 
well known firm of certified public accountants, Harvey S. Chase & Company of Boston 
and Washington, D. C, was born at Portsmouth, N. H., June 18, 1.861. He was educated 
in the private, grammar and high schools of Haverhill, Mass., and graduated from the 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, in 1883 as a mechanical engineer. He was super- 
intendent of the gas and water works at Great Falls, N. H., from 1886-1891, and for 
some years was trustee and auditor for engineering and mining corporations in New York 
City. He originated systems of uniform accounting for municipalities and public service 
corporations ; has served as an expert to governors of many states and to the Treasury De- 
partment of the United States ; was a member of the Commission on Economy and Effi- 
ciency appointed by President Taft, and has written many articles on municipal finance 
and accounting, and in relation to a "budget" for the United States. He is an ex-president 
of the Massachusetts Society of Certified Public Accountants, a trustee of the American 
Association of Public Accountants, a member of the American Economic Association, 
American Statistical Association, City Club of New York, Boston City Club, Technology 
Club, Cosmos Club of Washington, Brae Burn Country Club, Neighborhood Club, treas- 
urer of the National Economic League and of the Economic Club of Boston, and a member 
of the Executive Committee of the National Municipal League. 

Mr. Chase married Miss Nettie E. Howe of Haverhill, December 22, 1886, and they 
have two children, Stuart Chase, and Mrs. H. T. Folsom (nee Adelaide H. Chase.) 



201 




RESIDENCE OF JAMES BROWN, COMMONWEALTH AVENUE, NEWTON CENTRE 




RESIDENCE OF HERBERT M. COLE, SOMERSET ROAD, WEST NEWTON 



202 




LOREX D. TOWLE 



One of the best informed real estate experts in Boston, has been a resident of this city 
since 1899 and occupies a most attractive home on Franklin Street. He was born in New- 
port, N. H., March 25, 1874 and was educated in the public schools of his native town and 
at the Eastman Business College of Poughkeepsie, N. Y. 

Mr. Towle was a member of the Board of Aldermen of Newton in 1911-1912, was 
president of the Newton Improvement Association in 1912, and is a director in the Inter- 
national Trust Co. and in the Boston Real Estate Exchange and Auction Board. 

He is also a life member of the Massachusetts Horticultural Society of the Bostonian 
Society of Dalhousie lodge of Masons, Newton Royal Arch Chapter, (lethsemane Com- 
mandery, K. T., a member of the Hunnewell, Newton Golf, Eight O'clock clubs, and the 
Boston Chamber of Commerce. 

Mr. Towle married Miss Helen M. T.eland, June 28, 1899 and they have two daugh- 
ters, Evelene Marion and Charlotte Frances Towle. 



203 




RESIDENCE OF HARRY F. MORSE, SHORNCLIFFE ROAD, NEWTON 




:. «. . .;'.;. .. 



RESIDENCE OF JOHN S. ALLEY, CHESTNUT STREET, WEST NEWTON 

204 




ALBERT P. CARTER 



Was born at Newtonville, December 13, 1873, and fitted for college in the Newton 
schools. He graduated from Harvard College in 1894 and from Harvard Law School in 
1897. He was admitted to the bar in 1897 and has been practising law in Boston since 
that time. 

Mr. Carter served as a member of the Board of Aldermen in Newton six years, be- 
ginning in 1902, and was President of the Board during the last two years of his service. 
He is now a member of the Playground Commission of the City of Newton. He is a di- 
rector of the Newton Trust Company, Treasurer of the Stone Institute and Newton Home 
for Aged People, and a member of the Brae Burn Country Club, the Newton Club, the 
Newton Boat Club and the Harvard Club of Boston. 

Mr. Carter married Miss Elizabeth C. Cheney and they have two (laughters, Eliza- 
beth C. and Martha A. Carter. Mr. Carter resides on Highland Avenue, Newtonville. 



205 




RESIDENCE OF JAMES P. RICHARDSON, WALNUT STREET, NEWTONVILLE 




RESIDENCE OF W. B. H. DOWSE, COMMONWEALTH AVENUE, WEST NEWTON 



206 




FRANK A. SCHIRMER 



Senior member of the firm of F. A. Schirmer & Co., bankers and brokers of Boston, 
was born in Dorchester, September 6, 1863 and was educated in the Boston public schools. 
Mr. Schirmer is vice president of the Franklin Square House, trustee of the Boston Penny 
Savings Bank and a director in numerous business corporations. He is a member of the 
Boston Art Club, Engineers' Club, Exchange Club, Boston City Club, Automobile Club, 
the Brae Burn Country Club, Engineers' Club of New York and the Denver Club of Denver, 
Colorado, trustee Robert Brigham Hospital for Incurables, member New York Stock Ex- 
change, member Bankers Club, New York City. 

Mr. Schirmer is married and has one son. He resides on Commonwealth Avenue, 
Chestnut Hill. 



207 




RESIDENCE OF ARTHUR W. MCKEV, GRANT AVENUE, NEWTON CENTRE 




RESIDENCE OF EDWARD K. HALL, BEAUMONT AVENUE, NEWTONVILLE 

208 




WILLIAM FRANCIS BACON 

Associate Judge of the Newton District Court and a prominent lawyer in Boston, 
has heen a life long resident of this city, and has his home on Hyde Avenue. He was 
born in Newton, November 2 7, 1863, the son of the late Joseph N. and Sarah A. (Wood- 
ward) Bacon, one of the oldest families in the community. He was educated in the New- 
ton schools and graduated at Harvard College, class of 1885, with degree of A.B., and from 
the Harvard Law School in 1889 with the degrees of A.M. and LL.B. He was admitted 
to the Suffolk Bar in January, 1889. He is a director in the Newton Trust Company, the 
Citizens Mutual Insurance Company, and other business corporations, and a trustee of the 
Newton Savings Bank and of the Newton Cemetery Comporation. He is also a member of 
the Boston Bar Association, the Hunnewell Club, the Eight O'Clock Club and chairman 
of the Prudential Committee of Eliot Church. Mr. bacon served for several years as a 
member of the Board of Health of Newton and in 1902 was appointed associate justice of 
the local court by Governor Crane. 

He married Miss Bessie E. Sayford and they have two children, F. Sayford Bacon, 
and Miss Margaret Bacon. 



209 




RESIDENCE OF CHARLES H. BRECK, FAIRMONT AVENUE, NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF CHARLES I. TRAVELLI, CHESTNUT STREET, WEST NEWTON 



210 




GEORGE F. MALCOLM 



General Manager of the F. S. Webster Company of Boston, was born at Boston, 
January 2 7, 1873, and educated in the Boston Grammar and High Schools. 

Mr. Malcolm is one of the aldermen of the city of Newton, having been first elected 
for the year 1914. He is a member of the Boston Chamber of Commerce and of the 
Boston City Club. 

Mr. Malcolm is married and resides with his wife and daughter on Walnut Street, 
Newtonville. 



21 I 




RESIDENCE OF H. FREDERICK LESH, HANCOCK AVENUE, NEWTON CENTRE 




RESIDENCE OF HENRY I. HARRIMAN, HUNNEWELL AVENUE, NEWTON 



212 




JOHN EDWARD PUSHEE 



Member of the firm of J. C. Pushee Sons, of Boston, manufacturers of brushes, was 
born in Lansingburgh, N. Y., in 1858, and educated in the schools of his native town. 

Mr. Pushee is a member of the Boston Chamber of Commerce, the Boston Athletic 
Association, New England Paint & Oil Club, the Brae Burn Country Club and the Neigh- 
borhood Club. 

He is married and has a family of one son, Mr. Roy E. Pushee and one daughter, 
Mrs. P. Thayer. Mr. Pushee has an attractive home on Prince Street, West Newton. 



213 




RESIDENCE OF SYDNEY HARWOOD, WAVERLEY AVENUE, NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF GEORGE B. ROWBOTHAM, PRINCE STREET, WEST NEWTON 

214 




FRANCIS EDGAR STANLEY 



An inventor and manufacturer, and treasurer of the Stanley Motor Carriage Co., was 
born at Kingfield, Maine, June 1, 1849, and was educated at the Farmington Normal 
School and by constant home study. 

Mr. Stanley taught school for five years and was later a portrait artist. He invented 
the Stanley Dry plate, which revolutionized the art of photography and, with his brother, 
began its manufacture, first in Maine and later moving to Newton in 1890. After selling 
this business to the Eastman Kodak Company, Mr. Stanley and his brother invented the 
Stanley automobile, and lias since been engaged in its manufacture. 

Mr. Stanley has never cared for public office, but is deeply interested in social economics. 
He is a life member of the National Economic Association, the Economic Club of Boston, 
the Monday and Tuesday Clubs of Newton, the Brae Burn Country Club, and is a past 
president of the Hunnewell Club. 

He married Miss Augusta M. Walker January 1, 1870. and they have three children, 
Mrs. Edward M. Hallet, Mrs. Prescott Warren, and Mr. Raymond Walker Stanley, all of 
Newton. Mr. Stanley resides on Centre Street, Newton. 



215 




RESIDENCE OF WILLIAM F. BARTHOLOMEW, HIGHLAND AVENUE, WEST NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF FRANK M. SHELDON, FARLOW ROAD, NEWTON 

2 I 6 




HON. EDWARD BOARDMAN WILSON 



Twelfth mayor of Newton, was born at Haverhill, N. H., April 21, 1840, and edu- 
cated in the public' schools and at the Haverhill Academy. He came to Boston when 
twenty years of age and entered the dry goods jobbing business and at the age of twenty- 
nine was admitted as junior partner to the firm of Morse, Shepard & Co. In 1883, Mr. 
Shepard died, and the firm became Morse, Wilson & Co., changing in 1886, when Mr. 
Morse died, to Wilson, Larrabee & Co., of which Mr. Wilson is now a special partner. 

Mr. Wilson was a member of the Board of Aldermen of Newton in 1892 and served 
as mayor in 1899 and 1900. He is a director of the Commonwealth Trust Company of 
Boston, a member of the Brae Burn Country Club, Mayors Club of Massachusetts, Sons of 
New Hampshire, and Dalhousie Lodge of Masons. 

Mr. Wilson is married and has a family of one son and one daughter. He resides on 
Otis Street, West Newton. 



217 




RESIDENCE OF ROBERT GORTON, BERKELEY STREET, WEST NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF FREELAN O. STANLEY, WAVERLEY AVENUE, NEWTON 

2l8 




HON. HENRY E. BOTHFELD 

The twelfth mayor of Newton, and one of the most prominent men in the city, was 
born in New York, March 4, 1859. He was educated in the Newton schools and entered 
public life in 1891-1892, when he was elected a member of the Common Council. In 1893 
and 1894 he was an alderman and president of that body for both years and was unopposed 
as a candidate for mayor in 1895. During bis service in the city government, the work 
of abolishing the grade crossings of the 13. & A. R. R. on the north side of the city was 
commenced in connection with the work of widening Washington street. He declined 
re-election as mayor on account of his health, but served as chairman of the City Charter 
Commission in 1896. He was also a member of the School Committee from 1902 to 19 1 1, 
and chairman for the last three years, and has been a representative in the General Court 
since 1909. 

Mr. Bothfeld is president of the Unitarian Club of Newton, a member of the Unita- 
rian Club of Boston, of the Boston Chamber of Commerce, the Massachusetts Civil Service 
Association, the Massachusetts Republican Club, Vice President and Chairman of the Fi- 
nance Committee of the Newton Hospital, a trustee and member of the Investment Commit- 
tee of the Newton Savings Bank, a director of the Newton Co-operative Bank, and has 
recently been elected president of the Market Trust Company of Boston. He is engaged 
in business in Boston as a trustee, owner and manager of real estate. 

Mr. Bothfeld married Miss Haidee Soule and they have two sons and two (laughters, 
and reside on Breamore Road, Newton. 



219 




RESIDENCE OF' J. ROLLIN STUART JR., WARD STREET, NEWTON CENTRE 




RESIDENCE OF OLIVER M. FISHER, FRANKLIN STREET, NEWTON 

220 




HON. GEORGE HUTCHINSON 



Seventeenth mayor of Newton was born in Worcester, September 16, 1852, and at- 
tended the public schools until he was thirteen years of age. He has been for many years 
engaged in business as a shoe manufacturer and wholesaler, and is a member of the house 
of W. H. McElwain Company. Mr. Hutchinson served as an alderman of Newton 
from 1900 to 1903, and was mayor of the city in 1908 and 1909. He has been 
active in religious, philanthropic and social circles, being vice president of the American 
Unitarian Association, a vice president of the Newton Hospital Corporation, president of 
the Newton Cemetery Corporation, a director of the Newton Trust Company, and a trustee 
of the Home Savings Bank of Boston. He is a member of the Union, Unitarian and Boot 
and Shoe Clubs, the Art Museum of Boston, and of the Newton, Brae Burn Country and 
Unitarian Clubs of Newton. 

He married Miss Eliza M. Clark, and they have one son, Mr. Maynard Hutchinson of 
West Newton. 



221 




RESIDENCE OF CHARLES J. BAILEY, SURREY ROAD, NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF GARDNER I. JONES, VALENTINE STREET, WEST NEWTON 



222 




EDWIN PERKINS BROWN 



General Manager of the United Shoe Machinery Company, was born at St. Albans, 
Vermont, June 25, 1868 and was educated in the Rice Primary and Grammar Schools and 
the English High School, Boston. 

Mr. Brown was connected with the Atlantic & Pacific Railway in New Mexico from 
1889 to 1893 and from that date until 1899 was with the Colorado Fuel and Iron Co. In 
1899 he was in Joplin, Mo., with the American Zinc, Lead & Smelting Company, and in 
November, 1899 became connected with the United Shoe Machinery Company, of which 
he is now a director. He is also a director in the International Trust Company of Boston, 
and American Zinc, Lead & Smelting Co. 

Mr. Brown is a member of the Boston Boot & Shoe Club, New England Shoe & 
Leather Association, Commercial Club, Beacon Society, Algonquin Club, Brookline Country 
Club and the Hunnewell Club. 

He married Miss Emma J. Todd of Boston, Mass.) in September, 1894 and they have 
two children, George R. and Florence E. Brown. 

Mr. Brown resides on Washington Street, Hunnewell Hill. 



223 




RESIDENCE OF FRANK S. WEBSTER, WALTHAM STREET, WEST NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF JAMES E. CLARK, CLAREMONT STREET, NEWTON 



224 




WILLIAM BRADFORD HOMER DOWSE 

President of the Home Market Club of Boston, was born at Sherborn, Mass., sixty- 
years ago. He fitted for college at the Allen English & Classical School at West Newton, 
graduating from Harvard College with the degree of A.B. in 1873 and from the Harvard 
Law School in 1875 with the degree of LL.B. He was admitted to the Massachusetts bar 
in 1875, to the United States Circuit Court bar in 1877, and to the United States Supreme 
Court bar in 1878. For a quarter of a century until 1900 he made a specialty of patent 
cases with offices in New York and Boston, and was brought into intimate connection with 
all classes of manufacturing in the country. He now devotes himself to manufacturing. 
He is president of the Reed and Barton Corporation, gold and silver smiths of Taunton, a 
director of the Waltham Watch Company, president of the United States Fastener Com- 
pany, and an officer of several other concerns in the United States and Europe. 

Mr. Dowse is a member of the Exchange, University and Harvard Clubs of Boston, 
the Riding Club, Brookline Country (Hub, Massachusetts Auto Club, a life member of the 
Boston Press Club, commodore of the Wianno Yacht Club, vice president of the Brae Burn 
Country Club, a life member of the Massachusetts Horticultural Society, Massachusetts 
Genealogical Society, a Veteran of the First Corps of Cadets. Old Colony Historical So- 
ciety, the University, Harvard and Manhattan Clubs of New York, the Boston Chamber of 
Commerce, the Sons of the Revolution, Society of Mayflower "Descendants, and Society of 
Colonial Wars. He is seventh in line from John Alden of Mayflower fame and his ances- 
tors fought at the Battle of Bunker Hill. Mr. Dowse has an estate on Commonwealth 
Avenue, West Newton. 



225 




RESIDENCE OF THOMAS O. MARVIN, CHESTNUT STREET, WEST NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF FRED H. LOVELAND, RUTHVEN ROAD, NEWTON 

226 




LEWIS ROBINSON SPEARE 



Was born in Boston, June 6, 1861, and educated in the public schools of Boston and 
in the Newton High School. He then entered business with his father in the firm of 
Speare, Gregory & Co., now The Alden Speare's Sons Company, of which he is president. 
He also organized the Huron Milling Company of Harbor Beach, Mich., of which he is 
the vice president. Mr. Speare is an enthusiastic automobilist and is president of the 
Massachusetts State Automobile Association and an ex-president of the American Auto- 
mobile Association. He is also a director of the Central Trust Company of Cam- 
bridge, of the Home Market Club, a member of the Boston Chamber of Com- 
merce, a past president of the Claflin Guards Veteran Association, and an ex-vice 
president of the Newton Club. He is also a member of the Lotos, Drug & Chemical, and 
Hardware Clubs of New York, of the Automobile Club of America, of the Algonquin, 
Boston Athletic Association, Engineers', Boston Art, Boston Yacht, Exchange and Massa- 
chusetts Automobile Clubs of Boston and of the Brae Burn Country Club of West Newton. 

Mr. Speare married, November 20, 1883, Miss Edith B. Holway, the daughter of 
Rev. W. (). Holway, chaplain U. S. N., retired, and they have one daughter, Caroline M. 
Speare, 2nd. 

Mr. Speare resides on Summer Street, Newton Centre. 



227 




RESIDENCE OF NATHAN W. DENNETT, WINDEMERE ROAD, AUBURNDALE 




RESIDENCE OF HARRY ADAMS HARWOOD, LINWOOD AVENUE, NEWTONVILLE 

(On the site of the Joseph Adams farm, formerly in the northerly section of the Park farm.) 



228 




FRANK STONE WEBSTER 



One of the pioneers in manufacturing typewriter ribbons and carbon paper, and foun- 
der of the firm of F. S. Webster Company of Boston, was born in New Bedford, Mass., 
November 19, 1859, and educated in private and public schools. 

Mr. Webster is a member of Dalhousie lodge of Masons, Newton Royal Arch Chapter, 
and Gethsemane Commandery, Knights Templar, and served as an alderman of the city 
of Newton in 1907-08-09. 

Mr. Webster married Miss Rebecca Elizabeth Fletcher and they have four children, 
Louis A., Percy 8., Clara, and Oliver Webster. 

He resides at 246 Waltham Street, West Newton. 



229 




RESIDENCE OF SOLOMON YOUNG, BALLARD STREET, NEWTON CENTRE 




RESIDENCE OF LOREN D. TOWLE, FRANKLIN STREET, NEWTON 

23O 




EUGENE CARPENTER 

Was born at Rowe, Mass., March 25th, 1868, and is a great grandson of Ephraim 
Fenno of Newton Centre, who served in the Revolutionary War. He was educated in the 
public schools - of Athol and Templeton, Mass. and at Boston University. 

As a mechanical and electrical engineer, Mr. Carpenter has obtained many patents 
on refrigerating and electrical devices. He installed and put into operation the first three 
phase electric power transmission plant in America. He is treasurer and trustee of the Boston 
Electric Associates and is connected with the Automatic Refrigerating Company, the 
Bethlcbem Electric Light Company, the Buzzards Bay Electric Company, Hyannis Light- 
ing Company, Shirley Electric Company, the Vineyard Lighting Company and is a senior 
member of the banking firm of Carpenter & Company of Newton. 

Mr. Carpenter is a member of the Boston City Club, Hunnewell Club, Newton Golf 
Club, Ben Lomond Golf Club, East Chop Country Club, Marine Lodge of Masons, 
Charter and life member of Wareham Chapter Royal Arch Masons, and life member of 
Palm Beach Commandery. 

His first wife to whom he was married in 1889, Miss Gertrude R. F. Hamlin of West- 
ford, a grand niece of Vice President Hannibal Plamlin, died in 1894. He married in 
1897 Miss Annie Goodenow, the daughter of Judge Goodenow of Bangor, Maine, a grand 
daughter of Chief Justice Goodenow of the Maine Supreme Court, and a great grand 
daughter of John Holmes, the first United States Senator from Maine. There are four 
children, Charles Hamlin Carpenter, M. I. T. '12, Clyde Carpenter, Elizabeth Goodenow 
Carpenter and Emily Fenno Carpenter. Mr. Carpenter resides at the corner of Park and 
Franklin Streets, Newton. 



23' 




RESIDENCE OF MRS. FRANK A. DAY, SARGENT STREET, NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF HENRY D. WOODS, HIGHLAND STREET, WEST NEWTON. 



232 




GEORGE WEST JACKSON 



An attorney of Boston, was born at Roxbury, Mass., January 8, 1858, and educated at 
the Roxbury Latin School, Harvard College, (A.B. 1879) Harvard Law School and Boston 
University Law School (LL.B. 1882). 

He is a member of the University Club of Boston. 

Mr. Jackson married Miss Grace I. Whitting on April 23, 1896 and with his family 
of two sons, Leonard and Allen, resides on Ballard Street, Newton Centre. 



233 




RESIDENCE OF WARREN F. GREGORY, WALNUT STREET, NEWTONVILLE. 




HmI 



RESIDENCE OF JOSEPH F. FLANAGAN, WALNUT PARK, NEWTON. 



234 




J. EVERETT HICKS 



Mr. Hicks was born at Richmond, Maine, on July 18, 1870. He prepared for college 
at Hebron Academy, Hebron, Maine, and was graduated from Bowdoin College in June, 
1895. 

He entered the employ of the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company as special agent 
in 1901, remaining with that Company until October 15, 1912, when he became State Man- 
ager of the Massachusetts Department of the Union Mutual Life Insurance Company, which 
position he now occupies, with offices in the Merchant's National Bank Building, Boston. 

Mr. Hicks has been for ten years the District Grand Master for the New England 
States of the Kappa Sigma (College) Fraternity, was president of the Bowdoin Club of 
Boston in 1914-15, and is a member of the Executive Committee of the Bowdoin College 
Alumni Association of Massachusetts, a member of St. John's Bodge of Masons, Mt. Ver- 
non Royal Arch Chapter, Cethsemane Commandery, Knights Templars. The Hebron 
Academy Alumni Association of Boston and vicinity, the Boston Chamber of Commerce, 
and the Newton Club. He is married and resides with his wife and one daughter, Margaret 
Dorothy, at 101 Highland A venue, Newtonville. 



235 




RESIDENCE OF HENRY M. DAVIS, HIGHLAND AVENUE, WEST NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF CHARLES WHITTEMORE, SUMMIT STREET, NEWTON 



236 




ARTHUR WILLIAMS McKEY 



Who resides on Grant Avenue, Newton Centre, was born at St. Paul, Minnesota, 
January 30, 1874. 

He was educated at Peekskill Military Academy, graduated in 1895 as senior captain 
and acting major. Instead of entering West Point, however, he decided to follow a com- 
mercial business and since 1897 has been connected with the essential oil industry. Mr. 
McKey is associated with Fritzsche Brothers, branch of Schimmel & Co., the originators, 
first distillers and the foremost concern in the essential oil industry, as New York State 
and New England representative. 

Mr. McKey is a strong advocate for the development of Newton and thoroughly 
believes in his home city. He is a member of the Society of Chemical Industry, New England 
( 'onfectioners Club, Newton Centre Squash and Tennis Club, City Club of Boston, a vet- 
eran of the hirst Corps of Cadets, and President of the Eastern Alumni Association of 
the Peekskill Military Academy. 

Mr. McKey married Miss Helen Holmes Johnson, and they have three daughters, 
Mildred, Elizabeth and Carolyn. 



237 




RESIDENCE OF GEORGE F. MALCOLM, WALNUT STREET, NEWTONVILLE 




RESIDENCE OF FRANK A. SCHIRMER, COMMONWEALTH AVENUE, CHESTNUT HILL 

2 3 8 




WILLIAM FAYETTE BARTHOLOMEW 



A recognized authority on mining property values and a member of the firm of Tucker, 
Hayes and Bartholomew, bankers and brokers of Boston, has been a resident of this city 
for several years with a home on Highland Avenue, West Newton. He was born in Jersey 
City, N. J., October 12, 1871, and was educated in the public schools. 

For twenty years Mr. Bartholomew was connected with the Boston News Bureau, 
serving for some years as one of its editors, and in 1910 becoming a member of the firm 
of Thompson, Towle & Co. and this year becoming a member of Tucker, Hayes and Bar- 
tholomew. 

He is a 32nd degree Mason, a member of Gethsemane Commandery, the Shrine, the 
Union League Club, Lambs and Rocky Mountain Club of New York, the Boston Athletic 
Association, the Boston Press Club and the Brae Burn Country Club, lie married Miss 
Eva G. Lain and they have three children, Eva Maybelle, Charles Fayette and Irma Vir- 
ginia Bartholomew. 



239 




RESIDENCE OF H. C. HANSEN, IIUNNEWELL AVENUE, NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF THOMAS E. STUTSON, FOUNTAIN STREET, WEST NEWTON 

24O 




HON. WILLIAM F. DANA 



Justice of the Massachusetts Superior Court, was born at Soraerville, Mass., June 
26, 1863, the son of Thomas and Mary Catherine (Baldwin) Dana. He graduated from 
Harvard College in 1884, with the degree of A.B., from Harvard Law School in 1887 with 
the degree of L.L.B., and was admitted to the Suffolk bar in 1888. 

He was a member of the law firm of Dana and Bates, later of that of Choate & Dana, 
and practised alone from 1887 to 1906. Mr. Dana was a member of the Newton Common 
Council in 1897, of the Board of Aldermen in 1898-1899-1900, being vice-president of that 
body in 1900, served in the Massachusetts House of Representatives, 1901-1902-1903, and 
in the Massachusetts Senate 1904-1905-1906, being president of that body in 1905-1906. 
He was appointed a justice of the Superior Court by Governor Guild July 9, 1906. 

Mr. Dana is a member of the Massachusetts Bar Association, Boston Bar Association, 
Middlesex Bar Association, the Abstract and University Clubs of Boston, the Newton and 
Hunnewell Clubs of Newton, the Republican and Massachusetts Clubs of Massachusetts, 
and the Middlesex Club. 

Mr. Dana has been a frequent contributor to the Harvard Law Review. He resides 
at 488 Centre Street, Newton. 



241 




RESIDENCE OF JAMES P. TOLMAN, HIGHLAND STREET, WEST NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF MITCHELL WING, HUNNEWELL AVENUE, NEWTON. 

242 




GEORGE ELISHA MAY, M. D. 

Was born at Thetford, Orange County, Vermont, May 30, 1860, and is the son of Cyrus 
and Laura B. (Smith) May. 

He was educated at St. Johnsbury Academy and University of Vermont, received the 
degree of M. D. from Boston University School of Medicine in 1890, a post graduate 
course at Harvard Medical School, New York Post Graduate School, and St. Mary's Hospi- 
tal, London. 

Dr. May was Superintendent Mass. Homeopathic Hospital, 1891 ; physician to the 
Newton Hospital from 1892 to 1896; Surgeon, Trustee, member and Chairman of the 
Executive Committee of Newton Hospital since 1896; member of Mass. Medical Society; 
American Medical Society ; American College of Surgeons, New England Pedriatic Society, 
Mass. Surgical and Gynecological Society, Ex-President Mass. Homeopathic Medical So- 
ciety; Boston Homeopathic Medical Society, Newton Medical Club, Newton Hospital 
Medical Club; Surgeons' Club of Rochester, Minn.; Brae-Burn Country Club. 

He married Sophia H. Smith at Sutton, Vt., August 10, 1891, and has two children, 
Lawrence Cyrus May of Rockland, Mass., and Shirley May. 

Dr. May has practiced his profession in Newton for twenty-four years, made four 
trips to Europe for recreation and study, and traveled quite extensively in this country. 

He resides on Commonwealth Avenue, Newton Centre. 



M3 




RESIDENCE OF HENRY E. WILLIAMS, NORMAN ROAD, NEWTON HIGHLANDS. 




RESIDENCE OF FREDERIC F. CUTLER, HOBART ROAD, NEWTON CENTRE. 

244 




HENRY T. HARRIMAN 



Vice-President of the Boston Chamber of Commerce, was born at Brooklyn, N. Y., 
December 26, 1874. He was educated at Adelphi Academy, Brooklyn, N. Y., Wesleyan 
University, Middletown, Conn., and the New York Law School, New York. Mr. Harri- 
raan is Vice-President of the firm of Chace & Harriman, Inc., President of the Connecticut 
River Power Company, Inc., manager of the New England Power Company. 

He is now serving as an alderman of the city of Newton. 

Mr. Harriman is a Mason, and a member of the Algonquin, University, Twentieth 
Century, the Boston City, and the Hunnewell Club, and has recently been elected a vice- 
president of the Boston Chamber of Commerce. 

He resides on Hunnewell Avenue, Newton with his wife and two daughters, Eunice 
Alberta and Barbara Harriman. 



245 




ninninHnnniiK-' . 



" y<£a^amWm&Ham 



RESIDENCE OF ROBERT H. GROSS, BURNHAM ROAD, WEST NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF WILLIAM E. JONES, FARLOW ROAD, NEWTON. 

246 




CHARLES WEBSTER LEONARD 



Merchant and manufacturer, was born at Sharon, Mass., and educated at the Stough- 
tonham Institute. He is a member of the firm of II olden, Leonard & Company, woolen 
manufacturers, and a director in several mill corporations. 

He was an alderman in Newton in 1908-1909-1910-1911, but has held no other public 
office. Mr. Leonard is a member of many clubs and social organizations and a prominent 
member of the Episcopal Church. 

He has three sons and resides on Forest Avenue, West Newton. 



247 




RESIDENCE OF MARK C. TAYLOR, WALNUT STREET, NEWTONVILLE. 




RESIDENCE OF WILLIAM H. BLISS, NEWTONVILLE AVENUE, NEWTON. 

248 




AUSTIN H. DECATUR 



President of the Decatur & Hopkins Company, wholesale hardware, Boston, was born 
at Barrington, N. H., February 9, 1858. He was educated in the public schools and at 
Franklin Academy and entered the hardware business at the age of 18 years. He became 
a partner in the firm of Baldwin, Robbins & Co. in 1894, its president in 1906, and which 
was succeeded by the Decatur & Hopkins Company in 1910. 

Mr. Decatur is president of the Boston Credit Mens Association, vice president of the 
Mewton Masonic Hall Association, trustee of the Boston Penny Savings Bank, a member 
of the Boston City Club, the Newton Club, and a member of the executive committee of the 
National Hardware Association of the United States. He is also prominent in the Masonic 
bodies of the city, being a member of Dalhousie lodge, a past high priest of Newton Royal 
Arch Chapter and a past commander of Gethsemane Commandery, K. T, 

Mr. Decatur is married and resides on Otis Street, West Newton. 



249 




RESIDENCE OF J. EVERETT HICKS, HIGHLAND AVENUE, NEWTONVILLE. 




RESIDENCE OF EUGENE CARPENTER, PARK STREET, NEWTON. 

250 




DAVID HERBERT ANDREWS 



President of the Boston Bridge Works, Inc., was born at Pepperell, Mass., September 
17, 1844. He was educated at Dartmouth College, from which be graduated in 1869. Be- 
sides bis interest in the Boston Bridge Works, Mr. Andrews is President of the Turbine 
Company. 

He is a visitor to Dartmouth College under the Chandler Foundation, and a member 
of the Engineers' Club of Boston, the Boston Yacht Club, the American Society of Civil 
Engineers and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Mr. Andrews married Clara 
Morril Gilbert on October 17, 1876 and they have a family of three sons and one daughter 
now living. 

He resides on Lake Avenue, Newton Centre. 



251 




RESIDENCE OF JOSEPH B. SIMPSON, HUN NEWELL AVENUE, NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF JOHN E. PUSHEE, PRINCE STREET, WEST NEWTON, 

252 




EDWARD B. STRATTON 



A well known architect of Boston, was born in Chelsea, Mass., in March, 1870 and re- 
ceived his education in the public schools of Chelsea and Boston, the Boston Atelier, a 
special course at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and also studied in Atelier at 
Paris. 

Mr. Stratton is the designer of such buildings as the Hotel Puritan, Hotel Somerset, 
Hotel Lenox, the First Ward National Bank of Boston, and the Tedesco Country Club of 
Swampscott, Mass. 

He is a member of the Boston Art Club, Boston City Club, Boston Real Estate Ex- 
change, Boston Architectural Club, and the Tedesco Club. 

Mr. Stratton is married and has a family of four children. He resides on Kenmore 
Street, Newton Centre. 



253 




RESIDENCE OF GEORGE P. BULLARD, TEMPLE STREET, WEST NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF CHARLES F. AVERY, CRAFTS STREET, NEWTONVILLE. 

254 




DWIGHT CHESTER 

For many years an influential resident of this city, was born in Maryland, N. Y., March 
2, 1835, and died at Newton Centre, May 4, 1914. He was educated in the public and 
private schools of Westford, N. Y., and then engaged in manufacturing until 1862, when 
he entered the Commission business in New York City. In 1866 he become the Boston 
manager of the Aetna Life Insurance Company, a position which he held until his death. 

Mr. Chester held many positions of honor and trust in financial, political and religious 
circles, and was universally trusted and esteemed. He was a prominent member of the 
First Baptist Church of Newton Centre, and served it as deacon, treasurer, and superin- 
tendent of its Mission School. He was treasurer of the Baptist Massachusetts Missionary 
Society for twenty-six years, treasurer of the Gardner Colby Fund for Ministerial Relief, 
of the Lamson Fund and the Baptist Flome. He was a life member or director of nearly all 
the state and national missionary societies of the Baptist Church, and a trustee of the 
Newton Theological Institution. He was instrumental in forming in 1894, the Newton 
Centre Trust Company, now known as the Newton Trust Company, and served as its presi- 
dent until his death. He was also a director of the Needham Trust Company and a trustee 
of the Newton Centre Savings Bank. 

He served as town clerk and supervisor at Westford, N. Y.. a member of the Common 
Council of Newton in 1876-1877-1878, of the hoard of aldermen in L879-1880-1881-1883- 
1884 and a representative to the Legislature in 189 1-1892-1893 and L894. 

Mr. Chester was twice married, his first wife being Mary |. Storrs of Worcester, N. Y., 
and his second wife being Anna C. Stiles of Auburn, N. Y. 



255 




RESIDENCE OF HOWARD P. CONVERSE, WOODLAND ROAD, AUBURNDALE. 




RESIDENCE OF WILLIAM H. RICE, CENTRE STREET, NEWTON CENTRE. 

256 




JAMES P. TOLMAN 



President of the Samson Cordage Works, and a leading manufacturer of cotton 
cords and twines, was born at Boston, Mass, November 7, 1847 and educated at the Rox- 
hury High School and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, S. B. 1868. 

Mr. Tolman was a member of the Corporation, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 
an ex-president of the Alumni Association, M. I. T., a trustee of the Franklin Savings 
Bank of Boston and of the First Unitarian Society, West Newton, and a member of the 
Brae Burn Country Club, Neighborhood Club, Technology Club of Boston, and the Tech- 
nology Club of New York. 

Mr. Tolman married Mrs. Horace R. Cheney (Mary E. Chace of Valley Falls, R. I.), 
and they have two sons, Prof. Richard C. Tolman, S.B., Ph.D., and Edward C. Tolman, 
S.B., A.M. 

He resided on Highland Street, West Newton until his death on July 28, 1915. 



257 




RESIDENCE OF GEORGE W. JACKSON, BALLARD STREET, NEWTON CENTRE. 





RESIDENCE OF FRANK B. WITHERBEE, TEMPLE STREET, WEST NEWTON. 

258 




JAMES PARMELEE RICHARDSON 



An attorney and member of the firm of Hale & Dickerman, was born in St. Johns- 
bury, Vermont, May 29, 1878 and educated in St. Johnsbury Academy, '95, Dartmouth 
College, '99, and Boston University Law School, '02. 

He is a member of St. John's Episcopal Church, the Hunnewell Club, Newton Boat 
Club, Boston Athletic Association, an ex-president of the Dartmouth Club of Boston and 
president of the Dartmouth Club of Newton and a member of the Alumni Council of 
Dartmouth College. 

Mr. Richarsdon married Miss Anna Louise Pullen, June 24, 1908 and resides on 
Walnut Street, Newtonville. 



259 




RESIDENCE OF EDWARD F. WOODS, "BERKELEY STREET, WEST NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF FRANK H. STEWART, MONTVALE ROAD, NEWTON CENTRE. 

26j 




ALBERT SEWARD GLOVER 



The Secretary and New England Sales Agent of the Hersey Manufacturing Company 
of South Boston, manufacturers of water meters and other machinery, was born at Boston, 
Mass., April 6, 1855. He was educated in the Brookline and Newton schools, graduating 
from the Newton High School in 1873 and was a student at the Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology from 1873 to 1875. 

Mr. Glover became connected with the Boston Water Works soon after leaving Tech- 
nology and was for four years on the construction work of the Sudbury River Aqueduct. He 
left this work in 1879 to become Water Registrar of Newton, resigning in 1889 to take his 
present position with the Hersey Manufacturing Company. 

He is a member of the New England Water Works Association, the American Water 
Works Association, Boston Society of Civil Engineers, Brae Burn Country Club, Tedesco 
Country Club, Engineers' Club of Boston, the Boston City Club, the Hunnewell Club, 
Middlesex Club, and the Alumni Association, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 

Mr. Glover married Miss Mary Wales Robinson, September 21, 1875, and they have 
one daughter, Miss Mary Wales Glover. 



26 1 




RESIDENCE OF CHARLES P. HALL, PRINCE STREET, WEST NEWTON. 



Ml 




RESIDENCE OF EDWARD M. HALLETT, HYDE AVENUE, NEWTON. 

262 




WILLIAM H. BLISS 



Treasurer of the Cutter, Tower Company, Boston, and President of the Cutter 
Tower Company, New York, has been a resident of this city for some years, making his 
home on the Tower estate on Newtonville Avenue. He was born in Cambridge, Mass., 
March 21, 1868, and was educated in the Cambridge High School and the Yale Business 
College of New Haven, Conn. 

Mr. Bliss is treasurer of the United Cotton Gin Company, and a director in the 
Royalton Paper Company. He is a member of Dalhousie lodge of Masons, a past High 
Priest of Newton Royal Arch Chapter, a member of Gethsemane Commandery, K. T., and 
the Massachusetts Consistory, 32nd, the Hunnewell Club. Boston City Club, Ancient and 
Honorable Artillery Company, Sons of the Revolution, Sons of the American Revolution, 
and the Arkwright Club, New York. Mr. Bliss has been a prominent member of the New- 
ton Methodist Church, of which he has been treasurer for some years. 

He married Miss Lillian Tower and they have no children. 



263 




RESIDENCE OF PRESCOTT WARREN, HYDE AVENUE, NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF THOMAS A. CRIMMINS, DARTMOUTH STREET, WEST NEWTON. 

264 




WILLIAM CUMMINGS RICHARDSON 

One of the best known architects in New England, and a member of the firm of Hart- 
well, Richardson & Driver of Boston, was born in Concord, N. H., March 12, 1854. He 
was educated in the public and high schools of Lawrence, Mass., and at the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology. Mr. Richardson is a fellow of the American Institute of Archi- 
tecture, a member of the Boston Society of Architects, Dalhousie Lodge of Masons, New- 
ton Royal Arch Chapter, Gethsemane Commandery, Knights Templar, the Newton Club, 
Boston Art Club, Boston City Club, Boston Chamber of Commerce, and of the New 
Cburch Club. Prominent amongst the buildings that he has carried out in collaboration 
with his partners is the Youth's Companion Building ; Carney Building ; The First Church 
in Plymouth; Wakefield Congregational Church, Newtonville Congregational Church; 
Christ Church, Andover ; Newton Masonic Building ; Newton Club ; Springfield High 
School; Newton High School; Cambridge Latin School; Abbot Academy Buildings at 
Andover; Medford High School; New Haven Normal School; and many other schools; 
houses for Moses T. Stevens, Thomas E. Proctor, Joseph A. Gahm, and many other public 
and private buildings. 

He is married and has a daughter, Mrs. W. A. Kemper of Butte, Montana, and two 
sons,' Webster and Had win H. Richardson. 

Mr. Richardson resides on Highland Avenue, Newtonville. 



265 




RESIDENCE OE CHARLES D. WILLCUTT, MILL STREET, NEWTONVILLE. 




. 



RESIDENCE OF EDWARD P. BOSSON, HILLSIDE ROAD } NEWTON HIGHLANDS. 



266 




GEORGE DUTHIE-STRACHAN 



Was born in Scotland,. May 9, 1870, and educated in private schools. He is a certified 
public accountant and was the first appointed member of the board of examiners under 
the Certified Public Accountant law of Massachusetts. He is secretary and treasurer of the 
Newton Automobile Club, a member of the Masonic bodies, including the Knights Templar 
and the Shrine, the B. P. O. E., a trustee of the Royal Arcanum, life member of the Scots 
Charitable Society and a member of the Economic, Boston City, Copley Society and other 
clubs. 

He resides at The Braeside, Waban Hill Road, Chestnut Hill. 



267 




RESIDENCE OF ALEXANDER M. FERRIS, WASHINGTON STREET, NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF EDWARD E. BLODGETT, TEMPLE STREET, WEST NEWTON. 

268 




THOMAS EDWIN STUTSON 



Was horn in Boston in 1856 and educated in Boston grammar and English High 
School. In business Mr. Stutson is a member of the importing firm of Louis Wolfe & 
Company. 

For many years Mr. Stutson has been prominent in amateur dramatics and one of the 
most active members of The Players, the well-known theatrical organization of Newton. 

Mr. Stutson has two daughters, who reside in the west, and now makes his home at the 
Beaconsfield, Brookline, after a residence of fortv-four years in Newton. 



269 




RESIDENCE OF MICHAEL L. MADDEN, CENTRE STREET, NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF LOUIS K. LIGGETT, HAMMOND STREET, CHESTNUT HILL. 

270 




JOSEPH BOAKDMAN JAMIESON 

Was born at Exeter, N. H., July 9, 1853, and was educated in the public schools of 
that town, and at Phillips Academy, at Andover, where he graduated in 1871. He was the 
oldest son of Thomas Sanford Jamieson of Alexandria, Va., and Julia Gilman Boardman 
of Exeter, N. H., both families being of early Colonial stock. As a lad of ten years, while 
living at Alexandria, Mr. Jamieson was a messenger for Col. George Bell, who had charge 
of the Commissary department of the Union army at that point. 

Mr. Jamieson began his business life in 1871 as shipping clerk for the dry goods com- 
mission firm of Gardiner Brewer & Co., of Boston, and later was in business in New York 
for twenty years, returning to Boston in 1900 as sales manager of the New England Cotton 
Yarn Co. Since March 1, 1905 he has been in business for himself as a Cotton and Yarn 
broker in Boston. 

He is a member of the Middlesex, Republican, Twentieth Century and Economic 
Clubs and the Chamber of Commerce of Boston, and of the Hunnewell, Monday Evening 
Clubs and The Players of Newton. 

While a resident of Edgewater, N. J., Mr. Jamieson served for three years as a school 
trustee, and as clerk of the board, and has served four years (1912-1913-1914-1915) as an 
alderman of the City of Newton. 

He married Miss Ida E. Derby of Springfield, Mass., and they have had five chil- 
dren, of whom three survive, Philip S. Jamieson (Amherst '08), Joseph B. Jamieson, Jr. 
(Amherst '09 J of Fitchburg, Mass. and Miss Edith Jamieson ( Vassar '14) of Newton. 

Mr. Jamieson resides with his family on Hunnewell Avenue, Newton. 



271 



-T-^W-^J 



'■'I PL 




m r m 




^. ■ ... 2£&SH8ShBB^^^»S 

residence of george walker, montvale road, newton centre. 



I,. I ' 







am 



RESIDENCE OF MRS. WILLIAM H. LUCAS, KIRKSTALL ROAD, NEWTONVILLE. 

272 




CHARLES AUGUSTUS STONE 



Of the firm of Stone and Webster was born in Newton, January 16, 1867. He was edu- 
cated at the Newton High School and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, gradu- 
ating from the latter with the class of 1888. 

Mr. Stone is president of the recently organized American International Corporation 
and is a member of the American Institute Electrical Engineers, the Boston Chamber of 
Commerce, Union Club, St. Botolph Club, Country Club, Tennis and Racquet Club, Eastern 
Yacht Club, Old Colony Club, Merchants Club of Boston, Merchants Association of New 
York, University Club of New York and the Technology Club of New York. 

He married Miss Mary Leonard and they have two sons, Charles A. Jr., and Whitney 
Stone, and two daughters, Margaret and Janet Stone. 



2 73 




CLARENCE CONANT COLBY 



Lawyer, president and general manager of the Samson Electric Company of Canton, 
Mass, was born in Boston, June 9, 1879. He was educated in the schools of Boston, grad- 
uating from the D wight Grammar School in 1894, from the Roxbury Latin School in 
1898, from Harvard College in 1902 and from the Harvard Law School in 1908. 

Mr. Colby has practised his profession as a lawyer in Boston for some years and is a 
partner in the legal firm of Foster, Colby and Pfromm. He is a member of the Harvard 
Club of Boston, the Boston Rotary Club, the Harvard A^arsity Club of Cambridge, the 
Hunnewell Club of Newton and the Newton Lodge of Elks. Mr. Colby has been a mem- 
ber of the Republican City Committee for some years and is now serving as its secretary. 

He married Miss Nellie Harriett Hopewell, the daughter of Mr. John Hopewell of 
Newton, and they have two children, Beatrice and Elizabeth Colby. 

Mr. Colby resides in a new home he has recently built on Farlow Road, Newton. 



274 




FRANK WATERMAN STEARNS 

President of the R. H. Stearns Company, Dry Goods Merchants, Boston. Born in 
Boston, November 8, 1856. Educated in the Public Schools of Boston and at Mr. Noble's 
School (now Noble & Greenough's School) where he prepared for college. Graduated from 
Amherst College in 1878, of which College he is now a Trustee. 

Mr. Stearns is a member of the Greek letter Society of Chi Psi of Amherst College, 
of the University, Algonquin, Massachusetts, Merchants, Middlesex and Republican Clubs 
of Boston, and of the University and Bankers Clubs of New York, the Brae Burn Country 
Club, Wianno Club, Corinthian Yacht Club; member of the Executive Committees of the 
American Trust Co. and the Morris Plan Bank of Boston, and is a member of the Board 
cf Management of the Children's Hospital, the Red Cross Society, the North American 
Civic League for Immigrants and a member of the Tercentenary Commission to have 
charge of the celebration of the Three Hundredth Anniversary of the Landing of the Pil- 
grims at Plymouth. 

Mr. Stearns was also an Alternate-at-large from Massachusetts to the Republican Na- 
tional Convention at Chicago in 1916. 

He married Emily Williston Clark, and has three children : Foster Stearns, who 
is a graduate of Amherst College and Harvard College and is now Librarian of the 
Boston Museum of Fine Arts ; Mrs. Henry W. (Emily) Giese, of Wellesley Hills; and 
Mrs. Francis (Louisa) Prescott, of Grafton, Mass. 

Mr. Stearns resides on Park Street, Newton. 



275 




H. W. CROOKER 



Of the firm of Thomson-Crooker Co., one of the large shoe manufacturers of Boston, 
was born in Brooklyn, New York. 

He is a member of the Brae Burn Country Club, Newton Club, New England Shoe 
& Leather Association, and the Chamber of Commerce of Boston, and resides on Highland 
Street, West Newton, with his family, consisting of a wife and two children. 



276 




JOSEPH B. SIMPSON 



President of the Simpson Bros. Corporation, one of the largest firms engaged in the 
concrete business in New England, was born at Sullivan, Me., March 15, 1851. 

He was educated in the Common and Normal schools, and has been actively engaged 
in the contracting business all his life. 

He is a member of the Brae Burn Country and Hunnewell Clubs and of the Boston 
Chamber of Commerce and Boston City Club. 

Mr. Simpson is married and resides with his wife and daughter on Hunnewell 
Avenue, Newton, Mass. 



277 




ABBOTT BARNES RICE 



One of the leading merchants of Boston, was born at Hopkinton, Mass., April 17, 
1862. He was educated in the public schools and at Brown University, Class of 1884, 
and then entered business life in Boston. Mr. Rice is treasurer of the Matinee Waist Co. 
of Glen Falls, N. Y., treasurer of the "Tremont Stores", and manager and treasurer of 
the Glen Shirt & Collar Co. of Boston, besides being interested financially in several other 
large business corporations. 

Mr. Rice has served as an alderman of the city of Newton for three years, 1913-14-15, 
and is a member of the Minimum Wage Board as a representative of the retail trade. 

He is a member of the Boston City Club, Boston Chamber of Commerce, Middlesex 
Club, Unitarian Club, Dalhousie Lodge of Masons, Newton Royal Arch Chapter, Royal 
Arcanum, Playground and Social Service League, and a member of the executive com- 
mittee of the Boston Brown Alumni Association. 

Mr. Rice has travelled extensively in foreign countries, where he has taken a special 
interest in social and civic conditions. 

He is married and has three sons, Adams T. Rice, Brown 1915, Willard W. Rice, 
Harvard, 1918, and Laurence B. Rice, Yale, 1919. He resides on Summer Street, 
Newton Centre. 



278 




FREELAN OSCAR STANLEY 



President of the Stanley Motor Carriage Company, was born at Kingfield, Maine, 
June 1, 1849. He was educated in the common schools, at Farmington Normal School, 
Hebron Academy, and attended Bowdoin College for one year and a half. 

Besides his business interests in the Stanley Motor Carriage Company, Mr. Stanley 
is President of the Estes Park (Colorado) Bank, and President of the Trustees of Hebron 
Academy. 

He is a member of the Hunnewell Club of Newton, the Economic Club of Boston, and 
the Metropolitan Driving Club of Greater Boston. 

Mr. Stanley is married and resides with his wife on Waverley Avenue, Newton. 



279 




HARRY FLETCHER MORSE 



New England manager of the Employers Liability Assurance Corporation of London, 
was born at Lowell, Mass., July 17, 1860. He graduated from the Watertown High 
School at the age of sixteen and after preparing for college, decided to enter business life. 
Mr. Morse is one of the most prominent underwriters in Workmen Compensation, Liability 
and Casualty insurance. 

He is a member of the Boston Art Club, the Brae Burn Country and Hunnewell Clubs 
and Boston Chamber of Commerce. 

Mr. Morse is married and resides on Shorncliffe Road, Newton. 



280 




HENRY FREDERICK LESH 



Was born at Tannersville, Munroe County, Pennsylvania, May 1, 1875. He was edu- 
cated in the Newton Public Schools and is a graduate of the Newton High School. 

Mr. Lesh is a member of the leather firm of Kistler, Lesh & Company, with tanneries 
in Pennsylvania, West Virginia and North Carolina. He is president of the National 
Association of Tanners and is a member of the Brae Burn Country, Woodland, Newton 
Golf Clubs, the Hatherly Club of North Scituate, Dalhousie Lodge of Masons, Newton 
Royal Arch Chapter, Gethsemane Commandery, Knights Templar, and of Alleppo Shrine. 

He is married and resides with his wife on Hancock Avenue, Newton Centre. 



281 




HOWARD PENDLETON CONVERSE 



The senior member of the firm of H. P. Converse & Co., constructing engineers, which 
built the Commonwealth Pier and other notable structures, has been a resident of Auburn- 
dale for many years, where his home is on Woodland Road. Mr. Converse was born in 
Columbus, Ohio, July 4, 1866 and was educated in the public schools of Columbus and at 
the Ohio State University. 

He was a member of the Board of Aldermen of Newton in 1906-1907 and 1908 and 
served as a representative in the General Court in 1909. Mr. Converse is a member of Dal- 
housie lodge of Masons, the Phi Kappa Psi Fraternity, and the Exchange and Engineers 
Clubs of Boston. He married Miss Ida Burnside Van Wagenen in 1900. 



282 




EDMUND I. LEEDS 

Member of the firm of Brainerd & Leeds, one of the well-known firms of architects 
in Boston, was born in Newton May 6, 1873. He received his general education in the 
Newton grammar and high schools. His professional work was done at the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology and at Ecole des Beaux Arts of Paris where he was a member of 
the Atelier Pascal. This training has been supplemented by several extended trips abroad. 
Mr. Leeds is a member of professional societies such as the American Institute of Archi- 
tects and the Boston Society of Architects. He has also done some special work in the Na- 
tional Fire Prevention Association. 

He is a member and loyal worker in the Eliot Congregational Church and a Mason, 
having taken his degrees at the Dalhousie Lodge of Masons, Newton Royal Arch Chapter 
and Gethsemane Commandery, Knights Templars. Lie resides on Park Street, Newton 
with his wife, who was Miss Alice Marshall, and their three children. 

Brainerd & Leeds, of which he is a member, are the architects of the Newton Y. M. 
C. A. and of Y. M. C. A. buildings at Grinnell College, Lawrence, Mass., and Somerville, 
Mass. They have designed many school buildings, among which are the high school build- 
ings at Barre, Vermont, Claremont, N. H., Billerica and Belmont, Mass. ; the Normal 
School group of buildings at Keene, N. H. ; grade schools at Maiden, Swampscott, Lexing- 
ton, Waltham and Belmont and public buildings such as the N. E. Historic and Genealogi- 
cal building and the Ford Building, New England Home for Little Wanderers ; churches 
at Medford, Waterville, Maine, Westerly, R. I., the Chapel of Grinnell College and, for 
the Salvation Army, the People's Palace in Boston, the citadel in Cambridge and a head 
quarters building at Hartford. Besides they have designed many residences in Newton and 
elsewhere. 



283 




JOHN PELTZ EUST1S 

Was born at Burlington, Iowa, July 7, 1858, and educated in the public schools at 
Portland, Maine. 

He is the founder and treasurer of the J. P. Eustis Manufacturing Company of Cam- 
bridge, Mass., manufacturers of brass goods under the trade mark of "The Brasscrafters." 
Mr. Eustis has been granted upwards of one hundred patents by the United States Patent 
Office, a large portion of which have proved to be of commercial value and in addition to 
those used in his own business, many of his patents, designs and mechanical ideas are used 
by other manufacturers. 

Mr. Eustis is a member of the Boston Chamber of Commerce, Boston Yacht Club, 
Hunnewell Club, Dalhousie lodge of Masons, Newton Royal Arch Chapter, and Geth- 
semane Commandery, K. T. 

He married Miss Mary M. Warner, of Florence, Mass., in 1891, and they have two 
sons, Warner and Grant B. Eustis. The family residence is on Washington Street, Hunne- 
well hill, Newton. ' ; . j; :,i_| 



284 




WILLIAM MARK NOBLE 



A well-known lawyer of Boston and a member of the firm of Noble, Davis and Stone, 
was born in Springfield, Mass., February 27, 1865, and comes from notable ancestry. His 
father was of good old English stock, the names William Mark being traceable in the 
family as far back as the year 1630. On his mother's side, Mr. Noble is allied to the Bur- 
lingame family, and to Hon. Anson Burlingame, at one time United States ambassador to 
Russia. 

Mr. Noble was educated in the Chelsea High School, with private study in the classics, 
and received the degree of L.L.B. from the Boston University Law School. 

He was for several years president of the Newton Centre Improvement Association 
and is a trustee of the Newton Centre Savings Bank, and a trustee and director in other 
corporations and estates. 

He married Miss Marion W. Rising and they have three children, William Mark 
Noble, Jr., Margaret Noble, and Arthur D. Noble. 

Mr. Noble resides on Bracebridge Road, Newton Centre. 



285 




HANS C. HANSEN 

One of the best known business men of Boston, and founder of the H. C. Hansen 
Type Foundry, was born at Sandeford, Norway, in 1845, and graduated from Technology 
at Horton in the same country in 1866. In 1868 he came to Boston. . Starting with a 
two-foot rule and a limited capital, in 1872, and with five competing concerns in Boston, 
Mr. Hansen established his own foundry, the only one now remaining which does all its 
manufacturing in Boston. He designed, drafted and constructed labor-saving machines 
which were used even in Germany, and he possessed an inventive genius which brought 
manufacturers to him for advice. He took a foremost position as the inventor of brass 
rules, and starting when experts were few, and with a principle never to take them from 
other foundries, he selected intelligent young men who have become experts under his 
instruction. 

Among Mr. Hansen's first inventions for the benefit of the printing industry was 
making steel-cutting dies for use on the printing press. Numerous inventions followed, 
which are now well-known to printers — inventions many of which are now in use in com- 
peting foundries, and in the foremost type foundry in France. Mr. Hansen had inventions 
in France, Germany, England, Canada and the United States. 

He was a member of the Massachusetts Charitable Mechanic Association, the 
Franklin Typographical Society, the Odd Fellows, Boston City Club, Unitarian Club of 
Newton, Hunnewell Club, the Viking Club and the Boston Chamber of Commerce. 

Mr. Hansen died at his home on Hunnewell Avenue, Newton, on January 24, 1916, 
and is survived by a widow, two sons, H. Alfred Hansen of Auburndale, and L. A. Hansen 
of Newton Highlands, and a daughter, Mrs. Sidney Curtis of Belmont. 



286 




WINFIELD SCOTT SLOCUM 

For many years, the city solicitor of Newton, was born at Grafton, Mass., May 1, 
1848, the son of William F. and Margaret (Tinker) Slocum. He was educated in the 
public schools of his native town and at Amherst College, after which he studied law and 
was admitted to the Suffolk Bar in 1871 and to the United States Circuit Court bar in 
1875. In 1871 he formed a partnership with his father, which continued until the death 
of the elder Mr. Slocum in 1896. 

In 1881 he was elected city solicitor of Newton and served continuously until his 
death on January 29, 1915. His position as attorney for the city of Newton involved his 
making a specialty of municipal law. He served as a member of the school committee of 
Newton in 1874-77, and was a member of the Legislature in 1888 and 1889. 

He was a Past Master of Dalhousie lodge of Masons and during his long and useful 
life was a prominent member of Central Congregational Church of Newtonville, of which 
he had been a clerk, deacon and moderator for many years. He was also interested in the 
Boston Congregational Club, the Massachusetts Club, the Boston Athletic Association and 
the Newton Club, and was a member of the Boston City Club. 

He was twice married, his first wife being Miss Annie A. Pulsifer of Newton, by 
whom were three children, Agnes E., Charles P., and Winfield S. Slocum, Jr. His second 
wife, who survives him, was Miss Sarah M. Barry, of Boston. 



287 




BERTRAND EUGENE TAYLOR 

Was born at St. Johnsbury, Vermont, April 29, 1856, and died at his home in Newton 
Centre, August 23, 1909. Mr. Taylor was for many years one of the leading architects of 
Boston and vicinity, having been a member of the firm of Rand and Taylor from 1881 
to 1895 and from that time until his death, a member of the firm of Kendall, Taylor and 
Stevens. 

His education was received at St. Johnsbury Academy, where he graduated with honors 
in 1877. He then took special studies at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, while 
engaged in architecture in the office of Ober and Rand. He also studied special work on 
two extensive trips to Europe, and became deeply interested in hospital and sanatoria work. 
In this connection he was well known throughout Vermont, New Hampshire and Massa- 
chusetts. 

Mr. Taylor was a member of the First Congregational Church of Newton Centre, a 
thirty-second degree Mason, with membership in Dalhousie lodge, and of the I. O. O. F. 
He was one of the founders of the Boston Architectural Club, one of the first members of 
the Newton Club and was also a member of the National Arts Club of New York and of 
the Sons of the American Revolution. 

He married Miss Helen Clifton Payne in 1883 and they have had five children, Ruth, 
Dorothy, Clifton, Aldrich and Marjorie. 



288 




WILLIAM GIBSON BELL 

President of the William G. Bell Company, manufacturers of refrigerators and 
store fixtures, was born at Hancock, N. H. February 1, 1839 and died at West Newton, 
his home for thirty years, on October 27, 1915. 

Mr. Bell was educated in the public schools of New Ipswich and later entered business 
life in Boston, where he originated the well known "Bell's Spiced Dressing" a preparation 
which he manufactured for forty years. 

He was an active member of the Second Congregational Church of West Newton, of 
the Boston Chamber of Commerce, New York Produce Exchange, the Boston Congrega- 
tional Club and King Solomon Lodge of Masons of Somerville. 

He married Miss Marv H. G. Whitney and they have two children, a son, Mr. Alfred 
W. Bell of West Newton and a daughter, Mrs. Douglas Crook of Allston. 



289 




FRANK BLAKE HOPEWELL 



The son of John and Sarah W. (Blake) Hopewell, was born at Cambridge, Mass., 
Dec. 5, 1873. After receiving his education in the grammar and high schools of Cambridge, 
Channey Hall and Kendall School, he entered upon a business career. 

He is now a member of the firm of L. C. Chase & Co. of Boston, treasurer of Sanford 
Mills, Sanford, Me., treasurer of the Holyoke Plush Co., Holyoke, Mass., director of the 
Reading Rubber Mfg. Co., Reading, Mass., director of the First National Bank of Boston, 
and director of the Sanford Trust Co., Sanford, Me. 

Mr. Hopewell is a member of the Brae Burn Country and Hunnewell Clubs of New- 
ton, Exchange and Boston City Club, Boston Athletic Association, Boston Chamber of 
Commerce and the Corinthian Yacht Club of Marblehead. 

He married Miss Helen I. Clark and they have one child, John Clark Hopewell. They 
reside on the corner of Park and Church Streets, Newton. 



290 




FRANK HOPEWELL 



A successful merchant and manufacturer of Boston, was born in 1859, at Shelbourne 
Falls, Mass., the son of John and Catherine Hopewell. 

He passed through the various grades of the public schools in Springfield, Mass., 
and studied three years in the Springfield Collegiate Institute. 

Mr. Hopewell began his business career in New York in 1880, and shortly afterward 
entered the employ of L. C. Chase & Co. of Boston, of which he is now managing partner. 
He was Treasurer of Sanford Mills, Sanford, Maine, and of Holyoke Plush Co., Holyoke, 
Mass., for many years, — as well as a Director of the Boston Five Cents Savings Bank, all 
of which positions he resigned in 1913. 

Mr. Hopewell is a Director of Sanford Mills, of the Holyoke Plush Co., and the 
Reading Rubber Mfg. Co. He is a member of the Brae Burn Country Club, and the Bos- 
ton Athletic Association. 

He married Mrs. Helen Buckman Crosby, and lives in an attractive borne at the 
corner of Waverley Avenue and Farlow Road, Newton. 



291 




EDWARD RAY SPEARE 



President of the Alden Speare Sons' Company was born in West Newton, September 
21, 1872 and educated in the Newton High School and at Boston University. Besides 
his business connections as president of the Alden Speare's Sons Company, founded by 
his father, Hon. Alden Speare. second mayor of Newton, Mr. Speare is president of the 
Exolon Company, president of the Milton Chemical Company, treasurer of the Economy 
Food Products Company, treasurer of the Atlantis Press, a director in the Central Trust 
Company of Cambridge, and a trustee of Boston University. 

He is also a member of the Masonic order, of the Algonquin Club, the Exchange 
Club, the Boston Athletic Association, Longwood Cricket Club, Brae Burn Country Club, 
Hollywood Club, and the Newton Centre Squash Tennis Club. 

Mr. Speare married Miss Dorothy Simmons of Cambridge in 1894 and they have 
three children, Albert R. Speare, Dorothy Speare, and Virginia Speare. They reside on 
Montvale Crescent, Newton Centre. 



292 




THOMAS FRANCIS BAXTER 



A prominent banker of Boston, was born Nov. 1, 1869, at Brookline, Mass. After 
passing through the Brookline public schools he became connected with the banking firm of 
Bond & Goodwin and is now senior partner of this concern with offices in Boston, New 
York, Chicago, San Francisco and Minneapolis. 

Mr. Baxter married Miss Mabel Smith of Roxbury, Mass., in 1898 and they have 
three children, Thomas F. Baxter, Jr., Miss Ruth Baxter, and Philip Norman Baxter. They 
have a beautiful home on the corner of Commonwealth Avenue and Bristol Road, West 
Newton. 



293 




RESIDENCE OF G. DUTHIE STRACHAN, WABAN HILL ROAD, CHESTNUT HILL. 




RESIDENCE OF ROBERT M. CLARK, HOMER STREET, NEWTON CENTRE. 



294 




THOMAS PHIPPS CURTIS 

Was born at Quincy, Mass., May 16, 1850, the son of Lewis (1818-1897) and Emeline 
M. (Phipps) Curtis, and is a great grandson of Mehitable Adams, a first cousin of John 
Adams, second president of the United States, and a second cousin of John Quincy Adams, 
also a president of the United States. Mr. Curtis was educated in private schools and for 
forty years has been connected with the firm of Deering, Milliken & Co. of New York and 
Boston, dry goods commission merchants, as salesman and partner. Mr. Curtis is also 
treasurer of the George W. Olney Woolen Co. of Cherry Valley, Mass., president of the 
Mayo Woolen Co. of Millbury, Mass., president of the Cascade Woolen Co. of Oakland, 
Me., and managing director of the Madison Woolen Co. of Madison, Me. 

He is a Mason, a Knight Templer since 1873, and a member of the Grafton Club, 
Merchants Club of New York, Middlesex Club of Boston and of the Boston Chamber of 
Commerce. 

He married Miss Ellen F. Hobbs, March 24, 1890 and they have one son Lewis 
Foster Curtis. 

Mr. Curtis has made his home in Newton Highlands for the past twenty-five years, 
where he has a handsome residence on Lake Avenue. 



295 




RESIDENCE OF FRED S. CARR, WABAN HILL ROAD, CHESTNUT HFLL. 




RESIDENCE OF EDWARD E. ELMS, HUNNEWELL AVENUE, NEWTON. 



296 




CHARLES HENRY BRECK 



President of the Joseph Breck & Sons Corporation of Boston, was born in Brighton, 
Mass., July 8, 1850, and educated in the public schools and at the Massachusetts Institute 
of Technology, as well as by travel at home and abroad. Mr. Breck is treasurer of the 
Breck-Robinson Nursery Co., treasurer of the New England Iron and Hardware Asso- 
ciation, a director of the Fourth-Atlantic National Bank of Boston, a director of the Whole- 
sale Seedsman's League and a trustee of several estates. He is also a member of the Brae 
Burn Country Club and of the Lake Placid Club. Mr. Breck married Miss Marion Agnes 
Adams and they have three children, Mrs. John Benbow (Frances Elizabeth), Mr. 
Charles Henry Breck, Jr., and Mr. Luther Adams Breck. Mr. and Mrs. Breck reside on 
Fairmont Avenue, Newton. 

The business of Joseph Breck & Sons Corporation of which Mr. Breck is president, 
was founded in 1822 and since 1830 has been continuously carried on by Joseph Breck 
and his descendants. Mr. Breck and his brother Mr. Joseph Francis Breck, treasurer of 
the Corporation, are of the third generation in the business and two members of the fourth 
generation, great grandsons of the founder, are now taking an active part in the manage- 
ment of its affairs.. 



297 




RESIDENCE OF ALONZO N. BURBANK, PARK AVENUE, NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF RICHARD G. ELKINS, HIGHLAND STREET, WEST NEWTON. 



298 




HUBERT GEORGE RIPLEY 



Architect, was born in Melrose, Massachusetts. Graduate of the Melrose Grammar 
and High Schools, and the Architectural Department of the Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology, class of '90. After a period of study in Europe, he is now engaged in pro- 
fessional practice as a member of the firm of Fisher, Ripley & Le Boutillier, of Boston. 

He is consulting architect to the Boston Art Commission, member of the American 
Institute of Architects, the Boston Society of Architects, the Boston Architectural Club, 
the Technology Club of New York, and the Newton Club. 

Mr. Ripley is married, has one son, and lives on Birch Hill Road, Newtonville. 



299 




RESIDENCE OF CLARENCE C. COLBY, FARLOW ROAD, NEWTON. 




RESIDENCE OF WILLIAM K. COREY, COMMONWEALTH AVENUE, AUBURNDALE. 



300 




FRED SUMNER CARR 

A successful manufacturer of Boston, was born April 22, 1857 at West Newbury, 
Mass. He received his early education in the public schools and then carried on his father's 
business of carriage manufacturing for four years : later he became connected with a whole- 
sale carriage goods house with whom he remained fourteen years as traveling salesman and 
in 1908 established himself in business in manufacturing automobile and carriage mater- 
ials and has since built up a large and profitable industry: — a rubber mill being built in 
Framingham, Mass., in 1911, for rubberizing cloth and another mill being built in 1913, 
in Tilbury, Ontario, for the same purpose. 

In 1910 the manufacturing of patented fasteners was commenced and three years later, 
in 1913, a new factory in Cambridge was built to take care of the growing business. 

Mr. Carr, in 1914, purchased a half interest in the G. W. J. Murphy Co. of Merrimac, 
Mass., of which company he is now the president. This company is the largest manufac- 
turer of button fasteners in the world. 

Mr. Carr is also president of the following companies which bear his name : — F. S. Carr 
Co., Boston, Mass., F. S. Carr Rubber Co., South Framingham, Mass., F. S. Carr Rubber 
Co. of Canada, Granby, Quebec, and the Carr Fastener Co. Cambridge, Mass. 

He was married in 1877 to Miss Sarah J. Emery of Lynn, Mass., by whom he had 
three children, Miss Adelaide F. Carr, Ralph W. Carr and Moses F. Carr. 

In 1905 he married Miss Ida M. Nason of Limerick, Me. and they live in a beautiful 
home on Waban Hill Road, Chestnut Hill. 



301 




RESIDENCE OF ALBERT W. ELLIOTT, BERWICK ROAD, NEWTON CENTRE. 




RESIDENCE OF FRANK J. HALE, BIGELOW ROAD, WEST NEWTON. 

302 




Heard received the 
LL.B. in 1896 and 
from George Wash- 
Patent Office from 



NATHAN HEARD 

Senior member of the law firm of Heard, Smith & Tennant of Boston and Washing- 
ton, D. C, specializing in Patents, Patent causes and trade mark matters, was born at 
Omaha, Nebraska, January 26, 1872, and is descended from Luke Heard, who came from 
England in 1630 and settled in Ipswich, Mass. 

After a preparatory education in the schools of Worcester, Mr. 
degree of B.S. from the Worcester Polytechnic Institute in 1893, 
LL.M. in 1897 from the National University Law School and M.P.L. 
ington University in 1898. He was also an examiner in the U. S. 
1894-1899. 

Mr. Heard was for several years on the Republican City Committee and in 1910 to 
1912 a member of the Newton Board of Aldermen. 

He is a member of the Tuesday, Eight O'Clock, Civic, and Golf Clubs of Newton and 
is actively interested in Eliot Church. He is also a member of the Boston City Club, Ex- 
change Club, Massachusetts Club, Appalachian Mountain Club and the Chamber of Com- 
merce of Boston, and the Cosmos Club of Washington, D. C. Mr. Heard is a member of 
the Bar of the Supreme Courts of the United States, and of the Massachusetts and of va- 
rious Federal Courts, of the American Bar Association, Boston Bar Association, American 
Patent Law Association and American Academy of Political and Social Science. 

Mr. Heard married in 1896 Miss Florence Wilhelmena Ruggles of Halifax, N. S., a 
descendant of Gen. Timothy Ruggles, President of the Stamp Act Congress, has four 
children, Mary Ruggles, Nathan Jr., Daniel Owen and William Van Home, and resides at 
Waverley Avenue, Newton. 



303 




RESIDENCE OF J. PORTER RUSSELL, SHORNECLIFFE ROAD, NEWTON. 






RESIDENCE OF MRS. WILLIAM G. BELL, SHAW STREET, WEST NEWTON. 



304 




JOHN S. SUMNER 



A resident of Newton for forty-five years from 1868 until his death May 25, 1913, 
was a native of Boston, Mass., where he was born July 8, 1839. He learned the tin plate 
and sheet iron business and in 1868 purchased the stove and furnace business established by 
the late John Farnum on Centre Street, Newton, which he conducted for over thirty years. 
Mr. Sumner was an expert skater, and for sixty-five years did not miss the opportunity to 
indulge in this winter sport. He was a master at fancy skating and afforded his friends 
much pleasure by his exhibitions. He was also an expert rifleman. He was a member of 
the Massachusetts Rifle Association and was one of the men who made the Walnut Hill 
range so famous in its early days. He made and broke many world records, many of 
which stand today under the same conditions as when they were made. The last time he 
visited Walnut Hill, although over seventy years of age, he made a record of forty consecu- 
tive shots at the 1000 yard range, a score of 190 out of a possible 200. 

Mr. Sumner attended the Eliot Church and was one of its earliest pew owners. > 
He married Miss Mary Abbie Robinson of Dorchester, and three children survive, 
Mrs. Arthur P. Fiske of Sharon, Mass., Charles S. Sumner of Hamburg, Germany, and 
Mrs. Harry A. Harwood of Newtonville. 



305 




RESIDENCE OF HUBERT G. RIPLEY,. BIRCH HILL ROAD, NEWTONVILLE 




RESIDENCE OF MRS. HENRY E. COBB, BELLEVUE STREET, NEWTON 



306 




CHARLES SIDNEY ENSIGN 

Was born in Hartford, Conn., July 26, 1842, educated in the public and private 
schools of Farmington and Hartford, the Harvard Law School, (LL.B. in 1863), Gradu- 
ate School of Harvard University, 1864 and the College of France, Paris, 1865-66. Mr. 
Ensign practised law in Hartford, in New York from 1868 to 1885, and in Boston since 
that time. He served in the Common Council of Hartford, in 1865, was a member of the 
Brooklyn, N. Y., committee of 100, president of the 22nd Ward Citizens Association 
(1876-79), president Brooklyn Tax Payers Central Association, 1878, served on the Water- 
town (Mass.) School Committee 1886-1894, was a trustee and chairman of the Public 
Library Trustees, 1887-1890, and has been Town Moderator. He served in the Massachu- 
setts House of Representatives from Watertown and Belmont in 1891 and in 1895 was de- 
feated for the Massachusetts Senate by only 21 votes. He removed to Newton in 1899 and 
served as an alderman from 1901 to 1905. 

Mr. Ensign is vice president of the Watertown Historical Society, a member of the 
American Society for Judicial Settlement of International Disputes, a councillor of the 
N. E. Historic Genealogical Society, a member of the Connecticut Historical Society, a 
corresponding member of the Maine Historical Society, life member of the American His- 
torical Association and of the Harvard Law School Association, a director of the Newton 
Historical Society, a member of the Massachusetts Bar Association, of the Bunker Hill 
Monument Association, a director of the Florence Crittenton League of Compassion ( Bos- 
ton), a vice-president and president of the Newton Associated Charities since 1904, a di- 
rector of the Newton Welfare Bureau, trustee of the Sarah Hull Chapter D. R. Memorial 
Fund, an associate member Charles Ward Post, G. A. R., served as clerk of Eliot Religious 
Society, 1890-1906, is church auditor since 1913. and is a member of the Monday Evening, 
Eight O'Clock and Civic Clubs and the Y. M. C. A. Association of Newton. 

Mr. Ensign married Miss Angeline Faxon Barker of Brighton, and they have two 
children, Charles Sidney Ensign, Jr., and Miss Angic Gertrude Ensign. 



3°7 




RESIDENCE OF JOHN P. EUSTIS, WASHINGTON STREET. NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF BENJAMIN W. FREDERICKS, PARK AVENUE, NEWTON 



308 




HON. WILLIAM H. CARTER 



Member of Congress from the Thirteenth Massachusetts district, was born at Needham 
Heights, June 15, 1864, and educated in the schools of his native town and at the Com- 
merce Commercial College. On leaving school he entered the manufacturing business es- 
tablished by his father, and is now the vice president and general manager of The William 
Carter Company of Needham. 

Mr. Carter was the representative from Needham in the General Court of 1906, and 
was elected to the sixty-fourth Congress in the fall of 1914. 

He is a member of Nayasset Club of Springfield, the City Club of Boston, the Bos- 
ton Press Club, the Village Club of N. H., Wellesley Country Club, Columbia Club of 
Washington, D. C, Norfolk lodge of Masons, Gethsemane Commandery, Knights Templar, 
Aleppo Temple and the Elks lodge of Framingham. 

Mr. Carter is married and resides in Needham. 



309 




■■■■^■■■■^■■1 



RESIDENCE OF HENRY H. LEARNARD, WAVERLEY AVENUE,, NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF EDWARD P. BOSSON, LEDGES ROAD, NEWTON CENTRE 



3IO 



GEORGE A. FROST 

President of the George Frost Co., manufacturers of Boston, was born in Roxbury, 
July 12, 1857, and received his education in the Newton Grammar and High Schools. 

Mr. Frost is president of the Brae Burn Country Club and a member of the Country 
Club, Brookline, and the Exchange and Algonquin Clubs of Boston. 

Mr. Frost is married and has two daughters, Mrs. Miles W. Weeks and Miss Eleanor 
R. Frost. He resides on Chestnut Street, West Newton. 



WILLIAM HOBART EMERSON 

For many years a manufacturer of shoes, but now retired from business, was born 
in Charlestown, Mass., and educated in the public schools. 

He is a member of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company, the Newton and 
Hunnewell Clubs. 

Mr. Emerson is married and has a family of two sons and one daughter, and resides 
on Hovey Street, Newton. 



DONALD MACKAY HILL 

A member of the law firm of Blodgett, Jones, Burnham and Bingham of Boston, was 
born in Brookline, Mass., Nov. 1, 1877 and educated in the Berkley School of Boston, 
1894, Harvard College, 1898, and Harvard Law School, 1901. 

Mr. Hill is president of the Renfrew Manufacturing Company, President Hansahoe 
Mfg. Co., president of F. U. Stearns & Co., president Foster's Wharf Company, vice presi- 
dent of the Exchange Trust Co. of Boston, Treasurer of the Laconia Car Company, and a 
director of the Boston Insurance Company, Old Colony Insurance Company, Sylvester 
Company, Cote Piano Manufacturing Company and the Newton South Co-operative bank. 

He is a member of the Bostonian Society, Harvard Club of Boston, Brae-Burn Coun- 
try Club, the Exchange Club and the Longwood Cricket Club. 

Mr. Hill married Miss Annie Turner, and with a family of two sons, Donald Mackay 
Hill Jr. and Malcolm Turner Hill, resides on Pine Ridge Road, Waban. 



3" 




RESIDENCE OF NATHAN HEARD, WAVERLEY AVENUE, NEWTON 




RESIDENCE OF EDMUND I. LEEDS, PARK STREET, NEWTON 

312 



JAMES A. LOWELL 

Born February 5, 1869, on Hammond Street, Chestnut Hill, in the house where 
he still lives. Prepared for college at Hopkinson's Private School, Boston. Grad- 
uate of Harvard College, 1891; Harvard Law School, 1894. Married December 
2, 1897 at Philadelphia, Pa., to Miss Mary Wharton Churchman. Children, 
James A. Lowell, Jr., born August 15, 1899; Wharton Lowell, born November 12, 1904. 
Since graduating from Harvard Law School in 1894, he has practiced law in Boston. He 
was a member of the Common Council of Newton in 1897 and of the Board of Aldermen 
of Newton 1898, 1899, 1900. Member of the Massachusetts House of Representatives 
1904, 1905 and 1906, the last year as chairman of the Committee on Judiciary. Chair- 
man of the Commission on Workmen's Compensation of Massachusetts 1910 to 1912; 
chairman of the Board of Labor and Industries 1913 to 1914. He has been connected 
with several charitable associations and has been Treasurer of the South End House Asso- 
ciation for many years. Is also a Trustee of the Perkins Institution for the Blind and the 
Boston Young Men's Christian Union ; is Secretary of the Boston Common Society and 
President of the Newton Branch of the Massachusetts Forestry Association. Unitarian. 
Republican in politics. Clubs are Union Club of Boston, The Country Club of Brook- 
line, and Longwood Cricket Club. 



ROBERT GORTON 

Treasurer of the George Frost Co. of Boston, has been a well known resident of the 
City of Newton for nearly twenty years, the last ten being in West Newton, with a com- 
fortable home on Berkeley Street. He was born in Belmont, Allegany County, New York 
on July 3, 1861, and was educated in the common schools with a three years University 
course. 

Mr. Gorton is a prominent member of the Newton Boat Club, of which he was presi- 
dent for two years, and is also a member of the Brae Burn Country Club, the Neighbor- 
hood Club and the Boston City Club. 

He married Miss Carrie E. Maxson and they have two sons and two daughters, Fred 
D. Gorton, the well known golfer, and Mrs. Daniel B. Rogers, and Mrs. Walter H. Cady. 



3*3 



AN AFTERWORD 

The preparation of this book has taken 
three years on account of the many delays 
encountered in obtaining the necessary data 
and articles, all of which have been contrib- 
uted. As part of the book has been in print 
for a long time, while another portion has 
but recently been prepared, some inconsis- 
tencies in chronology may be noted, and for 
which this explanation is made. 

JOHN C. BRIMBLECOM, 

Editor. 



3H 



CONTENTS 



A Foreword . 
An Afterword, . 
Allen, W. Hermon . 
Alley, John S. . 
Andrews, David H. . 
Associated Charities 
Avery, Charles F. . 



Page 

2 

. 314 

. 200 

. 204 

168,251 

. 114 

161,254 



Bacon, William F. . . . 209 
Bailey, Charles J. . . . 222 
Bartholomew, Wm. H. . 216, 239 
Baxter, Thomas F. . 184,293 
Bell, William G. . . 289,304 
Bemis, Albert F. . . 163, 176 
Bigelow Grammar School . 21 
Bliss, William H. . . 248, 263 
Blodgett, Edward E. . . 268 
Bosson, Edward P. . . 171,310 
Bothfeld, Hon. Henry E. 219 
Brae Burn Country Club . 136 
Bray's Block, N. C. . . . 14 
Breck, Charles H. . . 210,297 
Bridges, Samuel W. . 159, 170 
Brodrick, Alfred H. . 183,194 
Brown, Edwin P. . . . 223 
Brown, James . . . 185, 202 
Bullard, George P. . . 197, 254 
Bullivant, William M. . . 156 
Burbank, Alonzo N. . . 298 
Burr, Allston .... 157 
Burton, Smith P. Jr. . . 12 

Carpenter, Eugene . . 231, 250 
Carr, Fred S. . . . 296, 301 
Carter, Albert P. . . . 205 
Carter, Hon. William H. . 309 
Casson, Robert . . . . 186 
Centenary M. E. Church, Au. 82 
Central Cong. Church, Nv. . 89 
Channing Church, N. . . 71 
Charles C. Burr School . 45 
Charles River ... 6, 20 
Chase, Harvey S. . . . 201 
Chester, Dwight . . . 255 
Childs, Hon. Edwin O. Jr. . 142 
Churches in Newton . . 50 
Church of the Good Shepherd, 73 
Church of the Messiah, Au. 59 
Church of the New Jerusalem, 53 
Church of the Redeemer . 107 
Church of the Sacred Heart, 67 



Page 
Church of Our Lady, W. N. 78 
City Government ... 30 

City Hall 5 

Clark, James E 224 

Clark, Robert M. . . . 294 
Cline Memorial M. E. Church, 62 
Clubs in Newton . . 132, 137 
Cobb, Hon. Henry E. 27, 193, 306 
Colby, Clarence C. . . 274,300 
Cole, Herbert M. ... 202 
Congregational Church, Au. 95 
Congregational Church, N. H. 79 

. 153 

256, 282 

. 182 

. 300 

184, 199 

. 264 

198,276 

178, 295 

. 244 



Converse, Edmund W. 
Converse, Howard P. 
Corey, Harold D. . 
Corey, William K. . 
Crehore, Frederick M. 
Crimmins, Thomas A. 
C'rooker, H. W. . 
Curtis, Thomas P. . 
Cutler, Frederic F. . 

Dana, Hon. William F. 
Davis, Henry M. . 
Day, Frank A. . 
Day, Henry B. . 
Decatur, Austin H 
Dennett, Nathan W 
Dennison, Charles S 
Dowse, W. B. H. . . 



Echo Bridge . 
Eddy, George W. 
Eddy, Harrison P. 
Eliot Block, N. . 
Eliot Church, N. . 
Elkins, Richard G. 
Elliott, Albert W. 
Ellis, Hon. George H 
Ellison, William P 
Elms, Edward E. 
Emerson, William H 
Ensign, Charles S. 
Eustis, John P. . 



Fales, Herbert E. 
Farlow Park 
Ferris, Alexander M. . 
First Baptist Church, N. 
First Church, N. C. . . 



. 241 
. 236 

155, 232 
19 

172, 249 
. 228 
. 191 

206, 225 

24 
186 
172 
128 

87 
298 
302 
143 

11 
296 
311 
307 
284,308 

. 178 
16, 115 
. 268 
C. 83 
50 



Page 
First Church of Christ Scientist, 

W. N 81 

First M. E. Church, N. U. F. 51 
First Unitarian Church, C. H. 65 
Fisher, Oliver M. . . 175,220 
Fiske, J. Parker B. . . . 162 
Flanagan, Joseph F. . . 234 
Fredericks, Benjamin W. . 308 
Frost, George A. . . .166,311 



G. A. R. . . . 

Gibson, Charles E. 
Glover, Albert S. 
Gorton, Robert . 
Grace Church, N. 
Gregory, Warren F. 
Gross, Robert H. 

Hale, Frank J. . 
Hall, Charles P. . 
Hall, Edward K. 
Hallett, Edward M. 
Hansen, H. C. 
Harriman, Henry I. 
Harwood, Harry A. 
Harwood, Sydney 
Hatfield, Hon. Charles 
Hay ward, Fred R. 
Heard, Nathan . 
Heath, Daniel C. 
Hicks, J. Everett 
Hill, Donald M. . 
Historical Sketch 
Hopewell, Frank 
Hopewell, Frank B. 
Hopewell, John . 
Horace Mann School 
Houghton, Clement S. 
Hull Mansion . 
Iluunewell Club . 
Hunter, John B. . 
Hutchinson, Freedom 
Hutchinson, Hon. Geor 
Eyde Grammar School 
Hyde, James F. C. . 



E 



Immanuel Baptist Chin 
I. (). O. F 



. 121 

29 

. 261 

218,313 

57 

195, 234 

. 246 

187, 302 

165, 262 

179, 208 

. 262 

240, 286 

212,245 

. 228 

. 214 

, . 144 

. 164 

303,312 

. 189 

235,250 

168,311 

3 

190,291 

190, 290 

150, 196 

47 

28 

111 

135 

182 

176 

221 

15 

9 



ch N. 75 
. 127 



3«5 



Jackson, George W. . 
Jackson Homestead . 
Jamieson, Joseph B. . 
Jones, Gardner I. . 
Jones, Hon. Seward W 
Jones, William E. . 

Karnheim, Jacob A. . 
Kenrick, Homestead 
Kimball, J. Wesley . 



Page 
233,258 
8 
. 271 
. 222 
. 146 
. 246 

. 200 

7 

. . 26 



Lamson, Jarvis .... 160 
Lasell Seminary . . . 130, 131 
Learnard, Henry H. . . . 310 
Leeds, Edmund I. . . 283, 312 
Leonard, Charles W. . . 247 
Lesh, H. Frederick . . 212, 281 
Liggett, Louis K. . . 149,270' 
Lincoln Park Baptist Church, 55 
Lloyd, Dr. Henry D. . . . 174 

Lord, Charles E 192 

Loveland, Fred H. . . . 226 
Lowell, James A. . . . 313 
Lucas, Mrs. William H. . . 27:? 

Luke, Arthur F 10 

Lyon, Albert M 170 

Madden, Michael L. . . . 270 
Malcolm, George F. . > 211, 238 
Marvin, Thomas O. . . . 226 
Mary Immaculate of Lourdes' 
Church, N. U. F. . 99, 101 

Mason School 4 3 

Masonic Building . . . 124 
Masonic Fraternity, . . 123 
May, Dr. George E. . . . 243 
Mayor and Common Council, 

1897,34 
Mayor and Aldermen, 1901, 36 
Mayor and Aldermen, 1903, 37 
Mayor and Aldermen, 1907, 
Mayor and Aldermen, 1910, 
Mayor and Aldermen, 1912, 
McKey, Arthur W. . 
Miller, Franklin T. . 
Morse, Harry F. . 



38 
39 
40 

208, 237 
. 173 

204,280 



Neighborhood Club . . . 137 

Newton Bank 22 

Newton Boat Club . . . 134 
Newton Cemetery . . 119, 120 



Page 
Newton Center M. E. Church 77 
Newton Club . . . .132, 133 
Newton Corner, 1870, . . 125 
Newton Free Library . 117, 118 
Newton High School . . 25 
Newton Hospital . . 48, 49 
Newton M. E. Church . . 97 
Newton Public Schools . . 42 
Newtonville M. E. Church . 104 
Newtonville Square, 1895, 13 
Newtonville Square, 1902, 122 
Noble, William M. . . 188, 285 
Xonantum House, 1870, . 4 

Nonantum Square, 1902, . 116 
North Cong. Church, . . 93 
North Gate Club . . . 137 

Palmer, Benjamin S. . 154 

Park Street 17 

Peirce School .... 46 
Perrin Memorial M. E. Church, 

N. L. F 91 

Perry, Frederick C. . . 196 

Pickard, Edward L. . . 27 

Players, Inc 137 

Powers, Hon. Samuel L. . 145 

Pratt, Louis M 166 

Proctor, Thomas W. . . 181 

Pulsifer, Boyal M. . . . 11 
Pushee, John E. . . 213,252 

Balph Waldo Emerson School, 44 
Bebecca Pomroy Home . 113 

Eice, Abbott B 278 

Bice, William H. . . 167,256 
Bichards, James L. . . 151, 164 
Bichardson, James P. . 206, 259 
Bichardson, William C. . 265 
Biley, Charles E. . . 148,188 
Kipley, Hubert G. . . 299,306 
Bobinson, Sumner . . . 180 
Bowbotham, George B. . 214 
Eussell, J. Porter . . 158, 304 

Schirmer, Frank A. . 207,238 
Second Congregational Church, 

W. N 107,108 

Sheldon, Frank M. ... 216 
Simpson, Hon. G. Frederic 

147, 198 
Simpson, Joseph B. . . 252, 277 



Slocum, Winfield S. 
Speare, Alden, . 
Speare, E. Bay . 
Speare, Lewis B. . 
St. Bernard's Church, 
St. John's Episcopal 
St. Mary's Episcopal 
St. Paul's Episcopal 
Stanley, Francis E. . 
Stanley, Freelan O. . 
Stearns, Frank W. . 
Stewart, Frank H. . 
Stone, Charles A. . 
Stone Institute . 
Strachan, G. Duthie 
Stratton, Edward B. 
Stuart, J. Bollin, Jr. 
Stutson, Thomas E. 
Sumner, John S. . 



Page 

. . 287 

. . 9 

. . 292 

. . 227 

W. N. 70 

Church, 61 

Church, 69 

Church, 54 

180,215 

218,279 

. 275 

. 260 

. 273 

. 129 

267, 294 

174, 253 

. 220 

240, 269 

. 305 



Taylor, Bertrand E. . . 288 
Taylor, Mark C. . . . 248 
Tolman, James P. . . 242,257 
Towle, Loren D. . . . 203,230 
Travelli, Charles I. . . . 210 
Trinity Episcopal Church, 80 
Twenty-Five Years' Progress, 23 

Union Church, Waban . . 63 
Unitarian Church, N. C. . 105 
Universalist Church, Nv. . 98 

Walker, George . . . . 272 
Warren, Prescott . . . 264 
Webster, Edwin S. . . . 18 
Webster, Frank S. . . 224,229 
Weeks, Hon. John W. . 141, 192 
West Newton Unitarian Church 

85 
Whittemore, Charles . . 236 
Whittemore, John Q. A. 152,162 
Wilder, Herbert A. . . . 194 
Willcutt, Charles D. . . 266 
Williams, Henry E. . . 244 
Wilson, Hon. Edward B. . 217 
Wing, Mitchell . . . 169,242 
Witherbee, Frank B. . . 258 
Woods, Edward F. . . 177,260 
Woods, Henry D. . . . 232 

Young, Solomon . . . 230 



Photographs by Lemont, Waltham ; Notman, Boston ; Chickering, Boston 

Half-Tone Plates by Union Engraving Company, Boston 

Composition and Presswork by Newcomb 8 Gauss, Salem 

Binding by Boston Book Binding Co., Cambridge 

Compiled by W. W. Colson 



3l6